• Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 17, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 1312 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    For a show as vast and complex as HBO's Game of Thrones, a slow and careful re-introduction is probably for the best. The pace of tonight's Season 3 premiere is accordingly quite measured- one might say that it abruptly ends before anything significant actually occurs- but we find ourselves cured of cliffhanger and able to begin sorting through a plot that has had a tendency to overwhelm in the past. Timeframe, along with the pantheon of characters, has been somewhat condensed from the novelistic version of tonight's events, but the cuts were made carefully and do not yet appear to leave any obvious holes or scars. Performances are impressive, writing is stellar, new winds of complexity begin blowing in the north and south alike, and one can't help but wish it were already next Sunday. Game of Thrones is back. Expand
  2. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    Game of Thrones season 3 is here! The writing is absolutely fantastic and better than ever,the storylines are highly compelling and there's a darkness lingering in the air as death literally is on every corner.The show is easily the most visually stunning show on TV with gorgeous sets and special effects blending in perfectly with this dark fantasy realm that George R.R Martin has created.The acting performaces are stunning by everybody and there are no weak links.Game of Thrones has hit a very strong stride,and the stakes are higher than ever before.The realm is engulfed in a hell'ish war of those competing for The Iron Throne.There will be blood....there will be lots of blood.From Daenary's travelling to Slavers Bay to Jon Snow meeting the King beyond The wall.Game of Thrones is compelling TV,and TV you cannot miss. 10/10 Expand
  3. Apr 14, 2013
    10
    I'll get this out of the way right now, I'm a fan of the books. It didn't originally begin that way, I first saw this show when season 1 was airing and then I read the books as I was immediately engrossed in this fantastic world. There have been some changes in the first two episodes of this season I'm not too keen about, such as Stannis being set up as a villain, but despite deviating from the books this show is still brilliant.

    One thing you need to accept as a book fan is this show will be different, whether it's for better or worse it's happened and will continue to happen until the show has concluded.

    The production values of this show have been amazing, more so in this season than ever. The costumes are beautifully crafted, the locations are wonderful and the visual effects always impress. This together with the casts great performance makes Game of Thrones one of, if not the, most enjoyable shows on television right now.

    I've seen a few people complain that the beginning of this season has been slow, if you feel that way then I must tell you that you're watching the wrong show. Game of Thrones isn't about large scale battles or epic duels, it's about great storytelling and character development. We see our favourite and most hated characters continue their stories through the world of Westeros and get to meet new people in the mean time.

    Season 3 is looking like it could be the best of the show yet.
    Expand
  4. BKM
    Apr 10, 2013
    10
    The third season of HBO's Game of Thrones is shaping up to be its finest yet. The writing, acting and production values are stellar as usual, but the biggest difference so far is with the pacing. The creative decision to cover only the first half of the third of George R.R. Martin's books has allowed for the characters to be even more fully fleshed out and for new characters to be integrated smoothly into the narrative. Thrones desire to constantly evolve and improve upon each season is remarkable for a series that was already nearly flawless. Expand
  5. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    A very good beginning to the show, ties up a lot of loose ends and sets up coming events. A lot of the TV show has redone Daenery's plot, for the better as far as I'm concerned.
  6. Apr 27, 2013
    10
    With these first 3 episodes passing by lightly, the real war started from the ending of episode 4 showing that nobody messes with the mother of dragons or her army. her 5 minute performance deserves an emmy! if this show doesn't end with her on the iron throne i will be really disappointed. YOU GO EMILIA CLARKE!
  7. Apr 9, 2013
    10
    My only problem with the show is 1 hour seems like 15 minutes and I want more. To be honest, this is my favorite TV show of all time. I recommend everyone to watch it. Everything about it is great. The acting, characters, production values, plot, etc. Its a masterpiece.
  8. Apr 3, 2013
    10
    Everything about this series is terrific, spell-binding, intense and epic. I can't think of any other series for which I waited for like I did for Game of Thrones this whole year. Acting, writing, direction and cinematography are way more than brilliant, near to perfect and absolutely flawless at times. The season premiere took some time to build just like the series premiere did and there's nothing wrong with taking things slow. Game of Thrones is really the best series on TV right now and if you don't agree, there's something seriously wrong with you. Expand
  9. Apr 7, 2013
    10
    j jk ;akfj ;akjf; lkaj;lfkj ;lkj lkjas;dlk ;lkjsf l;kja;slkjf ;lkj fl;kjasd ;lksd ;lsjdfk qipo npwgnin wofi i poinoinwpeoif noi i poihf oaiohio oi hiosdh pfoia ifiop
  10. May 6, 2013
    10
    Great show, but as always "the books are better". If you are a fan of the TV show please take time to read the books. Yes they are long. Yes they will take a lot of time. Yes they are worth it. The show can only explain so much about the characters. The 3rd season is turning out to be pretty entertaining, even though they are changing some major things. Hopefully this show lasts another 6 years.
  11. Apr 8, 2013
    9
    Absolutely love this show. The first two seasons are great and season three should be the biggest and best season! Also they do a exceptional job at making the books into a tv show, the books are no walk in the park. Kutos to HBO!
  12. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    As a reader of the book series, I can say that this show gives complete justice to the books. They treat every plot line with respect. When they out material you can trust they have a good reason to do so, be it casting limits, budget or episode constraints. One could just complain "oh they left this out and they changed that" without even considering why. Now I know I have only seen one episode, but to be honest, one is enough to see that this season will be the best. I wish the score went higher than ten, because I think it deserves a higher score than last year. Expand
  13. Apr 9, 2013
    10
    I have been continually impressed by the writing and adaptation of this show from the books. For more in depth analysis:

    http://www.notsodaily.com/2013/04/game-of-thrones-recap-and-review.html
  14. May 6, 2013
    10
    Both Season 2 and Season 3 are even better from Season 1. This is the best TV show for me and i am in love with the Medieval Fantasy setting. My only complain is that they release only 10 episodes every year. HBO while knows that this series is a success they are greedy with the few episodes they release every year
  15. Jun 10, 2013
    10
    The word epic gets banded about a lot, but, if any TV show has ever truly earned that title it is Game of Thrones. Featuring a huge, and incredibly talented, cast it is quite frankly amazing how the writers and directors have been able to bring such an interesting and detailed world to the small screen.

    Ignore those who criticise the show for its fantasy setting as this is drama at its
    very best. Expand
  16. Apr 22, 2013
    10
    This is a story with many, many moving parts. In the wrong hands, the series could have so easily disintegrated into a bubbling mess of confusion, but it has been handled not only ably, but with astounding finesse. The overall story weaves with grace, each scene carries with it an almost tangible flavor. Characters are believable and acted with soul. But the most remarkable achievement, I'd say, is having been able to hold it all together, all the intricate little plots, all the rich characters, without letting any one storyline or character progression get lost. Each season has improved upon the last in every regard, and I am happy to see that reflected in most critical reviews. I think no matter your bent toward or away from high fantasy, if the series maintains this level of care, it will go down as one of the greatest television achievements of all time. Expand
  17. Apr 4, 2013
    9
    All i can say is, im glad this brilliant show is back on air!!!
    the first episode starts by bringing back all the characters into the story, reminding you of what they were doing, and getting the story rolling again, however i felt there was a lack of connection or acknowledgement between all the main characters, feeling like each different scene featuring a different house was a skit
    from a comedy sitcom.
    given that, the episode was still great, with some really exciting scenes and great writing (8/10 probably). i think daenerys will probably become one of the most important and interesting charters in this season.
    the trailers are showing pleanty more action which is always good, and i just cant wait for it all to unfold!
    Expand
  18. Jun 9, 2013
    10
    I originally reviewed this when there were only 3 episodes left, and I ended up giving it a nine. But, after the last three episodes, particularly "The Rains of Castamere" I feel as though it has earned a ten. I know some have complained that the finale wasn't exciting enough, but it was following the episode that is second only to "Blackwater" in terms of excitement. The finale was a good set up for the plot points of next season. And yes, the first couple episodes were a bit slow, but they were still good and the plot has flown nicely since then, with great character development, particularly in the case of Jaime. Plus, the acting was incredible but seemed particularly great in the finale. All in all, it was a great season and every episode was great in its own way. Expand
  19. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    Season 3 was shocking with some extra jagged and unforeseeable turns. A diverse story with interesting characters Its pace works both ways (in its favor as well as against it) The best thing on TV
  20. Jun 21, 2013
    10
    An excellent fantasy, historical television series that has completely involved me in the lives of the characters. I enjoy the sets, costumes, and the excellent acting.Every week there is a problem to be solved and a cliffhanger that has to be overcome. This season takes ones breath away with all the surprises. I await for new programing ASAP
  21. Apr 19, 2013
    10
    3 episodes in, and I am quite impressed. The first two episodes (especially the premiere) focused on setting up the plot lines and character arcs of the season. The third episode also had a considerable amount of set-up, but it also moved at a faster pace and brought quite a few surprises. This is shaping up to be the best season yet. The writing is still stellar, the acting top notch, and the production values better than ever. I can't wait for the rest of this season! Expand
  22. Jun 8, 2013
    10
    The best instalment in the series consequently results in the best season thus far. While some liberties were taken with twisting several plot elements from the book, it nevertheless remains mostly faithful to the book.
