• Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 17, 2011
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 2800 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    I have never read the books and I make no plan to read the books. That being said this is one of the best first seasons of a TV show I have ever seen. I considered the Walking Dead season 1 to be the best 1st season i'd ever seen until this show came out and I believe fans of that series will defiantly enjoy this show.
  2. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    Just finished watching the first season, and it is without a doubt brilliant. Watching the show lead to my reading the book a few steps behind, and watching it with several loyal fans of the book, we were all impressed.
  3. Jun 22, 2011
    10
    I haven't read the books and skimmed the show. That might be a good thing, or at least interesting to fans to know there are people who haven't read the books actually watched the show. I skimmed over it, all episodes. I mean I did get clues (spoilers) from the internet but only a few. And I have to say, that although I kinda knew what was going to happen, I was still alkmost shocked whenI haven't read the books and skimmed the show. That might be a good thing, or at least interesting to fans to know there are people who haven't read the books actually watched the show. I skimmed over it, all episodes. I mean I did get clues (spoilers) from the internet but only a few. And I have to say, that although I kinda knew what was going to happen, I was still alkmost shocked when I fast forwarded to the beheading scene (there are several). I truly seriously enjoyed this show and it had really very very interesting characters and a no-joke amazing, great, like 'wowzers' great, storyline. Having said that, it didn't feel like something that I could 'die watching', and it never made me jump in the air shouting hurray, per se, but it became so so so so sooooooo close that I got up from the couch and and I put my jumpin' shoes on and I did almost kill myself a few times whenever that actress played Dany spoke. But instead I went to get more pie and ice cream and cookies. Expand
  4. Jun 22, 2011
    10
    EFFIN' WOW!! I couldn't get enough, CANNOT get enough. I can't wait to get blueray and all manners of shwag to promote the show!!!!! Buy everything, so that they can get better dragons next year!! This Game of Thrones is BARNONE the best original TV series pushing the limits of realism, grittycism, and imagery (nudes). The best, goriest, nakedest, most original series since Sporanos. InEFFIN' WOW!! I couldn't get enough, CANNOT get enough. I can't wait to get blueray and all manners of shwag to promote the show!!!!! Buy everything, so that they can get better dragons next year!! This Game of Thrones is BARNONE the best original TV series pushing the limits of realism, grittycism, and imagery (nudes). The best, goriest, nakedest, most original series since Sporanos. In fact, the best series to come along since maybe the Golden Age of Television. Game of Thrones is superb in every way, especially the superb finale which during every second was so incredibly sublime. The series started slowly, like a book going slowly and where there are many words you have to read. But then it sped up, faster and faster and faster to a ridiculous fast speed by the end, and the climactic ending was like fireworks green and red and explosions kaboom in the sky. Baboom! Without a shadow of a doubt the best new series to hit tv in the last decade. I daresay perhaps two decade. Effing wow, man. Expand
  5. Jun 22, 2011
    10
    I was sceptical at first if a fantasy tv show would be the right thing to watch. I had seen many bad examples in my childhood, like xena,... . but soon after starting to watch, the show had my full attention. the show has everything from bloodbath to zombies to sex. can't wait to see the next season.
  6. Jun 22, 2011
    10
    Only HBO could make a show like Game of Thrones, and make it excellent.

    I have not read a single page of George R.R. Martin's series of books. Considering the quality of story on the small screen, I may just hold out and wait to see HBO's (apparently very faithful) adaptation. This first season is fascinating. It has to create a fantasy world, for those who have read and not read (such
    Only HBO could make a show like Game of Thrones, and make it excellent.

    I have not read a single page of George R.R. Martin's series of books. Considering the quality of story on the small screen, I may just hold out and wait to see HBO's (apparently very faithful) adaptation.

    This first season is fascinating. It has to create a fantasy world, for those who have read and not read (such as myself), that actually feels real. Through its course, it achieves this by building characters, relationships, and strong underlying themes, with the quality of production that is exclusive to HBO. To keep this brief, what makes this even more compelling: the first season is, essentially, prologue. It breaks the rules of television without being pretentious; it all builds layers that matter. I cannot wait for season 2 and beyond. Perhaps the wait alone will make me reconsider my decision not to read the books.
    Expand
  7. Jun 24, 2011
    10
    Game of Thrones is a fun fantasy adventure series. It is similar in tone and substance to HBO series like Deadwood, the Wire, and the Sopranos. There are good people, bad people, people who simply will take advantage of circumstances, and so on. In other words, you have the whole broad collection of personalities. The set design, costumes, and special effects are all excellent. TheGame of Thrones is a fun fantasy adventure series. It is similar in tone and substance to HBO series like Deadwood, the Wire, and the Sopranos. There are good people, bad people, people who simply will take advantage of circumstances, and so on. In other words, you have the whole broad collection of personalities. The set design, costumes, and special effects are all excellent. The story arc is not overly complex, but it also isn't overly simplistic. You have a competition and jockeying for power among various noble families. Like with Julius Caesar, or the Prince, you can't say any of the nobles is purely good. But, the morality of the good ones is more follows a code, whereas that of the bad ones follows their own ambition. This show is vastly superior to awful "Madmen", simply because people are more realistic. They are not all egoistic individualists out of some crazy book like "The Fountainhead", instead they display the complex human emotion familiar to us all. It also has roles for both old and very young actors, and a real decent role for a midget rather than simply using him as a prop. Like the Wire it appreciates the aspects of minor characters. The reward for the audience is a fully realized world, that is much more organic and authentic than you would think possible. Considering it is made up world that is quite an achievement. While it is escapist fantasy, like any good drama it takes elements from real life. For example, there is a huge environmental danger looming in the series, a kind of ice age like winter lasting for at least a decade. Global warming is bringing just such a danger to our door in the coming years. Expand
  8. Jun 26, 2011
    10
    This is like the best show ever, but with swords, that is what Game of Thrones is. Like, everyone is so interesting and original. The music is extremely epic. And they did it so well what with the sword and all. I watched this show and everything, and it was like the best ever. Not just the best show ever made, but it is the best show ever made, of all time. You all seriously need to readThis is like the best show ever, but with swords, that is what Game of Thrones is. Like, everyone is so interesting and original. The music is extremely epic. And they did it so well what with the sword and all. I watched this show and everything, and it was like the best ever. Not just the best show ever made, but it is the best show ever made, of all time. You all seriously need to read the books, and the comics, especially if you are willing to invest this much and even more time in the show and websites, and books--you could also invest with money not just time. Buy the t-shirts. I don't understand many of the disappointments expressed, because they are meaningless to me, but I'm telling you all this is the best show ever. The show's just getting started. Anybody under 40 years old ever read "Dune"? If you take a look at the books, they are thousands of pages there! Game of Thrones has only showed the tip of the iceberg for this book. And the book shows the tip of the iceberg of the story. The show has been very faithful to the story, the story has been faithful to the imagined events. But you will find a better understanding of events if you buy miniatures. The books will make you appreciate the show less, but at least you will know more about the story. Expand
