• Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 17, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 1388 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    For a show as vast and complex as HBO's Game of Thrones, a slow and careful re-introduction is probably for the best. The pace of tonight's Season 3 premiere is accordingly quite measured- one might say that it abruptly ends before anything significant actually occurs- but we find ourselves cured of cliffhanger and able to begin sorting through a plot that has had a tendency to overwhelm in the past. Timeframe, along with the pantheon of characters, has been somewhat condensed from the novelistic version of tonight's events, but the cuts were made carefully and do not yet appear to leave any obvious holes or scars. Performances are impressive, writing is stellar, new winds of complexity begin blowing in the north and south alike, and one can't help but wish it were already next Sunday. Game of Thrones is back. Expand
  2. Mar 31, 2013
    8
    Episode one can most definitely be considered a brief rendezvous with each of the seasons main characters. Although our "Thrones" pallets have been given a light taste of whats to come, one can't help but feel a bit robbed of a genuine "meal". Game of Thrones is consistently satisfying. I give it an 8 for the first episode only because as is expected it's serves as a recap of the end of last season. Essentially the stage has been set for what I expect to be a season of great fantasy entertainment. Expand
  3. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    Game of Thrones season 3 is here! The writing is absolutely fantastic and better than ever,the storylines are highly compelling and there's a darkness lingering in the air as death literally is on every corner.The show is easily the most visually stunning show on TV with gorgeous sets and special effects blending in perfectly with this dark fantasy realm that George R.R Martin has created.The acting performaces are stunning by everybody and there are no weak links.Game of Thrones has hit a very strong stride,and the stakes are higher than ever before.The realm is engulfed in a hell'ish war of those competing for The Iron Throne.There will be blood....there will be lots of blood.From Daenary's travelling to Slavers Bay to Jon Snow meeting the King beyond The wall.Game of Thrones is compelling TV,and TV you cannot miss. 10/10 Expand
  4. Apr 14, 2013
    10
    I'll get this out of the way right now, I'm a fan of the books. It didn't originally begin that way, I first saw this show when season 1 was airing and then I read the books as I was immediately engrossed in this fantastic world. There have been some changes in the first two episodes of this season I'm not too keen about, such as Stannis being set up as a villain, but despite deviating from the books this show is still brilliant.

    One thing you need to accept as a book fan is this show will be different, whether it's for better or worse it's happened and will continue to happen until the show has concluded.

    The production values of this show have been amazing, more so in this season than ever. The costumes are beautifully crafted, the locations are wonderful and the visual effects always impress. This together with the casts great performance makes Game of Thrones one of, if not the, most enjoyable shows on television right now.

    I've seen a few people complain that the beginning of this season has been slow, if you feel that way then I must tell you that you're watching the wrong show. Game of Thrones isn't about large scale battles or epic duels, it's about great storytelling and character development. We see our favourite and most hated characters continue their stories through the world of Westeros and get to meet new people in the mean time.

    Season 3 is looking like it could be the best of the show yet.
    Expand
  5. Apr 8, 2013
    6
    I've just watched the second episode and I'm officially disappointed. After watching the first episode I decided to wait until the next one in order to get a more solid idea of what this new season had to offer.
    In just two episodes I've seen too many made up scenes/dialogs, character modifications, premature revelations (true spoilers, if you ask me) and story acceleration. I don't think
    it's going to get any better.
    It seems to me that they are heavily concerned about costs in this season: very few extras, important number of character/scene omissions, spoilers, etc. They are systematically skipping characters and scenes...they might say this is due to broadcast time limitations...but I don't buy it.
    You can perfectly squeeze a hundred pages or so into a 50min. episode (10 episodes around 1000 pages). I don't think the problem is time but budget. Pay attention to the small amount of extras in most scenes (Only around 30 Unsullied in the first episode...it begs the question, doesn't it?) pay attention to all the characters that are omitted and who gets to play their part instead, notice the made up dialogs and scenes created to compensate for the huge omissions. Barristan Selmy was directly revealed in the premiere (they didn't bother to make him play Arstan), The Bloody who? Tom O' what? this clearly announces important omissions and modifications in the plot, they won't probably bother to tell half the stuff that is contained in the book, and they could perfectly do it.
    Don't get me wrong, in my opinion there is plenty of pages to skip in Storm of Swords (I would skip Catelyn and Bran almost completely, leaving only the most important driving elements...but that's just me). I think they are skipping important/rich parts of the story like the Bloody Mummers, Tom O' Sevens (the outlaw atmosphere), the mysterious Arstan Whitebeard. The Reeds pop out suddenly, without any kind of introduction, and are ill characterized, same happens with Thoros of Myr. He is supposed to be emaciated (he was fat but now he is supposed to be gaunt because of war, hunger and suffering) he is supposed to be completely bald too, he looks like a very troubled and serious person in the book, that's not the character I just saw singing in the second episode (he was clearly trying to emulate Tom O' Sevens. A clear and sad consequence of his omission).

