• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 17, 2011
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 1541 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The battle for the throne continues with Ayra and Bran still out in the countryside; Sansa is married off to another; Jon Snow meets Wildlings leader, Mance Rayder (Ciaran Hinds); Dany reunited with her dragons seeks an army; and Catelyn and Rob continue to fight the Lannisters' army.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Fantasy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Mar 29, 2013
    100
    The horrors of war, the danger of shifting alliances and the anguish of intra-family rivalries raise the dramatic stakes, matched by the glorious visuals.
  2. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Mar 28, 2013
    100
    The show beautifully depicts a massive game of musical chairs, a world at war with doom ever present just across the border.
  3. Those who make the investment are richly rewarded. There's enough tension, betrayal, treachery, greed and sex, after all, to fill eight seasons of "Scandal."
  4. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Mar 29, 2013
    100
    So far (judging from the first four episodes), it's living up to our highest expectations.
  5. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Mar 28, 2013
    90
    I just want my favorite shows to be able to break my heart, and the more broadly Game of Thrones ranges and the longer its cast list grows, the tougher it will be for the drama to do that. It's impossible not to be drawn into the saga, however (aside from one or two strands that are filler and/or confusingly laid out).
  6. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Mar 28, 2013
    83
    Game of Thrones seems to be getting better all the time judging from the four episodes sent for review. It’s just that it also seems to be taking longer and longer to get there in the interests of servicing all the returning and new characters in play.
  7. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Mar 28, 2013
    50
    [Peter Dinklage, Ciaran Hinds, Paul Kaye, and Dianna Rigg are] all fun to watch, even when their characters don’t have anything in particular to do besides relay information that we need to keep up with the story or keep straight the seven (so we’re told) warring families.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 99
  2. Negative: 5 out of 99
  1. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    For a show as vast and complex as HBO's Game of Thrones, a slow and careful re-introduction is probably for the best. The pace of tonight'sFor a show as vast and complex as HBO's Game of Thrones, a slow and careful re-introduction is probably for the best. The pace of tonight's Season 3 premiere is accordingly quite measured- one might say that it abruptly ends before anything significant actually occurs- but we find ourselves cured of cliffhanger and able to begin sorting through a plot that has had a tendency to overwhelm in the past. Timeframe, along with the pantheon of characters, has been somewhat condensed from the novelistic version of tonight's events, but the cuts were made carefully and do not yet appear to leave any obvious holes or scars. Performances are impressive, writing is stellar, new winds of complexity begin blowing in the north and south alike, and one can't help but wish it were already next Sunday. Game of Thrones is back. Collapse
  2. Jun 26, 2013
    10
    This is a TV Show which manages to uplift the best parts of the source material, whilst cutting back the fat and gristle holding it back. InThis is a TV Show which manages to uplift the best parts of the source material, whilst cutting back the fat and gristle holding it back. In the process it manages to satisfy those who appreciated the original story as well as newcomers who wouldn't otherwise experience it.

    Similarly as the Lord of the Rings movie trilogy was to its novels, this is a more perfect representation of the fantasy universe.
    Expand
  3. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    I'm huge fan so naturally I loved the third season and think this show would be hard to ruin. (Just because you didn't like some plot twistsI'm huge fan so naturally I loved the third season and think this show would be hard to ruin. (Just because you didn't like some plot twists doesn't mean the show is dead, keep in mind the plot is already complete it just hasn't all aired.) Simply because of the "Red Wedding" scene this season and series became a master piece for me, dethroning Cowboy Bebop from my favorite show of all time. (That was my favorite show for 5 years for those that give a If you haven't started watching this show by now wtf are you waiting for? Expand
  4. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    As a reader of the book series, I can say that this show gives complete justice to the books. They treat every plot line with respect. WhenAs a reader of the book series, I can say that this show gives complete justice to the books. They treat every plot line with respect. When they out material you can trust they have a good reason to do so, be it casting limits, budget or episode constraints. One could just complain "oh they left this out and they changed that" without even considering why. Now I know I have only seen one episode, but to be honest, one is enough to see that this season will be the best. I wish the score went higher than ten, because I think it deserves a higher score than last year. Expand
  5. Jul 11, 2013
    9
    The season finale was anti-climatic and there was a lot of this season I felt could have been approached in a better way but overall it was aThe season finale was anti-climatic and there was a lot of this season I felt could have been approached in a better way but overall it was a very good season. There was a lot more humour this season and some very strong scenes which really made the season stand out. Overall I think it's been the best season so far and I should leave credit where credit is due. Expand
  6. Jul 3, 2013
    9
    At times I felt that season three was the show's slowest yet. For me too many of the characters, I can think of Arya, Sam, Jaime and Brann offAt times I felt that season three was the show's slowest yet. For me too many of the characters, I can think of Arya, Sam, Jaime and Brann off the top of my head, were sharing journeys of a similar nature and although the plot only visited them occasionally, there didn't seem to be much diversity between the story lines and episodes could be filled with people on the move, never seeming to make much progress towards their goals.