  9. Jun 27, 2011
    10
    I have read the books. This is an excellent adaptation. I have been dissapointed by adaptations of some of my favorite book series in the past (sword of truth, Eragon). This started a bit slow, but then so did the books, and there was a lot of explaining to do because Martins world is so complex. It is one reason I was looking forward to this show but did not expect it to do the booksI have read the books. This is an excellent adaptation. I have been dissapointed by adaptations of some of my favorite book series in the past (sword of truth, Eragon). This started a bit slow, but then so did the books, and there was a lot of explaining to do because Martins world is so complex. It is one reason I was looking forward to this show but did not expect it to do the books justice because he has so many vibrant characters. This show though, is very very good. None of my friends have the read the books, but I have watched it through with 9 different people in 3 different groups, they all love it. I am so glad they killed Ned Stark, he was pitch perfect but I was afraid they would wimp out and keep him alive, but the writers did the right thing and stayed true to the books. I am going to have trouble waiting for season two. Expand
  10. Jun 28, 2011
    10
    I have read the books and I have seen the show. I am here to report good news, that the show is good. The actors are good. The story is good. The sets are good. HMmm. Well, it's good, there you have it. It's not just a show for fantasy fans, also for normal people. I liked it and I am a girl. HBO is so great. I want to buy Game of Thrones on DVD and Blu-Ray. And T-Shirts. Also people whoI have read the books and I have seen the show. I am here to report good news, that the show is good. The actors are good. The story is good. The sets are good. HMmm. Well, it's good, there you have it. It's not just a show for fantasy fans, also for normal people. I liked it and I am a girl. HBO is so great. I want to buy Game of Thrones on DVD and Blu-Ray. And T-Shirts. Also people who didn't like it are trolls, you should ignore them. Expand
  11. Jun 30, 2011
    10
    An enthralling new series from HBO that had me on the edge of my seat literally every episode. With betrayal, deception & violence running wild in Seven Kingdoms of Westeros, there's lots of characters to follow who are all interlinked and wish to seize the Iron Throne in their own unique way. I never read the books prior to watching the first season but on the basis of this fantastic newAn enthralling new series from HBO that had me on the edge of my seat literally every episode. With betrayal, deception & violence running wild in Seven Kingdoms of Westeros, there's lots of characters to follow who are all interlinked and wish to seize the Iron Throne in their own unique way. I never read the books prior to watching the first season but on the basis of this fantastic new show, I shall be purchasing them all to read ahead! Already one of HBO's finest works since the Sopranos. Expand
  12. Jun 30, 2011
    10
    Game of Thrones has the optimal mix of suspense, drama, and action. Perfectly executed screen play and brilliant writing constantly leaves you begging for more.
  13. Jul 1, 2011
    10
    While awake, I almost soiled my pants because of the show. The chase scenes were frankly the most telling. I drinked vodka everytime Sean Bean passed gas. The show is great and you might get depressed.
  14. Mae
    Jul 1, 2011
    10
    I'm tired of people saying this is the best show since Sopranos. This show is so much better than Sopranos. Sopranos was super weak. Half of that show was talking to a shrink the other half was in a topless bar. Game of THrones is so much better than that. It has castles and dragons. There's this scene where the knight chops his own horse's head off with a sword!! Game of Thrones it drawsI'm tired of people saying this is the best show since Sopranos. This show is so much better than Sopranos. Sopranos was super weak. Half of that show was talking to a shrink the other half was in a topless bar. Game of THrones is so much better than that. It has castles and dragons. There's this scene where the knight chops his own horse's head off with a sword!! Game of Thrones it draws you in and then it makes you care about the people a lot. Except Sean Bean lollllll Expand
  15. Jul 5, 2011
    10
    I've read all the books of the "Songs of Ice and Fire" series, and it's one of those stories that you're reading and get to a point and yell and throw the book across the room, angry about what the author did. But that's part of it's charm as well. The series stuck very close to the book, and even explained some things that I could never understand from the novels. If you're looking forI've read all the books of the "Songs of Ice and Fire" series, and it's one of those stories that you're reading and get to a point and yell and throw the book across the room, angry about what the author did. But that's part of it's charm as well. The series stuck very close to the book, and even explained some things that I could never understand from the novels. If you're looking for a great story, with great characters and unexpected twists, you need to check out this show. Expand
  16. Jul 5, 2011
    10
    This HBO show really did it for me. It filled a whole in my heart that was created there by another TV show that was cancelled. Now I am happy again, and I can keep my chin high. I look forward to the sun rising. I sleep better. And I have excellent health. Thank you HBO!
  17. Jul 8, 2011
    10
    The pilot episode alone had me hooked on this series, and got me into reading the novels despite not having had time to read a good book for years. The TV show is quite true to the novels, changing some parts slightly and removing some arcs of the storyline in order to make it progress faster or to show more skin (it is HBO after all). While it is a shame that the overall length of theThe pilot episode alone had me hooked on this series, and got me into reading the novels despite not having had time to read a good book for years. The TV show is quite true to the novels, changing some parts slightly and removing some arcs of the storyline in order to make it progress faster or to show more skin (it is HBO after all). While it is a shame that the overall length of the first season is made shorter by the adaption, it certainly makes for better television. Of course, having a good script isn't everything; the acting is splendid and the outdoor shots are very well done. Expand
  18. Jul 10, 2011
    10
    Fantastic show. I love the story and the action being taken placed and gotta give a big thanks to HBO. They do make fantastic shows like band of brothers. I hope they get a larger budget so that season 2 will get some battle going on. I wish there were in season 1 and such.
  19. Jul 11, 2011
    10
    Speaking for myself I love the show buckets. I have not read the books and I love the show buckets. I have not read the books and I love the show buckets. The show is fantastic! I didn't know it was possible to make a tv show so good. It's incredible. I have died and gone to heaven. This show is so great, I watch it over and over again, reruns and all. I love this show buckets.
  20. Jul 13, 2011
    10
    I just watched the last episode. Two ending episodes was a roller-coaster of emotions. I was hooked from the first episode to the last, and now i am hungry for more. At the moment it feels too hard to wait the season 2. I truly can`t recommend this show enough. One of the best, all-time, for me! Great cast, awesome story, cruel game of thrones.
