• Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 17, 2011
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 3952 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Mar 13, 2013
    9
    Turning a set of epic fantasy novels as complex as George R.R. Martin's best-selling 'A Song of Ice and Fire' series was always going to be a daunting task that could easily have ended in disaster. Fortunately the creators of Game of Thrones have not only lived up to expectations but excelled them. Featuring multiple story lines, each packed with numerous important characters, most viewersTurning a set of epic fantasy novels as complex as George R.R. Martin's best-selling 'A Song of Ice and Fire' series was always going to be a daunting task that could easily have ended in disaster. Fortunately the creators of Game of Thrones have not only lived up to expectations but excelled them. Featuring multiple story lines, each packed with numerous important characters, most viewers who haven’t read the novels will find the opening few episodes tough to follow (I know I certainly did!) but stick with the show and you will be rewarded. Featuring a fantastic cast including the likes of Sean Bean, Peter Dinklage and Lena Headey Game of Thrones biggest achievement is in maintaining a narrative pace that keeps you engaged even during long scenes of dialogue, of which there are a lot. All of it always feels as though it is required though with much explanation needed to lay out the geography of the seven kingdoms, as well as the various families and dynasties that are fighting for control of this world. In amongst all the explanation there is plenty of, sometimes unnecessary, sex and violence but unlike many shows it is usually there to advance the plot and the ten episodes set things up perfectly for what is sure to be an epic second season.

    Throwing all the established television rules out the window Game of Thrones is the best original series in a long time. If you haven’t yet watched it ignore those short sighted critics as this is a must buy.
    Expand
  2. Apr 30, 2014
    9
    One of the best medieval, fantasy stories I have experienced since Lord of the Rings. It's compelling world is filled with interesting and well-acted characters. The plot-lines here are fantastic and sets up season 2 for what looks like some big battles up ahead. This is a show that isn't afraid to shock you. It will kill off big characters to help further the plot in believable ways.One of the best medieval, fantasy stories I have experienced since Lord of the Rings. It's compelling world is filled with interesting and well-acted characters. The plot-lines here are fantastic and sets up season 2 for what looks like some big battles up ahead. This is a show that isn't afraid to shock you. It will kill off big characters to help further the plot in believable ways. Honestly it's one of the best shows that HBO has ever aired. Well, at least this first season is.

    The only real complaint I have here is the excessive amount of nudity. Now I know HBO shows are known for their gratuitous nudity, and often that is one of the biggest appeals of their shows, but here the majority of it just feels out of place. Now I like naked women as much as the next guy, but often it can come across as an immature move for a show that prides itself on it's mature story and world. Nudity has worked for shows like Starz's Spartacus series, but here it often doesn't.

