• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 17, 2011
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 1720 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The battle for the throne continues with Ayra and Bran still out in the countryside; Sansa is married off to another; Jon Snow meets Wildlings leader, Mance Rayder (Ciaran Hinds); Dany reunited with her dragons seeks an army; and Catelyn and Rob continue to fight the Lannisters' army.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Fantasy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Mar 29, 2013
    100
    The horrors of war, the danger of shifting alliances and the anguish of intra-family rivalries raise the dramatic stakes, matched by the glorious visuals.
  2. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Mar 28, 2013
    100
    The show beautifully depicts a massive game of musical chairs, a world at war with doom ever present just across the border.
  3. Those who make the investment are richly rewarded. There's enough tension, betrayal, treachery, greed and sex, after all, to fill eight seasons of "Scandal."
  4. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Mar 29, 2013
    100
    So far (judging from the first four episodes), it's living up to our highest expectations.
  5. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Mar 28, 2013
    90
    I just want my favorite shows to be able to break my heart, and the more broadly Game of Thrones ranges and the longer its cast list grows, the tougher it will be for the drama to do that. It's impossible not to be drawn into the saga, however (aside from one or two strands that are filler and/or confusingly laid out).
  6. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Mar 28, 2013
    83
    Game of Thrones seems to be getting better all the time judging from the four episodes sent for review. It’s just that it also seems to be taking longer and longer to get there in the interests of servicing all the returning and new characters in play.
  7. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Mar 28, 2013
    50
    [Peter Dinklage, Ciaran Hinds, Paul Kaye, and Dianna Rigg are] all fun to watch, even when their characters don’t have anything in particular to do besides relay information that we need to keep up with the story or keep straight the seven (so we’re told) warring families.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 91 out of 104
  2. Negative: 5 out of 104
  1. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    For a show as vast and complex as HBO's Game of Thrones, a slow and careful re-introduction is probably for the best. The pace of tonight'sFor a show as vast and complex as HBO's Game of Thrones, a slow and careful re-introduction is probably for the best. The pace of tonight's Season 3 premiere is accordingly quite measured- one might say that it abruptly ends before anything significant actually occurs- but we find ourselves cured of cliffhanger and able to begin sorting through a plot that has had a tendency to overwhelm in the past. Timeframe, along with the pantheon of characters, has been somewhat condensed from the novelistic version of tonight's events, but the cuts were made carefully and do not yet appear to leave any obvious holes or scars. Performances are impressive, writing is stellar, new winds of complexity begin blowing in the north and south alike, and one can't help but wish it were already next Sunday. Game of Thrones is back. Expand
  2. Jul 13, 2013
    10
    Another impeccable season of Game of Thrones. Plot twists and political drama was once again well written and spread in all of the episodes.Another impeccable season of Game of Thrones. Plot twists and political drama was once again well written and spread in all of the episodes. There was a good distribution of screen time, which is very difficult to do in a television series with so many characters and plot lines. Great to see the development of stories in both, Westeros and Essos. Expand
  3. Jul 8, 2013
    10
    It got off to a slow start and launched into the most blood-soaked, bugf**k crazy season yet. I'm not going to spoil anything here, but thisIt got off to a slow start and launched into the most blood-soaked, bugf**k crazy season yet. I'm not going to spoil anything here, but this season is not for the faint of heart. Expand
  4. Apr 9, 2013
    10
    I have been continually impressed by the writing and adaptation of this show from the books. For more in depth analysis:I have been continually impressed by the writing and adaptation of this show from the books. For more in depth analysis:

    http://www.notsodaily.com/2013/04/game-of-thrones-recap-and-review.html
    Expand
  5. Jul 26, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If you like sword play and incest this may be the perfect show for you. No character is safe from getting killed and there is also plenty of romance to keep the ladies interested. Expand
  6. Jun 15, 2015
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I just finished the third Season and am not happy. As always, I love how deep and strong every character feels. The visuals are awesome as always, the actors brilliant!
    But, I hate you George R. R. Martin, you fat **** What the flying **** What is wrong with you. My brain wants to explode, my mouth and soul wants to scream, that your ears are going to fall off. Why is so much **** happening to the Starks, but in return, nothing happens to their enemies?
    I love that the "Evil" is having the upper hand for once in a movie or a show. But seriously. Why is this happening to Robb, to his wife, to Catelyn and all other Starks? This is just...I cant even describe my sadness, anger and my disbelief in the plot and things that happened! I freaking love plot-twists but I just hope, that some real **** is going to happen to the Lannister's and Frey's!
    Iam still enjoying the show, every season a bit more and Iam very excited of what is going to happen next!
    Expand
  7. Jun 9, 2013
    0
    Really dissapointed, they didn't finish the book like they were suppose to honestly this is more about money like always giving us crap ofReally dissapointed, they didn't finish the book like they were suppose to honestly this is more about money like always giving us crap of shows, they are going to do the same this as the twilight books giving us 3 seasons per book, we got left to see if the actors last for ten years to finish the series jajaj.

    Really angry honestly.
    Expand

See all 104 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2015 Emmy Nominations

    2015 Emmy Nominations Image
    Published: July 16, 2015
    Find a complete guide to the just-announced nominations for the 67th Primetime Emmy Awards.
  2. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2014

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2014 Image
    Published: January 7, 2015
    The results are in! Find out which video games, movies, TV shows, albums, and songs were the favorites among Metacritic users in 2014.
  3. Best of 2014: Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    Best of 2014: Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 9, 2014
    What were critics' favorite television shows of 2014? Find their individual top 10 lists inside, as well as the overall standings ... and check back here for daily updates throughout the month.
  4. Ranked: The Best & Worst TV Shows Based on Books

    Ranked: The Best & Worst TV Shows Based on Books Image
    Published: August 13, 2014
    The trend of adapting the written word to the small screen has been accelerating in recent years, and especially this summer, when nine such shows will launch. We look back at the best and worst TV adaptations of books from the past 30 years.
  5. Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season

    Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season Image
    Published: July 22, 2014
    Our look back at the 2013-14 television season includes all of the year's award winners as well as the season's highest-scoring programs.
  6. 2014 Emmy Nominations

    2014 Emmy Nominations Image
    Published: July 10, 2014
    Get a complete guide to this year's Emmy nominations, including lists of nominees in every major category and reactions from TV critics to this year's snubs.
  7. Episode Review: Game of Thrones Season 4 Finale

    Episode Review: Game of Thrones Season 4 Finale Image
    Published: June 16, 2014
    What are critics saying about last night's Game of Thrones finale? The first reviews are in.
  8. 2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 10, 2013
    What were critics' favorite television shows of the year? Find their individual top 10 lists inside, as well as composite standings. (And check back for daily updates throughout the month).
  9. Television Critics Announce 2013 Award Winners

    Television Critics Announce 2013 Award Winners Image
    Published: August 4, 2013
    Saturday night, TV critics and journalists announced the winners of their 29th annual awards. Inside, get a complete list of the shows and performers who won.
  10. 2013 Emmy Nominations

    2013 Emmy Nominations Image
    Published: July 18, 2013
    Get a full list of this year's Emmy nominees in every major category, with analysis, a look at this year's snubs and surprises, and more.
  11. Television Critics Announce 2012 Award Winners

    Television Critics Announce 2012 Award Winners Image
    Published: July 29, 2012
    "Louie," "Game of Thrones," and "Homeland" were the big winners Saturday night when the Television Critics Association announced the recipients of the 28th Annual TCA Awards. Get the full list of winners inside.
  12. Episode Review: Game of Thrones Season 2 Finale

    Episode Review: Game of Thrones Season 2 Finale Image
    Published: June 4, 2012
    What are critics saying about "Valar Morghulis," last night's second-season finale for HBO's hit Game of Thrones? Find out inside, where we've collected their comments about this week's episode and the season as a whole.
  13. Television Critics Announce 2011 Award Winners

    Television Critics Announce 2011 Award Winners Image
    Published: August 7, 2011
    Saturday, the Television Critics Association handed out their annual awards to the best TV shows and actors of the past year, including a pair of trophies for AMC's "Mad Men." Get a complete list of winners and nominees inside.
  14. 2010-11 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks

    2010-11 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks Image
    Published: May 3, 2011
    It's time for our annual look at the best and worst of the past television season. Find out which first-year broadcast and cable shows impressed critics and users the most, and see how the major networks compared.