  21. Sep 16, 2011
    10
    I had never even heard of G.R.R.M before HBO brought out the teasers, but boy am I glad I got educated. I absolutely loved Season 1 Game of Thrones. The characters, twists, turns, backstabbing, maneuvering, sex, battles, comedy, mystery, mystique, guts & glory. It's everything I ever wanted in a show, and everything I expect from HBO's quality programming. These guys know how to pick andI had never even heard of G.R.R.M before HBO brought out the teasers, but boy am I glad I got educated. I absolutely loved Season 1 Game of Thrones. The characters, twists, turns, backstabbing, maneuvering, sex, battles, comedy, mystery, mystique, guts & glory. It's everything I ever wanted in a show, and everything I expect from HBO's quality programming. These guys know how to pick and create winners. As much as I would like to go out and start reading Martins books, there is no way in hell I'm going to ruin this ride with spoilers. Until the curtains close on this outstanding series, I'll be content in my ignorance having never read a single page, all the while tuning in weekly to see what happens. HBO.... I'm pickin up what you're puttin down. Expand
  22. Jul 22, 2011
    10
    Definitely one of HBO best series. Incredible plot with terrific acting. A lot happens in each episode. The show has a lot of gore and has a complicated plot (if you haven't read the book), because there are so many different characters. Sometimes I had to read recaps to understand some of the details in the beginning, but this is a show worth sticking with.
  23. Jul 23, 2011
    10
    Hadn't even heard of the books, but when I saw Sean Bean was in it I thought I'd give it a watch (Sky Atlantic HD is such a great channel). I was hooked from the start, great characters and storyline, I find it a little odd that all the characters sound like they could be my neighbours even though its an American programme, but I'll get over it, can't wait for the next series!
  24. Jul 30, 2011
    10
    I was slightly skeptical about this show's ability to realise anything as ambitious as Martin's vast fantasy world on a TV budget, however large. Yet here it is: every penny spent with wit and panache. The week of waiting between episodes became almost physically painful. Yes, there's quite a bit of nudity (I haven't heard so much prudish wailing in years) but sex sells and there's a greatI was slightly skeptical about this show's ability to realise anything as ambitious as Martin's vast fantasy world on a TV budget, however large. Yet here it is: every penny spent with wit and panache. The week of waiting between episodes became almost physically painful. Yes, there's quite a bit of nudity (I haven't heard so much prudish wailing in years) but sex sells and there's a great deal of exploitative and cruel sexuality in the books. The script is tight and gripping, the sets astonishing, the acting of the highest level (with every part filled by some RADA luminary like Julian Glover or Aiden Gillan). The children are to be singled out for praise; both Arya and Bran are wonderful, and Joffrey is possibly the most loathesome person under 18 ever to appear on film or TV (Draco Malfoy is an angel by comparison with this little serpent). And Peter Dinkage. Lovely Peter Dinkage as the louche, drawling, smirking, boozing, wenching, witty, shifty, ironic, scheming and fundamentally decent Tyrion Lannister. If everyone else wasn't so excellent, I'd miss him the moment he disappears from the screen. Thankfully, the show shares that amazing quality that the books have; every story thread is as gripping and enchanting as the next. BACK to King's Landing. BACK to the Wall. Back to Winterfell. BACK to Pentos. The reader and now the viewer just keeps gettign fed course after course of the swiftest, gutsiest political fantasy I've ever seen. The tital sequence alone is enough to give me gooseflesh now. In my opinion, TV just got better than the movies. Expand
  25. Aug 8, 2011
    10
    Well I for once have not even looked at the books, heck I got to know about the books after I finished the first season and was hungry looking for more episodes. Sadly, the next episodes won't be coming anytime soon. Game of Thrones is a fascinating display of how power is distributed between rich houses, such as the Starks. In the series there will be drama, action, mystery, and I don'tWell I for once have not even looked at the books, heck I got to know about the books after I finished the first season and was hungry looking for more episodes. Sadly, the next episodes won't be coming anytime soon. Game of Thrones is a fascinating display of how power is distributed between rich houses, such as the Starks. In the series there will be drama, action, mystery, and I don't know what else. It has a touch of fiction of course, fantastic display of myths, creatures and original fantasy development. In short words, I like it. Expand
  26. Aug 10, 2011
    10
    such a great show! the first couple of episodes are a little slow but it soon picks up.
    epic characters, great casting, amazing set design and the plot is to die for even though it can be a little confusing at times.
    watch watch watch.
  27. Aug 16, 2011
    10
    Best Show On Television Period. Amazing character development, action sequences, and story. A must watch for everyone. I can't wait for Season 2 to start.
  28. Aug 30, 2011
    10
    This show is awesome. I am a big fan of the books and the adaptation is really perfect, actually better than i thought it could be. The cast is just perfect, The young actors are really good (Maisie Williams!), Peter Dinklage is perfect for his character, so are Emilia Clarke, Lena Headey... well the entire cast is. I have watched each episode twice and several friends of mine are now hugeThis show is awesome. I am a big fan of the books and the adaptation is really perfect, actually better than i thought it could be. The cast is just perfect, The young actors are really good (Maisie Williams!), Peter Dinklage is perfect for his character, so are Emilia Clarke, Lena Headey... well the entire cast is. I have watched each episode twice and several friends of mine are now huge fans of the show too. Expand
  29. Aug 30, 2011
    10
    Best Show Ever! Such deep, round characters...each one with different allegiances and motivations, some caught in their circumstances, others rebellious of theirs. I often say about shows with kids in them, it can only be as good as the kids are(great ones modern family, married with children, etc). Game of Thrones has awesome kids, Anya and Sansa are brilliant. I dont wanna get intoBest Show Ever! Such deep, round characters...each one with different allegiances and motivations, some caught in their circumstances, others rebellious of theirs. I often say about shows with kids in them, it can only be as good as the kids are(great ones modern family, married with children, etc). Game of Thrones has awesome kids, Anya and Sansa are brilliant. I dont wanna get into too many spoilers, so I will say this, watch and pay attention(so you can follow all the relationships) and you will be rewarded by a deep, intelligent, suspenseful show. I want to single out some acting but it is literally all magnificent, beautifully shot too. i am going to rewatch again... Expand
  30. Sep 4, 2011
    10
    I am not a big fantasy nor historical watcher, but Game of Thrones "got" me from the first show. I got the book after the season finale and liked it very much (boy, are these books long!). I have already read the second book and looking forward to book 3.
  31. Sep 27, 2011
    10
    A smart, well acted show that offers the viewer just about everything that he/she could ever want. Captivating story, beautiful cinematography, loads of 3 dimensional characters makes for one of the best shows on tv.
  32. Oct 2, 2011
    10
    Easily one of the best series ever created!!! The critics who don't give this show at least 90% should not be critics because they suck!!!Awesome awesome series!!!
  33. Oct 3, 2011
    10
    Game of Thrones is a epic and shear awesome show. The Best of its kind in my opinion. Sean Bean is such a good actor. Game of Thrones simply has it all Action, Drama, Romance, Grasping dialogue, interesting characters and a great plot. I really look forward to the 2nd season.
  34. Oct 13, 2011
    10
    Brilliant Photography, Brilliant Scenarios ( it's just mesmerizing). Brilliant Storyline & Storytelling . Brilliant Cast. Without starting to describe each and every detail of this 10 episode tv show, i can only say; THIS is how you make a successfull tv show. Congratulations HBO, you've done it again.