    Overall though that complaint means nothing when faced with the epic story-lines and backstabbing characters that are so entertaining to watch unfold. It's an absolutely riveting first season, and season 2 looks like it has the promise to top it. I give season 1 a near-perfect score of 9.9/10.
    Expand
  3. Apr 4, 2012
    10
    HBO does it again by delivering another must see series. Game Of Thrones is THE show to watch and anyone who hasnt watched it is truely missing out. I love it.
  4. Jul 13, 2016
    8
    Shot with attention to detail, HBO’s first season of Game of Thrones is a resounding success with its impeccable casting, inticrate plotting, well-rounded characters and exotic locations.
  5. Apr 16, 2013
    9
    Game of Thrones provides that Lord of the Rings epic with superb storylines and acting. In its first season, it's hard to imagine how this show could go wrong. Sean Bean is fantastic as always, as are many of the other actors cast in this sure-hit series. It's not geared for the younger crowd in any way, which is why you'll find this only on HBO, but if you can stomach the matureGame of Thrones provides that Lord of the Rings epic with superb storylines and acting. In its first season, it's hard to imagine how this show could go wrong. Sean Bean is fantastic as always, as are many of the other actors cast in this sure-hit series. It's not geared for the younger crowd in any way, which is why you'll find this only on HBO, but if you can stomach the mature content you'll be in for quite an experience. This may be the best thing on TV right now. Expand
  6. Apr 20, 2011
    7
    The first episode started VERY slowly, but it absolutely picked up, and it teased some really interesting conflicts to be explored in coming episodes. At one point, though, I figured I had accidentally recorded the porn parody Game of Thrones: Doggy Style. I initially featured it might be tough to follow the various storylines, but like The Wire, I'm willing to let some of it develop inThe first episode started VERY slowly, but it absolutely picked up, and it teased some really interesting conflicts to be explored in coming episodes. At one point, though, I figured I had accidentally recorded the porn parody Game of Thrones: Doggy Style. I initially featured it might be tough to follow the various storylines, but like The Wire, I'm willing to let some of it develop in a deconstructed fashion as we go. This "7" may well jump up a point or two by mid-season, I suspect. Expand
  7. Apr 18, 2011
    10
    I must say, it's turning out to be a good spring for TV drama: first "The Borgias," then "The Killing," now "Game of Thrones," all evidence that the medium hasn't entirely disappeared beneath the mire of "reality" or the treacle of pseudo-celebrity *ss-kissing. First edited history, then neo-noir, now medieval-inflected fantasy, all well-cast, intelligently written, powerfully filmed, andI must say, it's turning out to be a good spring for TV drama: first "The Borgias," then "The Killing," now "Game of Thrones," all evidence that the medium hasn't entirely disappeared beneath the mire of "reality" or the treacle of pseudo-celebrity *ss-kissing. First edited history, then neo-noir, now medieval-inflected fantasy, all well-cast, intelligently written, powerfully filmed, and brilliantly acted. Of the three, "Game of Thrones" seems to have the most characters and storylines onscreen, even after just the pilot and a few on-demand clips. Unlike some viewers, I did not find the pilot confusing (and, no, I haven't read the novel on which the series is based). Watching it a second time, I picked up a few bits of backstory that I missed the first time through, nothing too important. In fact, I think the series does an astonishing job of establishing and differentiating dozens of characters, conveying a keen sense of place (4 times), and setting up essential conflicts, without making us feel as though we're choking on exposition like the fat king chokes on swan. Yes, there's a "Tudors"-meets-"Spartacus" obsession with bare breasts, chiseled torsos, and just-severed heads dribbling blood (and more rear entry than in a whole season of "Wild Kingdom"), but there's also extremely imaginative design--not just of sets and costumes but of whole cultures, including at least one language. And the cast? I loved Sean Bean's under-utilized Odysseus from "Troy" and have been waiting ever since for him to get a good meaty lead, so I'm thrilled by his weary warlord, Eddard Stark. I can't tell yet about most of the others--there were just too many--though a few stood out. Peter Dinklage has won well-deserved kudos as Tyrion Lannister, the outsider best able to understand the bitter dynastic politics of his age--and to enjoy himself in spite of them. I was also quite impressed with Harry Lloyd, who plays Viserys Targaryen, the deposed heir obsessed with regaining his crown and prepared to barter his sister for the chance. Creepy but with just the right sense of entitlement. I'm looking forward to Sunday nights for the next few months, and I hope that I have enough company to persuade the networks to keep up the excellent work! Expand
  8. Jul 10, 2014
    9
    Hablaban muy bien de esta serie y la empecé a seguir en 2011. Hoy en día la sigo viendo y no me arrepiento. Buenos actores, tramas algo enrevesadas pero adictivas con el paso del tiempo, buenos efectos, decorados, etc.
    La primera temporada fue genial, al principio era un poco lenta pero tiene buenos momentos, sobretodo en los últimos cinco capítulos.
    Si alguien aun no la ha visto se la
    Hablaban muy bien de esta serie y la empecé a seguir en 2011. Hoy en día la sigo viendo y no me arrepiento. Buenos actores, tramas algo enrevesadas pero adictivas con el paso del tiempo, buenos efectos, decorados, etc.
    La primera temporada fue genial, al principio era un poco lenta pero tiene buenos momentos, sobretodo en los últimos cinco capítulos.
    Si alguien aun no la ha visto se la recomiendo. Y por supuesto, el mejor personaje es Tyrion :)
    Expand
  9. Feb 19, 2013
    9
    I went into this skeptical. The premise really didn't seem like it would interest me. But after a bit of peer pressure from some friends I sat down and watched it. I loved it! Well, most of it. I found that some of the later episode tended to drag on a bit, and weren't as good as the earlier episodes. Overall: This is a very good series that is far better than I would have imagined.
  10. Jun 22, 2014
    10
    Absolute amazing, every scene completely dazzled me, truly amazing, masterfully filmed.

    To anybody skeptical about watching Game Of Thrones, put aside your worries, turn of your neglect and just watch.