    Bottom line: Storm of Swords is, in my opinion, the best book in the saga (so far). I think they are spoiling the story by trying to keep the budget under control.
    Like I said before, it is perfectly possible to squeeze 1000 pages (probably less) into a 9hour show without drastic omissions. There's no reason to "kill" interesting characters/scenes other than expenditure control.
    In my opinion, they will spend a lot of money anyway and people will watch the series no matter what, so there's no need to be tight here.

    Thanks for reading.
    Expand
  6. BKM
    Apr 10, 2013
    10
    The third season of HBO's Game of Thrones is shaping up to be its finest yet. The writing, acting and production values are stellar as usual, but the biggest difference so far is with the pacing. The creative decision to cover only the first half of the third of George R.R. Martin's books has allowed for the characters to be even more fully fleshed out and for new characters to be integrated smoothly into the narrative. Thrones desire to constantly evolve and improve upon each season is remarkable for a series that was already nearly flawless. Expand
  7. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    A very good beginning to the show, ties up a lot of loose ends and sets up coming events. A lot of the TV show has redone Daenery's plot, for the better as far as I'm concerned.
  8. Jun 6, 2013
    4
    The more and more I watch it, The more I get disappointed. I love the Song of Ice & Fire series but the show has epicly failed this season. Each episode seems to end poorly and is too quick to cut away during scenes, No where near as smooth as the transitions were in Season 1. The Red Wedding, which is the biggest scene of the series so far, was poorly done and a great disappointment for me. It absolutely ruined the season for me. Expand
  9. Apr 27, 2013
    10
    With these first 3 episodes passing by lightly, the real war started from the ending of episode 4 showing that nobody messes with the mother of dragons or her army. her 5 minute performance deserves an emmy! if this show doesn't end with her on the iron throne i will be really disappointed. YOU GO EMILIA CLARKE!
  10. Jun 9, 2013
    0
    Really dissapointed, they didn't finish the book like they were suppose to honestly this is more about money like always giving us crap of shows, they are going to do the same this as the twilight books giving us 3 seasons per book, we got left to see if the actors last for ten years to finish the series jajaj.

    Really angry honestly.
  11. Apr 9, 2013
    10
    My only problem with the show is 1 hour seems like 15 minutes and I want more. To be honest, this is my favorite TV show of all time. I recommend everyone to watch it. Everything about it is great. The acting, characters, production values, plot, etc. Its a masterpiece.
  12. Apr 3, 2013
    10
    Everything about this series is terrific, spell-binding, intense and epic. I can't think of any other series for which I waited for like I did for Game of Thrones this whole year. Acting, writing, direction and cinematography are way more than brilliant, near to perfect and absolutely flawless at times. The season premiere took some time to build just like the series premiere did and there's nothing wrong with taking things slow. Game of Thrones is really the best series on TV right now and if you don't agree, there's something seriously wrong with you. Expand
  13. Apr 7, 2013
    10
    j jk ;akfj ;akjf; lkaj;lfkj ;lkj lkjas;dlk ;lkjsf l;kja;slkjf ;lkj fl;kjasd ;lksd ;lsjdfk qipo npwgnin wofi i poinoinwpeoif noi i poihf oaiohio oi hiosdh pfoia ifiop
  14. Apr 2, 2013
    8
    Acting is great as usual. Scenery is great is great as usual. Story and suspense is great as usual. It’s a thrilling ride that everyone, not just fans of fantasy, but everyone should take part of.

