• Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 17, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 2526 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 16, 2014
    9
    In my country there is the story that has identical story pattern. It called as "Cerita Pewayangan". When I watched this movie it's little bit makes me remember to that story -Cerita Pewayangan-. it has complex story which is the stories so impossible if they have been made by one person. So was game of throne, either. The storyline, character, acting style, the causality, and the takeIn my country there is the story that has identical story pattern. It called as "Cerita Pewayangan". When I watched this movie it's little bit makes me remember to that story -Cerita Pewayangan-. it has complex story which is the stories so impossible if they have been made by one person. So was game of throne, either. The storyline, character, acting style, the causality, and the take camera angle all it's great and perfect. There was no defected at all. Expand
  2. Dec 1, 2014
    10
    If I could give it an 11, I would in a heartbeat. The books are, of course, the best way to get into the world of Ice and Fire, but HBO has done a STELLAR job with the show and I continue to enjoy it more and more with every season.
  3. Nov 23, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Seriously. **** you, Game of Thrones! I hate this show so much right now! But I also love it! I only hate it because of S1E9. Why did you that? Ned Stark was awesome! I did not watch further and I am nearly at the end of this episode but as far as I can tell: this TV show is ****ing awesome! I love it! Expand
  4. Nov 18, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I rarely have time for tv shows, this was one of the best of all time. The characters are all intresting, well-layered. People keep dying in this show but you can see why especially in a world that does not promote goodness but everything is grey. Sure there are evil pricks such as Joffrey and Snow but they're fun to watch even as the viewer wants them to die horribly(and one of them does...wheeeee!). I have never read the books so please dont spoil me anything. Expand
  5. Oct 23, 2014
    9
    One of the best shows on TV, watch noe. Keep in mind this show is very mature in it's content and is not for everyone but is well worth watching. Geat show, watch now.
    9/10
  6. Oct 14, 2014
    9
    With too many stories going around you do sometimes forgot who was who, specially their name, but every character is so witty and cunning becoming more interesting as the show proceeds. This is one show which I never want to see ending.
  7. Oct 2, 2014
    9
    Очень, очень, очень, очень, очень, очень, очень, очень, очень, очень, очень, очень и еще раз ОЧЕНЬ стоящий сериал!
  8. Sep 23, 2014
    9
    NEEDLESS injection of PORN

    5% of series 1 must be fast forward to avoid scandalizing with filth.

    The title music is as entrancing as a similarly popular MTV title.
  9. Sep 1, 2014
    10
    Easily the best tv series ever made! deep characters nice story and sometimes thrilling actions! you may not miss out on this series! go and watch now!
  10. Aug 28, 2014
    9
    The first season of Game of Thrones works as a prologue to what's coming in the following seasons and will most likely become one of the best shows on tv, thanks to great performances from its massive cast to great writing filled of twists and shocks and remarkable characters to pure violence and gore in well-performed action pieces.
  11. Aug 19, 2014
    9
    Game of Thrones is full of complex yet immersive storytelling, relatable characters, solid writing, and fine acting. Season one is definitely worth your time.
  12. Aug 12, 2014
    10
    I hardly ever follow TV-series, when I do I hardly ever like them, and there's only one series that I have been breathlessly: Game of Thrones.
    Nothing is predictable, the storyiline is catching, characters are well played and twists are not missing. This is just one of the best series ever made.
  13. Aug 5, 2014
    10
    What prevents me to give a 10 to the show is the excess large number of scenes of sex (often useless for the story)... But, for the rest, I couldn't imagine a better scenario for a TV show ! It is almost the same wealth of culture, the same ethnic diversity and the same variety of places that in the Lord of the Rings.
    I thought the personality of most characters is really interesting and
    What prevents me to give a 10 to the show is the excess large number of scenes of sex (often useless for the story)... But, for the rest, I couldn't imagine a better scenario for a TV show ! It is almost the same wealth of culture, the same ethnic diversity and the same variety of places that in the Lord of the Rings.
    I thought the personality of most characters is really interesting and makes a nice change from usual stories : it's rare to become attached to a character like Tyrion, in spite of his vices, his defects. The diversity of universes is managed well, and I think we didn't see a world of such of wealth for many years...
    In brief, a little gem !!
    Expand
  14. Jul 10, 2014
    9
    Hablaban muy bien de esta serie y la empecé a seguir en 2011. Hoy en día la sigo viendo y no me arrepiento. Buenos actores, tramas algo enrevesadas pero adictivas con el paso del tiempo, buenos efectos, decorados, etc.
    La primera temporada fue genial, al principio era un poco lenta pero tiene buenos momentos, sobretodo en los últimos cinco capítulos.
    Si alguien aun no la ha visto se la
    Hablaban muy bien de esta serie y la empecé a seguir en 2011. Hoy en día la sigo viendo y no me arrepiento. Buenos actores, tramas algo enrevesadas pero adictivas con el paso del tiempo, buenos efectos, decorados, etc.
    La primera temporada fue genial, al principio era un poco lenta pero tiene buenos momentos, sobretodo en los últimos cinco capítulos.
    Si alguien aun no la ha visto se la recomiendo. Y por supuesto, el mejor personaje es Tyrion :)
    Expand
  15. Jul 1, 2014
    10
    Pure perfection, best TV show ever. Highlights from the show:

    Dothraki wedding
    Khal Drogo kills Mago
    Daenerys' dragons as she comes out of the funeral pyre
    Tyrion's trial by combat
  16. Jun 28, 2014
    9
    the settings are awesome, the dresses, the castles, really something else. i definitely have my favorite characters and some that i hate and it has to be this way in a good show. BUT the show has too much sex scenes for me. i don't want to see porn scenes, i want so see a deep story with surprises and drama. and you definitely get to see that - but you have to take the naked women too.
  17. Jun 27, 2014
    9
    Game of Thrones is the new series that i'm rooting for! excellent acting, character and dialog is some of the best I have seen, period! Great action scenes, sets and trilling environments that may be over used in recent years however, this time around it stand out! Season 2 here I come.
  18. Jun 26, 2014
    9
    Game of Thrones is full of complex yet immersive storytelling, relatable characters, solid writing, and fine acting. Season one is definitely worth your time.
  19. Jun 23, 2014
    10
    It started out annoying and packed with uncomfortable sex scenes and cruelty to women that I was disgusted by men for days after watching. I was soon able to overcome it and it became my favorite show of all time mostly due to Daenerys.
  20. Jun 22, 2014
    10
    Absolute amazing, every scene completely dazzled me, truly amazing, masterfully filmed.