    Or u could read the books
  11. Sep 23, 2014
    9
    NEEDLESS injection of PORN

    5% of series 1 must be fast forward to avoid scandalizing with filth.

    The title music is as entrancing as a similarly popular MTV title.
  12. Jul 25, 2015
    8
    Game of Thrones is full of complex yet immersive storytelling, honest characters, solid writing, and fine acting. Season one is definitely worth your time.
  13. Jan 7, 2012
    9
    Peter Dinklage (Tyrion Lannister character) definitely deserves a Globe for his witty performance. The show overall is eccentric in telling the story as well as a lot of ego and pride for power to rule. Plenty of power play!
  14. Dec 8, 2012
    10
    It completely blew me away. I was hooked through to the end, and couldn't wait for the next season, and bought the next volume and read through it, and the next until there were none. This is one of those adaptations where you cannot complain. The show did what was essential to bring the book alive on TV. Apart from a few elements (which I would not spoil here), this is a show rooted inIt completely blew me away. I was hooked through to the end, and couldn't wait for the next season, and bought the next volume and read through it, and the next until there were none. This is one of those adaptations where you cannot complain. The show did what was essential to bring the book alive on TV. Apart from a few elements (which I would not spoil here), this is a show rooted in reality, as much as it could be for a fantasy. What I mean is that magic plays a very little part and does not serve as a plot device. The show has some truly amazing characters. The last time I saw a show that comes even close to handling so many characters so well was Lost.

    My advice, though, is to read the books first because if you watch the show before that, it would be too good for you to come back to reading the books, which would be a shame since ASoIF is the best written fantasy series IMO.
    Expand
  15. Oct 19, 2013
    8
    the beginning of game of thrones was kind of boring and without explanation, but in the middle of the season the series could stand up and began to turn one of the best series I've ever seen in my life.
  16. Mar 30, 2015
    8
    Game of Thrones is full of complex yet immersive storytelling, relatable characters, solid writing, and fine acting. Season one is definitely worth your time.
  17. Jun 27, 2012
    10
    Game of Thrones is an absolute treat! Everything about this show is marvelous. The first episode of the first season only was able to get my attention and interest me in watching the whole season. There is no doubt about acting or the brilliance of cinematography and when you watch it, you can tell that a lot of money has been spent on making this show look even more than great.
  18. Jun 11, 2013
    9
    This show. WOW. I just can't get enough of it. It's plot twists, wars, and etc.. Just MIND-BLOWING. Normally I don't go for these type of shows.. I go for mysteries, or science fictional powered shows for example once upon a time but Game of Thrones.. It's one of the top of my favorite shows and let me warn you I watch a lot of shows. I mean it A LOT. I'd place Game of Thrones 4th of myThis show. WOW. I just can't get enough of it. It's plot twists, wars, and etc.. Just MIND-BLOWING. Normally I don't go for these type of shows.. I go for mysteries, or science fictional powered shows for example once upon a time but Game of Thrones.. It's one of the top of my favorite shows and let me warn you I watch a lot of shows. I mean it A LOT. I'd place Game of Thrones 4th of my very long list. Expand
  19. Aug 19, 2014
    9
    Game of Thrones is full of complex yet immersive storytelling, relatable characters, solid writing, and fine acting. Season one is definitely worth your time.
  20. Apr 18, 2016
    9
    Literally one of the best shows ever made, after "Breaking Bad."

    It gets a 9, though, because of its current treatment of the source material, unnecessary and inaccurate rape, and the exclusion of favored characters from the books.

    Those complaints aside, it still absolutely deserves a 9 for the acting, story, and drama. Even if you don't enjoy fantasy works, you'll probably enjoy this.
  21. Jan 14, 2016
    8
    Lots of good acting, a good script and enough intrigue to keep me wanting to see what happens next. I enjoyed some of the twists and turns in the series and found that all the characters are given enough screen time to give them impact, especially the villains, and that is a good thing. There is a lot of depth to most characters and I find myself cheering for certain ones throughout theLots of good acting, a good script and enough intrigue to keep me wanting to see what happens next. I enjoyed some of the twists and turns in the series and found that all the characters are given enough screen time to give them impact, especially the villains, and that is a good thing. There is a lot of depth to most characters and I find myself cheering for certain ones throughout the series. My personal favorite is the dwarf so I am hoping he kills everyone else and takes the throne by the end... alas, I know better... popular TV series are discouraged from creating a definitive ending so it is likely that the series will never end properly.