  35. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    The brilliant first season of Game of Thrones turns out to be a very well-crafted adaptation of Martin's epic first novel in the A Song of Ice and Fire series. The cast is both talented and suited to their roles, and the twists and turns of the convoluted story should keep viewers spellbound.
  36. Oct 29, 2011
    10
    A testament to the George R.R. Martin series of Books and keeps the viewer begging for more. With tantalizing plot twists and a fantasy background of a society not unlike our own will keep any fan of the books or just about any fan of fantasy glued to their seats. Well produced with regards to their small budget and overall a great cast. A must watch for any person who wishes to beA testament to the George R.R. Martin series of Books and keeps the viewer begging for more. With tantalizing plot twists and a fantasy background of a society not unlike our own will keep any fan of the books or just about any fan of fantasy glued to their seats. Well produced with regards to their small budget and overall a great cast. A must watch for any person who wishes to be enveloped by an increasing story and it's only the first season!!! Expand
  37. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    Simply stunning. This is what you call a tv show worth watching. HBO and Showtime (ok, AMC too) are the only channels where you can find quality programming, the rest is just the rest, dumbed down shows.
  38. Nov 5, 2011
    10
    This is probably the greatest fantasy epic made for tv ever,and would probably rival many movies of this genre too,and the acting and scope of the world is just mind blowing.
  39. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    If you are a fan of fantasy, knights, swords, kings, and dragons, this is the show for you. If you are not...well, you will be after watching (and reading) this story/show.
  40. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    When I picked up this series I was not a fan of Martin's works, as I had never read any of the books in the series. In my view, the story is difficult to pick up with a wide array of characters introduced in a short amount of time. Yet if one sticks by the series, eventually character connections are easy to distinguish. The cast is perfect, an impeccable array of child actors for a tvWhen I picked up this series I was not a fan of Martin's works, as I had never read any of the books in the series. In my view, the story is difficult to pick up with a wide array of characters introduced in a short amount of time. Yet if one sticks by the series, eventually character connections are easy to distinguish. The cast is perfect, an impeccable array of child actors for a tv series. The opening sequence of the show is memorable at first, yet it loses its luster after the fourth or so episode. Nearing the conclusion of season one, the episode finales do leave you wanting more. The story is engrossing and is definitely worth giving a chance.

    However, I did find downsides, such as what I believe are over the top sex scenes in parts. There are also a few fantasy genre stereotypes, yet it must be considered that meager these complaints do not stack up well against the positives.
    Expand
  41. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    One of the best series ive ever watched! Highly recommend it! cant wait for season 2! it will be much better than the first. very intriguing story. If you liked LOTR, you will love this!
  42. Dec 1, 2011
    10
    Great TV show, one of the best I've seen. A little sad that there is only 10 episodes but they are a little longer than other shows (~1 hour). Characters are very nice and without having read books, they must be great.
  43. Dec 12, 2011
    10
    I have read the book and I can tell that, despite many things are not told as it should, we're in front of one of the best TV Shows ever produced or directed.
  44. Dec 20, 2011
    10
    I've read the books. I've read them so many times that I've lost the count. A Song of Ice and Fire is by far the best fantasy series that I've ever read and I'm so amazed that HBO has been able to put the series on screen in such a great way. The cast is great, the music is perfect and, even though I've read the books so many times, I feel like I never know what will happen in the nextI've read the books. I've read them so many times that I've lost the count. A Song of Ice and Fire is by far the best fantasy series that I've ever read and I'm so amazed that HBO has been able to put the series on screen in such a great way. The cast is great, the music is perfect and, even though I've read the books so many times, I feel like I never know what will happen in the next scene.

    Great job HBO! I hope that the next season will be just as great!
    Expand
  45. Dec 20, 2011
    10
    i am so hooked on this show it really well done, hbo has really out done its self and i hope it does well and continues to make me want to watch more. the actor{s roles have been devloping quite nicly in a way that prompts mistery.
  46. Dec 21, 2011
    10
    Game of Thrones is arguably one of the best TV shows to land in 2011; the intriguing story lines, the twisted plots, the camera work, the production, the stellar acting, and the set of the show create this wonderful masterpiece that it is impossible not to fall in love with the show- even if you are not into Fantasies. It is important to note the strength of the child actors- the actorsGame of Thrones is arguably one of the best TV shows to land in 2011; the intriguing story lines, the twisted plots, the camera work, the production, the stellar acting, and the set of the show create this wonderful masterpiece that it is impossible not to fall in love with the show- even if you are not into Fantasies. It is important to note the strength of the child actors- the actors who play the unruly Joffrey Baratheon, Bran Stark, Arya, and Sansa do an excellent job at reflecting the character depicted in the novels. What many folks leave out is the landscape of the work; the landscapes chosen matches those that are portrayed in George R.R. Martin's novels- well done. Seriously, people need to watch the show and abandon any prejudices they might have against the show for whatever purposes- A Great Show. Expand
  47. Dec 27, 2011
    10
    I haven't read the books (yet), but this series really intrigued me. Plot, characters and their development are all top notch. Best fantasy show I ever watched...
  48. Jan 10, 2012
    10
    Its simple as this: I have known many shows, and some of them were good... but if i could pay 10 bucks to rate Game of Thrones an 11/10 .. i would pay 50 to rate it a 15/10 ... everyone who reads this, and HAS NOT seen it.. i urge you.. you can not, under any circumstances miss this.. but do not be fooled, this is far from fairy-tale story.. its an adult medieval epic, for adult viewers..Its simple as this: I have known many shows, and some of them were good... but if i could pay 10 bucks to rate Game of Thrones an 11/10 .. i would pay 50 to rate it a 15/10 ... everyone who reads this, and HAS NOT seen it.. i urge you.. you can not, under any circumstances miss this.. but do not be fooled, this is far from fairy-tale story.. its an adult medieval epic, for adult viewers.. if you have not seen it, you must not miss it! 15/10 Expand
  49. Jan 19, 2012
    10
    What a great show. I couldn't stop watching it. I started watching it yesterday and i finished the whole first season in one day. I love the characters and the whole story. I also have played the board game and let me tell you its just like the show if you love this show like I do then you should get some friends and play this board game.
  50. Jan 22, 2012
    10
    This is second best TV show (Breaking Bad is first). The acting in this show is wonderful and so if the story. The episode, Baelor, almost gave me a heart attack! Call me weird, but I gave a standing ovation in my living room at the end of the last episode. Best new show of 2011!