    To anybody skeptical about watching Game Of Thrones, put aside your worries, turn of your neglect and just watch.

    Or u could read the books
  21. Jun 16, 2014
    10
    Other than the seemingly consistent attempt to shove homosexuality down our throats, this show is utterly spectacular. Now we have the long and arduous task of waiting for the next season.
  22. Jun 14, 2014
    10
    Ótima série. Khaleesi a.k.a. Daenerys Targaryen, Jon Snow, Arya Stark rainhas; Cersei Lannister, Joffrey Baratheon, Viserys Targaryen e Sansa Stark nadinha.
  23. Jun 8, 2014
    10
    Up until about two years ago, Game of Thrones was just another "hit TV series" that people began to rave about. I'm not one to get into TV series's just because I eventually begin to miss episodes, fall behind, and then don't find the time to get caught up. One day, roughly two years ago, a few of my guy friends were sitting around watching past episodes on demand and I decided to sit inUp until about two years ago, Game of Thrones was just another "hit TV series" that people began to rave about. I'm not one to get into TV series's just because I eventually begin to miss episodes, fall behind, and then don't find the time to get caught up. One day, roughly two years ago, a few of my guy friends were sitting around watching past episodes on demand and I decided to sit in and watch it with them just because I had been hearing a lot about the show. As soon as the episode was over, I was immediately hooked! For the next couple weeks I sat and watched episode after episode, sometimes for 5 hours straight, just to get caught up on the seasons…it was THAT good.

    What kept my interest from the get go was all the cliff hangers after each episode. Every time an episode ends, I'm instantly anxious for the next week. Even to this day, I watch the show religiously every Sunday during a new season. Although I have never read the books, I have found that a major disappoint between the books and the shows is that things are beginning to not reflect as accurately. I believe this is due in part to viewer ratings. As viewers, we grow attached to certain characters, and for the purpose of better ratings, certain scenarios or characters get drug along a bit more than they would in the books.

    It can be a very difficult show to follow just because of all the different characters and families. Trying to keep track of who is allies/enemies with who, is sometimes merely impossible. However, it's enjoyable to keep up with all the royal families and individual characters as well as anticipate what might be building up to unfold into the next big alliance or rivalry. I would highly recommend this show to anybody looking for some twisted entertainment.
    Expand
  24. May 13, 2014
    9
    Great performances throughout. I cannot fault this epic drama. Tyrion Lannister, keep doing what you do as I am always anticipating a mega performance from your character! Stannis I love you and I love the way you give those side looks, you need no voice to comment after those looks they say it all!!
    This show leaves me bewildered at times and sometimes shocked as today human beings are
    Great performances throughout. I cannot fault this epic drama. Tyrion Lannister, keep doing what you do as I am always anticipating a mega performance from your character! Stannis I love you and I love the way you give those side looks, you need no voice to comment after those looks they say it all!!
    This show leaves me bewildered at times and sometimes shocked as today human beings are not really that different. By this I mean the cloak and dagger attitudes and the spying. I have to watch one episode about three times in the evening to work out how the following day will be!!!!
    Ok lets be clear this is a fantasy drama but sometimes you can see the same characters in the work place for example! I know I have (giggling). Or am I too fanatical about GOT???
    Expand
  25. Apr 30, 2014
    9
    One of the best medieval, fantasy stories I have experienced since Lord of the Rings. It's compelling world is filled with interesting and well-acted characters. The plot-lines here are fantastic and sets up season 2 for what looks like some big battles up ahead. This is a show that isn't afraid to shock you. It will kill off big characters to help further the plot in believable ways.One of the best medieval, fantasy stories I have experienced since Lord of the Rings. It's compelling world is filled with interesting and well-acted characters. The plot-lines here are fantastic and sets up season 2 for what looks like some big battles up ahead. This is a show that isn't afraid to shock you. It will kill off big characters to help further the plot in believable ways. Honestly it's one of the best shows that HBO has ever aired. Well, at least this first season is.

    The only real complaint I have here is the excessive amount of nudity. Now I know HBO shows are known for their gratuitous nudity, and often that is one of the biggest appeals of their shows, but here the majority of it just feels out of place. Now I like naked women as much as the next guy, but often it can come across as an immature move for a show that prides itself on it's mature story and world. Nudity has worked for shows like Starz's Spartacus series, but here it often doesn't.

    Overall though that complaint means nothing when faced with the epic story-lines and backstabbing characters that are so entertaining to watch unfold. It's an absolutely riveting first season, and season 2 looks like it has the promise to top it. I give season 1 a near-perfect score of 9.9/10.
    Expand
  26. Apr 30, 2014
    10
    Very good, it is about Power and Power, nothing else. It might shows the human being truly nature as zoon politikon. It seems that they try to portray the post-modern human being as their origins.
  27. Apr 17, 2014
    10
    This is the best thing on TV at the moment. It's not flawless, but I gave it a 10 because it is an absolute masterpiece. The cast is consistently excellent, working in harmony with the sharp writing. The action is definitely movie-level, but not too frequent to become boring. Everything aspect of this show is at the top of its game, and more. Game of Thrones is not just TV, it is anThis is the best thing on TV at the moment. It's not flawless, but I gave it a 10 because it is an absolute masterpiece. The cast is consistently excellent, working in harmony with the sharp writing. The action is definitely movie-level, but not too frequent to become boring. Everything aspect of this show is at the top of its game, and more. Game of Thrones is not just TV, it is an experience, and one work experiencing. I would recommend this to lovers of fantasy or just those who want a good tale. Expand
  28. Apr 13, 2014
    10
    Game of Trones is the best series ever. I just cannot think of any other to compare with. Wonderful. I recently started to read the books and I started to love them at once. I think they have been making a beautiful film out of a beautiful book. Looking forward to new pieces!
  29. Mar 30, 2014
    10
    IMPORTANT: To get the full 'Game of Thrones'-experience you need to get through season 1 - you have to invest time in to it but I can promise you it'll give it back to you x100.000.000!

    As much as I love and adore Game of Thrones - pretty much every aspect of it - I've got to admit that for most people season 1 can get pretty heavy. This is simply because the plot of GoT is so huge and
    IMPORTANT: To get the full 'Game of Thrones'-experience you need to get through season 1 - you have to invest time in to it but I can promise you it'll give it back to you x100.000.000!

