• Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 17, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 2038 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 17, 2014
    10
    This is the best thing on TV at the moment. It's not flawless, but I gave it a 10 because it is an absolute masterpiece. The cast is consistently excellent, working in harmony with the sharp writing. The action is definitely movie-level, but not too frequent to become boring. Everything aspect of this show is at the top of its game, and more. Game of Thrones is not just TV, it is an experience, and one work experiencing. I would recommend this to lovers of fantasy or just those who want a good tale. Expand
  2. Apr 13, 2014
    10
    Game of Trones is the best series ever. I just cannot think of any other to compare with. Wonderful. I recently started to read the books and I started to love them at once. I think they have been making a beautiful film out of a beautiful book. Looking forward to new pieces!
  3. Apr 11, 2014
    8
    Every Game of Thrones' chapter is about an hour long. The pilot, therefore, is a little bit overlong and it is hard to get used to the setting and characters and infinite subplots of the series. But once you do, oh boy, you are in.
    Game of Thrones is a commitment, and Season 1 establishes, from the pilot's ending to the last chapter's final breath, a continuous joyful sprout of explicit
    nudity, blood-squirting violence and sassy Shakespearian dialogue. The amazing production values make the world of Westeros so immersive, and the performances are, for the most part, really good (Some are uneven). It is a first season in all its glory, with lots of character introduction, but halfway in you will find exciting cliffhangers and some shocking moments that really makes this series a hell of a ride. Expand
  4. Apr 11, 2014
    8
    Game of thrones is the new T.V series which I'm rooting for! The setting may be over used, but the character and dialogue is something special. Great acting and the range of characters, will never leave the audience with a dull moment. This is something everyone should get into and support! action and drama to popular genres. Season 2 here I come!
  5. Mar 30, 2014
    10
    IMPORTANT: To get the full 'Game of Thrones'-experience you need to get through season 1 - you have to invest time in to it but I can promise you it'll give it back to you x100.000.000!

    As much as I love and adore Game of Thrones - pretty much every aspect of it - I've got to admit that for most people season 1 can get pretty heavy. This is simply because the plot of GoT is so huge and
    elaborate that you need to spend ages getting in to it.

    Season 1: introduction season - can get boring at some points with a lot of dialogue and 'explaining'. You need to get through this - no shortcuts.
    Season 2: beginning to get badass. This is the season where things begin to light up and you'll see the potential of the series.
    Season 3: PURE **** AMAZING, MINDBLOWING, BADASS AWESOMENESS! All the hours spent understanding the relations, houses and lands lead up to this. If you're not hooked after s3e10 this is not for you.
    Expand
  6. Mar 29, 2014
    10
    One of the best tv series ever produced. Based on amazing material (books). Excellent dialogues, characters, settings, clothes, music....I can go on... Not to be overlooked!!!An absolute must.
  7. Mar 23, 2014
    9
    I'm so excited the big anticipated wait for season four of Game of Thrones is near. One thing I don't like about this show is it seems the good die young and the show is full of villains. That's why I cant until the blonde beauty 'Calisi (mother of dragons) comes to kicks azz (I HOPE) and knock a few off their high horses!!
  8. Mar 20, 2014
    10
    I don't give this a 10 lightly: this is bar-none the best TV series I have ever seen in my life. So much so that I actually buy multiple DVDs to gift to family members just to support it. The atmosphere, the complex character relationships, and the sheer magnitude of the story just make this something to sink into. I haven't been able to "feel like I'm part of the universe" when watching media since I was a teenager. This is one show that lets me do that. I turn off all external sensory items and just get absorbed into the piece, enjoying every minute. There's only two flaws so far: they couldn't dye the eyebrows blonde (you get used to it), and the first few episodes are very heavy for people who cannot handle far-arching stories and characters. This is the only show where when someone is in danger (and sometimes not even in danger) I feel the threat and cannot just assume everything will work out alright (looking at you serial shows where the main characters survive everything several seasons in). I sure hope media in general learns from GoT and this is not the only piece of such great caliber in my lifetime. Expand
  9. Mar 17, 2014
    10
    This is the best television programme ever created. The acting is the best in the business. There are a lot of characters in this, and it should be difficult to flesh out each person and give them depth, but they have no problem with that here. Each episode leaves you wanting more, and each episode has you at the edge of your seat. Expect the unexpected. The writing is the best I've ever seen. This is television at it's finest. Expand
  10. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    The best piece of literature or entertainment ever created. One of the most impressive productions ever and is worth every second of your time. Not to be a fan boy but nothing else touches this show in character, story or presentation. All perfected to the smallest detail
  11. Mar 11, 2014
    9
    Esta primera temporada de Game of Thrones fue brillante, la lucha de las familias por el control del trono de hierro no es solo eso, es sobre la historia de rodea a varios personajes y la situacion que deben enfrentar en un mundo plagado por la traicion y la corrupcion.
  12. Mar 4, 2014
    10
    I have to say that the series are simply the best series I have watched in my entire life. I really like how they include a lot of characters, and have many main characters. This makes the series very exiting. I have not personally read the books, but I've begun, and as far as I can tell, I like them a lot. With a wide range of great actors, and an amazing story, the series get you really hooked and addicted to watching. It contains a lot of sex, so to be honest, the series are not for people who easily get offended and feel harassed by the scenes. A lot of people I know say that the "Game of Thrones" series in a nutshell, is basically: sex, dragons and violence. This I do not personally agree with, as it also contains an awesome story, great actors, and the fact that it's easy to get addicted. I would recommend this series to people who are mature enough, and who also have watched The Hobbit movies, Lord of the rings, Atlantis, Harry Potter and other fantasy movies/series. Expand
  13. Mar 3, 2014
    0
    If you like to spend time on one-adjective-characters, good looking and clean costumes and nice landscapes and buildings: welcome to game of thrones.
    But if you want anything beyond that: leave it and don't even start.
    The simplicitiy of the plot and characters is stunning.
  14. Feb 27, 2014
    1
    This show is so overrated. That's mostly because all the young boys who never seen a boob before popped their first boner while watching this show. Its full of not needed nudity and ugly ass unrealistic sex scenes wth?!?!