  51. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    This are one of the shows that is just unique. There were no dull moments at all. And it made me read the books which is surprising even for me.This are one of the shows that is just unique. There were no dull moments at all. And it made me read the books which is surprising even for me. -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Expand
  52. Feb 18, 2012
    10
    This is an exceptional series that puts its sizeable budget to good use by convincingly creating a unique fantasy world. The story, the writing, the acting; they are all consistently excellent. The ensemble cast give great performances which is essential in any show that features a fantasy world. We need to be sold on it by the genuine nature of its inhabitants. The story feels epic inThis is an exceptional series that puts its sizeable budget to good use by convincingly creating a unique fantasy world. The story, the writing, the acting; they are all consistently excellent. The ensemble cast give great performances which is essential in any show that features a fantasy world. We need to be sold on it by the genuine nature of its inhabitants. The story feels epic in scope by focusing on different characters and areas. The show always has new tricks up its sleeve to keep viewers hooked and I can't wait for the new season. Expand
  53. Mar 4, 2012
    10
    I'll go over some positive and negative comments about the show to be as fair as possible. PROS: Game of Thrones is the first large-scale fantasy TV show. To all the fantasy lovers who devoured the Tolkien books and movies, George R R Martin's GoT will already be on your watch list. I implore non-fantasy readers to give it a try, though. It's definitely different from your average americanI'll go over some positive and negative comments about the show to be as fair as possible. PROS: Game of Thrones is the first large-scale fantasy TV show. To all the fantasy lovers who devoured the Tolkien books and movies, George R R Martin's GoT will already be on your watch list. I implore non-fantasy readers to give it a try, though. It's definitely different from your average american TV series, and has a huge list of characters and a slow beginning due to character development, but I guarantee you the series will only get better as the first half of the season comes around and into the second season (I know because I've read the books which HBO is staying true to). There is enough magic, lore, mythical creatures and weapons to add that fantasy element in the show, yet not enough to detract from a "realistic" experience. The story in GoT is the key element of its success, it's really exceptional for a TV series and honestly can't fully be judged by the first season alone because it's really built upon in books 2 and 3 (which will translate to season 2 and onwards on the TV series. Which includes EPIC BATTLES that will definitely make it onto the show). And as a last positive, anyone can die (this is a positive to me in a realistic sense), so make sure you are prepared for anything to happen (in a realistic way of course)!

    CONS: Game of Thrones is not a show suitable for everyone. I love the books and the show as well, but it's not deserving of a 10 like most of the reviewers give it (I'm assuming they want to boost the ratings as high as possible). The translation from book to screen has been fairly good, but some of the changes are questionable. There is a lot of character exposition using erotic scenes which honestly shouldn't have been in the show, I'm all for erotic scenes but please you can do better than that GoT directors. Secondly, a lot of the really good dialogue from the book is gone and replaced with less entertaining dialogue. Thirdly, some of the acting seems really wooden (possibly because of the medival fantasy setting). The characters are not black and white, but they do portray stereotypes and that can be annoying to some viewers (again, come to your own conclusions). And lastly, there are not enough shots of the villages and landscape in the show, a big part of large fantasy worlds is being able to picture the worlds and this is crucial to the success of a show (think of LOTR). And yes, I know it costs money for these kind of shots but they can still definitely do a better job on that. The first season does not have much warfare because of the costs involved, but if you stick with the show until the second season you will be sure to see more!
    Expand
  54. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    The negative reviews for this series astound me. Having read through book 2 when the show began and book 4 now, I cannot imagine this show being done in a better way. Season 1 very closely follows the events of book 1, which is no small feat, as the story is deep, complex, and gritty. Since this show is on HBO, none of the plot elements are compromised. Each episode is masterfully done,The negative reviews for this series astound me. Having read through book 2 when the show began and book 4 now, I cannot imagine this show being done in a better way. Season 1 very closely follows the events of book 1, which is no small feat, as the story is deep, complex, and gritty. Since this show is on HBO, none of the plot elements are compromised. Each episode is masterfully done, with high production values evident in every shot. The characters are portrayed expertly by the cast, and by the end of episode 10, you will be out of breath. This series is a labor of love, and it is obvious at all times. You can tell that this was created by people who cared about the story, and wanted to present it to a larger audience in a medium that we all can easily understand. Again, this is no small feat. Expect the coming seasons to be even better as the story picks up. Winter is coming! Expand
  55. Mar 11, 2012
    10
    I entered this unaware of George R.R. Martin or the series. I've exited a huge fan. As a middle of the road, sort-of armchair fantasy fan I wasn't sure when I first heard about this series, maybe it would be too much fantasy, too far from life. Now, maybe that's a good thing. Maybe, that's what it's meant to be, but I never like fantasy that went too far from life. Luckily for me, it's notI entered this unaware of George R.R. Martin or the series. I've exited a huge fan. As a middle of the road, sort-of armchair fantasy fan I wasn't sure when I first heard about this series, maybe it would be too much fantasy, too far from life. Now, maybe that's a good thing. Maybe, that's what it's meant to be, but I never like fantasy that went too far from life. Luckily for me, it's not like that. Luckily, it's from HBO; a network who's shows have always dealt with reality. I may be a bad fan of fantasy. I may be doing it wrong, I probably am, but if this show had been purely dragons and such things I would surely have exited the show early; disappointed. But the real-life aspects have kept me enthralled, kept me relating to certain characters. It isn't up to The Wire in levels of realism, but it's the closest a show like this could get. Great acting, great writing and exactly what I wanted. Thanks George for writing, thanks HBO for adapting. Expand
  56. Mar 12, 2012
    10
    A nearly flawless adaptation of the amazing first book in the series. The cast was chosen with great care. The story was told with precision. The results were fantastic.
  57. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    I love it. TV was dead to me (killed by the internet) until this brought me back. I had not read the book, but had read one and a half prequels to it. It wasn't terribly hard to follow, especially on Amazon where rewinding is possible. The style of directing is reminiscent of Battlestar Galactica. There is a lot of cutting between parallel threads, and leisurely dialog scenes whichI love it. TV was dead to me (killed by the internet) until this brought me back. I had not read the book, but had read one and a half prequels to it. It wasn't terribly hard to follow, especially on Amazon where rewinding is possible. The style of directing is reminiscent of Battlestar Galactica. There is a lot of cutting between parallel threads, and leisurely dialog scenes which do not overstay their welcome. The pacing is good and the characters are believable, except for a few scenes of the Targaryens which seemed over the top and gratuitous. The nudity (which 100% of the negative reviews complained about) though far more abundant than most other TV shows, is a tiny fraction of the show and does not detract from it. It rather makes it feel more authentic through being unencumbered by censors. It is, IMO, the best show since DS9 ended. The Walking Dead, for instance, has utter **** for acting and writing compared to this. Expand
  58. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    This show is absolutely amazing. I never read the novels it is based on. I was hooked after watching the 1st episode.

    Best TV shows:

    - Game Of Thrones
    - Breaking Bad
    - Walking Dead
  59. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    Having not read the books this series has so many unexpected twists. This show demands your love or hate for the characters and it is accomplished without question. Beautiful scenes only add to the mayhem, A must watch!
  60. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    I have not read the books, but have been told not to because this adaptation is so faithful (in essence). Great acting, action, and overall plot narrative. Never a dull moment!
