Game of Thrones : Season 4

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 17, 2011
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
Game of Thrones Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 1805 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The fourth season finds King Joffrey preparing to wed Margaery Tyrell (Natalie Dormer), as Jaime Lannister seeks to rekindle his relationship with his sister Cersei, while Daenerys add more people to her army, and Castle Black is about to be attacked by Wildlings.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Fantasy

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Mar 31, 2014
    100
    The sharply written, slow-paced premiere ratchets up the tension on what’s reported to be the bloodiest 10-episode season yet.
  2. Reviewed by: Tim Molloy
    Apr 4, 2014
    100
    The acting is delightful, the visuals are sumptuous, the stories couldn't be more surprising.
  3. Reviewed by: Andrew Romano
    Apr 2, 2014
    100
    It is--and continues to be in Season 4--a total storytelling masterclass.
  4. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Apr 4, 2014
    100
    It's sexy, violent, witty, emotionally devastating and visually spectacular--those dragons are bigger and more unruly than ever--delivering an experience not unlike how the glorious Diana Rigg (as Lady Olenna, Queen of Thorns) responds when she first lays eyes on the Amazonian warrior Lady Brienne (Gwendoline Christie): "Aren't you just marvelous, absolutely singular!" Yes, she is, and so's the show.
  5. Reviewed by: Mark Dawidziak
    Apr 4, 2014
    100
    "Justified" and Game of Thrones, each in its own way, has done its share to raise that bar to dizzying heights.
  6. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Apr 4, 2014
    91
    Game remains one of the more challenging shows to follow, but one of the most rewarding.
  7. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Apr 4, 2014
    60
    This narrative pokiness is redeemed, as usual, by the machine-tooled professionalism of the production, the lavish attention to the mock-medieval costumes and setting, and the mostly crisp, understated acting by the international cast.... More than ever, though, you may find yourself impatient for the plot to wind around to the more engaging story lines.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 117
  1. Apr 7, 2014
    10
    By knowing what happens from reading Book 3, this second half has the potential to be the greatest season of television ever. The show justBy knowing what happens from reading Book 3, this second half has the potential to be the greatest season of television ever. The show just keeps topping itself and Benioff & Weiss stay incredibly true to the books. Possibly more-so than any other book-to-TV/Film adaptation ever. Expand
  2. Jun 8, 2014
    10
    Me sigo emocionando como la primera temporada... si no la has visto, no pierdas el tiempo y empieza a disfrutar esta gran serie basada a unMe sigo emocionando como la primera temporada... si no la has visto, no pierdas el tiempo y empieza a disfrutar esta gran serie basada a un libro genial!! Expand
  3. Dec 15, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This season took television to a whole new level. not only is this the best season of game of thrones I've seen. it may very well be one of the best seasons I have ever seen come out of television.. ever.. Jon Snow, Tyrion and Arya obviously take the place for me as the best characters, Arya being on of the sickest and awesomest, Jon being one of the fiercest and Tyrion showing that he has a darker side and will not be **** with.. I loved this season so much, Daenerys Targaryen is going to **** **** up.. however I'm a little confused with this dragons stuff.. I have a feeling it'll be more explained next season but with her advisor gone (also one of the best characters) I cannot wait to see what will be done with his character next.. I loved this season more than the last.. and now to those who compare game of thrones to either breaking bad or the walking dead I can say this.. This is on par with breaking bad by being one of the best shows on television and it wipes the ****ing floor with the walking dead, as did breaking bad.. This show is ****ing incredible... now I have to wait for the next season and I hope it's as good as this one.. Expand
  4. Apr 20, 2014
    10
    Before I begin my review, I feel obligated to say: People that give this an 8 then criticize everyone who gives it a 10 really REALLY botherBefore I begin my review, I feel obligated to say: People that give this an 8 then criticize everyone who gives it a 10 really REALLY bother me. To the individual I am addressing but not completely calling out, I must beg that you be pragmatic in your future critiques. Your opinion is NOT fact. Maybe I believe that Breaking Bad and Justified are great shows, but do not quite "match up" to HBO's The Wire and Game of Thrones. But that is MY opinion. It is still not fact.

    And to the next person I hear compare Game of Thrones to that, IN MY OPINION, inconsistent (though still oddly entertaining) mess of a series The Walking Dead as if they are on the same level of quality, or for that matter, use the idiotic concept "over hyped", I will cut off his manhood and feed it to the goats!

    Now, to the review: Yes, I am reviewing this season only two episodes in. To those who disapprove, be sated by the fact that if something were to change my opinion down the road a few episodes I will update my review accordingly. But, having the distinct advantage that I have read the books and having not been disappointed thus far, I am fairly confident this season will be the best yet. And since Metacritic will not let me give the show the 11 I feel it deserves, I am forced to give Game of Thrones another 10 for this season.

    In my opinion, the books series it is based on, A Song of Ice and Fire, is simply the single greatest adult fantasy series out there that I have read, and Game of Thrones has done a near-perfect job adapting such a vast text to fit a television format. Do I have occasional quibbles about the showrunners adaption choices? Of course. But, so far, none have been immense enough to warrant me docking the show even 1/4 of a point.