    As for the story, its a huge filler filled mess of convoluted BS and the characters are acting like retard without ANY common sense.

    How anyone can like this drivel
    is beyond me... Expand
  15. Feb 14, 2014
    10
    Really, really, really good. More of a 9.5, but hell, this show is so well built and interesting the difference is insignificant. Try an episode or two, very much worth a shot.
  16. Jan 28, 2014
    10
    Game of Thrones was something I frowned upon at first, friends told me what it was and I kind of shrugged it off. Biggest mistake ever.

    This show is absolutely everything I wanted in a TV series for such a very long time. Absolutely amazing photography & cinematography, brilliant music & audio plus the amazing actors and crew which build one hell of a story to tell. The 3 seasons of
    this so far have kept me gripped and interested the entire journey, and the fourth season is only just around the corner now!

    I highly recommend this!
    Expand
  17. Jan 24, 2014
    10
    An epic medieval fantasy with incredible action, gory and intense action, and a a brilliant and engaging storyline, coupled with fantastic writing. Despite the ensemble, the breakout is Peter Dinklage, who has found the perfect role; the sardonic, clever, and persuasive dwarf Tyrion Lannister, who by far is the most captivating of all with his schemes and clever and powerful insults and overall look at life, all make him the character who will leave you laughing. Normally, I'm not a fan of fantasy, but this has changed my mind. Expand
  18. Jan 14, 2014
    10
    I read the novels several times in the past few years, then finally got to watch most of the HBO series. The acting is superb, and the feel is true to the novels, which are as much a history lesson on the brute vileness that was Medieval Europe as a fantasy series.
  19. Jan 3, 2014
    9
    A tremendous adaptation of Martin's novels, it probably helps that he does control many aspects of the television series; Season 1 of GOT is nearly a replica of the actual novel. And like the novel, it succeeds tremendously as an entertaining, violent, and epic success.
  20. Dec 31, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Song of Ice and Fire books are really good and this show is really bad. Just read the books and skip this show. Worst mistake I made was watching Season 1. Expand
  21. Dec 15, 2013
    8
    Game of thrones is a Slow Starter and which slowly catches pace without which you cannot live. At first I thought it as a boring one but later as it progressed it became interesting,
    Specially Dwarf ('Lannister always pays his debts') is the one I love watching.
    Overall 7.5/10
    Photography 8.5/10
    Storyline 7/10
    TWISTS 7.5/10
  22. Dec 10, 2013
    5
    I have recently discovered Game of Thrones, but failed to be impressed. It is clear that the books where the series is based upon, is some low-budget version of Tolkien's work (it comes as no surprise that the writer even shares the same initials R.R.). This doesn't help the series because I was constantly thinking "oh, we saw that in TLOTR: The Return of the King" or "Looks like the Hobbit only much tackier".

    The series also tries to score by adding lots of violence and sex (I call it the "Spartacusation of Middle Earth") and fails in that respect as well.

    So what is left to keep on watching? Some nice music, good scenery, a couple of good actors.
    Expand
  23. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    The critics on this site are borderline retarded. Season 1 of Game of Thrones gets a lower rating than Dexter Season 7. No GOT seasons are below a 90. Breaking Bad/Game of Thrones/The Sopranos/Walking Dead/Boardwalk Empire are +90 shows. And Homeland from what I hear. But I've only seen about 6 episodes of Season 1. But the "fans" have much better judgment than the critics, sadly.

    + The Wire. And The Wire.
    Expand
  24. Dec 1, 2013
    0
    This is a sword and sorcery soup opera, not an engaging fantasy or adventure. If you like soap operas, and apparently a lot of people do, you'll like this. If you think soap operas are trash, you'll want to steer clear of this little chestnut.
  25. Nov 29, 2013
    9
    Uma grande e estrondosa série de intrigas políticas e psicológica, eriçada com personagens vivos, unidos pelo enredo tentador e temperado com um toque de fantasia, isso Game of Thrones.
  26. Nov 25, 2013
    10
    I am falling in love with this show. It is interesting and the costumes and set designs are great still. Can't wait to finish seasons 2 & 3 before season 4 in the Spring.
  27. Nov 25, 2013
    10
    almost everything is here excellent, it stays true to book, very good acting, well directed etc.
    only downside they had to cut parts from the book. Buy it!
  28. Nov 22, 2013
    0
    Highly overrated series. 91% of its viewer's are only there for the nudity, sex and violence. This show is pretty much LotRs mixed with a bad porno. Garbage series
  29. Nov 16, 2013
    10
    There is nothing you can dislike about game of thrones, every episode is interesting and every character is important. I think it's one of the best tv series ever created.
  30. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    There is no weakness to this show. Whoever had the idea to make A Song of Fire and Ice into a TV series was a damn genius. The acting is unreal and the story heavily revolves around the complex relations between the characters rather than unrelenting action. Of course there is action where there needs to be and its amazing. Luckily for the viewers, it appears their budget for this show it quite high so we get to enjoy good special effects and robust settings. I doubted the hype around this show for quite some time. I've never been so wrong... Expand
  31. Nov 5, 2013
    8
    First season review:

    As a book lover, this adaption is reasonably accurate to the original material. The acting is all superb and the production quality is through the roof.
    However, I didn't really care for all the sexual content that was shoehorned into this show. Before I get docked "helpful" points for this review, let me clarify that yes the book did have graphic sexual content.
    The show portrayed these scenes but also added a few more that might as well have been soft core porn. I don't dock this show points due to morality or religion, but due to the fact that these scenes take me out of the show and genuinely cheapen it.
    Still, I'm giving it a positive review. If you liked the book, you will probably like this. Just don't show it to your parents.
    Expand
  32. Oct 31, 2013
    10
    Incredible. Just incredible. As much critical praise as this series has received, it hasn't received enough. It is not merely highly entertaining junk food like I thought it was before I started watching. It is incredibly deep and technically flawless. The cinematography, the acting, even the sound editing: it's all top-notch. The only series I have ever seen that were better than this were The Sopranos, Mad Men, and Breaking Bad. I think a strong argument can be made that this is the 4th-greatest television program of all time, and as funny as that may sound, I don't think most people consider Game of Thrones to be the 4th-greatest show in history. It is woefully underrated. It may well come in first place as far as characterization is concerned. In almost any television program, there are "good" characters and "bad" characters. But this is not realistic. Even in a show as great as the Sopranos, the viewer was gently nudged by the writers toward making a normative assessment of a character's morality, i.e. nudged toward despising Richie Aprile or Ralphie Cifaretto vs excusing the sins of softer-hearted mobsters like Tony and Paulie. Game of Thrones has the most believable and realistic characters in television because they are incredibly morally complex, as are real human beings. They are all self-interested in ways that the viewer can understand and empathize with. It would not be ridiculous to say that Game of Thrones, both as a book series and a show, is equal in quality to The Lord of the Rings (both as a book series and a movie franchise). In fact, in my opinion, while the books have equal artistic merit (in diametrically opposite ways), the GoT series has the LOTR film trilogy beat by a country mile. LOTR in print form was admirable for its allegorical, neo-biblical juxtaposition of pure good versus pure evil, and there are parallels to the New Testament and to 20th century wars and political struggles. It is a literary triumph in the Apollonian tradition, but GoT in print is Dionysian triumph. The characters are not morally stark (no pun intended) mannequins meant to represent ancient archetypes and values, they are human beings, reflections of the reader. I could go on forever, just watch the show. Expand
  33. Oct 27, 2013
    10
    Wow. Having put off watching this series for so long, I was more than pleasantly surprised with what it had to offer. In short; Top actors, lovely British accents, wonderful world of Westeros, Sean Bean, "A Lanister always pays his debts", shocking events that spring up quickly, well paced, funny, action packed, mythical politics, Sean Bean, Peter Dinklage brilliant portrayal of the "Imp" gripping television. Expand
  34. Oct 25, 2013
    9
    wow amazing..feels real....very good background score .....screenplay adaption from novel is excellent..because of this I am curious to read all the books of game of thrones .....peter performance ..main highlight of the season..epic ,lavish,fantastic
  35. Oct 19, 2013
    8
    the beginning of game of thrones was kind of boring and without explanation, but in the middle of the season the series could stand up and began to turn one of the best series I've ever seen in my life.
  36. Oct 10, 2013
    10
    The most entertaining, big budget, awesome book based fantasy you could wish for. As a person that read all aSoIaF books, this show does them justice.
  37. Oct 10, 2013
    10
    Winter is coming, and I couldn't be happier... The series is masterful and the acting is fantastic. The series stays true to the books and really pushes across the feel of 'war of the roses' meets 'lord of the rings'.
  38. Oct 9, 2013
    3
    Now I can't claim to be an expert on Game of Thrones because I have only seen the pilot episode, however, that one episode alone was enough for me to not want to watch a second, and develop a rather strong disliking for the acclaimed series. Game of Thrones is disturbing. Very, very disturbing, and not in a good way, if there is one. In the pilot episode alone there was so much sexual violence and cruelty to women that I felt sick to my stomach. I have heard from friends who watch the series that this never gets any less. So you take a woman, make her a victim based on her gender and then give her the ability to control dragons and now you have a "deep" and powerful heroin. No, you have a victim who has been abused and now has the ability to control dragons. I cannot condone sexual violence in entertainment media. When you have writers capable of creating a show as original and with as much depth and story as Game of Thrones, it bewilders me how they have to resort to sexual violence and the demeaning and objectification of women in order to enthrall theirs viewers. Tell me, anyone who watches the show, what exactly would Game of Thrones be losing if it did not incorporate such hideous acts of violence against women? Are these central elements to the show? Well, I couldn't get past them, and I wasn't about to stomach any more of it when there are plenty of other shows that don't have it. Expand
  39. Sep 29, 2013
    9
    They're doing a great job adapting the books to the screen. This season was very well paced and very well written. On top of that, the acting and scenery were phenomenal. Great show for anyone that likes a good epic fantasy.
  40. Sep 25, 2013
    9
    Having just watched ep 10, I truly feel this series gets it just right. Acting, production values, plot, intrigue are all in line with the feel and tone of the book
  41. Sep 16, 2013
    10
    Magnificent. I never read the books, so the story was quite amazing to me, and the twists and turns caught me completely off guard. What is very great about the story is how fully realized the complex world is, and how the different plot lines intertwine together into one massive saga that surely still has much to offer in the coming seasons. I read that there are 7 novels in total. Will be exciting to see how they are played out. Another great thing about the story, is how it relates to many historical elements in medieval Europe. Yet the story feels original. Overall, it is a beautifully crafted TV show that is definitely worth checking out. Expand
  42. Sep 16, 2013
    9
    Cómo la web me pide un mínimo de 150 caracteres, y necesito hacer el review para poder tenerla archivada en mi perfil, pues suelto este rollito y mi votación es de 9. Un saludo.
  43. Sep 5, 2013
    10
    I cant explain in words how happy I am they finally made this series, and they did it right. The level of production, the sets, locations and the top actors they've gotten to do this makes this easily one of the best first seasons in HBO cable TV history. Throw in the fact that this show stays very close to the source material, and you have the best "thing" on TV. If the end of this season proved to those unknowing of this series anything don't get attached. Expand
  44. Aug 30, 2013
    10
    With beautiful and expensive production design but even better, with good acting and great writing and direction, Game of Thrones is one of the best TV shows of the year.
  45. Aug 15, 2013
    8
    A juicy, thick, rich story with an entire world full of diverse yet equally interesting characters, creating a dangerous atmosphere and a future full of potentially explosive, and shocking conclusions. This is a brilliant set up leaving us insatiably hungry for what is to come.
  46. Aug 11, 2013
    6
    I personally cannot get into this show what-so-ever. However, I cannot deny that it is a masterpiece of a show. I just can't get myself to really like it, but there's no denying it's one of the best shows out there.
  47. Jul 29, 2013
    10
    Best tv show ever,- Why anyone would vote it down I don't know, maybe they didn't watch it but this is the best thing ever... I have watched it all, and I will continue to watch it all.
  48. Jul 27, 2013
    9
    An extremely good first season. Game of Thrones is a fantastic show with fantastic performances by near the entire cast. The writing is good in the first season and the writing does a great job of following the first book very closely.
  49. Jul 25, 2013
    4
    If you want a show with 4 zillion charters set in some fantasy middle evil ages game of thrones if for you.
    I'll admit I've only watched a few episodes. Personally I find it to slow and it has to many charters. Maybe it makes more sense if you have read the books. But each to there own.
  50. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    Fantastic show, it has wonderful character development, and a sense of moral ambiguity in relation to every character on the show. This is quite good because, you can decide who your hero or "protagonist" is, it's a world that is utterly and completely gray as opposed to the black and white that is portrayed on the vast majority of television programs. This is a thinking man's epic.
  51. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    There is not much that I can say that hasn't already been said. This is one of, if not the best, show on TV today. Characters are great and wonderful writing. A must watch
  52. Jun 13, 2013
    9
    Novel adaptations like this are made for television. Many times epic literary works are reduced to the bare bones because people aren't willing to sit through a film longer than 3 hours. Game of Thrones is an excellent adaptation of Martin's work, with exceptional acting and beautiful visuals. If you have to pick one series to follow, it should be this one.
  53. Jun 11, 2013
    9
    In this TV show, you never know what's going to happen next, you can only guess. It's such a fantastic peace of work(actually pieces). You follow different troop through Westeros and watch them battle for the Iron Throne, AMAZING.