  23. May 13, 2013
    10
    Absolutely best medieval fantasy drama ever. Best plot, best actors (for many of them is the debut) and nice action scenes. Game of Thrones series it the exact interpretation, that the book deserve, and it deserve the best of the best
  24. Apr 27, 2013
    10
    This show is the high point of each week for me, I am captivated. Each episode builds more complexity and intrigue. This is the best series on TV today!
  25. Jun 3, 2013
    9
    ***ATTENTION PRODUCERS OF GAME OF THRONES please do not make the mistake that a TV show has to follow its original novel's plot!!! TV audiences want to identify with TV characters. It may be avant garde to kill off favorite characters, but take a lesson from SMASH. Chane things up too much and you will lose your audience and hence your show. So this bringsebto a point regardless of the novel or some writer's bright idea, DO NOT KILL OFF PETER DINKLAGE's CHARACTER, or that of the Stark son that is a wary. Kill them and we will have no reason to keep watching the show, and neither will millions of fans. Mark this play to what the audience wants, or lose the audience. Shakespeare knew this. We hope you do too! Expand
  26. Jun 9, 2013
    9
    well this tv series it keeps getting better and better. At fist season 3 was ok but in about the 4th episode I realised that this season is actually the best one. Not only it has good story and plot, it also had some twists really unexpected. This season made me come close to some characters such as arya, sansa and the fat boy who was with jon snow i don't remember his name). All in all, Game of throne's season 3 is a must-see masterpiece Expand
  27. Aug 15, 2013
    10
    As with the book on which it is based, part three absolutely cements this series' greatness. As always, though, the series' adaptation of the book adds a whole new dimension of genius to the story. Season three jumps right past the dubious 'action' of the fourth book and jumps right into sampling the fifth book, while delaying some of book three's crazy developments. Cannot wait for more. 10? Yeah, it is perfect. Expand
  28. Jul 13, 2013
    10
    Another impeccable season of Game of Thrones. Plot twists and political drama was once again well written and spread in all of the episodes. There was a good distribution of screen time, which is very difficult to do in a television series with so many characters and plot lines. Great to see the development of stories in both, Westeros and Essos.
  29. Jul 3, 2013
    9
    At times I felt that season three was the show's slowest yet. For me too many of the characters, I can think of Arya, Sam, Jaime and Brann off the top of my head, were sharing journeys of a similar nature and although the plot only visited them occasionally, there didn't seem to be much diversity between the story lines and episodes could be filled with people on the move, never seeming to make much progress towards their goals.

    On the other hand, all the above is what makes Game of Thrones such a great show. The plot moves along at its own speed, steadily moving the massive cast of characters along in their respective story arcs. The slow and deliberate story telling is such a contrast to many TV shows where writers seem to rush plots at the expense of character development. That is not to say that Game of Thrones is not capable of turning up the excitement levels. I think this season has contained the biggest shocks of the show so far and considering what happened at the end of season one, that is saying something.

    This leads me on to the episode The Rains of Castamere, also known as The Red Wedding. I'm keen not to give anything way so it is difficult to comment on but for me this episode underlines the greatness of the show. A colossal event in terms of characters and story line that you just would not see in any other show. Imagine Tony Soprano's family being wiped out in the middle of an episode in the middle of a season. Totally unheard of. The scenes in particular were brilliantly produced as well and any silly doubts I had over the show were instantly erased by this episode.

    Elsewhere, Tywin demonstrates he is the only Lannister able to lay the law down to Joffrey. I'm looking forward to seeing more of this in the future, Joffrey seems genuinely afraid of his grandfather. Tywin's arrival shakes things up at Joffrey's court and things change for Tyrion, Sansa and Littlefinger and even Cersei seems unable to avoid her father's plans to strengthen the family.