    As much as I love and adore Game of Thrones - pretty much every aspect of it - I've got to admit that for most people season 1 can get pretty heavy. This is simply because the plot of GoT is so huge and elaborate that you need to spend ages getting in to it.

    Season 1: introduction season - can get boring at some points with a lot of dialogue and 'explaining'. You need to get through this - no shortcuts.
    Season 2: beginning to get badass. This is the season where things begin to light up and you'll see the potential of the series.
    Season 3: PURE **** AMAZING, MINDBLOWING, BADASS AWESOMENESS! All the hours spent understanding the relations, houses and lands lead up to this. If you're not hooked after s3e10 this is not for you.
    Expand
  30. Mar 29, 2014
    10
    One of the best tv series ever produced. Based on amazing material (books). Excellent dialogues, characters, settings, clothes, music....I can go on... Not to be overlooked!!!An absolute must.
  31. Mar 23, 2014
    9
    I'm so excited the big anticipated wait for season four of Game of Thrones is near. One thing I don't like about this show is it seems the good die young and the show is full of villains. That's why I cant until the blonde beauty 'Calisi (mother of dragons) comes to kicks azz (I HOPE) and knock a few off their high horses!!
  32. Mar 20, 2014
    10
    I don't give this a 10 lightly: this is bar-none the best TV series I have ever seen in my life. So much so that I actually buy multiple DVDs to gift to family members just to support it. The atmosphere, the complex character relationships, and the sheer magnitude of the story just make this something to sink into. I haven't been able to "feel like I'm part of the universe" when watchingI don't give this a 10 lightly: this is bar-none the best TV series I have ever seen in my life. So much so that I actually buy multiple DVDs to gift to family members just to support it. The atmosphere, the complex character relationships, and the sheer magnitude of the story just make this something to sink into. I haven't been able to "feel like I'm part of the universe" when watching media since I was a teenager. This is one show that lets me do that. I turn off all external sensory items and just get absorbed into the piece, enjoying every minute. There's only two flaws so far: they couldn't dye the eyebrows blonde (you get used to it), and the first few episodes are very heavy for people who cannot handle far-arching stories and characters. This is the only show where when someone is in danger (and sometimes not even in danger) I feel the threat and cannot just assume everything will work out alright (looking at you serial shows where the main characters survive everything several seasons in). I sure hope media in general learns from GoT and this is not the only piece of such great caliber in my lifetime. Expand
  33. Mar 17, 2014
    10
    This is the best television programme ever created. The acting is the best in the business. There are a lot of characters in this, and it should be difficult to flesh out each person and give them depth, but they have no problem with that here. Each episode leaves you wanting more, and each episode has you at the edge of your seat. Expect the unexpected. The writing is the best I've everThis is the best television programme ever created. The acting is the best in the business. There are a lot of characters in this, and it should be difficult to flesh out each person and give them depth, but they have no problem with that here. Each episode leaves you wanting more, and each episode has you at the edge of your seat. Expect the unexpected. The writing is the best I've ever seen. This is television at it's finest. Expand
  34. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    The best piece of literature or entertainment ever created. One of the most impressive productions ever and is worth every second of your time. Not to be a fan boy but nothing else touches this show in character, story or presentation. All perfected to the smallest detail
  35. Mar 11, 2014
    9
    Esta primera temporada de Game of Thrones fue brillante, la lucha de las familias por el control del trono de hierro no es solo eso, es sobre la historia de rodea a varios personajes y la situacion que deben enfrentar en un mundo plagado por la traicion y la corrupcion.
  36. Mar 4, 2014
    10
    I have to say that the series are simply the best series I have watched in my entire life. I really like how they include a lot of characters, and have many main characters. This makes the series very exiting. I have not personally read the books, but I've begun, and as far as I can tell, I like them a lot. With a wide range of great actors, and an amazing story, the series get you reallyI have to say that the series are simply the best series I have watched in my entire life. I really like how they include a lot of characters, and have many main characters. This makes the series very exiting. I have not personally read the books, but I've begun, and as far as I can tell, I like them a lot. With a wide range of great actors, and an amazing story, the series get you really hooked and addicted to watching. It contains a lot of sex, so to be honest, the series are not for people who easily get offended and feel harassed by the scenes. A lot of people I know say that the "Game of Thrones" series in a nutshell, is basically: sex, dragons and violence. This I do not personally agree with, as it also contains an awesome story, great actors, and the fact that it's easy to get addicted. I would recommend this series to people who are mature enough, and who also have watched The Hobbit movies, Lord of the rings, Atlantis, Harry Potter and other fantasy movies/series. Expand
  37. Feb 14, 2014
    10
    Really, really, really good. More of a 9.5, but hell, this show is so well built and interesting the difference is insignificant. Try an episode or two, very much worth a shot.
  38. Jan 28, 2014
    10
    Game of Thrones was something I frowned upon at first, friends told me what it was and I kind of shrugged it off. Biggest mistake ever.

    This show is absolutely everything I wanted in a TV series for such a very long time. Absolutely amazing photography & cinematography, brilliant music & audio plus the amazing actors and crew which build one hell of a story to tell. The 3 seasons of
    Game of Thrones was something I frowned upon at first, friends told me what it was and I kind of shrugged it off. Biggest mistake ever.

    This show is absolutely everything I wanted in a TV series for such a very long time. Absolutely amazing photography & cinematography, brilliant music & audio plus the amazing actors and crew which build one hell of a story to tell. The 3 seasons of this so far have kept me gripped and interested the entire journey, and the fourth season is only just around the corner now!