    My one and only complaint I wish it was friendlier for those that did “not” read the book. I’ve read the books but my wife and friends have not and are often confused by name droppings and
    plot mentions that one would only understand if they read the books. For example, the beginning of the episode where Samwell is asked if he released “the Ravens”. Nobody but me understood what this meant when we watched the episode. I only understood and of course I had to explain the plot to others as I know what happened at the battle where Samwell did not release the ravens. This happened a lot through Season 2 as well, where they would name drop or mention some subplot (brotherhood without banners for example) where one would only understand if they read the books and I was left explaining all of this stuff.

    Apart from that, it is an awesome series.
    Expand
  15. May 6, 2013
    10
    Great show, but as always "the books are better". If you are a fan of the TV show please take time to read the books. Yes they are long. Yes they will take a lot of time. Yes they are worth it. The show can only explain so much about the characters. The 3rd season is turning out to be pretty entertaining, even though they are changing some major things. Hopefully this show lasts another 6 years.
  16. Apr 8, 2013
    9
    Absolutely love this show. The first two seasons are great and season three should be the biggest and best season! Also they do a exceptional job at making the books into a tv show, the books are no walk in the park. Kutos to HBO!
  17. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    As a reader of the book series, I can say that this show gives complete justice to the books. They treat every plot line with respect. When they out material you can trust they have a good reason to do so, be it casting limits, budget or episode constraints. One could just complain "oh they left this out and they changed that" without even considering why. Now I know I have only seen one episode, but to be honest, one is enough to see that this season will be the best. I wish the score went higher than ten, because I think it deserves a higher score than last year. Expand
  18. Apr 2, 2013
    5
    Nothing exceptional...it's just a normal first episode. Stop being those subjective blind fans who will scream wow every time they see a dragon fly or an unknown secondary character getting stabbed.
  19. May 20, 2013
    3
    Season 3 went the way the books did nowhere.
    There is no coherent story as such, the scenes jump all over the place.
    The only thing that is left some CGI action but thats not enough to make it interesting.
  20. Apr 9, 2013
    10
    I have been continually impressed by the writing and adaptation of this show from the books. For more in depth analysis:

    http://www.notsodaily.com/2013/04/game-of-thrones-recap-and-review.html
  21. May 12, 2013
    4
    With three episodes left I must say this season has really been quite the let down. The intense build up and anticipation left at the end of the second season immediately falters into extensive and unnecessary political drama. The story simply lacks sufficient pop or advancement, with in depth looks at every political squabble even slightly pertinent to the main story line you get lost on the wrong screen, your smartphone. The acting however does continue to present a shining star on a season that has lost all its umph on the set. Expand
  22. Jun 19, 2013
    5
    I've enjoyed watching the show greatly thus far, from the cool intro to the stellar performances, characters, and settings. It's definitely a visual treat for anyone fond of science fiction and fantasy. I never read the books so I'm not comparing it to anything. It's a bit hard to admit for fear of contradicting all the hype around the show, but I'm finding myself losing a lot of interest pretty quickly, especially after this last season. Other TV shows with far less complicated stories have me looking forward to the next episode. This one is starting to make me cringe. It's almost a job to watch it. The incest, the decapitations of hands and other junk, and the high number of cruel despicable people in this world paint a dreary vision of an unhappy place that I want nothing to do with. One of the greatest things I've always found about fantasy stories, when they're done well, is that you almost long for that kind of life, to be in that kind of world...swords and magic. Makes you feel like a kid. GoT instead makes you thankful you live on planet Earth, and where's the fun in that? I'm getting very tired of the build up...there are too many separate stories and it doesn't come together enough to keep my attention. Too much foreplay, not enough climax, I think I'll roll off and go to sleep now. As other reviewers have mentioned, I agree that the Dothraki thing is getting tiresome. That's a perfect example. I rolled my eyes after the second or third desert nation freed from slavery. I dunno, I'm gonna keep watching for sure but if it stays at this pace for another season, I'll probably have to put it down. They'll have to come up with something more than and ass to keep my attention anyway. Expand
  23. May 6, 2013
    10
    Both Season 2 and Season 3 are even better from Season 1. This is the best TV show for me and i am in love with the Medieval Fantasy setting. My only complain is that they release only 10 episodes every year. HBO while knows that this series is a success they are greedy with the few episodes they release every year
  24. Jun 10, 2013
    10
    The word epic gets banded about a lot, but, if any TV show has ever truly earned that title it is Game of Thrones. Featuring a huge, and incredibly talented, cast it is quite frankly amazing how the writers and directors have been able to bring such an interesting and detailed world to the small screen.