    The season comes to a close with the fate of one major character unconfirmed and I can't wait for the fallout from the Red Wedding to filter across Westeros. The next season of Game of Thrones cannot return soon enough.
    Expand
  30. Jun 26, 2013
    10
    This is a TV Show which manages to uplift the best parts of the source material, whilst cutting back the fat and gristle holding it back. In the process it manages to satisfy those who appreciated the original story as well as newcomers who wouldn't otherwise experience it.

    Similarly as the Lord of the Rings movie trilogy was to its novels, this is a more perfect representation of the
    fantasy universe. Expand
  31. Jun 10, 2013
    10
    Yet another stellar season for Game of Thrones, and it shows no signs of letting up. This season has definitely been the fastest paced. The problem is is that there are so many characters to keep up with. This is GoT's strength, and at times, weakness. Almost every character on this show is as well acted and well written as the next. One can only hope they can keep this up for years to come.
  32. Jan 14, 2014
    9
    I was a big fan of the books, and a bit disappointed with the first season. However, the actors have really grown on me, and the writers have stepped up their game. They do a great job sticking to the script, while still feeling free to explore their own ideas. The Red Wedding was brilliantly done. All of the Lannisters - Tyrion, Cersei, Jaime, and Tywin - are played brilliantly. And Littlefinger's 'Chaos is a ladder' speech was one of my favourite TV moments. Expand
  33. Oct 13, 2013
    10
    The 3rd season ups the ante in everything. Memorable dramatic scenes, shocking (and sometimes sadistic) ones, complex plot, as well as character development and dynamics. There nothing on TV right now as good as this outstandingly fantastic show. What i enjoy the most is how this show keeps killing off characters and introducing new ones, keeping it from ever becoming stale. It will be interesting to see how this saga will end up, although it will also be very saddening to see it end. Expand
  34. Jun 11, 2014
    10
    The bloodiest and most tense season yet. The series is taken to some of the darkest and most shocking places it has been so far, and it is always ready to surprise you. While conflicts from the previous seasons rage on or even end, new ones constantly pop-up. With changes and surprises around every corner it's hard to not be kept on the edge of your seat. The high quality continues on, and I can't wait for season 4. Expand
  35. Jun 21, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Rain of Castamere...this episode alone made this season a must see event. Sure GOT is gory and contains a lot of nudity, but it has one of the best characterization in any TV series out there. You can't hold on to a character too long, they might end up miserable or dead. An evil character can have a life changing event and repent...or the other way around. Great all around...one of the best TV series in the last couple of years. Expand
  36. Sep 5, 2013
    9
    If you are a fan of the books you might be disappointed by some of the liberties the writers have taken, but to put such a vast complex series of books to screen is one of the best things I've ever seen. HBO has brought one of the best series of novels to screen and hopefully is going to continue into the future doing the same with this property.
  37. Jul 27, 2013
    10
    The best season so far! With absolutely phenomenal performances by Dinklage, Clarke, Fairley and Coster-Waldau. This season achieved greatness because it managed to work in many of the important characters cut in the previous season and in nearly every episode there was some sort of emotional atmosphere that was achieved. Also they managed to cut a lot of the unnecessary sex scenes (that aren't all in the books) which was an added plus to this season. The red wedding was absolutely flawlessly and horrifyingly done. Absolutely an amazing season and I can't wait for the next one! Expand
  38. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    Again, great show on HBO or any television network. The story, acting, are just great. Wonderful writing and keeps you interested throughout the entire season. Wonderful TV
  39. Aug 9, 2013
    10
    Game of Thrones is one of the best shows on TV. Season 3, best season so far. The cast is outstanding (I particularly love Emilia Clarke). I still can't recover from the Red Wedding events. Epic.
  40. Jun 24, 2013
    10
    This is ridiculous! I didn't believe that this would be better than Season 2, and not only does Season 3 top it, it goes beyond that. This show is simply one of the greatest shows, not just now, but of all time. Its so great and it always leaves me wanting more. I really wish Season 4 started tomorrow, especially knowing what's going to happen in Season 4 (read Book 3, a Storm of Swords, and you can know too). It all gets better from here. I'll be especially impressed if Season 4 tops Season 3. Character development and the stories are all so good. Its basically flawless, but its also a pain to keep up with. Its one of those rare shows where you have to pay real good attention or you'll miss something. I highly recommend this, and the entire series. Expand
  41. Jul 26, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If you like sword play and incest this may be the perfect show for you. No character is safe from getting killed and there is also plenty of romance to keep the ladies interested. Expand
  42. Feb 16, 2014
    10
    The third season steps up the game. There is more suffering for the characters, some of whom become sympathetic. More deaths, conflict, conniving, backstabbings. The most interesting story lines were about Jon Snow and Daenerys, who were overshadowed by Arya and Tyrion in the previous season. Some of the bits were changed from the books and I'm curious how the plot will turn out later. The dragons were more useful. We get to see the people and creatures from beyond the wall.