    I highly recommend this!
    Expand
  39. Jan 24, 2014
    10
    An epic medieval fantasy with incredible action, gory and intense action, and a a brilliant and engaging storyline, coupled with fantastic writing. Despite the ensemble, the breakout is Peter Dinklage, who has found the perfect role; the sardonic, clever, and persuasive dwarf Tyrion Lannister, who by far is the most captivating of all with his schemes and clever and powerful insults andAn epic medieval fantasy with incredible action, gory and intense action, and a a brilliant and engaging storyline, coupled with fantastic writing. Despite the ensemble, the breakout is Peter Dinklage, who has found the perfect role; the sardonic, clever, and persuasive dwarf Tyrion Lannister, who by far is the most captivating of all with his schemes and clever and powerful insults and overall look at life, all make him the character who will leave you laughing. Normally, I'm not a fan of fantasy, but this has changed my mind. Expand
  40. Jan 14, 2014
    10
    I read the novels several times in the past few years, then finally got to watch most of the HBO series. The acting is superb, and the feel is true to the novels, which are as much a history lesson on the brute vileness that was Medieval Europe as a fantasy series.
  41. Jan 3, 2014
    9
    A tremendous adaptation of Martin's novels, it probably helps that he does control many aspects of the television series; Season 1 of GOT is nearly a replica of the actual novel. And like the novel, it succeeds tremendously as an entertaining, violent, and epic success.
  42. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    The critics on this site are borderline retarded. Season 1 of Game of Thrones gets a lower rating than Dexter Season 7. No GOT seasons are below a 90. Breaking Bad/Game of Thrones/The Sopranos/Walking Dead/Boardwalk Empire are +90 shows. And Homeland from what I hear. But I've only seen about 6 episodes of Season 1. But the "fans" have much better judgment than the critics, sadly.The critics on this site are borderline retarded. Season 1 of Game of Thrones gets a lower rating than Dexter Season 7. No GOT seasons are below a 90. Breaking Bad/Game of Thrones/The Sopranos/Walking Dead/Boardwalk Empire are +90 shows. And Homeland from what I hear. But I've only seen about 6 episodes of Season 1. But the "fans" have much better judgment than the critics, sadly.

    + The Wire. And The Wire.
    Expand
  43. Nov 29, 2013
    9
    Uma grande e estrondosa série de intrigas políticas e psicológica, eriçada com personagens vivos, unidos pelo enredo tentador e temperado com um toque de fantasia, isso Game of Thrones.
  44. Nov 25, 2013
    10
    I am falling in love with this show. It is interesting and the costumes and set designs are great still. Can't wait to finish seasons 2 & 3 before season 4 in the Spring.
  45. Nov 25, 2013
    10
    almost everything is here excellent, it stays true to book, very good acting, well directed etc.
    only downside they had to cut parts from the book. Buy it!
  46. Nov 16, 2013
    10
    There is nothing you can dislike about game of thrones, every episode is interesting and every character is important. I think it's one of the best tv series ever created.
  47. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    There is no weakness to this show. Whoever had the idea to make A Song of Fire and Ice into a TV series was a damn genius. The acting is unreal and the story heavily revolves around the complex relations between the characters rather than unrelenting action. Of course there is action where there needs to be and its amazing. Luckily for the viewers, it appears their budget for this show itThere is no weakness to this show. Whoever had the idea to make A Song of Fire and Ice into a TV series was a damn genius. The acting is unreal and the story heavily revolves around the complex relations between the characters rather than unrelenting action. Of course there is action where there needs to be and its amazing. Luckily for the viewers, it appears their budget for this show it quite high so we get to enjoy good special effects and robust settings. I doubted the hype around this show for quite some time. I've never been so wrong... Expand
  48. Oct 31, 2013
    10
    Incredible. Just incredible. As much critical praise as this series has received, it hasn't received enough. It is not merely highly entertaining junk food like I thought it was before I started watching. It is incredibly deep and technically flawless. The cinematography, the acting, even the sound editing: it's all top-notch. The only series I have ever seen that were better than thisIncredible. Just incredible. As much critical praise as this series has received, it hasn't received enough. It is not merely highly entertaining junk food like I thought it was before I started watching. It is incredibly deep and technically flawless. The cinematography, the acting, even the sound editing: it's all top-notch. The only series I have ever seen that were better than this were The Sopranos, Mad Men, and Breaking Bad. I think a strong argument can be made that this is the 4th-greatest television program of all time, and as funny as that may sound, I don't think most people consider Game of Thrones to be the 4th-greatest show in history. It is woefully underrated. It may well come in first place as far as characterization is concerned. In almost any television program, there are "good" characters and "bad" characters. But this is not realistic. Even in a show as great as the Sopranos, the viewer was gently nudged by the writers toward making a normative assessment of a character's morality, i.e. nudged toward despising Richie Aprile or Ralphie Cifaretto vs excusing the sins of softer-hearted mobsters like Tony and Paulie. Game of Thrones has the most believable and realistic characters in television because they are incredibly morally complex, as are real human beings. They are all self-interested in ways that the viewer can understand and empathize with. It would not be ridiculous to say that Game of Thrones, both as a book series and a show, is equal in quality to The Lord of the Rings (both as a book series and a movie franchise). In fact, in my opinion, while the books have equal artistic merit (in diametrically opposite ways), the GoT series has the LOTR film trilogy beat by a country mile. LOTR in print form was admirable for its allegorical, neo-biblical juxtaposition of pure good versus pure evil, and there are parallels to the New Testament and to 20th century wars and political struggles. It is a literary triumph in the Apollonian tradition, but GoT in print is Dionysian triumph. The characters are not morally stark (no pun intended) mannequins meant to represent ancient archetypes and values, they are human beings, reflections of the reader. I could go on forever, just watch the show. Expand
  49. Oct 27, 2013
    10
    Wow. Having put off watching this series for so long, I was more than pleasantly surprised with what it had to offer. In short; Top actors, lovely British accents, wonderful world of Westeros, Sean Bean, "A Lanister always pays his debts", shocking events that spring up quickly, well paced, funny, action packed, mythical politics, Sean Bean, Peter Dinklage brilliant portrayal of the "Imp"Wow. Having put off watching this series for so long, I was more than pleasantly surprised with what it had to offer. In short; Top actors, lovely British accents, wonderful world of Westeros, Sean Bean, "A Lanister always pays his debts", shocking events that spring up quickly, well paced, funny, action packed, mythical politics, Sean Bean, Peter Dinklage brilliant portrayal of the "Imp" gripping television. Expand
  50. Oct 25, 2013
    9
    wow amazing..feels real....very good background score .....screenplay adaption from novel is excellent..because of this I am curious to read all the books of game of thrones .....peter performance ..main highlight of the season..epic ,lavish,fantastic
  51. Oct 10, 2013
    10
    The most entertaining, big budget, awesome book based fantasy you could wish for. As a person that read all aSoIaF books, this show does them justice.
  52. Oct 10, 2013
    10
    Winter is coming, and I couldn't be happier... The series is masterful and the acting is fantastic. The series stays true to the books and really pushes across the feel of 'war of the roses' meets 'lord of the rings'.
  53. Sep 29, 2013
    9
    They're doing a great job adapting the books to the screen. This season was very well paced and very well written. On top of that, the acting and scenery were phenomenal. Great show for anyone that likes a good epic fantasy.
  54. Sep 25, 2013
    9
    Having just watched ep 10, I truly feel this series gets it just right. Acting, production values, plot, intrigue are all in line with the feel and tone of the book
  55. Sep 16, 2013
    10
    Magnificent. I never read the books, so the story was quite amazing to me, and the twists and turns caught me completely off guard. What is very great about the story is how fully realized the complex world is, and how the different plot lines intertwine together into one massive saga that surely still has much to offer in the coming seasons. I read that there are 7 novels in total. WillMagnificent. I never read the books, so the story was quite amazing to me, and the twists and turns caught me completely off guard. What is very great about the story is how fully realized the complex world is, and how the different plot lines intertwine together into one massive saga that surely still has much to offer in the coming seasons. I read that there are 7 novels in total. Will be exciting to see how they are played out. Another great thing about the story, is how it relates to many historical elements in medieval Europe. Yet the story feels original. Overall, it is a beautifully crafted TV show that is definitely worth checking out. Expand
  56. Sep 16, 2013
    9
    Cómo la web me pide un mínimo de 150 caracteres, y necesito hacer el review para poder tenerla archivada en mi perfil, pues suelto este rollito y mi votación es de 9. Un saludo.
  57. Sep 5, 2013
    10
    I cant explain in words how happy I am they finally made this series, and they did it right. The level of production, the sets, locations and the top actors they've gotten to do this makes this easily one of the best first seasons in HBO cable TV history. Throw in the fact that this show stays very close to the source material, and you have the best "thing" on TV. If the end of thisI cant explain in words how happy I am they finally made this series, and they did it right. The level of production, the sets, locations and the top actors they've gotten to do this makes this easily one of the best first seasons in HBO cable TV history. Throw in the fact that this show stays very close to the source material, and you have the best "thing" on TV. If the end of this season proved to those unknowing of this series anything don't get attached. Expand
  58. Aug 30, 2013
    10
    With beautiful and expensive production design but even better, with good acting and great writing and direction, Game of Thrones is one of the best TV shows of the year.
  59. Jul 29, 2013
    10
    Best tv show ever,- Why anyone would vote it down I don't know, maybe they didn't watch it but this is the best thing ever... I have watched it all, and I will continue to watch it all.
  60. Jul 27, 2013
    9
    An extremely good first season. Game of Thrones is a fantastic show with fantastic performances by near the entire cast. The writing is good in the first season and the writing does a great job of following the first book very closely.
  61. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    Fantastic show, it has wonderful character development, and a sense of moral ambiguity in relation to every character on the show. This is quite good because, you can decide who your hero or "protagonist" is, it's a world that is utterly and completely gray as opposed to the black and white that is portrayed on the vast majority of television programs. This is a thinking man's epic.
  62. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    There is not much that I can say that hasn't already been said. This is one of, if not the best, show on TV today. Characters are great and wonderful writing. A must watch
  63. Jun 13, 2013
    9
    Novel adaptations like this are made for television. Many times epic literary works are reduced to the bare bones because people aren't willing to sit through a film longer than 3 hours. Game of Thrones is an excellent adaptation of Martin's work, with exceptional acting and beautiful visuals. If you have to pick one series to follow, it should be this one.
  64. Jun 11, 2013
    9
    In this TV show, you never know what's going to happen next, you can only guess. It's such a fantastic peace of work(actually pieces). You follow different troop through Westeros and watch them battle for the Iron Throne, AMAZING.