    I cannot wait to see some of my favorite scenes from the books adapted for the big screen. This season will most definitely be unforgettable and the pinnacle of great television, in my opinion.
    Expand
  5. Oct 5, 2014
    9
    The show is very well built. The actors and the screen plays are fantastic. The set is just amazing. Directors focus their attention on every details.
  6. May 13, 2014
    9
    So much tension, so much drama, I have no life and cannot work properly without a dose of GoT! Ok after Breaking Bad I was given a breatherSo much tension, so much drama, I have no life and cannot work properly without a dose of GoT! Ok after Breaking Bad I was given a breather for a couple of months which seemed like a year!! but I am glad I waited this long to start watching series 4! I am engrossed by the whitewalkers, what if they ruled on the iron throne!! Scared I am!!
    I cannot breath proper after seeing the trial of Tyrion, again what a damned great performance!!!! Oberon you sexy beast, stop it, you appear to be enjoying the Lannisters and their chaos, Jaime you are kind but it won't work! Shae you are a shame (acted wonderfully again). Cersei chin up you can still throw a good punch even after losing a child (one would have thought you would calm down by now). Just to let you know though, I actually miss Joffrey.
    Expand
  7. May 11, 2014
    0
    It was slow and boring and I am not really into these types of shows. I'd rather have a live action Call of Duty.
    I feel that this show does
    It was slow and boring and I am not really into these types of shows. I'd rather have a live action Call of Duty.
    I feel that this show does not meet the potential that it has shown to post-viewers via advertisements and other ways of attention.
    Expand

See all 117 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Spring TV Preview: The 30 Most-Anticipated Shows

    Spring TV Preview: The 30 Most-Anticipated Shows Image
    Published: March 2, 2016
    Preview 30 intriguing shows scheduled to debut between now and early May, including the returns of Game of Thrones and The Americans and the season's most promising newcomers.
  2. 2015 Emmy Awards: Full Winners List + Critic Reviews

    2015 Emmy Awards: Full Winners List + Critic Reviews Image
    Published: September 20, 2015
    View a complete list of this year's Emmy winners, get reviews of the broadcast from TV critics, and find out how accurate expert and user predictions turned out to be.
  3. Best TV Shows of the 2014-15 Season

    Best TV Shows of the 2014-15 Season Image
    Published: August 12, 2015
    We reveal the top TV programs of the 2014-15 season, including the shows receiving the most award nominations as well as the highest grades from critics.
  4. 2015 Emmy Nominations

    2015 Emmy Nominations Image
    Published: July 16, 2015
    Find a complete guide to the just-announced nominations for the 67th Primetime Emmy Awards.
  5. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2014

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2014 Image
    Published: January 7, 2015
    The results are in! Find out which video games, movies, TV shows, albums, and songs were the favorites among Metacritic users in 2014.
  6. Best of 2014: Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    Best of 2014: Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 9, 2014
    What were critics' favorite television shows of 2014? Find their individual top 10 lists inside, as well as the overall standings ... and check back here for daily updates throughout the month.
  7. Ranked: The Best & Worst TV Shows Based on Books

    Ranked: The Best & Worst TV Shows Based on Books Image
    Published: August 13, 2014
    The trend of adapting the written word to the small screen has been accelerating in recent years, and especially this summer, when nine such shows will launch. We look back at the best and worst TV adaptations of books from the past 30 years.
  8. Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season

    Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season Image
    Published: July 22, 2014
    Our look back at the 2013-14 television season includes all of the year's award winners as well as the season's highest-scoring programs.
  9. 2014 Emmy Nominations

    2014 Emmy Nominations Image
    Published: July 10, 2014
    Get a complete guide to this year's Emmy nominations, including lists of nominees in every major category and reactions from TV critics to this year's snubs.
  10. Episode Review: Game of Thrones Season 4 Finale

    Episode Review: Game of Thrones Season 4 Finale Image
    Published: June 16, 2014
    What are critics saying about last night's Game of Thrones finale? The first reviews are in.
  11. 2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 10, 2013
    What were critics' favorite television shows of the year? Find their individual top 10 lists inside, as well as composite standings. (And check back for daily updates throughout the month).
  12. Television Critics Announce 2013 Award Winners

    Television Critics Announce 2013 Award Winners Image
    Published: August 4, 2013
    Saturday night, TV critics and journalists announced the winners of their 29th annual awards. Inside, get a complete list of the shows and performers who won.
  13. 2013 Emmy Nominations

    2013 Emmy Nominations Image
    Published: July 18, 2013
    Get a full list of this year's Emmy nominees in every major category, with analysis, a look at this year's snubs and surprises, and more.
  14. Television Critics Announce 2012 Award Winners

    Television Critics Announce 2012 Award Winners Image
    Published: July 29, 2012
    "Louie," "Game of Thrones," and "Homeland" were the big winners Saturday night when the Television Critics Association announced the recipients of the 28th Annual TCA Awards. Get the full list of winners inside.
  15. Episode Review: Game of Thrones Season 2 Finale

    Episode Review: Game of Thrones Season 2 Finale Image
    Published: June 4, 2012
    What are critics saying about "Valar Morghulis," last night's second-season finale for HBO's hit Game of Thrones? Find out inside, where we've collected their comments about this week's episode and the season as a whole.
  16. Television Critics Announce 2011 Award Winners

    Television Critics Announce 2011 Award Winners Image
    Published: August 7, 2011
    Saturday, the Television Critics Association handed out their annual awards to the best TV shows and actors of the past year, including a pair of trophies for AMC's "Mad Men." Get a complete list of winners and nominees inside.
  17. 2010-11 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks

    2010-11 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks Image
    Published: May 3, 2011
    It's time for our annual look at the best and worst of the past television season. Find out which first-year broadcast and cable shows impressed critics and users the most, and see how the major networks compared.