    The element of uncertainty, with which I fell in love back in the first season, comes back in all its glory and gory details. The show, like the books, continues to assert that there are no completely good guys and bad guys. And there are no heroes or central characters who are completely safe; except of course for a few like Daenerys Targaryen, Arya Stark, Jon Snow, Tyrion Lannister and perhaps Sansa Stark and Bran Stark. Without them the story would fall apart, and it's never wise to kill off your most intriguing characters. Everyone else is fair game.

    This show has reached a point where one shall have to watch the entire series back to back, as it unfolds like a great novel and at no point does it drag down and show us which is strictly episodic. The plot continues to unravel and advance. This is probably the reason I could not enjoy the season the first time I watched it week after week. But upon my second viewing, I was engrossed for sure and enjoyed literally everything. The creators have kept on doing justice to the source material, and changed bits of the story that have no great bearing on the story.

    I felt un-satiated and was hungry for more at the end. The last scene of the finale literally brought tears to my eyes, a feat even the deaths of some of the characters failed to do.
    Expand
  43. Sep 6, 2013
    9
    Aside from the essential need for a cheat sheet to keep all of the relationships square in your mind, this is a delicious world that is expertly developed and beautifully shot. Plus it's got dragons!
  44. Apr 11, 2014
    10
    Season 3 is Game of Throne's best season yet. An outstanding, emotionally scarring (You know what I'm talking about, Episode 9) and exciting season in a quality-growing series. From the first scene to the last, the production values of the series are put to test, with incredible fighting sequences and special effects James Cameron would be jealous about. The characters also get lots of bonding time with the audience (Oh, by the way, **** you episode 9), and especially talking about Tyrion Lannister, who finds a way into my heart to be my favourite Lannister, and even find forgiveness to some despicable characters (Not Joffrey, of course, he is a dick). The acting is top-notch by this season, there is lots of blood and nudity as always, but some of the most shocking moments television has ever shown (I am talking to you, Episode 9) are truly the standouts of this season (Episode 9, did I mentioned it enough?).
    Season 3 is the reason to watch Game of Thrones, and the perfect appetizer for hopefully even better seasons.
    Expand
  45. Jul 8, 2013
    10
    It got off to a slow start and launched into the most blood-soaked, bugf**k crazy season yet. I'm not going to spoil anything here, but this season is not for the faint of heart.
  46. May 24, 2013
    10
    Truly there are usually only a few shows that come along that can be called cultural icons. Game of Thrones is easily a contender for such a title. Based on the novels by George R. R. Martin the story already has a strong establishment from the beginning and each season builds on the last giving more and more depth to the world.
    The costume design, the characters, and the effects are all
    top notch and truly immerse a viewer in this cold and bleak world of intrigue and deception. There are the truly despicable characters who you are gradually taught to hate from the beginning and then there are the characters whose actions seem, at the time, to be reprehensible but are later revealed to be veiled under a guise of nobility and then there are the truly righteous, the ones that you feel like rooting for and truly invest yourself in. That is the greatest effect this show has. It involves you in the characters that it develops. Whether you are rooting for Daenerys Targaryen to take back her throne or if you want Robert Stark to avenge his father's death an restore order or if you want Stannis Baratheon to claim the throne that was his brother's you feel involved in the story and invested in the character you hope for. And there are a lot of characters.
    The one downside I can see for some viewers is the sheer amount of information that is thrown at you. I love the depth and complexity of the story, but it is easy to see how others might get lost is the menagerie of intrigue and deception. It can also mean that missing an episode will throw you completely for a loop and it is essential that they be watched in sequence. If you are new to the series it is a must that you start at Season 1 and work forward, otherwise you will miss large chunks of the veiled plot.
    The show divides its time between so many stories that a casual watcher can easily become overwhelmed by them. One moment you are trudging through the forest with Jaime Lannister and Brienne of Tarth only to find yourself a few minutes later watching Arya Stark and the Brotherhood Without Banners. It is the kind of show where it is all or nothing. If you aren't willing or able to devote yourself to watching each episode completely then you might as well just read the summaries of the plots online or to watch something else, because you need your full attention to grasp the depth of the storytelling.
    Expand
  47. May 31, 2014
    10
    The writing is amazing, it is acted so well and the story follows so many different characters with their own stories and Game of Thrones does a lot other Dramas are to afraid to do.