    Ignore those who criticise the show for its fantasy setting as this is drama at its
    very best. Expand
  25. Apr 22, 2013
    10
    This is a story with many, many moving parts. In the wrong hands, the series could have so easily disintegrated into a bubbling mess of confusion, but it has been handled not only ably, but with astounding finesse. The overall story weaves with grace, each scene carries with it an almost tangible flavor. Characters are believable and acted with soul. But the most remarkable achievement, I'd say, is having been able to hold it all together, all the intricate little plots, all the rich characters, without letting any one storyline or character progression get lost. Each season has improved upon the last in every regard, and I am happy to see that reflected in most critical reviews. I think no matter your bent toward or away from high fantasy, if the series maintains this level of care, it will go down as one of the greatest television achievements of all time. Expand
  26. Apr 4, 2013
    9
    All i can say is, im glad this brilliant show is back on air!!!
    the first episode starts by bringing back all the characters into the story, reminding you of what they were doing, and getting the story rolling again, however i felt there was a lack of connection or acknowledgement between all the main characters, feeling like each different scene featuring a different house was a skit
    from a comedy sitcom.
    given that, the episode was still great, with some really exciting scenes and great writing (8/10 probably). i think daenerys will probably become one of the most important and interesting charters in this season.
    the trailers are showing pleanty more action which is always good, and i just cant wait for it all to unfold!
    Expand
  27. Jun 9, 2013
    10
    I originally reviewed this when there were only 3 episodes left, and I ended up giving it a nine. But, after the last three episodes, particularly "The Rains of Castamere" I feel as though it has earned a ten. I know some have complained that the finale wasn't exciting enough, but it was following the episode that is second only to "Blackwater" in terms of excitement. The finale was a good set up for the plot points of next season. And yes, the first couple episodes were a bit slow, but they were still good and the plot has flown nicely since then, with great character development, particularly in the case of Jaime. Plus, the acting was incredible but seemed particularly great in the finale. All in all, it was a great season and every episode was great in its own way. Expand
  28. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    Season 3 was shocking with some extra jagged and unforeseeable turns. A diverse story with interesting characters Its pace works both ways (in its favor as well as against it) The best thing on TV
  29. Jun 21, 2013
    10
    An excellent fantasy, historical television series that has completely involved me in the lives of the characters. I enjoy the sets, costumes, and the excellent acting.Every week there is a problem to be solved and a cliffhanger that has to be overcome. This season takes ones breath away with all the surprises. I await for new programing ASAP
  30. Apr 19, 2013
    10
    3 episodes in, and I am quite impressed. The first two episodes (especially the premiere) focused on setting up the plot lines and character arcs of the season. The third episode also had a considerable amount of set-up, but it also moved at a faster pace and brought quite a few surprises. This is shaping up to be the best season yet. The writing is still stellar, the acting top notch, and the production values better than ever. I can't wait for the rest of this season! Expand
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Jace Lacob
    May 30, 2013
    80
    While Season 3, like the novel on which it is based, takes a little while to get going, when it does pick up speed, it soars--particularly in the sensational third and fourth installments.
  2. Reviewed by: Chris Cabin
    Apr 1, 2013
    75
    If Game of Thrones still feels like it's just a bit weighed down by the sheer heft of its narrative strands, to say nothing of the seemingly endless backstories and mythologies, the series at least now feels like it has some firm footing and a newfound sense of certain direction that was lacking intermittently in the second season.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Mar 29, 2013
    83
    Game of Thrones plays by its own rules--and remains irresistible.