    I don't really know what to say wothout spoiling.
  54. Jun 11, 2013
    9
    This show. WOW. I just can't get enough of it. It's plot twists, wars, and etc.. Just MIND-BLOWING. Normally I don't go for these type of shows.. I go for mysteries, or science fictional powered shows for example once upon a time but Game of Thrones.. It's one of the top of my favorite shows and let me warn you I watch a lot of shows. I mean it A LOT. I'd place Game of Thrones 4th of my very long list. Expand
  55. Jun 11, 2013
    8
    The violentest!!! Love the part where the horse gets decapitated. No, but seriously, very entertaining, like Lord of the Rings except more people die horribly.
  56. Jun 9, 2013
    10
    Amazing show. In the middle of all the mediocre television shows being produced in recent years Game of Thrones is an exception and a must watch. The show is filled with action, and fast-paced (in my opinion, when compared to other shows I've seen recently such as the Walking Dead).
  57. Jun 7, 2013
    2
    I'm reading the first book and I'm about 200 pages in, so all of this plot is still very fresh in my mind for what I just saw on Episode 1. I don't understand why this show has such high reviews...perhaps the obscene amounts of gore and nudity? I only watched Episode 1 of Season 1 and that is all I will watch, for reasons I will make known below. Before that, I would like to state that this series may reflect the book, but it taints the reputation of the book and the reflection is not accurate in the least bit.