  61. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    Globaly faithful to the tone of the books, but Dothrakis are a bit strange to me. Peter Dinklage as Tyrion is realy fantastic. Its a pity that it's too violent to be seen with kids.
  62. Mar 25, 2012
    10
    To all you nay sayers out there who denounce this TV series as being predictable and "boring" you have not read the books. You even say that you have not read the books yet then go on to point out how deficient the story is. I hope more people watch this series and your efforts to stop this are in vein. If you had read the books you would realise how important they are to the fantasyTo all you nay sayers out there who denounce this TV series as being predictable and "boring" you have not read the books. You even say that you have not read the books yet then go on to point out how deficient the story is. I hope more people watch this series and your efforts to stop this are in vein. If you had read the books you would realise how important they are to the fantasy genre. They make fantasy feel real. As if you could mistake the history of Westeros with our own. You would realise that season 1 is the opening novel and sets the 'stage' for the rest of the series to unfold. Season 2 will be remarkable. Why? Because the book 2 is remarkable. Book 3 is even better and Book 5 is a masterpiece. I love HBO for making this series. When I first started to read the books, some 10 years ago, I always thought this would make a cool movie or TV series and when I heard that HBO was making a series out of the books I almost jumped out of my chair. This is a truly awesome series and once they are all made they will go down as being as good as the books. I suppose there are people who find Sopranos, Rome and TheWire 'boring.' I take solace in the fact that not all have the sense to know what's good for them. Expand
  63. Mar 28, 2012
    10
    This epic show is just brilliant, comfortably the best show on the outstandingly good Sky Atlantic channel. All the cast are excellent in it, the backdrops, visual effects and makeup are of cinema quality rather than what we usually get in a TV drama, the script is excellent, basically, I can't stress enough just how good this show is, if I could give more than 10 I comfortably would.This epic show is just brilliant, comfortably the best show on the outstandingly good Sky Atlantic channel. All the cast are excellent in it, the backdrops, visual effects and makeup are of cinema quality rather than what we usually get in a TV drama, the script is excellent, basically, I can't stress enough just how good this show is, if I could give more than 10 I comfortably would. Just excellent! Bring on Season 2! Expand
  64. Apr 1, 2012
    10
    An entertaining, if trifling experience, GAME OF THRONES has the slightly annoying habit of presenting characters who are completely unambiguous in every way. Each character is sign-posted as good or evil from episode one through ten, so very little of what they do at an point is surprising. That written, I enjoyed watching the first season, though it doesn't compare to superior genreAn entertaining, if trifling experience, GAME OF THRONES has the slightly annoying habit of presenting characters who are completely unambiguous in every way. Each character is sign-posted as good or evil from episode one through ten, so very little of what they do at an point is surprising. That written, I enjoyed watching the first season, though it doesn't compare to superior genre television like DEADWOOD, BATTLESTAR GALACTICA, and JUSTIFIED. Expand
  65. Apr 2, 2012
    10
    I haven't read the books, but I must say that I definitely plan to after watching this amazing show. Where do I begin? The characters are all interesting, the production value is so good that I often forget that I'm watching a TV show, and it surprises me at every turn. I don't care for predictability and this show rarely drags on as the dialogue is just as thrilling as the fight scenes.I haven't read the books, but I must say that I definitely plan to after watching this amazing show. Where do I begin? The characters are all interesting, the production value is so good that I often forget that I'm watching a TV show, and it surprises me at every turn. I don't care for predictability and this show rarely drags on as the dialogue is just as thrilling as the fight scenes. It's a bit difficult to follow at first because there are several important characters and the story is so intricate, but you'll catch on eventually. I can't recommend this show enough. Bravo HBO! Expand
  66. Apr 4, 2012
    10
    HBO does it again by delivering another must see series. Game Of Thrones is THE show to watch and anyone who hasnt watched it is truely missing out. I love it.
  67. Apr 9, 2012
    10
    The show in a whole is very well put together. The various points of view are deftly mixed together without being overly confusing. The wit and range of emotions provides a lot of character to the show. And the TV show appears to be offering a more streamlined but accurate adaptation of the books that hopefully can manage the extremely large setting that they are in.
  68. Apr 9, 2012
    10
    A simply perfect season. Amazing characters, an interesting plot, twists and turns, a fantastic world created by George R.R Martin, great sets and, of course, really really really good actors, who bring the characters of the book to life. Bravo HBO, Bravo Producers, and the entire team!
  69. Apr 13, 2012
    10
    After watching the first season I am going to be forced to buy the next book. This story is building in epic fashion and the character development is brilliant. So many crazy things happen that you just can't feel that anyone is safe and that the next big plot point can come from nothing. To anyone who is reading the few poor reviews DO NOT believe them. Only a professional dork wouldAfter watching the first season I am going to be forced to buy the next book. This story is building in epic fashion and the character development is brilliant. So many crazy things happen that you just can't feel that anyone is safe and that the next big plot point can come from nothing. To anyone who is reading the few poor reviews DO NOT believe them. Only a professional dork would criticize a show like this for not being a good enough "fantasy." For the average person it is a captivating show and I for one hope it continues through the existing and future series. Expand
  70. Apr 25, 2012
    10
    My husband and I really loved season 1- and could not wait to see the next season--however we are soooo very disappointed in season 2....the violence and extreme obscenity is not necessary for the enjoyment of this series...we are as liberal as most but we really are not enjoying this season and will probably not bother to waste our time viewing the rest of the season.......We don't reallyMy husband and I really loved season 1- and could not wait to see the next season--however we are soooo very disappointed in season 2....the violence and extreme obscenity is not necessary for the enjoyment of this series...we are as liberal as most but we really are not enjoying this season and will probably not bother to waste our time viewing the rest of the season.......We don't really see any entertainment value in the series any longer. ---It is actually rather sickening to watch. Expand
  71. Apr 29, 2012
    10
    Please don't die George R.R. Martin!! You don't look like you're in the best of health. The TV show is an amazing adaptation of the books. This show is full of deep characters, dynamic plotlines, and great writing. Keep it up HBO. Two more books to go GRRM!
  72. May 8, 2012
    10
    For me this is one of the best movie ever!! There You can find everything : fight, intrigue, amazing story, sex and mooore. I having not read this fantastic (guess) saga but I will do this in a week!!
  73. May 22, 2012
    10
    I had never read the books, but had heard people talking of this show. Once I started watching, I could not stop. Practically every character in this show is engaging and interesting, even if you don't like them (Cercei, Joffrey, etc.). Tyrion is a fascinating character as well as Arya. I found following each individual storyline quite easy, even when there is so many of them. The scriptI had never read the books, but had heard people talking of this show. Once I started watching, I could not stop. Practically every character in this show is engaging and interesting, even if you don't like them (Cercei, Joffrey, etc.). Tyrion is a fascinating character as well as Arya. I found following each individual storyline quite easy, even when there is so many of them. The script and acting appeal to me and I truly don't see any flaws in this show as of yet. Expand
  74. May 30, 2012
    10
    It is not easy trying to bring life in to all of the complex characters of G.RR Martins amazing books, but this show certainly has succeeded! You never know what is about to happen, who will die next and where the story ends up. It is simply brilliant!
