Game of Thrones : Season 1

  • Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 17, 2011
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 3897 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Aug 30, 2017
    9
    Unlike the rest of the series, I really loved Season 1 of Game of Thrones. I am a huge fan of the books, and I am actually able to watch Season 1 fully immersed. Outstanding cast, bravo to Mark Addey, Sean Bean, Jason Mamoa, and Harry Lloyd's contribution to the season. While seasons 6-7 move closer and closer to endless action and pure excitement, they lack the down to earth, seriousUnlike the rest of the series, I really loved Season 1 of Game of Thrones. I am a huge fan of the books, and I am actually able to watch Season 1 fully immersed. Outstanding cast, bravo to Mark Addey, Sean Bean, Jason Mamoa, and Harry Lloyd's contribution to the season. While seasons 6-7 move closer and closer to endless action and pure excitement, they lack the down to earth, serious backbone that made all of this matter in the first place. Expand
  2. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Simply stunning for a tv series. The costumes and scenery are spot on and really give the sense of gritty reality that permeates the show. While not exactly like the book, it is very close and it is obvious George the pirate (George Arr Arr Martin) has had a guiding hand in the production. It is great to live in a time where fantasy can finally be brought to the screen in all its glory.Simply stunning for a tv series. The costumes and scenery are spot on and really give the sense of gritty reality that permeates the show. While not exactly like the book, it is very close and it is obvious George the pirate (George Arr Arr Martin) has had a guiding hand in the production. It is great to live in a time where fantasy can finally be brought to the screen in all its glory. I pity the small minded individuals without any imagination that think the fantasy genre is just for kids. This series is going to be truly magnificent and we can only hope they will continue production with the second book once this is completed (which might actually make him finish writing the series finally) Expand
  3. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    Having not read the books, I was thoroughly surprised by the series and found myself enjoying it so far immensely. The show is good because the original author retains control, a "realistic" element runs strong and the backgrounds and extras are adequately fleshed out. Can't wait for more.
  4. Aug 10, 2011
    10
    such a great show! the first couple of episodes are a little slow but it soon picks up.
    epic characters, great casting, amazing set design and the plot is to die for even though it can be a little confusing at times.
    watch watch watch.
  5. Dec 28, 2011
    9
    overall its pretty spectacular and everybody looks AND plays the part beautifully. the best character easily Peter Dinklage as the short yet powerful Tyrion Lannister. Though a bit inappropriate for anyone younger than 16 it shines as one of the best new shows of the year.
  6. May 6, 2013
    9
    BEST MEDIEVAL FANTASY TV SHOW FOR ME only complain from me that they release only 10 episodes every year...They could had add way more episodes and expand the story based on the books of Martin
  7. Jun 13, 2013
    9
    Novel adaptations like this are made for television. Many times epic literary works are reduced to the bare bones because people aren't willing to sit through a film longer than 3 hours. Game of Thrones is an excellent adaptation of Martin's work, with exceptional acting and beautiful visuals. If you have to pick one series to follow, it should be this one.
  8. Sep 5, 2013
    10
    I cant explain in words how happy I am they finally made this series, and they did it right. The level of production, the sets, locations and the top actors they've gotten to do this makes this easily one of the best first seasons in HBO cable TV history. Throw in the fact that this show stays very close to the source material, and you have the best "thing" on TV. If the end of thisI cant explain in words how happy I am they finally made this series, and they did it right. The level of production, the sets, locations and the top actors they've gotten to do this makes this easily one of the best first seasons in HBO cable TV history. Throw in the fact that this show stays very close to the source material, and you have the best "thing" on TV. If the end of this season proved to those unknowing of this series anything don't get attached. Expand
  9. Mar 20, 2014
    10
    I don't give this a 10 lightly: this is bar-none the best TV series I have ever seen in my life. So much so that I actually buy multiple DVDs to gift to family members just to support it. The atmosphere, the complex character relationships, and the sheer magnitude of the story just make this something to sink into. I haven't been able to "feel like I'm part of the universe" when watchingI don't give this a 10 lightly: this is bar-none the best TV series I have ever seen in my life. So much so that I actually buy multiple DVDs to gift to family members just to support it. The atmosphere, the complex character relationships, and the sheer magnitude of the story just make this something to sink into. I haven't been able to "feel like I'm part of the universe" when watching media since I was a teenager. This is one show that lets me do that. I turn off all external sensory items and just get absorbed into the piece, enjoying every minute. There's only two flaws so far: they couldn't dye the eyebrows blonde (you get used to it), and the first few episodes are very heavy for people who cannot handle far-arching stories and characters. This is the only show where when someone is in danger (and sometimes not even in danger) I feel the threat and cannot just assume everything will work out alright (looking at you serial shows where the main characters survive everything several seasons in). I sure hope media in general learns from GoT and this is not the only piece of such great caliber in my lifetime. Expand
  10. Jun 16, 2014
    10
    Other than the seemingly consistent attempt to shove homosexuality down our throats, this show is utterly spectacular. Now we have the long and arduous task of waiting for the next season.
  11. Jul 14, 2014
    8
    A great season of Television. You never now what is going to happen. This is how you make politics interesting. The acting and writing is the best currently on Television(Since Breaking bad is over)
  12. Sep 19, 2014
    8
    As a non-genre fan, I had doubts about this show going in despite its good reviews. However, it turned out to be just as enjoyable for someone like me. Great storytelling, excellent writing full of wit and humor, and exceptional acting are really what made the show work for me. While special effects were a bit underwhelming, it is understandable considering that this show has much lessAs a non-genre fan, I had doubts about this show going in despite its good reviews. However, it turned out to be just as enjoyable for someone like me. Great storytelling, excellent writing full of wit and humor, and exceptional acting are really what made the show work for me. While special effects were a bit underwhelming, it is understandable considering that this show has much less budget than a big feature film. Expand
  13. Nov 23, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Seriously. **** you, Game of Thrones! I hate this show so much right now! But I also love it! I only hate it because of S1E9. Why did you that? Ned Stark was awesome! I did not watch further and I am nearly at the end of this episode but as far as I can tell: this TV show is ****ing awesome! I love it! Expand
  14. Jan 4, 2015
    10
    Best tv show to date, 'nuff said ggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh. sorry needed extra characters.
  15. Feb 8, 2015
    10
    There's no satisfying this habit. GOT is elite, you'll find yourself staring at a wall waiting for the next 8 months to pass for the next season to finally air. In lieu of wall-staring, I've been reading them now..
  16. Apr 27, 2015
    8
    The series starts with slowly, with a well-paced introduction and great character development. Sean Bean's performance as Eddard Stark is a really achievement in TV, and the two final episodes are truly intense.
  17. Aug 21, 2015
    9
    Great storyline. But the greatest draw is the production value of this series. The cost per episodes is approximately $5 million. Elaborate sets and characters are staged in beautiful locations around the word. This is the first series to produce each episode like a large-budget blockbuster film.
  18. Jan 30, 2016
    10
    Game of Thrones starts and ends on a great cliffhanger, what is amazing on how entertaining each episode gets in other words once you're hook you'll never want it to end. Overall, season 1 of Game of thrones is fantastic.
  19. Jun 5, 2016
    9
    With a brilliant plot, I thoroughly enjoyed watching the show. I was reluctant to watch it at first because of the nudity and violence, but only after watching it did I realize that the show is much more than that. The story having variety of themes, plot twists and cliff hangers kept me at the tip of my seat. In simple words, it is a masterpiece.
  20. Nov 30, 2016
    9
    Its funny how season 1 is one of the worst seasons and it still manages to be some of the best T.V you could possibly watch. Game of Thrones might be a little difficult to get into as it starts off slow but once it picks up you realise the slow episodes are necessary and all of it (if you listened) was important. So please if you find yourself starting Game of Thrones and you find it slow,Its funny how season 1 is one of the worst seasons and it still manages to be some of the best T.V you could possibly watch. Game of Thrones might be a little difficult to get into as it starts off slow but once it picks up you realise the slow episodes are necessary and all of it (if you listened) was important. So please if you find yourself starting Game of Thrones and you find it slow, just give it a chance and if you did what I did the first time and already gave up on it, give it another chance because your really missing out on something. Expand
  21. Apr 17, 2011
    10