    I don't really know what to say wothout spoiling.
  65. Jun 11, 2013
    9
    This show. WOW. I just can't get enough of it. It's plot twists, wars, and etc.. Just MIND-BLOWING. Normally I don't go for these type of shows.. I go for mysteries, or science fictional powered shows for example once upon a time but Game of Thrones.. It's one of the top of my favorite shows and let me warn you I watch a lot of shows. I mean it A LOT. I'd place Game of Thrones 4th of myThis show. WOW. I just can't get enough of it. It's plot twists, wars, and etc.. Just MIND-BLOWING. Normally I don't go for these type of shows.. I go for mysteries, or science fictional powered shows for example once upon a time but Game of Thrones.. It's one of the top of my favorite shows and let me warn you I watch a lot of shows. I mean it A LOT. I'd place Game of Thrones 4th of my very long list. Expand
  66. Jun 9, 2013
    10
    Amazing show. In the middle of all the mediocre television shows being produced in recent years Game of Thrones is an exception and a must watch. The show is filled with action, and fast-paced (in my opinion, when compared to other shows I've seen recently such as the Walking Dead).
  67. Jun 4, 2013
    10
    Brilliant show with very well written storyline lines which continue to grip you every episode without ever losing interest. I would highly recommend that everyone give GoT a watch.
  68. May 25, 2013
    9
    Outstandingly realized adaptation of one of the best fantasy novel of our generation. Cast is well chosen, except for Renly. Acting is amazing (Peter Dinklage fits the role of the Imp perfectly). Let's hope that HBO will be able to adapt all "Song of Ice and Fire" saga. Great start
  69. May 20, 2013
    10
    The most satisfying TV-series I have watched.

    Game of Thrones is a low fantasy medieval setting series based on the A Song of Ice and Fire books. It starts out a bit slow in an apparent non-magical fantasy world where people seem to have common medieval-ish superstitions. When magic is introduced, it is most often subtle, dark and/or unsettling, and sometimes you're left to wonder if
    The most satisfying TV-series I have watched.

    Game of Thrones is a low fantasy medieval setting series based on the A Song of Ice and Fire books.
    It starts out a bit slow in an apparent non-magical fantasy world where people seem to have common medieval-ish superstitions.
    When magic is introduced, it is most often subtle, dark and/or unsettling, and sometimes you're left to wonder if it's a just a parlor trick within the Game of Thrones world.

    The episode focuses on many main characters, each surrounded by the enemies they call friends and the friends they believe to be their enemies, spies and allies.
    The characters are very well-made, some easier to like than others, and the plot unpredictable unless you have read the books.

    For once, we are looking at a series that actually is (mostly) true to the books. While it does take some shortcuts with the approval of the author of the books they don't contradict nor ruin the plot from the books.