    On the other hand, all the above is what makes Game of Thrones such a great show. The plot moves along at its own speed, steadily moving the massive cast of characters along in their respective story arcs. The slow and deliberate story telling is such a contrast to many TV shows where writers seem to rush plots at the expense of character development. That is not to say that Game of Thrones is not capable of turning up the excitement levels. I think this season has contained the biggest shocks of the show so far and considering what happened at the end of season one, that is saying something.

    This leads me on to the episode The Rains of Castamere, also known as The Red Wedding. I'm keen not to give anything way so it is difficult to comment on but for me this episode underlines the greatness of the show. A colossal event in terms of characters and story line that you just would not see in any other show. Imagine Tony Soprano's family being wiped out in the middle of an episode in the middle of a season. Totally unheard of. The scenes in particular were brilliantly produced as well and any silly doubts I had over the show were instantly erased by this episode.

    Elsewhere, Tywin demonstrates he is the only Lannister able to lay the law down to Joffrey. I'm looking forward to seeing more of this in the future, Joffrey seems genuinely afraid of his grandfather. Tywin's arrival shakes things up at Joffrey's court and things change for Tyrion, Sansa and Littlefinger and even Cersei seems unable to avoid her father's plans to strengthen the family.

    The season comes to a close with the fate of one major character unconfirmed and I can't wait for the fallout from the Red Wedding to filter across Westeros. The next season of Game of Thrones cannot return soon enough.
    Expand
  7. Jun 9, 2013
    0
    Really dissapointed, they didn't finish the book like they were suppose to honestly this is more about money like always giving us crap ofReally dissapointed, they didn't finish the book like they were suppose to honestly this is more about money like always giving us crap of shows, they are going to do the same this as the twilight books giving us 3 seasons per book, we got left to see if the actors last for ten years to finish the series jajaj.

    Really angry honestly.
    Expand

See all 99 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2014

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2014 Image
    Published: January 7, 2015
    The results are in! Find out which video games, movies, TV shows, albums, and songs were the favorites among Metacritic users in 2014.
  2. Best of 2014: Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    Best of 2014: Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 9, 2014
    What were critics' favorite television shows of 2014? Find their individual top 10 lists inside, as well as the overall standings ... and check back here for daily updates throughout the month.
  3. Ranked: The Best & Worst TV Shows Based on Books

    Ranked: The Best & Worst TV Shows Based on Books Image
    Published: August 13, 2014
    The trend of adapting the written word to the small screen has been accelerating in recent years, and especially this summer, when nine such shows will launch. We look back at the best and worst TV adaptations of books from the past 30 years.
  4. Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season

    Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season Image
    Published: July 22, 2014
    Our look back at the 2013-14 television season includes all of the year's award winners as well as the season's highest-scoring programs.
  5. 2014 Emmy Nominations

    2014 Emmy Nominations Image
    Published: July 10, 2014
    Get a complete guide to this year's Emmy nominations, including lists of nominees in every major category and reactions from TV critics to this year's snubs.
  6. Episode Review: Game of Thrones Season 4 Finale

    Episode Review: Game of Thrones Season 4 Finale Image
    Published: June 16, 2014
    What are critics saying about last night's Game of Thrones finale? The first reviews are in.
  7. 2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 10, 2013
    What were critics' favorite television shows of the year? Find their individual top 10 lists inside, as well as composite standings. (And check back for daily updates throughout the month).
  8. Television Critics Announce 2013 Award Winners

    Television Critics Announce 2013 Award Winners Image
    Published: August 4, 2013
    Saturday night, TV critics and journalists announced the winners of their 29th annual awards. Inside, get a complete list of the shows and performers who won.
  9. 2013 Emmy Nominations

    2013 Emmy Nominations Image
    Published: July 18, 2013
    Get a full list of this year's Emmy nominees in every major category, with analysis, a look at this year's snubs and surprises, and more.
  10. Television Critics Announce 2012 Award Winners

    Television Critics Announce 2012 Award Winners Image
    Published: July 29, 2012
    "Louie," "Game of Thrones," and "Homeland" were the big winners Saturday night when the Television Critics Association announced the recipients of the 28th Annual TCA Awards. Get the full list of winners inside.
  11. Episode Review: Game of Thrones Season 2 Finale

    Episode Review: Game of Thrones Season 2 Finale Image
    Published: June 4, 2012
    What are critics saying about "Valar Morghulis," last night's second-season finale for HBO's hit Game of Thrones? Find out inside, where we've collected their comments about this week's episode and the season as a whole.
  12. Television Critics Announce 2011 Award Winners

    Television Critics Announce 2011 Award Winners Image
    Published: August 7, 2011
    Saturday, the Television Critics Association handed out their annual awards to the best TV shows and actors of the past year, including a pair of trophies for AMC's "Mad Men." Get a complete list of winners and nominees inside.
  13. 2010-11 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks

    2010-11 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks Image
    Published: May 3, 2011
    It's time for our annual look at the best and worst of the past television season. Find out which first-year broadcast and cable shows impressed critics and users the most, and see how the major networks compared.