    Through one episode this is a wonderful adaptation. The writers thought thru each line of dialogue giving us the viewer insight into the world of Westeros. The art direction and the production of the show is stellar. Sean Bean as Eddard Stark is amazing in his understated reserve but the true praise goes to Peter Dinklage. If the powers that be were to open their eyes to fantasy shows theyThrough one episode this is a wonderful adaptation. The writers thought thru each line of dialogue giving us the viewer insight into the world of Westeros. The art direction and the production of the show is stellar. Sean Bean as Eddard Stark is amazing in his understated reserve but the true praise goes to Peter Dinklage. If the powers that be were to open their eyes to fantasy shows they will see this piece of truly grand workmanship. Us geeks envisioned Peter as Tyrion and he truly brought the character to life. Granted he only has a couple of scenes and those scenes run for a mere seconds but they were doozies. Especially the scene with Jon Snow. Of course Ghost was to have tried to take a piece of him but hey you have to lose a few items during the adaption. If you have read the books then this is a winner. Expand
  22. Jun 1, 2011
    9
    I've seen the first seven episodes of Game of Thrones and I can safely say that it's the most entertaining series on television at the moment. Nudity aside, GoT is well constructed - from the sets/atmosphere, to the costumes/cast, it's a beautiful piece of television. I have not read the books so I cannot attest to how well the show parallels them, but I've wholly enjoyed watching. TheI've seen the first seven episodes of Game of Thrones and I can safely say that it's the most entertaining series on television at the moment. Nudity aside, GoT is well constructed - from the sets/atmosphere, to the costumes/cast, it's a beautiful piece of television. I have not read the books so I cannot attest to how well the show parallels them, but I've wholly enjoyed watching. The most notable (and best acted) characters are the dwarf, the dude from lord of the rings, and the little girl who wants to learn swordplay. Check this show out if you have any inclination towards medievil fantasy. It's a good one. Expand
  23. Jun 14, 2011
    7
    Playing as somewhat of a medieval, melodrammatic soap-opera too naughty for day-time television, "Game of Thrones" is a compelling series that captivates and demands of your attention, with each week discovering something new, shocking, or agitating. Each character has a story, and each one ties together gradually more and more---how much thread can this folktale keep unwinding?
  24. Aug 8, 2011
    10
    Well I for once have not even looked at the books, heck I got to know about the books after I finished the first season and was hungry looking for more episodes. Sadly, the next episodes won't be coming anytime soon. Game of Thrones is a fascinating display of how power is distributed between rich houses, such as the Starks. In the series there will be drama, action, mystery, and I don'tWell I for once have not even looked at the books, heck I got to know about the books after I finished the first season and was hungry looking for more episodes. Sadly, the next episodes won't be coming anytime soon. Game of Thrones is a fascinating display of how power is distributed between rich houses, such as the Starks. In the series there will be drama, action, mystery, and I don't know what else. It has a touch of fiction of course, fantastic display of myths, creatures and original fantasy development. In short words, I like it. Expand
  25. Aug 16, 2011
    8
    I would say that the episodes gained speed towards the end of its first season. Since its HBO, there is enough brutality, blood and boobs for 'mature' audiences. But as a few say, the plot line is a bit tacky (although imaginative) and the characters can be a bit repetitive. The whole 'Fantasy' genre is maybe pushing this on a bit too much - seems more like your average middle-agedI would say that the episodes gained speed towards the end of its first season. Since its HBO, there is enough brutality, blood and boobs for 'mature' audiences. But as a few say, the plot line is a bit tacky (although imaginative) and the characters can be a bit repetitive. The whole 'Fantasy' genre is maybe pushing this on a bit too much - seems more like your average middle-aged people and freaks than a 'fantasy' cast as such. BUT, this is coming from only a TV viewer as I have not read any of the Series. I would imagine the books are much better than the TV as TV/Movies has a hard time breaking the believable Fantasy barrier except for maybe L.O.T.R. Everything else seems like a cheap knock-off sometimes. Ironic how this genre of books and TV has exploded since The Trilogy (not to say they weren't great before ... but it LOTR definitely helped get viewers). In general, good stuff and good entertainment. Expand
  26. Aug 30, 2011
    10
    Best Show Ever! Such deep, round characters...each one with different allegiances and motivations, some caught in their circumstances, others rebellious of theirs. I often say about shows with kids in them, it can only be as good as the kids are(great ones modern family, married with children, etc). Game of Thrones has awesome kids, Anya and Sansa are brilliant. I dont wanna get intoBest Show Ever! Such deep, round characters...each one with different allegiances and motivations, some caught in their circumstances, others rebellious of theirs. I often say about shows with kids in them, it can only be as good as the kids are(great ones modern family, married with children, etc). Game of Thrones has awesome kids, Anya and Sansa are brilliant. I dont wanna get into too many spoilers, so I will say this, watch and pay attention(so you can follow all the relationships) and you will be rewarded by a deep, intelligent, suspenseful show. I want to single out some acting but it is literally all magnificent, beautifully shot too. i am going to rewatch again... Expand
  27. Dec 20, 2011
    10
    i am so hooked on this show it really well done, hbo has really out done its self and i hope it does well and continues to make me want to watch more. the actor{s roles have been devloping quite nicly in a way that prompts mistery.
  28. Nov 4, 2012
    10
    Game of Thrones is one of the few times where a visual adaptation surpasses its source material - the A Song of Ice and Fire series. That's not to say the books are bad, on the contrary, up until A Feast For Crows they're extremely entertaining when the author isn't giving you a long-winded explanation on what someone had for breakfast! The show essentially takes the plots from the book,Game of Thrones is one of the few times where a visual adaptation surpasses its source material - the A Song of Ice and Fire series. That's not to say the books are bad, on the contrary, up until A Feast For Crows they're extremely entertaining when the author isn't giving you a long-winded explanation on what someone had for breakfast! The show essentially takes the plots from the book, and delivers something with more adrenaline and more action, with the opportunity to expand on characters beyond the POV's from the books. Never before have I seen a show with such good acting, so many likeable characters - even female characters, and so many unforeseen plot twists. Usually you'd expect a fantasy based drama to suffer from the usual hammy acting and the like, but this is nothing of the sort. You'll care about characters, you'll be intrigued by the story, and you'll love the soundtrack. Its only real downfall is the unnecessary sex scenes in almost every single episode - even more so than the books. Expand
  29. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    King in the North! When I first saw this season I had never read the books. But after I had read them, I came back to this and honestly, it is probably one of the most faithful adaptions of a book (a real book, not your weak 300 pagers) I had ever seen. Long live The Bean! For he is a true actor. Dinklage is also perfect, but Sean Bean anchors the show for the first season before lettingKing in the North! When I first saw this season I had never read the books. But after I had read them, I came back to this and honestly, it is probably one of the most faithful adaptions of a book (a real book, not your weak 300 pagers) I had ever seen. Long live The Bean! For he is a true actor. Dinklage is also perfect, but Sean Bean anchors the show for the first season before letting it go free, so that newbies, like myself, were deftly introduced to the show and the Starks before the chaos ensnared. Expand
  30. Nov 16, 2013
    10
    There is nothing you can dislike about game of thrones, every episode is interesting and every character is important. I think it's one of the best tv series ever created.
  31. Jan 14, 2014
    10
    I read the novels several times in the past few years, then finally got to watch most of the HBO series. The acting is superb, and the feel is true to the novels, which are as much a history lesson on the brute vileness that was Medieval Europe as a fantasy series.
  32. Jun 16, 2015
    9
    Have never read George Martin's book previous to viewing this, I was unsure what to expect from Game of Thrones. Thankfully, the opening series not only did not disappoint, it made thrilling viewing.
    Here we have a gigantic chronicle of numerous events from the fictional but brilliant creation of the land of Westeros, and the key parts of the story involve political intrigue, alliegances,
    Have never read George Martin's book previous to viewing this, I was unsure what to expect from Game of Thrones. Thankfully, the opening series not only did not disappoint, it made thrilling viewing.
    Here we have a gigantic chronicle of numerous events from the fictional but brilliant creation of the land of Westeros, and the key parts of the story involve political intrigue, alliegances, treachery, fighting, murder...lots of it. The opening scenes of the first episode are set in a dark and eerie forest, where three young rangers soon fall victim to a mysterious and terrifying enemy. It's brilliantly filmed and acted and oozes atmosphere, and from then on I knew I was watching something special.
    The many characters of the show all have large parts to play in the story and all have their own intrigue. Just who are the good and bad eggs? It's not always easy to tell. The acting is, for the most part superb and we are treated to seeing the likes of Charles Dance, Sean Bean and Peter Dinklage at their very best, among others.
    The story starts slowly and gradually builds to a thrilling climax. This means that some of the earlier episodes in the series are not quite as interesting as some of the later ones, but as any game of thrones fan will know - this is part of the charm of it all. Each episode is better than the previous one. If you stick with it until the end, you'll be in for a treat.
    Expand
  33. Jan 21, 2016
    9
    +(positive):
    - the world of Westeros,
    - various stories,
    - great staged betrayal,
    - shocking death scenes,
    - perfect Characters