  75. May 30, 2012
    10
    This was a really well written season. I was hooked right from the start. Excellent cast and intriguing story lines. The only flaw with the show is that it is too short. This is more noticeable in the second season where too many things are going on at once. This show either needs more episodes or to have lengthier episodes.
  76. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    Recently I finally watched this series after being told repeatedly of how amazing it was, and I have to say I agree. I don't think I've ever seen such amazing production design for a television show, allowing the world of Westeros to feel very real and authentic. The cast is superb as well. Sean Bean and Peter Dinklage are the standouts in Season 1, but the whole cast does a good job ofRecently I finally watched this series after being told repeatedly of how amazing it was, and I have to say I agree. I don't think I've ever seen such amazing production design for a television show, allowing the world of Westeros to feel very real and authentic. The cast is superb as well. Sean Bean and Peter Dinklage are the standouts in Season 1, but the whole cast does a good job of embodying their characters. Furthermore, the plot of the series is completely engaging, I found it hard to tear myself away from the screen. In fact I finished the first Season in just three days because I just couldn't stop watching. If you're a fan of medieval history or fantasy than this is definitely a show that you should watch. Expand
  77. Jun 5, 2012
    10
    Absolutely fantastic. The acting is great, the scenery is great and the atmosphere created is absolutely amazing. It is backed up by a deep plot-line that will have you thinking for a long time. Just can't wait to see the next episode after watching one.
  78. Jun 9, 2012
    10
    Game of Thrones is fantastic and a premium HBO triumph. The series drowns in its lore, in a good way, so that when each episode is over you'll be crying for more. From the stellar cast, the gorgeous imagery, to the fantastic soundtrack and the clinching story Game of Thrones triumphs in every possible way imaginable. Highly Recommended for Lord Of The Rings and Skyrim fans!
  79. Jun 16, 2012
    10
    One of the best adaptations I've ever seen made​​. This first season was able to excite me like never before. Can follow the spirit of the book and fabulous actors equal in all respects to the characters of the book. This is a masterpiece!
  80. Jun 18, 2012
    10
    Technically and artistically a wonderful piece of motion picture. It's a first-class, professional production. I really don't know what to criticize. The viewer is kept in suspense throughout the entire episodes.
  81. Jun 18, 2012
    10
    Very very good tv show, a bit too brutal for my taste, but it adds to the realism of it which makes it very high quality! Love the character portrayals by everyone, all very good actors and actresses! Just, wow, Can't wait for Season 3.
  82. Jun 22, 2012
    10
    this show is simply amazing, i got hooked after season 1 and ended up buying all the books too. can't wait for season 3. i would advise any one who hasn't read the books yet but want to, i believe it's more fun to watch the season first then go back and read the book just because the series is so suspenseful.
  83. Jun 27, 2012
    10
    Game of Thrones is an absolute treat! Everything about this show is marvelous. The first episode of the first season only was able to get my attention and interest me in watching the whole season. There is no doubt about acting or the brilliance of cinematography and when you watch it, you can tell that a lot of money has been spent on making this show look even more than great.
  84. Jul 10, 2012
    10
    Yes, Game of Thrones is graphic. And it's obscene. And I love it. The acting, the writing, everything about this show proves Game of Thrones is really a winner. The production quality of this show is also really commendable. I recommend this to anyone, even people who aren't really into fantasy. Also, as an adaptation, this show is really excellent.
  85. Jul 14, 2012
    10
    the worst part about this show is that i have to wait a week in between episodes. i haven't read the books, so i enjoy the show quite a bit

    i'm intrigued about what's going to happen
  86. Jul 15, 2012
    10
    There are some changes between the books and the show, but they are mostly due to either cost or background. Sometimes they add a scene to show things that were implied in the books indirectly. Sometimes, they take a scene away due to time or the aforementioned costs. All of that said, the show is dark and wonderful, and it tells a tale not unlike the books. My only complaint isThere are some changes between the books and the show, but they are mostly due to either cost or background. Sometimes they add a scene to show things that were implied in the books indirectly. Sometimes, they take a scene away due to time or the aforementioned costs. All of that said, the show is dark and wonderful, and it tells a tale not unlike the books. My only complaint is that Renly never ate the peach! Expand
  87. Jul 20, 2012
    10
    Thrones is the fantasy epic to end all fantasy epics in my opinion. The world they'e created is so believable, as are the characters and their political wranglings that you'll be sucked into this universe for the duration of each episode. It's gritty, dark, brutally violent and very reminiscent of our own dark ages. That's why Thrones appeals to such a large target audience. Alhough it ISThrones is the fantasy epic to end all fantasy epics in my opinion. The world they'e created is so believable, as are the characters and their political wranglings that you'll be sucked into this universe for the duration of each episode. It's gritty, dark, brutally violent and very reminiscent of our own dark ages. That's why Thrones appeals to such a large target audience. Alhough it IS fantasy, dragons warlocks, zombies, etc, it doesn't bludgeon you with the nerdiness. My friend hates fantasy, Lord of The Rings drove him nuts, but he loves this as he says it's very realistic in terms of the ways things were. The action is awesome, the acting is perfect, the dialouge is spot on - just all-round brilliance really. If every TV series were like this we'd be laughing. Expand
  88. Jul 30, 2012
    10
    This is one of the best TV shows of all times. For those who love epic stories it is a gift, and for those who don't, too. The acting is exquisite, the detailed scenarios are completely convincing and the intensity of each episode leaves the spectator more than satisfied. Very well done. Congratulations.