    Characters: First of all, the ages of all the children are older than in the books...which I'm assuming will make nudity of the girls...more acceptable to the audience??? Jon Snow is not at ALL what I pictured him to be...I mean it gives a physical description of him in the book...so there's no excuse for that. However, most other characters do look a lot like I would have imagined (esp. Arya and Ned), just not Jon.

    When the show began it completely butchered the scene of the Night Watch men who encountered the Others. The wildlings on the ground were not butchered and the man who deserted after the encounter only survived because he climbed up a tree. I know that seems like a small deviation, but for a series that claims to be so close to the book, the opening scene was screwed up. The execution of the deserter was handled well, but what about Bran's big question? Following the execution, the direwolves scene was mishandled as well. The actor playing Jon did not look as though he was caught off guard by finding the runt. Speaking of that, all of the plot was rushed much too much. The actors failed at capturing the nuances, pauses, and facial expressions that these characters make. I was frustrated throughout the whole episode because it seemed to rush to the nudity, which is FAR LESS IMPORTANT than, say, the scene where Ned and Robert were underground paying respects to the dead. That scene deserved more than it was given. They didn't bring Robert and Ned's relationship to life, instead they make Robert look like a man-whore and they made him look soft (as in fat is whole life). The king should be hardened, but with a softness that only Ned can bring out in him...Mark Addy is NOT Robert Baratheon. No, no, no. I'm so mad at myself for watching this because now all of the faces of the characters will be associated with the actors...Boo!

    The sex scene with the Imp and all of the whores was completely fabricated...I mean that was just completely unnecessary. So many people are stating that this series handles sex maturely, but it takes something sacred and makes it absolutely disgusting. The book did not handle sex this way at all! Also, Daenerys is supposed to be a 13 year old virgin and the show had the actress who played her take part in two obscenely long nude scenes. I'm sorry (not really), but that actress does not act very innocent or afraid and I don't think she can because she is too willing to pull her drawers down. The sex scene between her and Drogo was not handled well either because it made Drogo seem way more barbaric than he actually is in the book (according to that specific scene in the book). They didn't have time to throw in the fact that he tenderly asked her for permission? I mean, really? That scene in the book ended in mutual agreement...(well as much as possible considering the circumstances). Now, the sex scene of Cersai and her brother was pretty much dead on for the book...I will admit that much.

    Pros: The costumes, props, and scenery are somewhat nice. That's it. You can't build up a show on nice backdrops and cool clothing though.

    Overall impression:

    -The necessary scenes were rushed.
    -Important details were completely neglected.
    -Some characters are all wrong and the ages of the children are fudged.
    -Sex has devolved into a barbaric act of overpowering women.
    -Most of the nudity is unnecessary and is OVERWHELMINGLY uneven (all full-on naked women)
    -Props and scenery are nice.
    -Whorehouse scene completely fabricated.

    PLEASE READ THE BOOK. You'll understand why so many of the people who read the book are angry.

    Now I'm off to read the book some more, but I think I've made it quite obvious that this show has dragged down my overall "A Game of Thrones" experience. I don't even know if I'll finish it now, but I definitely won't be back to watch this ridiculous adaptation of it.

    Last words:
    The actress playing Daenerys is so beyond wrong. I actually feel bad for the made-up character in the book!

    BLEH!
    Expand
  58. Jun 4, 2013
    10
    Brilliant show with very well written storyline lines which continue to grip you every episode without ever losing interest. I would highly recommend that everyone give GoT a watch.
  59. Jun 3, 2013
    7
    Both sex and violence in this show feel forced and over the top with clear intention to attract weirdos and horny teenagers which somehow (together with slow pacing and tone of fillers-probably the trouble with source material) decrease the overall artistic value of this otherwise ambitious and interesting series.
  60. May 25, 2013
    9
    Outstandingly realized adaptation of one of the best fantasy novel of our generation. Cast is well chosen, except for Renly. Acting is amazing (Peter Dinklage fits the role of the Imp perfectly). Let's hope that HBO will be able to adapt all "Song of Ice and Fire" saga. Great start
  61. May 20, 2013
    10
    The most satisfying TV-series I have watched.

    Game of Thrones is a low fantasy medieval setting series based on the A Song of Ice and Fire books.
    It starts out a bit slow in an apparent non-magical fantasy world where people seem to have common medieval-ish superstitions.
    When magic is introduced, it is most often subtle, dark and/or unsettling, and sometimes you're left to wonder if
    it's a just a parlor trick within the Game of Thrones world.

    The episode focuses on many main characters, each surrounded by the enemies they call friends and the friends they believe to be their enemies, spies and allies.
    The characters are very well-made, some easier to like than others, and the plot unpredictable unless you have read the books.

    For once, we are looking at a series that actually is (mostly) true to the books. While it does take some shortcuts with the approval of the author of the books they don't contradict nor ruin the plot from the books.