    -(negative):
    - 4 - 7 episodes until you're "inside" Westeros

    "The first season of Game of Thrones is awesome! It sets different storylines and they're all near the level of a masterpiece..."

    GENRE RATING: 9.8
    OVERALL RATING: 9.4

    9.4 = 9.0
  34. Apr 21, 2016
    10
    Game of Thrones is an American fantasy television series produced by the HBO cable network. It is based on the novel series A Song of Ice and Fire, written by George R.R. Martin who serves as a producer, creative consultant and scriptwriter on the television series. David Benioff and D.B. Weiss created the television series and serve as executive producers, showrunners and the main writers.
  35. Jun 5, 2017
    8
    In the mythical continent of Westeros, several powerful families fight for control of the Seven Kingdoms. As conflict erupts in the kingdoms of men, an ancient enemy rises once again to threaten them all. Meanwhile, the last heirs of a recently usurped dynasty plot to take back their homeland from across the Narrow Sea.
  36. Oct 18, 2017
    10
    Game of Thrones. Season 1. The series which became one of the best in my personal list. The play of actors, a fascinating plot and these eternal endings of episodes (who looked, he will understand).
  37. Apr 17, 2011
    10
    I signed up for Metacritic just so I could write this review. The first episode is AWESOME! I haven't read the books, so I can''t comment on the adaptation, but this **** is real! I can't wait for the rest of the episodes, new favourite show :)
  38. Apr 23, 2011
    10
    Awesome show! Never read the the books but know someone who has and said it's pretty accurate so far.
    Has that Gladiator Lord of the rings feel to it. A must watch if your a fan of the two movies!
  39. Apr 25, 2011
    10
    Magnificent, Game of Thrones is by far the best series I have seen to this day. Each episode so far has been packed with a rich and intriguing story that keeps you glued start to end, the only downsider is having to wait another week to watch the next episode ! For any of the uninitiated, I highly recommend the series but don't go into the show thinking of classical goblins, dragons etcMagnificent, Game of Thrones is by far the best series I have seen to this day. Each episode so far has been packed with a rich and intriguing story that keeps you glued start to end, the only downsider is having to wait another week to watch the next episode ! For any of the uninitiated, I highly recommend the series but don't go into the show thinking of classical goblins, dragons etc throw those used notions away and allow the series to absorb your interest you won't regret it.

    My only regret is that I haven't read any of George R R Martins novels yet.
    Expand
  40. Jun 6, 2011
    10
    Excellent. The characters are rich, the plot twists and turns nicely. It's good to see something with the political intrigue and sophistication of some of the weightier HBO stuff nicely mixed in with some sword fighting and battles.... One of it's key strengths is building character and giving it all a palpable sense of danger. Plus, all the decent northerners speak with proper northernExcellent. The characters are rich, the plot twists and turns nicely. It's good to see something with the political intrigue and sophistication of some of the weightier HBO stuff nicely mixed in with some sword fighting and battles.... One of it's key strengths is building character and giving it all a palpable sense of danger. Plus, all the decent northerners speak with proper northern England accents like me! A BD purchase too I reckon... Expand
  41. Jun 20, 2011
    9
    Having just watched ep 10, I truly feel this series gets it just right. Acting, production values, plot, intrigue are all in line with the feel and tone of the books. It has been over a decade since I started reading them and watching the series brought all of the major plot points right back as if I had just laid the books down. While the 9th ep is the best of the season, the last oneHaving just watched ep 10, I truly feel this series gets it just right. Acting, production values, plot, intrigue are all in line with the feel and tone of the books. It has been over a decade since I started reading them and watching the series brought all of the major plot points right back as if I had just laid the books down. While the 9th ep is the best of the season, the last one has set up the second season well and I can't wait for next spring. I just hope they plan more than 10 episodes! Expand
  42. Jul 9, 2011
    9
    Casting is dead on, production value is high, and the writers have a great knack for identifying the dramatic moments of the book and building episodes around it.

    Downside: the series moves too quickly to really understand the motivations and background of all the many characters. My hope is that season 2 only covers part of the second book, so we have the time to really comprehend why
    Casting is dead on, production value is high, and the writers have a great knack for identifying the dramatic moments of the book and building episodes around it.

    Downside: the series moves too quickly to really understand the motivations and background of all the many characters. My hope is that season 2 only covers part of the second book, so we have the time to really comprehend why the characters do what they do.