    This is the first TV-series I believe I will be able to bother tracking and watch every time it airs.
    Expand
  70. May 18, 2013
    9
    A very great show. Interesting storylines, interesting characters, great acting, story just a very good show. It takes a lot of attention to get every detail but the show is still very great. Kind of like a TV version of Lord of the Rings.
  71. May 6, 2013
    9
    BEST MEDIEVAL FANTASY TV SHOW FOR ME only complain from me that they release only 10 episodes every year...They could had add way more episodes and expand the story based on the books of Martin
  72. Apr 27, 2013
    10
    Many of the early critical reviews have just dismissed this as a TV version of 'The Lord of the Rings'. I feel that is extremely unfair analysis of the show. Game of thrones is by far one of the best programmes on TV now, next to Breaking Bad. One of the brilliant aspects of the show is even though it is filled with magic and fantasy creatures, at its heart it is a thrilling political drama.
  73. Apr 25, 2013
    10
    I love this show in a way that I seldom love any type of media. I look forward to each episode airing and am sad when it is done. As spring approaches each year I know that winter is coming and cannot wait for it.

    The first season starts in a way that almost immediately grabs your attention and lets you know that it will never let go. The elements that keep me coming back are not the
    I love this show in a way that I seldom love any type of media. I look forward to each episode airing and am sad when it is done. As spring approaches each year I know that winter is coming and cannot wait for it.

    The first season starts in a way that almost immediately grabs your attention and lets you know that it will never let go. The elements that keep me coming back are not the dragons or the infrequent battles, or any of the normal fantasy elements that some people seem to think the books or this show are about. The appeal is the brilliantly devious nature of many of the characters and almost naive nature of others in addition to the fact that Peter Dinklage is flat out awesome. There are very few adults I know who are not fans of this show, and generally it is because they have not seen any episodes.

    I didn't actually read the first book before the first season aired so I went into it without knowing the progression of events and actually kind of loved how that worked out. As the first season progresses you have hopes based on the characters you find to be the most honorable and likable and then you quickly realize that the world of Westeros does not take kindly to honorable people who do the right thing because it is right. In fact the first season pretty much breaks your heart in the greatest way possible as it virtually guarantees you will want to watch it until the bitter end. Previously Deadwood was my favorite show that HBO aired, Game of Thrones has now probably taken that spot.
    Expand
  74. Apr 17, 2013
    10
    As a fan of the books, I first started to watch the series with some sense of caution, as I felt truly disapointed to the treatment the Harry Potter series received from the 3rd book onwards.

    This time, however, HBO did exactly what Warner Bros. should have done with the Harry Potter series. Instead of tightening every book into 2 1/2 hours, Home Box Office offered us a well detailed
    As a fan of the books, I first started to watch the series with some sense of caution, as I felt truly disapointed to the treatment the Harry Potter series received from the 3rd book onwards.

    This time, however, HBO did exactly what Warner Bros. should have done with the Harry Potter series. Instead of tightening every book into 2 1/2 hours, Home Box Office offered us a well detailed and perfectly paced 9 hours(aprox.) of a excellent fantasy series.

    The make up, dressing and setting look like an exact replication of everyone's mind when reading A Song of Ice and Fire. The characters are well established, everyone has an importance, and everyone's actions have their own consequences attached.

    Which leads us to the acting. Sean Bean is perfect as Lord Eddard Stark. Mark Addy seems to be the real King Robert. Lena Headley does the acting so well that we even hate her and Cersei. And Peter Dinklage steals the show as Tyrion Lannister. There are also great perfomances from Michelle Fairley (Catelyn Stark), Nikolaj Coster-Waldau as the arrogant Jaime, Charles Dance as Daddy Tywin, Emilia Clarke as the noble-hearted princess Daenerys Targaryen.

    To sum up, this is a must see show. A unique experience that shows us that Good not necessarily triumphs over Evil, but there's always balance in this exceptional world of Westeros.
    Expand
  75. Apr 16, 2013
    9
    Game of Thrones provides that Lord of the Rings epic with superb storylines and acting. In its first season, it's hard to imagine how this show could go wrong. Sean Bean is fantastic as always, as are many of the other actors cast in this sure-hit series. It's not geared for the younger crowd in any way, which is why you'll find this only on HBO, but if you can stomach the matureGame of Thrones provides that Lord of the Rings epic with superb storylines and acting. In its first season, it's hard to imagine how this show could go wrong. Sean Bean is fantastic as always, as are many of the other actors cast in this sure-hit series. It's not geared for the younger crowd in any way, which is why you'll find this only on HBO, but if you can stomach the mature content you'll be in for quite an experience. This may be the best thing on TV right now. Expand
  76. Apr 14, 2013
    9
    Game of Thrones Review

    Now that I just finished the first two seasons I'm seriously surprised. This TV show is truly something to be amazed about! Right now I'm really trying to find a flaw in it but I just can't. I thought of everything, the pacing, the cast, the direction and I even dared to question the amazing production value! But i couldn't find a single main thing, maybe the
    Game of Thrones Review