    This is the first TV-series I believe I will be able to bother tracking and watch every time it airs.
    Expand
  62. May 18, 2013
    9
    A very great show. Interesting storylines, interesting characters, great acting, story just a very good show. It takes a lot of attention to get every detail but the show is still very great. Kind of like a TV version of Lord of the Rings.
  63. May 6, 2013
    9
    BEST MEDIEVAL FANTASY TV SHOW FOR ME only complain from me that they release only 10 episodes every year...They could had add way more episodes and expand the story based on the books of Martin
  64. Apr 29, 2013
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Game of Porcelain Thrones

    Art thrives on limitations, or it can also thrive on big budgets. But I have never seen art push so far to these two extremes that it becomes an overdone and overbearing nightmare that never gets to the point. It’s a chess game that never ends. I thought Law and Order was dull.

    I truly believe that this book series would work better as Films, because cuts would be needed, and believe me, I would cut out a lot of scenes in the HBO series. Hell, I’d cut characters out altogether, Rob and Arya Stark, and the other Stark kid who has noodles for legs, and others. You can retire these characters with no warning right now and I would not have caught on. Until they do something important, I won’t care. Sorry, Mother of Dragons.

    This show takes itself too seriously that there grey characters and grey persona's matches there grey on grey suits and landscapes, even when you see red and gold, its lies. It’s hard to care about The Kings Slayer when the biggest things he has done in the series is his sister, pushed a kid out a high window and had his stranger hand chopped off.

    The only character that stands out in anyway is The Dwarf character, as he is the only person, character development wise, that actually is going places. He is not a good character, but he is the only hint of a character we have, and thank god for Peter, as he seems to be the only actor in the cast that genuinely enjoys his roll.

    This show needs to learn to leave well enough alone, when to not drag and when to move on, learn to be comfortable with edit, and being serious and grey does not make this show epic or deep, let alone smart, it is just underwhelming. The Walking Dead isn’t this serious.

    I’ll still watch GOT like a sports fan who still sticks with their bad team, but I’m hoping as the show goes on, it will dewrinkle all the issues I have had and finally make a story that is worth a damn.
    Put you pieces where they need to be and stop dicking around.
    Expand
  65. Apr 27, 2013
    10
    Many of the early critical reviews have just dismissed this as a TV version of 'The Lord of the Rings'. I feel that is extremely unfair analysis of the show. Game of thrones is by far one of the best programmes on TV now, next to Breaking Bad. One of the brilliant aspects of the show is even though it is filled with magic and fantasy creatures, at its heart it is a thrilling political drama.
  66. Apr 25, 2013
    10
    I love this show in a way that I seldom love any type of media. I look forward to each episode airing and am sad when it is done. As spring approaches each year I know that winter is coming and cannot wait for it.

    The first season starts in a way that almost immediately grabs your attention and lets you know that it will never let go. The elements that keep me coming back are not the
    dragons or the infrequent battles, or any of the normal fantasy elements that some people seem to think the books or this show are about. The appeal is the brilliantly devious nature of many of the characters and almost naive nature of others in addition to the fact that Peter Dinklage is flat out awesome. There are very few adults I know who are not fans of this show, and generally it is because they have not seen any episodes.

    I didn't actually read the first book before the first season aired so I went into it without knowing the progression of events and actually kind of loved how that worked out. As the first season progresses you have hopes based on the characters you find to be the most honorable and likable and then you quickly realize that the world of Westeros does not take kindly to honorable people who do the right thing because it is right. In fact the first season pretty much breaks your heart in the greatest way possible as it virtually guarantees you will want to watch it until the bitter end. Previously Deadwood was my favorite show that HBO aired, Game of Thrones has now probably taken that spot.
    Expand
  67. Apr 17, 2013
    10
    As a fan of the books, I first started to watch the series with some sense of caution, as I felt truly disapointed to the treatment the Harry Potter series received from the 3rd book onwards.

    This time, however, HBO did exactly what Warner Bros. should have done with the Harry Potter series. Instead of tightening every book into 2 1/2 hours, Home Box Office offered us a well detailed
    and perfectly paced 9 hours(aprox.) of a excellent fantasy series.

    The make up, dressing and setting look like an exact replication of everyone's mind when reading A Song of Ice and Fire. The characters are well established, everyone has an importance, and everyone's actions have their own consequences attached.

    Which leads us to the acting. Sean Bean is perfect as Lord Eddard Stark. Mark Addy seems to be the real King Robert. Lena Headley does the acting so well that we even hate her and Cersei. And Peter Dinklage steals the show as Tyrion Lannister. There are also great perfomances from Michelle Fairley (Catelyn Stark), Nikolaj Coster-Waldau as the arrogant Jaime, Charles Dance as Daddy Tywin, Emilia Clarke as the noble-hearted princess Daenerys Targaryen.