    This is a strong series and probably the best thing on HBO with Entourage winding down. Possibly the best thing on TV period.
    Expand
  43. Aug 30, 2011
    10
    This show is awesome. I am a big fan of the books and the adaptation is really perfect, actually better than i thought it could be. The cast is just perfect, The young actors are really good (Maisie Williams!), Peter Dinklage is perfect for his character, so are Emilia Clarke, Lena Headey... well the entire cast is. I have watched each episode twice and several friends of mine are now hugeThis show is awesome. I am a big fan of the books and the adaptation is really perfect, actually better than i thought it could be. The cast is just perfect, The young actors are really good (Maisie Williams!), Peter Dinklage is perfect for his character, so are Emilia Clarke, Lena Headey... well the entire cast is. I have watched each episode twice and several friends of mine are now huge fans of the show too. Expand
  44. Dec 12, 2011
    10
    I have read the book and I can tell that, despite many things are not told as it should, we're in front of one of the best TV Shows ever produced or directed.
  45. Mar 23, 2012
    9
    I can hardly imagine, how anyone could have made a better adaptation of this magnificent book for the screen. It's extremely true to the book's spirit, not afraid to change minor things or adapt to the totally different medium, while still telling the story as close to GRRM's original vision as possible.
    The cast is simply fantastic, the characters incredibly well done and the production
    I can hardly imagine, how anyone could have made a better adaptation of this magnificent book for the screen. It's extremely true to the book's spirit, not afraid to change minor things or adapt to the totally different medium, while still telling the story as close to GRRM's original vision as possible.
    The cast is simply fantastic, the characters incredibly well done and the production looks amazing. The only thing you notice here and there, sadly, are the budget restrictions that come with a TV show.
    Ironically, getting away from those when writing for TV (which he did for years before) was the reason for GRRM to start writing the A Song of Ice and Fire epic in the first place... :-)
    Expand
  46. Apr 17, 2012
    9
    Fantastic show. For quite awhile I've wanted an 'original feeling' medieval show to watch, and good god does it deliver. The production value is high, the scenes are well shot and it is absolutely worth watching on bluray (which I recently did).

    Characters feel very real, you even start to love some of the 'bad' guys. The only thing that keeps me from recommending this to my own family
    Fantastic show. For quite awhile I've wanted an 'original feeling' medieval show to watch, and good god does it deliver. The production value is high, the scenes are well shot and it is absolutely worth watching on bluray (which I recently did).

    Characters feel very real, you even start to love some of the 'bad' guys.

    The only thing that keeps me from recommending this to my own family is the nudity, sometimes a bit too much. Other times though some purely stunning scenes of artistic nudity are acceptable, but the straight up porny elements make viewing sometimes a bit awkward. Still, it does not really detract from such a fantastic show and I hope they don't change the formula, its great.
    Expand
  47. May 30, 2012
    10
    It is not easy trying to bring life in to all of the complex characters of G.RR Martins amazing books, but this show certainly has succeeded! You never know what is about to happen, who will die next and where the story ends up. It is simply brilliant!
  48. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    Recently I finally watched this series after being told repeatedly of how amazing it was, and I have to say I agree. I don't think I've ever seen such amazing production design for a television show, allowing the world of Westeros to feel very real and authentic. The cast is superb as well. Sean Bean and Peter Dinklage are the standouts in Season 1, but the whole cast does a good job ofRecently I finally watched this series after being told repeatedly of how amazing it was, and I have to say I agree. I don't think I've ever seen such amazing production design for a television show, allowing the world of Westeros to feel very real and authentic. The cast is superb as well. Sean Bean and Peter Dinklage are the standouts in Season 1, but the whole cast does a good job of embodying their characters. Furthermore, the plot of the series is completely engaging, I found it hard to tear myself away from the screen. In fact I finished the first Season in just three days because I just couldn't stop watching. If you're a fan of medieval history or fantasy than this is definitely a show that you should watch. Expand
  49. Jun 27, 2012
    9
    It's on HBO, so you can expect a lot of gore, violence and nudity. But other than those 'superficial' attractions, Game of Thrones is one of the best TV series to come in a long time. Great cast, superb storytelling and stellar production values. It brings incredible characterization and convoluted plotting into the forefront, something that can only be done in a TV series such as this.It's on HBO, so you can expect a lot of gore, violence and nudity. But other than those 'superficial' attractions, Game of Thrones is one of the best TV series to come in a long time. Great cast, superb storytelling and stellar production values. It brings incredible characterization and convoluted plotting into the forefront, something that can only be done in a TV series such as this. Highly recommended. Expand
  50. Apr 3, 2013
    9
    One of the best shows out there... Some would say that the books are better but having read them I can assure you that the show is great and you can still enjoy it... The characters the plot the betrayals and most of all the mortality of all the characters even the protagonists will keep you company for a long time to come...
  51. May 18, 2013
    9
    A very great show. Interesting storylines, interesting characters, great acting, story just a very good show. It takes a lot of attention to get every detail but the show is still very great. Kind of like a TV version of Lord of the Rings.
  52. Jun 9, 2013
    10
    Amazing show. In the middle of all the mediocre television shows being produced in recent years Game of Thrones is an exception and a must watch. The show is filled with action, and fast-paced (in my opinion, when compared to other shows I've seen recently such as the Walking Dead).
  53. Oct 27, 2013
    10
    Wow. Having put off watching this series for so long, I was more than pleasantly surprised with what it had to offer. In short; Top actors, lovely British accents, wonderful world of Westeros, Sean Bean, "A Lanister always pays his debts", shocking events that spring up quickly, well paced, funny, action packed, mythical politics, Sean Bean, Peter Dinklage brilliant portrayal of the "Imp"Wow. Having put off watching this series for so long, I was more than pleasantly surprised with what it had to offer. In short; Top actors, lovely British accents, wonderful world of Westeros, Sean Bean, "A Lanister always pays his debts", shocking events that spring up quickly, well paced, funny, action packed, mythical politics, Sean Bean, Peter Dinklage brilliant portrayal of the "Imp" gripping television. Expand
  54. Mar 29, 2014
    10
    One of the best tv series ever produced. Based on amazing material (books). Excellent dialogues, characters, settings, clothes, music....I can go on... Not to be overlooked!!!An absolute must.
  55. Apr 21, 2015
    10
    Game of thrones has such an entertaining story that captures you until the end of each episode. It is well directed and everything about it looks fine. The only issue with the TV-series is about some average special effects in the first and the second season.
  56. May 14, 2015
    10
    + Fantastic story.
    + Great actors.
    + Interesting characters.
    + Intense action.
    + No filler episodes.
    + Different locations.
    + You never know what will happen next.
    + Good looking special effects and CGI.

    Bad things...well...hmm...10/10, I guess.
  57. Nov 24, 2015
    9
    After hearing about it for years and never reading the books, I gave it a try. And from the first episode I was completely immersed. Game of Thrones Season 1 is a fantastic opening season of a massive, complex fantasy world. The writing and characters are absolutely incredible and the way the plot is set up is excellent, with diverting and interconnected plots. The themes are mature andAfter hearing about it for years and never reading the books, I gave it a try. And from the first episode I was completely immersed. Game of Thrones Season 1 is a fantastic opening season of a massive, complex fantasy world. The writing and characters are absolutely incredible and the way the plot is set up is excellent, with diverting and interconnected plots. The themes are mature and serious, and after a while you gain an emotional attachment to the characters. There is lots of diversity in the subplots and the world and aesthetics used are rich and detailed. Expand
  58. Apr 23, 2017
    10
    Amazing TV serie in all of series !!! Awesome story , Awesome Actores , Awesome visual effects, Awesome Music , Awesome Directory , .....................
  59. Aug 2, 2017
    8
    I have to confess, I really needed some time to get into "Game of Thrones". Everyone around me said how great this series is, so i`ve watched the first episode and thought afterwards: "Yeah, good, but what`s so great about it?" The characters felt a little cliche, the plot wasn`t that stunning and the end of the episode was very put-on. But after watching the next few episodes, I reallyI have to confess, I really needed some time to get into "Game of Thrones". Everyone around me said how great this series is, so i`ve watched the first episode and thought afterwards: "Yeah, good, but what`s so great about it?" The characters felt a little cliche, the plot wasn`t that stunning and the end of the episode was very put-on. But after watching the next few episodes, I really started caring about the characters, as well as hating many of them.
    In my opinion, the first season of "Game of Thrones" takes a bit too much time to really start, but everything asides from that is somehow fascinating and very addictive.
    Expand
  60. Aug 31, 2017
    10
    Unfortunately, Game of Thrones (based on G.R.R.M's "A Song of Ice and Fire", for the first ~5 seasons), has been going downhill since the TV show writers had to take over the meat of the scripts rather than relying on adapting GRRM's books. Sad. The writing in season 7 was terrible. Utterly contrived plot points and plot armour up the wazoo.