    There are a few issues with this show. First, the amount of tragedy is almost comical. Its almost like a bad zombie apocalypse movie and at some point I just started laughing because it became silly. Another problem is that they are dragging their feet. Some of the side stories were completely uninteresting and just filled up time for no reason while some of the main plot lines barely develop at all during full seasons. It reminds me a lot of comic book fillers. Other than that, its a good show. Go dwarf!
    Expand
  22. Mar 11, 2014
    9
    Esta primera temporada de Game of Thrones fue brillante, la lucha de las familias por el control del trono de hierro no es solo eso, es sobre la historia de rodea a varios personajes y la situacion que deben enfrentar en un mundo plagado por la traicion y la corrupcion.
  23. Mar 23, 2014
    9
    I'm so excited the big anticipated wait for season four of Game of Thrones is near. One thing I don't like about this show is it seems the good die young and the show is full of villains. That's why I cant until the blonde beauty 'Calisi (mother of dragons) comes to kicks azz (I HOPE) and knock a few off their high horses!!
  24. Jul 22, 2011
    10
    Definitely one of HBO best series. Incredible plot with terrific acting. A lot happens in each episode. The show has a lot of gore and has a complicated plot (if you haven't read the book), because there are so many different characters. Sometimes I had to read recaps to understand some of the details in the beginning, but this is a show worth sticking with.
  25. Jul 10, 2012
    10
    Yes, Game of Thrones is graphic. And it's obscene. And I love it. The acting, the writing, everything about this show proves Game of Thrones is really a winner. The production quality of this show is also really commendable. I recommend this to anyone, even people who aren't really into fantasy. Also, as an adaptation, this show is really excellent.
  26. Jul 27, 2013
    9
    An extremely good first season. Game of Thrones is a fantastic show with fantastic performances by near the entire cast. The writing is good in the first season and the writing does a great job of following the first book very closely.
  27. Aug 6, 2015
    8
    This marvelous adaptation has created a show that will dominate award nominations for years to come. Game of Thrones has no main character, that's what makes it's characters so compelling. They all get equal screen time, meaning there is a level playing field for Westeros' inhabitants to try and win our hearts before they are probably killed off. The different story line's also get a fairThis marvelous adaptation has created a show that will dominate award nominations for years to come. Game of Thrones has no main character, that's what makes it's characters so compelling. They all get equal screen time, meaning there is a level playing field for Westeros' inhabitants to try and win our hearts before they are probably killed off. The different story line's also get a fair shot at grasping our attention. These two elements combined make for very fascinating watching, meaning Game of Thrones easily keeps our attention throughout. It's ability to make you really fall for it's characters is it's strongest element however. The fact that Game of Thrones can be related to real life in terms of conspiracy and power means it is open to every kind of TV fanatic. This means it's fan base has no limits, creating a show that will likely be extremely successful during a lengthy lifespan. Expand
  28. Sep 29, 2013
    9
    They're doing a great job adapting the books to the screen. This season was very well paced and very well written. On top of that, the acting and scenery were phenomenal. Great show for anyone that likes a good epic fantasy.
  29. Jan 3, 2014
    9
    A tremendous adaptation of Martin's novels, it probably helps that he does control many aspects of the television series; Season 1 of GOT is nearly a replica of the actual novel. And like the novel, it succeeds tremendously as an entertaining, violent, and epic success.
  30. Nov 9, 2012
    9
    Game of Thrones is a new breed of television, besting the futile attempts of previous HBO shows such as Rome and, though many did like it, The Tudors. No, Thrones is more. It's deeper. It's brilliant.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: Hal Boedeker
    Apr 25, 2011
    40
    The epic fantasy series is lavish, violent and often quite nasty. Most crucially, this adaptation of George R.R. Martin's "Song of Ice and Fire" book series is unnecessarily difficult to follow.
  2. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Apr 18, 2011
    90
    The gloriously bloody and depraved spirit of the novels is intact and even enhanced.
  3. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Apr 18, 2011
    80
    A grand soap opera of epic proportions, Game of Thrones can be a bit talky in some episodes, but the series draws a viewer in with well-defined characters and a multitude of simultaneous stories whose plot turns are generally unpredictable.