    To sum up, this is a must see show. A unique experience that shows us that Good not necessarily triumphs over Evil, but there's always balance in this exceptional world of Westeros.
    Expand
  68. Apr 16, 2013
    9
    Game of Thrones provides that Lord of the Rings epic with superb storylines and acting. In its first season, it's hard to imagine how this show could go wrong. Sean Bean is fantastic as always, as are many of the other actors cast in this sure-hit series. It's not geared for the younger crowd in any way, which is why you'll find this only on HBO, but if you can stomach the mature content you'll be in for quite an experience. This may be the best thing on TV right now. Expand
  69. Apr 14, 2013
    9
    Game of Thrones Review

    Now that I just finished the first two seasons I'm seriously surprised. This TV show is truly something to be amazed about! Right now I'm really trying to find a flaw in it but I just can't. I thought of everything, the pacing, the cast, the direction and I even dared to question the amazing production value! But i couldn't find a single main thing, maybe the
    occasional out of pace scene but nothing to distract you if this amazing journey.
    Let's start with the plot, it is an adaptation of the famous series of novels A Song of Ice and Fire from George R. R. Martin. Like you guessed I haven't read them but I'll congratulate George for such a deep and rich universe and characters! But you are gonna ask, can this show really pull you into this story and make you like the protagonists? The answer is: ABSOLUTELY!
    I found myself cheering for Tyrion as he led his forces in Blackwater Bay! I liked hating Joffrey's guts and seeing what other horrible things he could do! And I liked immersing myself in Jon Snow's journey to the mysterious and wild lands that lie North of the Wall!
    The story is so engaging and it never gets lost in the overwhelmingly big cast of characters. There were a few times where I said "woah, who was this?" or "what was this dudes name?", but nothing overly complicated.
    The actors are great, they are full of charm and fit the characters. The ones that really stood out where Peter Dinklage as the smart and cunning Tyrion Lannister, Sean Bean as the honorable and loyal Ned Stark and last but not least, Jack Gleeson, playing the and sometimes chilling Joffrey Baratheon! Another thing I want to talk about is the astonishing and amazingly crafted presentation. It takes you in... no, it sucks you into this world and makes you care about it and feel part of it. I swear every time I see it I just sit back and enjoy my time in Westeros.
    Expand
  70. Apr 13, 2013
    9
    Never have I seen a show make you so interested in all the characters, and the show really pulls you into the world where these kingdoms are being ruled. Just amazing show!
  71. Apr 5, 2013
    10
    It is the best show on TV. It's one of the first shows to show respect for the viewer and have a giant cast of round characters around the globe. It is a great show and a great fantasy. A must for people who love TV, Drama, Fantasy, or stories.
  72. Apr 3, 2013
    9
    One of the best shows out there... Some would say that the books are better but having read them I can assure you that the show is great and you can still enjoy it... The characters the plot the betrayals and most of all the mortality of all the characters even the protagonists will keep you company for a long time to come...
  73. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    King in the North! When I first saw this season I had never read the books. But after I had read them, I came back to this and honestly, it is probably one of the most faithful adaptions of a book (a real book, not your weak 300 pagers) I had ever seen. Long live The Bean! For he is a true actor. Dinklage is also perfect, but Sean Bean anchors the show for the first season before letting it go free, so that newbies, like myself, were deftly introduced to the show and the Starks before the chaos ensnared. Expand
  74. Mar 23, 2013
    10
    This show is great. Way easier to follow than the books, which i find to be long winded and confusing; though i am sure there is a great story buried in all those pages, the TV show cuts off the fat!
  75. Mar 20, 2013
    10
    I don't care much for TV shows. This is the only show I've been genuinely excited for in a very long time. There are a lot of characters and names to remember, but I can't think of a single character from the show that is boring or dull. I didn't think a TV show could have so many character that are all so interesting.
  76. Mar 14, 2013
    10
    Never read the books, but I am hooked on this show. Wow, wow, and wow again!

    Great acting and very engaging story. Love the plot twists and the uncertainty that exists about any of the characters whether we are talking about their morals or even whether they'll be alive in the next episode! Do yourself a big favor and watch this show from the start. I went out and bought all the dvds.
  77. Mar 13, 2013
    10
    Yes, this is my favourite TVShow, and i have seen a lot of seriues such as Lost, Breaking Bad, White Collar, Greys Anatomy and many others, but still this is my favourite one. No i have not read the books but my cosuin have told me that´s the same thing. I love Game of Thrones becauseof it´s story, the scenarios, the actors, the visual effects. I mean this series has everything anyone could lovo of any Tv Show. The story at first is a little bit strange and you may not get anything but after at leas t5 episodes of the first season you know very good the story and how is it going. And if you relate with a specific charachter it may be killed, yes in this tvshow many main character got killed but i thik this makes the series more special, it´s completly different to other shows when the main character never gets killed. The custome its another thing that makes game of thones very special, its absolutly awesome and perfect, again, even more than other series such as lost or NCIS. I can´t simply wait for more of this series. Expand
  78. Mar 13, 2013
    9
    Turning a set of epic fantasy novels as complex as George R.R. Martin's best-selling 'A Song of Ice and Fire' series was always going to be a daunting task that could easily have ended in disaster. Fortunately the creators of Game of Thrones have not only lived up to expectations but excelled them. Featuring multiple story lines, each packed with numerous important characters, most viewers who haven’t read the novels will find the opening few episodes tough to follow (I know I certainly did!) but stick with the show and you will be rewarded. Featuring a fantastic cast including the likes of Sean Bean, Peter Dinklage and Lena Headey Game of Thrones biggest achievement is in maintaining a narrative pace that keeps you engaged even during long scenes of dialogue, of which there are a lot. All of it always feels as though it is required though with much explanation needed to lay out the geography of the seven kingdoms, as well as the various families and dynasties that are fighting for control of this world. In amongst all the explanation there is plenty of, sometimes unnecessary, sex and violence but unlike many shows it is usually there to advance the plot and the ten episodes set things up perfectly for what is sure to be an epic second season.