    Seasons 1-3: 10/10 Season 4: 9/10 Season 5:
    Unfortunately, Game of Thrones (based on G.R.R.M's "A Song of Ice and Fire", for the first ~5 seasons), has been going downhill since the TV show writers had to take over the meat of the scripts rather than relying on adapting GRRM's books. Sad. The writing in season 7 was terrible. Utterly contrived plot points and plot armour up the wazoo.

    Seasons 1-3: 10/10
    Season 4: 9/10
    Season 5: 8/10
    Season 6: 7/10
    Season 7: 4/10
    Expand
  61. Apr 18, 2011
    4
    Coming from the perspective of someone who hasn't read George R. R. Martin's novels, but who is a massive fan of high-quality TV drama, I have to confess that, for me, Game of Thrones started in an underwhelming way. Not only that, it shows many worrying signs of being a bit of a stinker, in spite of the effort put into its undoubtedly fancy production design.

    Having read my fair share
    Coming from the perspective of someone who hasn't read George R. R. Martin's novels, but who is a massive fan of high-quality TV drama, I have to confess that, for me, Game of Thrones started in an underwhelming way. Not only that, it shows many worrying signs of being a bit of a stinker, in spite of the effort put into its undoubtedly fancy production design.

    Having read my fair share of fantasy series in years gone by, in the run-up to the Game of Thrones debut I found myself deeply curious as to what it was that made this series sufficiently distinct as to be worthy of a big-budget TV adaptation. So far, I'm not sure. Cliché abounds in the first episode, from unfunny jokes about fat kings to the awkward acquisition of symbolic familiars, from steroidally-enhanced, woad-daubed barbarians (wearing mascara) to rumblings of trouble 'brewing in the north', there's little to set the subject matter apart from the legion of other fantasy universes out there which readers swear blind to be 'brilliant' but that, to many outsiders of the genre, typically seem a little bit silly.

    Clearly a great deal of money has been lavished on the series however, with lots of candles, beautiful haircuts, distinctly cut leather armour and fur-trimmed cloaks aplenty. I do have to query why all this pageantry been assembled though - beyond providing a sort of Hercules: The Legendary Adventures for grown ups. And certainly the pilot boasts symbols of maturity - topless ladies appear every fifteen minutes or so, and brooding men with swords frequently use naughty words - but the whole thing, to me, seemed overbearingly camp and, unfortunately, riddled with adolescent preoccupations. Admittedly, there is serious subject matter here, with baddies engaged in incest and hints at the severe duties involved in courtly life, but I ultimately couldn't believe in the universe that the series-makers had fashioned for me, and as a result felt rather like I was watching people play dress-up rather than an exploration of the genuine issues to which the characters were party. So far then, the next big thing in the current Golden Age of TV this ain't.

    I'm not suggesting that fans of the swords and sorcery genre won't enjoy Game of Thrones - I imagine that many will - but I would suggest that few viewers who don't will be won over by this pilots' limited charms. It is refreshing to see Peter Dinklage given a central role in a series, and it's also great to see Joseph Mawle receiving some prime-time exposure, but the cast are hard-pressed to convince while discussing such clangingly unreal topics as orphaned dire wolf pups or their eagerness to sell family members into sex slavery. And on that topic, the pilot's eagerness to see women sexually exploited is, to me, a little worrying, and risks alienating many potential viewers before it's even got going.

    Undeniably, creating 'grown up' fantasy series' is a tough business, and Game of Thrones' pilot does seem to hint that there will be more depth to proceedings as things develop, but to put Game of Thrones on a level with other top-tier HBO or AMC output is unthinkable. Even The Walking Dead, the subject matter of which many might have thought beyond the interest of the average viewer, managed to fashion itself into a series that was, for the most part, mature and intriguing. Likewise, Mad Men's debut introduced us to a sexist culture in ways that left viewers reeling, and The Soprano's spent time exploring how counterproductive its characters' regressive views were, encouraging us to look at its characters as incredibly dangerous buffoons, and anything but stereotypes.

    In its own pilot however, Game of Thrones fails to show any of this promise, or that, in this post-Gladiator, post-Lord of the Rings world, that 'fantasy' has grown up. Although fans of Sean Bean's work in The Black Death, or such similar efforts as Nicholas Cage's recent The Season of the Witch or Michael J. Bassett's Solomon Kane, might lap up Game of Thrones as a big step forward for the genre, those of us looking for nuance, tension, believability - or even plausibility - in a drama set in an imaginary world full of axes, horses and mud... well, it looks like we're destined to be disappointed by this one.
    Expand
  62. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    A brilliant adaptation of George R. R. Martin's fantasy masterpiece. The book's cast of hundreds has been necessarily reduced to a cast of dozens, but this series will satisfy both devotees and newbies. The cast is excellent (particularly Peter Dinklage as Tyrion Lannister Sean Bean as Eddard Stark), the sets and camera work are stellar, and the whole production brings a breath of freshA brilliant adaptation of George R. R. Martin's fantasy masterpiece. The book's cast of hundreds has been necessarily reduced to a cast of dozens, but this series will satisfy both devotees and newbies. The cast is excellent (particularly Peter Dinklage as Tyrion Lannister Sean Bean as Eddard Stark), the sets and camera work are stellar, and the whole production brings a breath of fresh air to a stale genre. Expand
  63. Apr 22, 2011
    9
    So far, so good--honestly, it's a relief. The showrunners have really translated the books well (with both the book's strengths and weaknesses) and aside from a few casting decisions, I'm beyond satisfied so far. Hopefully i can say the same after this first season ends!
  64. Apr 24, 2011
    9
    You have to give HBO credit for not only attempting to put this on the screen but also remaining faithful to the source material. Although I think "The White Walkers" sequence could have been handled better and that the Khal Drogo parts were a bit too stylized for my taste (They should have been dirtier and more brutish), overall HBO has done an amazing job. I'm looking forward toYou have to give HBO credit for not only attempting to put this on the screen but also remaining faithful to the source material. Although I think "The White Walkers" sequence could have been handled better and that the Khal Drogo parts were a bit too stylized for my taste (They should have been dirtier and more brutish), overall HBO has done an amazing job. I'm looking forward to watching it all unfold and seeing (as well as reading, if he ever decides to finish the book series) how it ends. Expand
  65. Apr 27, 2011
    10
    The relationships of the book are well realized and the telling of
    much with subtle and nuanced performances all adds up to an intriguing
    show. As a personal preference I might have liked a slight toning down of the nudity but it's no major detraction and to be fair it is in good keeping with the source material. Importantly wherever there is vulgarity the acting is good enough to justify
    The relationships of the book are well realized and the telling of
    much with subtle and nuanced performances all adds up to an intriguing
    show.

    As a personal preference I might have liked a slight toning down of
    the nudity but it's no major detraction and to be fair it is in good
    keeping with the source material. Importantly wherever there is
    vulgarity the acting is good enough to justify it by virtue of sheer
    personality.

    The entire cast feels well chosen, particular favorites so far that
    have caught my attention by their emotionally loaded portrayals are
    Arya and Tyrion, but also John, Rob and Eddard which bodes well for
    the series at large since they are all such major characters.

    The dire wolves and the medieval vistas are presented with a haunting
    level of authenticity that captures the imagination and stays grounded
    all at once.