    Now that I just finished the first two seasons I'm seriously surprised. This TV show is truly something to be amazed about! Right now I'm really trying to find a flaw in it but I just can't. I thought of everything, the pacing, the cast, the direction and I even dared to question the amazing production value! But i couldn't find a single main thing, maybe the occasional out of pace scene but nothing to distract you if this amazing journey.
    Let's start with the plot, it is an adaptation of the famous series of novels A Song of Ice and Fire from George R. R. Martin. Like you guessed I haven't read them but I'll congratulate George for such a deep and rich universe and characters! But you are gonna ask, can this show really pull you into this story and make you like the protagonists? The answer is: ABSOLUTELY!
    I found myself cheering for Tyrion as he led his forces in Blackwater Bay! I liked hating Joffrey's guts and seeing what other horrible things he could do! And I liked immersing myself in Jon Snow's journey to the mysterious and wild lands that lie North of the Wall!
    The story is so engaging and it never gets lost in the overwhelmingly big cast of characters. There were a few times where I said "woah, who was this?" or "what was this dudes name?", but nothing overly complicated.
    The actors are great, they are full of charm and fit the characters. The ones that really stood out where Peter Dinklage as the smart and cunning Tyrion Lannister, Sean Bean as the honorable and loyal Ned Stark and last but not least, Jack Gleeson, playing the and sometimes chilling Joffrey Baratheon! Another thing I want to talk about is the astonishing and amazingly crafted presentation. It takes you in... no, it sucks you into this world and makes you care about it and feel part of it. I swear every time I see it I just sit back and enjoy my time in Westeros.
    Expand
  77. Apr 13, 2013
    9
    Never have I seen a show make you so interested in all the characters, and the show really pulls you into the world where these kingdoms are being ruled. Just amazing show!
  78. Apr 5, 2013
    10
    It is the best show on TV. It's one of the first shows to show respect for the viewer and have a giant cast of round characters around the globe. It is a great show and a great fantasy. A must for people who love TV, Drama, Fantasy, or stories.
  79. Apr 3, 2013
    9
    One of the best shows out there... Some would say that the books are better but having read them I can assure you that the show is great and you can still enjoy it... The characters the plot the betrayals and most of all the mortality of all the characters even the protagonists will keep you company for a long time to come...
  80. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    King in the North! When I first saw this season I had never read the books. But after I had read them, I came back to this and honestly, it is probably one of the most faithful adaptions of a book (a real book, not your weak 300 pagers) I had ever seen. Long live The Bean! For he is a true actor. Dinklage is also perfect, but Sean Bean anchors the show for the first season before lettingKing in the North! When I first saw this season I had never read the books. But after I had read them, I came back to this and honestly, it is probably one of the most faithful adaptions of a book (a real book, not your weak 300 pagers) I had ever seen. Long live The Bean! For he is a true actor. Dinklage is also perfect, but Sean Bean anchors the show for the first season before letting it go free, so that newbies, like myself, were deftly introduced to the show and the Starks before the chaos ensnared. Expand
  81. Mar 23, 2013
    10
    This show is great. Way easier to follow than the books, which i find to be long winded and confusing; though i am sure there is a great story buried in all those pages, the TV show cuts off the fat!
  82. Mar 20, 2013
    10
    I don't care much for TV shows. This is the only show I've been genuinely excited for in a very long time. There are a lot of characters and names to remember, but I can't think of a single character from the show that is boring or dull. I didn't think a TV show could have so many character that are all so interesting.
  83. Mar 14, 2013
    10
    Never read the books, but I am hooked on this show. Wow, wow, and wow again!

    Great acting and very engaging story. Love the plot twists and the uncertainty that exists about any of the characters whether we are talking about their morals or even whether they'll be alive in the next episode! Do yourself a big favor and watch this show from the start. I went out and bought all the dvds.
  84. Mar 13, 2013
    10
    Yes, this is my favourite TVShow, and i have seen a lot of seriues such as Lost, Breaking Bad, White Collar, Greys Anatomy and many others, but still this is my favourite one. No i have not read the books but my cosuin have told me that´s the same thing. I love Game of Thrones becauseof it´s story, the scenarios, the actors, the visual effects. I mean this series has everything anyoneYes, this is my favourite TVShow, and i have seen a lot of seriues such as Lost, Breaking Bad, White Collar, Greys Anatomy and many others, but still this is my favourite one. No i have not read the books but my cosuin have told me that´s the same thing. I love Game of Thrones becauseof it´s story, the scenarios, the actors, the visual effects. I mean this series has everything anyone could lovo of any Tv Show. The story at first is a little bit strange and you may not get anything but after at leas t5 episodes of the first season you know very good the story and how is it going. And if you relate with a specific charachter it may be killed, yes in this tvshow many main character got killed but i thik this makes the series more special, it´s completly different to other shows when the main character never gets killed. The custome its another thing that makes game of thones very special, its absolutly awesome and perfect, again, even more than other series such as lost or NCIS. I can´t simply wait for more of this series. Expand
  85. Mar 13, 2013
    9
    Turning a set of epic fantasy novels as complex as George R.R. Martin's best-selling 'A Song of Ice and Fire' series was always going to be a daunting task that could easily have ended in disaster. Fortunately the creators of Game of Thrones have not only lived up to expectations but excelled them. Featuring multiple story lines, each packed with numerous important characters, most viewersTurning a set of epic fantasy novels as complex as George R.R. Martin's best-selling 'A Song of Ice and Fire' series was always going to be a daunting task that could easily have ended in disaster. Fortunately the creators of Game of Thrones have not only lived up to expectations but excelled them. Featuring multiple story lines, each packed with numerous important characters, most viewers who haven’t read the novels will find the opening few episodes tough to follow (I know I certainly did!) but stick with the show and you will be rewarded. Featuring a fantastic cast including the likes of Sean Bean, Peter Dinklage and Lena Headey Game of Thrones biggest achievement is in maintaining a narrative pace that keeps you engaged even during long scenes of dialogue, of which there are a lot. All of it always feels as though it is required though with much explanation needed to lay out the geography of the seven kingdoms, as well as the various families and dynasties that are fighting for control of this world. In amongst all the explanation there is plenty of, sometimes unnecessary, sex and violence but unlike many shows it is usually there to advance the plot and the ten episodes set things up perfectly for what is sure to be an epic second season.

    Throwing all the established television rules out the window Game of Thrones is the best original series in a long time. If you haven’t yet watched it ignore those short sighted critics as this is a must buy.
    Expand
  86. Mar 4, 2013
    10
    Although ignorant of the original literature, GoT proves godly in all stages of production. Never in the history of shows have I witnessed such a plethora of character portrayals and development. How many shows have the capacity to allow you to truly feel for both sides; in a word, how many shows have the capacity for such emotional investment?
  87. Feb 19, 2013
    9
    I went into this skeptical. The premise really didn't seem like it would interest me. But after a bit of peer pressure from some friends I sat down and watched it. I loved it! Well, most of it. I found that some of the later episode tended to drag on a bit, and weren't as good as the earlier episodes. Overall: This is a very good series that is far better than I would have imagined.
  88. Feb 14, 2013
    10
    started reading this series 20 years or so ago with the release of the first novel. ive found the show to be a brilliant visual companion to one seriously well written series. not sure how well it would play out to someone who hasnt read the books as there are probably too many characters and plotlines to explore in a way to brief a season. as along time lover of the books i have nostarted reading this series 20 years or so ago with the release of the first novel. ive found the show to be a brilliant visual companion to one seriously well written series. not sure how well it would play out to someone who hasnt read the books as there are probably too many characters and plotlines to explore in a way to brief a season. as along time lover of the books i have no complaints. especially impressed with lena headey's portrayal of the twisted cersai. im not one to give 10's, but for me this is flawless tv. if only there were more hours in a season Expand
  89. Dec 15, 2012
    9
    it's based on a book, and if there's one thing that is excellent as books is: character development is always good in them, as well as the drama, Action is seldom and when it happens, it's explosive, that's how these books roll, and I expected no different from the TV series, excellent adaptations and great acting.
    Although, at some points, the excessive talk, does kind of bore you a
    it's based on a book, and if there's one thing that is excellent as books is: character development is always good in them, as well as the drama, Action is seldom and when it happens, it's explosive, that's how these books roll, and I expected no different from the TV series, excellent adaptations and great acting.
    Although, at some points, the excessive talk, does kind of bore you a little. Nothing too bad, I rarely ever watch TV, but when I do, I kind of expect to be entertained with action, and sometimes this bores me a little bit. As I said, nothing major
    Expand
  90. Dec 13, 2012
    10
    Love this show, once you start watching you truly can't stop. I loved the story of the Starks, and you will really start to care for the characters. Everything is so well done.
  91. Dec 10, 2012
    10
    Quite possibly the best TV series on at the moment, and in TV history. Both seasons 1 and 2 have incredible acting, genius scripting, a tight and exciting story, the spectacular and ridiculously complex and realistic fantasy world of George RR Martin, is brought to life almost perfectly. It has basically a Hollywood movie's production value and spot on directing.