    My favorite TV series ever, 10/10
  48. Jul 4, 2013
    9
    A really successful adaptation of truly great book "A Storm of swords". Top notch acting, good directing, probably the most complicated story colliding with shocking drama that is "Game Of Thrones"! There are some week moments, but mostly minor ones. But it's not for everyone, there are some really disturbed and cruel scenes so be careful
  49. Oct 19, 2013
    10
    Season 3 is by far the best of the series so far. As a fan of the books I like how the series is being adapted and like guessing at which scene will happen next. Fans of this show whether you have read the books or not are sure to like this newest season
  50. May 13, 2013
    10
    The most beautifully produced show to ever grace our viewership! Game of Thrones is exciting, intriguing and compelling every step of the way! The scope of the creativity put into every detail of the show is astoundingly evident in the locations, costumes, production design, acting, craft of handling weapons, languages, ACTING!!! DIRECTING!!! WRITING!!!! No detail is left or forgotten! Every single detail down to the buttons on clothing is authentically constructed. The show is approved and supported by its creator George RR Martin, so, it MUST be right. Love the show Love the books!(thanks to the show). Expand
  51. May 21, 2013
    10
    Fantastic Tv Series that leaves you wanting more at the end of every episode. Plot twists that will make your mind melt and sizzle. Characters with incredible depth and time invested into every detail of them. Tyrion Lannister for instance played by Peter Dinklage. He is a absolute masterpiece of an actor. Many awards he will gain through his career.
  52. Feb 18, 2014
    10
    Gah. **** I just can't describe this series with words. And by that I don't mean I'm ignorant of the vast amount of words that can be used to describe something that was enjoyable to watch. I mean a show like Game of Thrones is so immensely intricate, so beautifully crafted, so profoundly built... it's too much. It's just too much to try and express in just a few words on a pretty little piece of paper. I will say this.
    Game of Thrones is a real, REAL piece of fantasy. One of the best ever written. And this season was amazing in all it's gore, fine details and ending. Please, just watch it. George R.R. Martin is a genius, a cruel and very realistic one, but a magnificent genius nonetheless.
    Expand
  53. Dec 27, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Season 3 of A Game of Thrones has to be the best yet. The complexity of George R.R. Martin's world has been captured spectacularly well by HBO, and the acting talent on display is brilliant. Peter Dinklage, Richard Madden, Kit Harington and Nikolaj Coster-Waldau are just a few of the brilliant cast members in this series, and it will be very sad to see Richard Madden go. Season 3 covers A Storm of Swords Part 1, and it does so excellently, even with the additions of later events such as the siege of Yunkai and the Red Wedding. The show also adds many scenes unseen in the books, such as the infamous "Chaos is a Ladder" speech, which is brilliantly written and carried out. It is slightly disappointing to see characters such as Jeyne Westerling be renamed to Talisa, I have no idea where that came from, and the decision to replace Edric Storm with Gendry is rather confusing, but somehow HBO have managed to pull it off expertly. The camera-work and special effects are done brilliantly, as demonstrated by Daenarys' dragons. The character development is also excellent, and is on a par with the book's excellent character development of Jaime Lannister. The music is absolutely fantastic as you would expect, with the songs "Rains of Castamere" and "The Bear and the Maiden Far" making anticipated appearances. The last two episodes especially wet our appetites for Season 4, as they include the infamous Red Wedding, which is perhaps one of the most excellent pieces of TV I have ever seen, as it far exceeds the atmosphere created by Breaking Bad. The acting by Michelle Fairley (Catelyn Stark) and Richard Madden (Robb Stark) is flawless. Most Thrones fans will agree with me in saying Season 3 is excellent, the only thing preventing me from giving this a 10 is the unfortunate and odd decisions to leave out certain characters and/or change them. Bring on Season 4! Expand
  54. Jul 11, 2013
    9
    The season finale was anti-climatic and there was a lot of this season I felt could have been approached in a better way but overall it was a very good season. There was a lot more humour this season and some very strong scenes which really made the season stand out. Overall I think it's been the best season so far and I should leave credit where credit is due.
  55. Jan 28, 2014
    10
    Game of Thrones was something I frowned upon at first, friends told me what it was and I kind of shrugged it off. Biggest mistake ever.