    The ill hid contempt of the Queen for her dwarf brother and the
    protectiveness of family both amongst the Starks and their rivals are
    portrayed easily and captivatingly. It's also what lays a solid
    foundation for the action.

    Motivations, loyalties, ambitions, passions and embitterments are done
    pleasing justice with a script that suits the tone and atmosphere of
    a chaotic and embattled medieval society with teeth of corruption and
    claws of bravery, the series gives its own enhanced perspective and
    for as long as everyone is fighting out of their own hearts all is
    well in the lands of Westeros.
    Expand
  66. Apr 30, 2011
    10
    This is a brilliant transition from book to film thus far. I have never seen a movie or TV series follow the book so well. The high production value and great casting just adds to the immersion. It would be best to watch the whole season one episode after another to get the full effect, And now with HBOGO available we can do it on our iphones/ipads! Can't wait to see how they handle 3This is a brilliant transition from book to film thus far. I have never seen a movie or TV series follow the book so well. The high production value and great casting just adds to the immersion. It would be best to watch the whole season one episode after another to get the full effect, And now with HBOGO available we can do it on our iphones/ipads! Can't wait to see how they handle 3 very interesting characters that appear at the very end of the first book! Expand
  67. May 8, 2011
    10
    If your somewhat a fan of fantasy stories and games, whats not to like? Really enjoy the story thus-far and I only hear from people who have read the book that it only gets far better. Really excited to see how the season will pan out!
  68. May 13, 2011
    10
    I have never read the books, so I thought I might get lost initially - my fears were unfounded however, this show is building something great that's equally brilliant in pace of story and character development.

    Every episode gives more insight into the large character pool which is comparable to the excellent 'The Wire'. The depth of the various groups and individuals in Westeros blows
    I have never read the books, so I thought I might get lost initially - my fears were unfounded however, this show is building something great that's equally brilliant in pace of story and character development.

    Every episode gives more insight into the large character pool which is comparable to the excellent 'The Wire'. The depth of the various groups and individuals in Westeros blows me away more each week, and you get glimpses of what each focal character's potential has in store for them... I can only imagine how great this show is for readers of the books.... I really can't say enough about the quality and class of spectacle on show here - 10/10 with a big red cherry on top!
    Expand
  69. May 15, 2011
    10
    Epic, amazing - hadn't read the books so I went out and bought them all. Making my way through the first one now and there are a few differences - mainly that they have cut some characters, which I guess makes sense as there is a load to remember in the book. I'm wondering now whether I should continue to read past where the show is up to - I think I will, from what I heard it only adds toEpic, amazing - hadn't read the books so I went out and bought them all. Making my way through the first one now and there are a few differences - mainly that they have cut some characters, which I guess makes sense as there is a load to remember in the book. I'm wondering now whether I should continue to read past where the show is up to - I think I will, from what I heard it only adds to the value. This is how fantasy should be done on TV. Expand
  70. Jun 20, 2011
    8
    I haven't read the books and maybe that's good. I enjoyed this show and it had very interesting characters and a great storyline. It didn't feel like something epic, however and it never gave me an orgasm, so to speak, it just always came close but never delivered.
  71. Jul 17, 2011
    9
    i've never been a fan of this type of tv series or movies...but this one got me hooked pretty much in the first 3 episodes. the show didnt really waste any time for the stories to progress. its not all drama, you sense something is coming, and just when you thought the story would be somewhat predictable, it took a turn... for the better though.... it is one of the most entertaining show on tv.
  72. Aug 16, 2011
    10
    Best Show On Television Period. Amazing character development, action sequences, and story. A must watch for everyone. I can't wait for Season 2 to start.
  73. Oct 13, 2011
    10
    Brilliant Photography, Brilliant Scenarios ( it's just mesmerizing). Brilliant Storyline & Storytelling . Brilliant Cast. Without starting to describe each and every detail of this 10 episode tv show, i can only say; THIS is how you make a successfull tv show. Congratulations HBO, you've done it again.
  74. Dec 21, 2011
    10
    Game of Thrones is arguably one of the best TV shows to land in 2011; the intriguing story lines, the twisted plots, the camera work, the production, the stellar acting, and the set of the show create this wonderful masterpiece that it is impossible not to fall in love with the show- even if you are not into Fantasies. It is important to note the strength of the child actors- the actorsGame of Thrones is arguably one of the best TV shows to land in 2011; the intriguing story lines, the twisted plots, the camera work, the production, the stellar acting, and the set of the show create this wonderful masterpiece that it is impossible not to fall in love with the show- even if you are not into Fantasies. It is important to note the strength of the child actors- the actors who play the unruly Joffrey Baratheon, Bran Stark, Arya, and Sansa do an excellent job at reflecting the character depicted in the novels. What many folks leave out is the landscape of the work; the landscapes chosen matches those that are portrayed in George R.R. Martin's novels- well done. Seriously, people need to watch the show and abandon any prejudices they might have against the show for whatever purposes- A Great Show. Expand
  75. Jan 10, 2012
    10
    Its simple as this: I have known many shows, and some of them were good... but if i could pay 10 bucks to rate Game of Thrones an 11/10 .. i would pay 50 to rate it a 15/10 ... everyone who reads this, and HAS NOT seen it.. i urge you.. you can not, under any circumstances miss this.. but do not be fooled, this is far from fairy-tale story.. its an adult medieval epic, for adult viewers..Its simple as this: I have known many shows, and some of them were good... but if i could pay 10 bucks to rate Game of Thrones an 11/10 .. i would pay 50 to rate it a 15/10 ... everyone who reads this, and HAS NOT seen it.. i urge you.. you can not, under any circumstances miss this.. but do not be fooled, this is far from fairy-tale story.. its an adult medieval epic, for adult viewers.. if you have not seen it, you must not miss it! 15/10 Expand
  76. Mar 11, 2012
    10
    I entered this unaware of George R.R. Martin or the series. I've exited a huge fan. As a middle of the road, sort-of armchair fantasy fan I wasn't sure when I first heard about this series, maybe it would be too much fantasy, too far from life. Now, maybe that's a good thing. Maybe, that's what it's meant to be, but I never like fantasy that went too far from life. Luckily for me, it's notI entered this unaware of George R.R. Martin or the series. I've exited a huge fan. As a middle of the road, sort-of armchair fantasy fan I wasn't sure when I first heard about this series, maybe it would be too much fantasy, too far from life. Now, maybe that's a good thing. Maybe, that's what it's meant to be, but I never like fantasy that went too far from life. Luckily for me, it's not like that. Luckily, it's from HBO; a network who's shows have always dealt with reality. I may be a bad fan of fantasy. I may be doing it wrong, I probably am, but if this show had been purely dragons and such things I would surely have exited the show early; disappointed. But the real-life aspects have kept me enthralled, kept me relating to certain characters. It isn't up to The Wire in levels of realism, but it's the closest a show like this could get. Great acting, great writing and exactly what I wanted. Thanks George for writing, thanks HBO for adapting. Expand
  77. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    This show is absolutely amazing. I never read the novels it is based on. I was hooked after watching the 1st episode.