  89. Sep 22, 2012
    10
    This is one of my favorite shows/movies that I've ever seen. I was doubtful to watch it because I thought that it wasn
  90. Nov 4, 2012
    10
    Game of Thrones is one of the few times where a visual adaptation surpasses its source material - the A Song of Ice and Fire series. That's not to say the books are bad, on the contrary, up until A Feast For Crows they're extremely entertaining when the author isn't giving you a long-winded explanation on what someone had for breakfast! The show essentially takes the plots from the book,Game of Thrones is one of the few times where a visual adaptation surpasses its source material - the A Song of Ice and Fire series. That's not to say the books are bad, on the contrary, up until A Feast For Crows they're extremely entertaining when the author isn't giving you a long-winded explanation on what someone had for breakfast! The show essentially takes the plots from the book, and delivers something with more adrenaline and more action, with the opportunity to expand on characters beyond the POV's from the books. Never before have I seen a show with such good acting, so many likeable characters - even female characters, and so many unforeseen plot twists. Usually you'd expect a fantasy based drama to suffer from the usual hammy acting and the like, but this is nothing of the sort. You'll care about characters, you'll be intrigued by the story, and you'll love the soundtrack. Its only real downfall is the unnecessary sex scenes in almost every single episode - even more so than the books. Expand
  91. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    The best show ever! The sopranos has been demoted to second best show ever in my opinion!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! lol!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  92. Dec 8, 2012
    10
    It completely blew me away. I was hooked through to the end, and couldn't wait for the next season, and bought the next volume and read through it, and the next until there were none. This is one of those adaptations where you cannot complain. The show did what was essential to bring the book alive on TV. Apart from a few elements (which I would not spoil here), this is a show rooted inIt completely blew me away. I was hooked through to the end, and couldn't wait for the next season, and bought the next volume and read through it, and the next until there were none. This is one of those adaptations where you cannot complain. The show did what was essential to bring the book alive on TV. Apart from a few elements (which I would not spoil here), this is a show rooted in reality, as much as it could be for a fantasy. What I mean is that magic plays a very little part and does not serve as a plot device. The show has some truly amazing characters. The last time I saw a show that comes even close to handling so many characters so well was Lost.

    My advice, though, is to read the books first because if you watch the show before that, it would be too good for you to come back to reading the books, which would be a shame since ASoIF is the best written fantasy series IMO.
    Expand
  93. Dec 8, 2012
    10
    This show is nothing less than a masterpiece. It follows the books quite well, deviating a little here and there for artistic sake, but nothing major I've noticed (though I bet some of you ASoIaF lovers will probably pick up some I missed). The acting on all fronts is superb, though I was most impressed by Peter Dinklage and the child actor playing Arya Stark, both of whom deserve someThis show is nothing less than a masterpiece. It follows the books quite well, deviating a little here and there for artistic sake, but nothing major I've noticed (though I bet some of you ASoIaF lovers will probably pick up some I missed). The acting on all fronts is superb, though I was most impressed by Peter Dinklage and the child actor playing Arya Stark, both of whom deserve some sort of award if they haven;t got one already.

    This show is an alternate universe medieval type action/drama. It's set in a place called Westeros and revolves around the different leaders of the respective areas and outlying areas, and their religious beliefs and throne-hunger driving them to war. The show features supernatural elements as well, including magic and mythical creatures. It's very much everything you'd expect from an adult medieval drama, and a lot of things you wouldn't. It surprises, and astounds around every corner. The visuals and sets are beautiful, and the story is one you must experience to truly enjoy.
    Expand
  94. Dec 10, 2012
    10
    Quite possibly the best TV series on at the moment, and in TV history. Both seasons 1 and 2 have incredible acting, genius scripting, a tight and exciting story, the spectacular and ridiculously complex and realistic fantasy world of George RR Martin, is brought to life almost perfectly. It has basically a Hollywood movie's production value and spot on directing.

    What more can I say? I
    Quite possibly the best TV series on at the moment, and in TV history. Both seasons 1 and 2 have incredible acting, genius scripting, a tight and exciting story, the spectacular and ridiculously complex and realistic fantasy world of George RR Martin, is brought to life almost perfectly. It has basically a Hollywood movie's production value and spot on directing.

    What more can I say? I recommend it to all over the age of 15, as long as you can take some sex and blood, and complex politics. You will be drawn completely in and then taken on the roller-coaster of your life. Watch it!
    Expand
  95. Dec 13, 2012
    10
    Love this show, once you start watching you truly can't stop. I loved the story of the Starks, and you will really start to care for the characters. Everything is so well done.
  96. Feb 14, 2013
    10
    started reading this series 20 years or so ago with the release of the first novel. ive found the show to be a brilliant visual companion to one seriously well written series. not sure how well it would play out to someone who hasnt read the books as there are probably too many characters and plotlines to explore in a way to brief a season. as along time lover of the books i have nostarted reading this series 20 years or so ago with the release of the first novel. ive found the show to be a brilliant visual companion to one seriously well written series. not sure how well it would play out to someone who hasnt read the books as there are probably too many characters and plotlines to explore in a way to brief a season. as along time lover of the books i have no complaints. especially impressed with lena headey's portrayal of the twisted cersai. im not one to give 10's, but for me this is flawless tv. if only there were more hours in a season Expand
  97. Mar 4, 2013
    10
    Although ignorant of the original literature, GoT proves godly in all stages of production. Never in the history of shows have I witnessed such a plethora of character portrayals and development. How many shows have the capacity to allow you to truly feel for both sides; in a word, how many shows have the capacity for such emotional investment?
  98. Mar 13, 2013
    10
    Yes, this is my favourite TVShow, and i have seen a lot of seriues such as Lost, Breaking Bad, White Collar, Greys Anatomy and many others, but still this is my favourite one. No i have not read the books but my cosuin have told me that´s the same thing. I love Game of Thrones becauseof it´s story, the scenarios, the actors, the visual effects. I mean this series has everything anyoneYes, this is my favourite TVShow, and i have seen a lot of seriues such as Lost, Breaking Bad, White Collar, Greys Anatomy and many others, but still this is my favourite one. No i have not read the books but my cosuin have told me that´s the same thing. I love Game of Thrones becauseof it´s story, the scenarios, the actors, the visual effects. I mean this series has everything anyone could lovo of any Tv Show. The story at first is a little bit strange and you may not get anything but after at leas t5 episodes of the first season you know very good the story and how is it going. And if you relate with a specific charachter it may be killed, yes in this tvshow many main character got killed but i thik this makes the series more special, it´s completly different to other shows when the main character never gets killed. The custome its another thing that makes game of thones very special, its absolutly awesome and perfect, again, even more than other series such as lost or NCIS. I can´t simply wait for more of this series. Expand
  99. Mar 14, 2013
    10
    Never read the books, but I am hooked on this show. Wow, wow, and wow again!

    Great acting and very engaging story. Love the plot twists and the uncertainty that exists about any of the characters whether we are talking about their morals or even whether they'll be alive in the next episode! Do yourself a big favor and watch this show from the start. I went out and bought all the dvds.
  100. Mar 20, 2013
    10
    I don't care much for TV shows. This is the only show I've been genuinely excited for in a very long time. There are a lot of characters and names to remember, but I can't think of a single character from the show that is boring or dull. I didn't think a TV show could have so many character that are all so interesting.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: Hal Boedeker
    Apr 25, 2011
    40
    The epic fantasy series is lavish, violent and often quite nasty. Most crucially, this adaptation of George R.R. Martin's "Song of Ice and Fire" book series is unnecessarily difficult to follow.
  2. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Apr 18, 2011
    90
    The gloriously bloody and depraved spirit of the novels is intact and even enhanced.
  3. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Apr 18, 2011
    80
    A grand soap opera of epic proportions, Game of Thrones can be a bit talky in some episodes, but the series draws a viewer in with well-defined characters and a multitude of simultaneous stories whose plot turns are generally unpredictable.