    This show is absolutely everything I wanted in a TV series for such a very long time. Absolutely amazing photography & cinematography, brilliant music & audio plus the amazing actors and crew which build one hell of a story to tell. The 3 seasons of
    this so far have kept me gripped and interested the entire journey, and the fourth season is only just around the corner now!

    I highly recommend this!
    Expand
  56. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    I'm huge fan so naturally I loved the third season and think this show would be hard to ruin. (Just because you didn't like some plot twists doesn't mean the show is dead, keep in mind the plot is already complete it just hasn't all aired.) Simply because of the "Red Wedding" scene this season and series became a master piece for me, dethroning Cowboy Bebop from my favorite show of all time. (That was my favorite show for 5 years for those that give a If you haven't started watching this show by now wtf are you waiting for? Expand
  57. Aug 2, 2013
    10
    With an incredible cast, and an amazing array of guest actors (Diana Rigg), both the acting and the characterisation has outdone itself. After a staggering first two seasons it seemed unlikely that anything could get better, (in fact, I myself was expecting the quality to drop) but it didn't! The vast and complex world of westeros only continued to grow and shape into something too incredible to explain. Expand
  58. Aug 6, 2013
    10
    OMG Best season so far. Someone asked me why it is so popular recently and for me its because it has excellent writing and production with some great acting. The drama is unbelievably tense and the story is fast paced. It is by far the best thing on TV in my eyes. I am having withdrawal symptoms already. I am thinking of going on this tour of locations.
    http://britmovietours.com/bookings/game-of-thrones-tour-of-locations-belfast/
    Expand
  59. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    Esta temporada fue mejor que sus antecesoras, el pobre Tyrion debe lidiar con su familia en Desembarco del Rey pues su padre es ahora la nueva mano del rey, el castigo por la traicion de Theon hacia los Stark, Arya enredada con la hermandad sin estandares, Jon Nieve uniendose al ejercito de Mance Rayder, las desventuras de Jamie Lannister, el ejercito de los inmaculados comprados por Daenerys Targaryen, y como no olvidar el espectacular y a la vez crudo episodio 9. Expand
  60. Aug 15, 2013
    9
    The third season in the epic fantasy, Game of Thrones isn't as strong as its second season, though it contains just as many surprises and just as many unraveling mysteries, changing our perceptions on many characters whom we pegged for something else entirely in the very beginning, while pushing this vast array of characters on forward to a conclusion we almost don't want to admit we know is coming. Expand
  61. Aug 16, 2013
    9
    Summary: The acting is convincing, and the characters are almost all engaging to watch. That's impressive, since the cast itself is one of the largest in television. It's also impressive because they continue to surprise viewers, with ongoing levels of character development and interaction, even in the face of multiple mainstay characters being viciously murdered.

    ----

    I'll try
    writing a more thorough review when I have the time, but let it be suffice to say that Game of Thrones is one of the greatest pieces of entertainment to have been released in recent times. I would urge anyone and everyone to do what they can to watch this beast. Expand
  62. Jan 31, 2014
    10
    It keeps a well pace and spectacular acting by the entire cast, though I always love it when Peter Dinklage is on. Enough gritty action and dramatic tension without any clich├ęs to make Game of Thrones one of the greatest TV series there has been in years.
  63. Sep 30, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If anyone gives this show less than a 10 then they don't deserve to watch it! Season 3 was absolute epic-ness. I haven't read the books so the Red wedding was the most shocking and bloody thing I have ever watched in my life. I kept on screaming at the tv for about half an hour! I really can't wait for season 4. Expand
  64. Oct 19, 2013
    9
    this third game of thrones season continues with the fast pace of the first two seasons, so far this is the best season of the series, but his season finale was not as good as many people thought it would be (mainly because of the penultimate episode)
  65. Dec 23, 2013
    10
    Despite the fact that its a HBO series Game of Thrones is maybe the best fantasy series at the moment.
    Strong characters, impressing pictures, all in all the perfect series for fans.
  66. May 11, 2014
    9
    A great story that mixes medieval political strategy with fantasy, with brilliant performances by the entire cast. Season 3 was just as good as the others, as the show surprises you over and over again.
  67. May 6, 2014
    10
    This comment might be influenced by the fact that I live 3 brothers. This is a great show, and one of my favorites...However, I hate the Hungarian Queen as a character. I find her and her story, boring and unrealistic.