    Best TV shows:

    - Game Of Thrones
    - Breaking Bad
    - Walking Dead
  78. Apr 1, 2012
    10
    An entertaining, if trifling experience, GAME OF THRONES has the slightly annoying habit of presenting characters who are completely unambiguous in every way. Each character is sign-posted as good or evil from episode one through ten, so very little of what they do at an point is surprising. That written, I enjoyed watching the first season, though it doesn't compare to superior genreAn entertaining, if trifling experience, GAME OF THRONES has the slightly annoying habit of presenting characters who are completely unambiguous in every way. Each character is sign-posted as good or evil from episode one through ten, so very little of what they do at an point is surprising. That written, I enjoyed watching the first season, though it doesn't compare to superior genre television like DEADWOOD, BATTLESTAR GALACTICA, and JUSTIFIED. Expand
  79. Apr 28, 2012
    6
    I'm very curious to learn if the producers / writters of the TV version dare to go even more towards the original book in season2, because in season1 it all starts good but slowly it drifts away from the book. I mean.. Tyrion is a very twisted, evil guy in the book (also because you are 'in' his thoughts) but in the tv series he's now almost like the hero. Mostly such movie makers use theI'm very curious to learn if the producers / writters of the TV version dare to go even more towards the original book in season2, because in season1 it all starts good but slowly it drifts away from the book. I mean.. Tyrion is a very twisted, evil guy in the book (also because you are 'in' his thoughts) but in the tv series he's now almost like the hero. Mostly such movie makers use the excuse "yes, but americans won't like this and that, they rather see this and that since our graphs show that this is popular right now and that other thing is not popular" but wouldn't it be fun to see if the producers said "screw that, we already know the books are really good, we'll just stay true to the original story and details!". But, for the majority of the viewers (those who have not read the books) it's probably already very 'new and entertaining' enough. Expand
  80. May 15, 2012
    9
    I was close to finishing book 1 when a friend lent me this and I caved in, watching the first 4 episodes back-to-back. It is very good and they so far they have managed to capture the book down to fine details with a cast that is almost universally perfect. So if you are a fan of the books I'd say so far, so good. If you've not read the books I recommend you do so first then come back andI was close to finishing book 1 when a friend lent me this and I caved in, watching the first 4 episodes back-to-back. It is very good and they so far they have managed to capture the book down to fine details with a cast that is almost universally perfect. So if you are a fan of the books I'd say so far, so good. If you've not read the books I recommend you do so first then come back and see HBO bring them to life Expand
  81. May 17, 2012
    9
    Game of Thrones succeeds both as an adaptation and as a great TV drama in its first season. The writing is great (the source material gives it no excuse to be otherwise), and there are some truly mesmerizing performances by the actors. Mark Addy as Robert Baratheon, Charles Dance as Tywin Lannister, Peter Dinklage as Tyrion Lannister, Nikolaj Coster-Waldau as Jaime Lannister, andGame of Thrones succeeds both as an adaptation and as a great TV drama in its first season. The writing is great (the source material gives it no excuse to be otherwise), and there are some truly mesmerizing performances by the actors. Mark Addy as Robert Baratheon, Charles Dance as Tywin Lannister, Peter Dinklage as Tyrion Lannister, Nikolaj Coster-Waldau as Jaime Lannister, and Coneleth Hill as Varys were the four that stood out for me. It takes some time to get into the world of A Song of Ice and Fire (I was unimpressed by the pilot, but after the second episode was hooked). Beyond all of this, it is a show that requires, no demand, repeated viewings as there is so much detail to the world and the characters. If there is a criticism to be had, it is that the budget is limiting for battle sequences and to capture the scope of the book series, but that is to be expected. For fantasy lovers, and lovers of quality television (so long as they can get past their biases against the fantasy genre) this is required viewing. Very impressive first season. Expand
  82. Aug 15, 2012
    8
    Brilliantly transferred from book to screen. It's a real pity that the second season deviates so much from the book, very disappointed with second season. I'm not sure they can pull themselves out of the fire with the massive changes that have been made in season two, compared to the book.

    Read the books people, the complexity of the second, third, fourth and fifth books just can't be
    Brilliantly transferred from book to screen. It's a real pity that the second season deviates so much from the book, very disappointed with second season. I'm not sure they can pull themselves out of the fire with the massive changes that have been made in season two, compared to the book.

    Read the books people, the complexity of the second, third, fourth and fifth books just can't be transferred to screen, a real shame.
    Expand
  83. Dec 10, 2013
    5
    I have recently discovered Game of Thrones, but failed to be impressed. It is clear that the books where the series is based upon, is some low-budget version of Tolkien's work (it comes as no surprise that the writer even shares the same initials R.R.). This doesn't help the series because I was constantly thinking "oh, we saw that in TLOTR: The Return of the King" or "Looks like theI have recently discovered Game of Thrones, but failed to be impressed. It is clear that the books where the series is based upon, is some low-budget version of Tolkien's work (it comes as no surprise that the writer even shares the same initials R.R.). This doesn't help the series because I was constantly thinking "oh, we saw that in TLOTR: The Return of the King" or "Looks like the Hobbit only much tackier".

    The series also tries to score by adding lots of violence and sex (I call it the "Spartacusation of Middle Earth") and fails in that respect as well.

    So what is left to keep on watching? Some nice music, good scenery, a couple of good actors.
    Expand
  84. Dec 15, 2012
    9
    it's based on a book, and if there's one thing that is excellent as books is: character development is always good in them, as well as the drama, Action is seldom and when it happens, it's explosive, that's how these books roll, and I expected no different from the TV series, excellent adaptations and great acting.
    Although, at some points, the excessive talk, does kind of bore you a
    it's based on a book, and if there's one thing that is excellent as books is: character development is always good in them, as well as the drama, Action is seldom and when it happens, it's explosive, that's how these books roll, and I expected no different from the TV series, excellent adaptations and great acting.
    Although, at some points, the excessive talk, does kind of bore you a little. Nothing too bad, I rarely ever watch TV, but when I do, I kind of expect to be entertained with action, and sometimes this bores me a little bit. As I said, nothing major
    Expand
  85. Mar 13, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I, like many others, have not read the books. I'd heard plenty of good things about the series so I decided to give it a chance. I wasn't entirely displeased at it, either. A lot of the characters had great wit and personality, and I found myself feeling far more attached to certain characters and story threads than others, as I suppose is natural with a series with SO MANY different people involved. At first, I was quite interested to see how the characters developed, but near... about the half-way point, I'd say, my enjoyment began to waver a bit. To put it simply, initially I was very impressed by the way some of the main characters were dealt with. It felt surprising in the sense that no character seemed to be safe from terrible things happening to them. But in all honesty, by the end of the season I just found it hard to watch because it felt like they were just piling on terrible thing after terrible thing and the best way I can describe it in my own mind is that I found it all very tiring. Please don't get me wrong; as a writer myself I do enjoy and find it important to cause bad things to happen to important characters. It's what moves a story along. But when there's so many bad things happening and it feels as though nothing GOOD happens to any of them, it begins to wear on me a little bit. In the end, I found myself becoming less attached to characters I'd liked the whole way through just because I didn't want to feel so put out when they were inevitably killed or wronged in some egregious way. I'm not quite sure whether this is simply a fault of my own or if others feel the same, but it is for that reason primarily that my score remains in the green. I can't call it poor because of my preference, but I can't give it a perfect score, either. It is also for this reason I recommend people see it for themselves and make their own decision. Expand
  86. Apr 13, 2013
    9
    Never have I seen a show make you so interested in all the characters, and the show really pulls you into the world where these kingdoms are being ruled. Just amazing show!
  87. Apr 25, 2013
    10
    I love this show in a way that I seldom love any type of media. I look forward to each episode airing and am sad when it is done. As spring approaches each year I know that winter is coming and cannot wait for it.

    The first season starts in a way that almost immediately grabs your attention and lets you know that it will never let go. The elements that keep me coming back are not the
    I love this show in a way that I seldom love any type of media. I look forward to each episode airing and am sad when it is done. As spring approaches each year I know that winter is coming and cannot wait for it.