    What more can I say? I
    Quite possibly the best TV series on at the moment, and in TV history. Both seasons 1 and 2 have incredible acting, genius scripting, a tight and exciting story, the spectacular and ridiculously complex and realistic fantasy world of George RR Martin, is brought to life almost perfectly. It has basically a Hollywood movie's production value and spot on directing.

    What more can I say? I recommend it to all over the age of 15, as long as you can take some sex and blood, and complex politics. You will be drawn completely in and then taken on the roller-coaster of your life. Watch it!
    Collapse
  92. Dec 9, 2012
    9
    Bloody, violent and engaging just the way I like it.
  93. Dec 8, 2012
    10
    This show is nothing less than a masterpiece. It follows the books quite well, deviating a little here and there for artistic sake, but nothing major I've noticed (though I bet some of you ASoIaF lovers will probably pick up some I missed). The acting on all fronts is superb, though I was most impressed by Peter Dinklage and the child actor playing Arya Stark, both of whom deserve someThis show is nothing less than a masterpiece. It follows the books quite well, deviating a little here and there for artistic sake, but nothing major I've noticed (though I bet some of you ASoIaF lovers will probably pick up some I missed). The acting on all fronts is superb, though I was most impressed by Peter Dinklage and the child actor playing Arya Stark, both of whom deserve some sort of award if they haven;t got one already.

    This show is an alternate universe medieval type action/drama. It's set in a place called Westeros and revolves around the different leaders of the respective areas and outlying areas, and their religious beliefs and throne-hunger driving them to war. The show features supernatural elements as well, including magic and mythical creatures. It's very much everything you'd expect from an adult medieval drama, and a lot of things you wouldn't. It surprises, and astounds around every corner. The visuals and sets are beautiful, and the story is one you must experience to truly enjoy.
    Expand
  94. Dec 8, 2012
    10
    It completely blew me away. I was hooked through to the end, and couldn't wait for the next season, and bought the next volume and read through it, and the next until there were none. This is one of those adaptations where you cannot complain. The show did what was essential to bring the book alive on TV. Apart from a few elements (which I would not spoil here), this is a show rooted inIt completely blew me away. I was hooked through to the end, and couldn't wait for the next season, and bought the next volume and read through it, and the next until there were none. This is one of those adaptations where you cannot complain. The show did what was essential to bring the book alive on TV. Apart from a few elements (which I would not spoil here), this is a show rooted in reality, as much as it could be for a fantasy. What I mean is that magic plays a very little part and does not serve as a plot device. The show has some truly amazing characters. The last time I saw a show that comes even close to handling so many characters so well was Lost.

    My advice, though, is to read the books first because if you watch the show before that, it would be too good for you to come back to reading the books, which would be a shame since ASoIF is the best written fantasy series IMO.
    Expand
  95. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    The best show ever! The sopranos has been demoted to second best show ever in my opinion!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! lol!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  96. Nov 9, 2012
    9
    Game of Thrones is a new breed of television, besting the futile attempts of previous HBO shows such as Rome and, though many did like it, The Tudors. No, Thrones is more. It's deeper. It's brilliant.
  97. Nov 4, 2012
    10
    Game of Thrones is one of the few times where a visual adaptation surpasses its source material - the A Song of Ice and Fire series. That's not to say the books are bad, on the contrary, up until A Feast For Crows they're extremely entertaining when the author isn't giving you a long-winded explanation on what someone had for breakfast! The show essentially takes the plots from the book,Game of Thrones is one of the few times where a visual adaptation surpasses its source material - the A Song of Ice and Fire series. That's not to say the books are bad, on the contrary, up until A Feast For Crows they're extremely entertaining when the author isn't giving you a long-winded explanation on what someone had for breakfast! The show essentially takes the plots from the book, and delivers something with more adrenaline and more action, with the opportunity to expand on characters beyond the POV's from the books. Never before have I seen a show with such good acting, so many likeable characters - even female characters, and so many unforeseen plot twists. Usually you'd expect a fantasy based drama to suffer from the usual hammy acting and the like, but this is nothing of the sort. You'll care about characters, you'll be intrigued by the story, and you'll love the soundtrack. Its only real downfall is the unnecessary sex scenes in almost every single episode - even more so than the books. Expand
  98. Sep 23, 2012
    9
    Everything good about this show has already been said. It's very enjoyable, though confronting at times, and not as predictable as one might think. Just watch it. I bought the books (all of them) halfway through the season.
  99. Sep 22, 2012
    10
    This is one of my favorite shows/movies that I've ever seen. I was doubtful to watch it because I thought that it wasn
  100. Jul 30, 2012
    10
    This is one of the best TV shows of all times. For those who love epic stories it is a gift, and for those who don't, too. The acting is exquisite, the detailed scenarios are completely convincing and the intensity of each episode leaves the spectator more than satisfied. Very well done. Congratulations.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: Hal Boedeker
    Apr 25, 2011
    40
    The epic fantasy series is lavish, violent and often quite nasty. Most crucially, this adaptation of George R.R. Martin's "Song of Ice and Fire" book series is unnecessarily difficult to follow.
  2. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Apr 18, 2011
    90
    The gloriously bloody and depraved spirit of the novels is intact and even enhanced.
  3. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Apr 18, 2011
    80
    A grand soap opera of epic proportions, Game of Thrones can be a bit talky in some episodes, but the series draws a viewer in with well-defined characters and a multitude of simultaneous stories whose plot turns are generally unpredictable.