    I say that my views maybe influence by the fact that I have three brothers. I do not know what it feels like to be rape, or be a women and be raped, and imagine it is far
    from pleasant. The queen brother was a stupid human being, I understand that also. However, I stop rooting for her when she let her brother be killed, and killed in the manner that he was. This was back in season one btw. Furthermore, the man the killed her brother is the man that her brother assigned to rape her, thus, he decommitted herself from her evil brother, and committed herself to the rapist and his people. The writers did their best the paint her brother as a evil man and paint her as the poor sister that we should root for (I also have two sisters). I understand the story. However, even if one of my brothers tried to kill me, and something of the such has happen (ask anybody with sibling you know), I still couldn't let someone hurt them in that way. Of course, these are my subjective, personal feelings toward the situation. Now, I will try to be objective and explain why her story, especially after season one is boring, and unrealistic.

    My main point will be that she is too powerful, and she became too powerful to quickly. No prior leadership or military skills, at the end of season three she is leading the most dangerous army with no conceivable opponents--this makes her boring. Nobody in G.O.T. has this much power; so much so that they lack fear or are untouchable. If you haven't finish season 3 stop reading if you are. Think of all the people that have died in this series, and the dangers that all the characters partake in every episode, be it military or political dangers. All of the Queen adventures are pointless because they are all the same. She goes around liberating people with her powerful army, and all of her opponents are completely stupid or weak. Even if you root for her, it is hard cannot remember that last time she was in real dangers. If she was, her sexiness, her dragons, or her army will save her.

    Her philosophy also makes no sense. If she would just right out and say "I'm a cold blooded military mastermind" I will be happy, but she has to stop all this "mother" and "righteous" shyte. All she is doing is going around invading people's home. Those soldiers behind her are as much slaves to her as they were to their masters in whatever city they came from. Just because you do not have a chain around your neck does not mean you are not a slave. Those soldiers are skilled enough to raid country sides and live any type of life they want. Even create their own army one day. Why would you just up and follow this women into war---you don't know the enemy, and you don't know her. Maybe I'm think too deep into it lol. At one point she ordered the murdered of all the "masters" but commanded them not to kill the children. Of course because he is "The mother." However, it is likely that she has murdered the mother and fathers of many of the children, burned their homes, and left them in the desert (only the army followed her that this point). This one fall on the writers. Why don't paint her as another powerful player in a war, why all this righteous mother crap.

    Lastly, the actress is not very good.

    Again, this may just be the fact that I do not like her. I love many characters in the show. This is not a sexist thing, for I know she has been framed as the "hero of FEMINISM." My favorite TV character is Carrie from homeland. My favorite GOT character is Ned Stark's youngest daughter, name escapes me (she is going to be a cold-blooded killer one day). She's been through more shyt than the Queen. In any case, This is a great show, but The Queen seems boring to me.
    Expand
  68. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    An intriguing story that just doesn't stop and is unpredictable. Definately deserves a 10 in my book. I'm not sure why so many people consider this porn. The nudity is very little and the sex scenes aren't even on par with softcore showtime porn. At most you'll see some boobs and maybe an ass? I guess other people may not have discovered the internet yet.
  69. Jul 1, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This show is perfect, not much else to say. Highlights from the season

    Varys talking to Shae about class differences
    Jamie and Breinne
    DRACARYS!!!!!
    Expand
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Jace Lacob
    May 30, 2013
    80
    While Season 3, like the novel on which it is based, takes a little while to get going, when it does pick up speed, it soars--particularly in the sensational third and fourth installments.
  2. Reviewed by: Chris Cabin
    Apr 1, 2013
    75
    If Game of Thrones still feels like it's just a bit weighed down by the sheer heft of its narrative strands, to say nothing of the seemingly endless backstories and mythologies, the series at least now feels like it has some firm footing and a newfound sense of certain direction that was lacking intermittently in the second season.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Mar 29, 2013
    83
    Game of Thrones plays by its own rules--and remains irresistible.