    The first season starts in a way that almost immediately grabs your attention and lets you know that it will never let go. The elements that keep me coming back are not the dragons or the infrequent battles, or any of the normal fantasy elements that some people seem to think the books or this show are about. The appeal is the brilliantly devious nature of many of the characters and almost naive nature of others in addition to the fact that Peter Dinklage is flat out awesome. There are very few adults I know who are not fans of this show, and generally it is because they have not seen any episodes.

    I didn't actually read the first book before the first season aired so I went into it without knowing the progression of events and actually kind of loved how that worked out. As the first season progresses you have hopes based on the characters you find to be the most honorable and likable and then you quickly realize that the world of Westeros does not take kindly to honorable people who do the right thing because it is right. In fact the first season pretty much breaks your heart in the greatest way possible as it virtually guarantees you will want to watch it until the bitter end. Previously Deadwood was my favorite show that HBO aired, Game of Thrones has now probably taken that spot.
    Expand
  88. Dec 1, 2013
    0
    This is a sword and sorcery soup opera, not an engaging fantasy or adventure. If you like soap operas, and apparently a lot of people do, you'll like this. If you think soap operas are trash, you'll want to steer clear of this little chestnut.
  89. Dec 15, 2013
    8
    Game of thrones is a Slow Starter and which slowly catches pace without which you cannot live. At first I thought it as a boring one but later as it progressed it became interesting,
    Specially Dwarf ('Lannister always pays his debts') is the one I love watching.
    Overall 7.5/10
    Photography 8.5/10
    Storyline 7/10
    TWISTS 7.5/10
  90. Jan 28, 2014
    10
    Game of Thrones was something I frowned upon at first, friends told me what it was and I kind of shrugged it off. Biggest mistake ever.

    This show is absolutely everything I wanted in a TV series for such a very long time. Absolutely amazing photography & cinematography, brilliant music & audio plus the amazing actors and crew which build one hell of a story to tell. The 3 seasons of
    Game of Thrones was something I frowned upon at first, friends told me what it was and I kind of shrugged it off. Biggest mistake ever.

    This show is absolutely everything I wanted in a TV series for such a very long time. Absolutely amazing photography & cinematography, brilliant music & audio plus the amazing actors and crew which build one hell of a story to tell. The 3 seasons of this so far have kept me gripped and interested the entire journey, and the fourth season is only just around the corner now!

    I highly recommend this!
    Expand
  91. Mar 17, 2014
    10
    This is the best television programme ever created. The acting is the best in the business. There are a lot of characters in this, and it should be difficult to flesh out each person and give them depth, but they have no problem with that here. Each episode leaves you wanting more, and each episode has you at the edge of your seat. Expect the unexpected. The writing is the best I've everThis is the best television programme ever created. The acting is the best in the business. There are a lot of characters in this, and it should be difficult to flesh out each person and give them depth, but they have no problem with that here. Each episode leaves you wanting more, and each episode has you at the edge of your seat. Expect the unexpected. The writing is the best I've ever seen. This is television at it's finest. Expand
  92. Mar 30, 2014
    10
    IMPORTANT: To get the full 'Game of Thrones'-experience you need to get through season 1 - you have to invest time in to it but I can promise you it'll give it back to you x100.000.000!

    As much as I love and adore Game of Thrones - pretty much every aspect of it - I've got to admit that for most people season 1 can get pretty heavy. This is simply because the plot of GoT is so huge and
    IMPORTANT: To get the full 'Game of Thrones'-experience you need to get through season 1 - you have to invest time in to it but I can promise you it'll give it back to you x100.000.000!

    As much as I love and adore Game of Thrones - pretty much every aspect of it - I've got to admit that for most people season 1 can get pretty heavy. This is simply because the plot of GoT is so huge and elaborate that you need to spend ages getting in to it.

    Season 1: introduction season - can get boring at some points with a lot of dialogue and 'explaining'. You need to get through this - no shortcuts.
    Season 2: beginning to get badass. This is the season where things begin to light up and you'll see the potential of the series.
    Season 3: PURE **** AMAZING, MINDBLOWING, BADASS AWESOMENESS! All the hours spent understanding the relations, houses and lands lead up to this. If you're not hooked after s3e10 this is not for you.
    Expand
  93. Apr 17, 2014
    10
    This is the best thing on TV at the moment. It's not flawless, but I gave it a 10 because it is an absolute masterpiece. The cast is consistently excellent, working in harmony with the sharp writing. The action is definitely movie-level, but not too frequent to become boring. Everything aspect of this show is at the top of its game, and more. Game of Thrones is not just TV, it is anThis is the best thing on TV at the moment. It's not flawless, but I gave it a 10 because it is an absolute masterpiece. The cast is consistently excellent, working in harmony with the sharp writing. The action is definitely movie-level, but not too frequent to become boring. Everything aspect of this show is at the top of its game, and more. Game of Thrones is not just TV, it is an experience, and one work experiencing. I would recommend this to lovers of fantasy or just those who want a good tale. Expand
  94. Jun 23, 2014
    10
    It started out annoying and packed with uncomfortable sex scenes and cruelty to women that I was disgusted by men for days after watching. I was soon able to overcome it and it became my favorite show of all time mostly due to Daenerys.
  95. Jun 28, 2014
    9
    the settings are awesome, the dresses, the castles, really something else. i definitely have my favorite characters and some that i hate and it has to be this way in a good show. BUT the show has too much sex scenes for me. i don't want to see porn scenes, i want so see a deep story with surprises and drama. and you definitely get to see that - but you have to take the naked women too.
  96. Oct 14, 2014
    9
    With too many stories going around you do sometimes forgot who was who, specially their name, but every character is so witty and cunning becoming more interesting as the show proceeds. This is one show which I never want to see ending.
  97. Nov 23, 2014
    7
    I love this TV show for its boldness of killing off a character at any moment. And it draws me in to watch another episode because I want to ind out how the rest of the Starks are doing. Not to well I reckon. But what makes this TV show really interesting is the politics. Yes, for once in my life I find politics interesting. Well, fictional politics. But while everyone in the South areI love this TV show for its boldness of killing off a character at any moment. And it draws me in to watch another episode because I want to ind out how the rest of the Starks are doing. Not to well I reckon. But what makes this TV show really interesting is the politics. Yes, for once in my life I find politics interesting. Well, fictional politics. But while everyone in the South are having political discussions, a threat in the North is awakening. I can't wait for Season 5 Expand
  98. Jan 20, 2015
    10
    Any critic that rated this season lower than 8.5 should probably be fired. Honestly, its one of the best tv series of all time. And this season was a great season to open a such great story.
  99. Jan 12, 2016
    7
    The cinematography and the actors are great. Though this is not a series you watch on the side you really have to pay attention as the series is full of happenings. The show looked incredible and the cliffhangers tricks you to binge watch a whole season.
  100. Mar 24, 2016
    10
    The most consistent season of all, mostly because it stayed the most faithful to the book. I didn't have the best visuals or the biggest budget compared to later seasons but at least the characters and their motivations/actions made sense.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: Hal Boedeker
    Apr 25, 2011
    40
    The epic fantasy series is lavish, violent and often quite nasty. Most crucially, this adaptation of George R.R. Martin's "Song of Ice and Fire" book series is unnecessarily difficult to follow.
  2. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Apr 18, 2011
    90
    The gloriously bloody and depraved spirit of the novels is intact and even enhanced.
  3. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Apr 18, 2011
    80
    A grand soap opera of epic proportions, Game of Thrones can be a bit talky in some episodes, but the series draws a viewer in with well-defined characters and a multitude of simultaneous stories whose plot turns are generally unpredictable.