    Throwing all the established television rules out the window Game of Thrones is the best original series in a long time. If you haven’t yet watched it ignore those short sighted critics as this is a must buy.
    Expand
  79. Mar 13, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I, like many others, have not read the books. I'd heard plenty of good things about the series so I decided to give it a chance. I wasn't entirely displeased at it, either. A lot of the characters had great wit and personality, and I found myself feeling far more attached to certain characters and story threads than others, as I suppose is natural with a series with SO MANY different people involved. At first, I was quite interested to see how the characters developed, but near... about the half-way point, I'd say, my enjoyment began to waver a bit. To put it simply, initially I was very impressed by the way some of the main characters were dealt with. It felt surprising in the sense that no character seemed to be safe from terrible things happening to them. But in all honesty, by the end of the season I just found it hard to watch because it felt like they were just piling on terrible thing after terrible thing and the best way I can describe it in my own mind is that I found it all very tiring. Please don't get me wrong; as a writer myself I do enjoy and find it important to cause bad things to happen to important characters. It's what moves a story along. But when there's so many bad things happening and it feels as though nothing GOOD happens to any of them, it begins to wear on me a little bit. In the end, I found myself becoming less attached to characters I'd liked the whole way through just because I didn't want to feel so put out when they were inevitably killed or wronged in some egregious way. I'm not quite sure whether this is simply a fault of my own or if others feel the same, but it is for that reason primarily that my score remains in the green. I can't call it poor because of my preference, but I can't give it a perfect score, either. It is also for this reason I recommend people see it for themselves and make their own decision. Expand
  80. Mar 4, 2013
    10
    Although ignorant of the original literature, GoT proves godly in all stages of production. Never in the history of shows have I witnessed such a plethora of character portrayals and development. How many shows have the capacity to allow you to truly feel for both sides; in a word, how many shows have the capacity for such emotional investment?
  81. Feb 19, 2013
    9
    I went into this skeptical. The premise really didn't seem like it would interest me. But after a bit of peer pressure from some friends I sat down and watched it. I loved it! Well, most of it. I found that some of the later episode tended to drag on a bit, and weren't as good as the earlier episodes. Overall: This is a very good series that is far better than I would have imagined.
  82. Feb 14, 2013
    10
    started reading this series 20 years or so ago with the release of the first novel. ive found the show to be a brilliant visual companion to one seriously well written series. not sure how well it would play out to someone who hasnt read the books as there are probably too many characters and plotlines to explore in a way to brief a season. as along time lover of the books i have no complaints. especially impressed with lena headey's portrayal of the twisted cersai. im not one to give 10's, but for me this is flawless tv. if only there were more hours in a season Expand
  83. Dec 15, 2012
    9
    it's based on a book, and if there's one thing that is excellent as books is: character development is always good in them, as well as the drama, Action is seldom and when it happens, it's explosive, that's how these books roll, and I expected no different from the TV series, excellent adaptations and great acting.
    Although, at some points, the excessive talk, does kind of bore you a
    little. Nothing too bad, I rarely ever watch TV, but when I do, I kind of expect to be entertained with action, and sometimes this bores me a little bit. As I said, nothing major Expand
  84. Dec 13, 2012
    10
    Love this show, once you start watching you truly can't stop. I loved the story of the Starks, and you will really start to care for the characters. Everything is so well done.
  85. Dec 10, 2012
    10
    Quite possibly the best TV series on at the moment, and in TV history. Both seasons 1 and 2 have incredible acting, genius scripting, a tight and exciting story, the spectacular and ridiculously complex and realistic fantasy world of George RR Martin, is brought to life almost perfectly. It has basically a Hollywood movie's production value and spot on directing.

    What more can I say? I
    recommend it to all over the age of 15, as long as you can take some sex and blood, and complex politics. You will be drawn completely in and then taken on the roller-coaster of your life. Watch it! Expand
  86. Dec 9, 2012
    9
    Bloody, violent and engaging just the way I like it.
  87. Dec 8, 2012
    10
    This show is nothing less than a masterpiece. It follows the books quite well, deviating a little here and there for artistic sake, but nothing major I've noticed (though I bet some of you ASoIaF lovers will probably pick up some I missed). The acting on all fronts is superb, though I was most impressed by Peter Dinklage and the child actor playing Arya Stark, both of whom deserve some sort of award if they haven;t got one already.

    This show is an alternate universe medieval type action/drama. It's set in a place called Westeros and revolves around the different leaders of the respective areas and outlying areas, and their religious beliefs and throne-hunger driving them to war. The show features supernatural elements as well, including magic and mythical creatures. It's very much everything you'd expect from an adult medieval drama, and a lot of things you wouldn't. It surprises, and astounds around every corner. The visuals and sets are beautiful, and the story is one you must experience to truly enjoy.
    Expand
  88. Dec 8, 2012
    10
    It completely blew me away. I was hooked through to the end, and couldn't wait for the next season, and bought the next volume and read through it, and the next until there were none. This is one of those adaptations where you cannot complain. The show did what was essential to bring the book alive on TV. Apart from a few elements (which I would not spoil here), this is a show rooted in reality, as much as it could be for a fantasy. What I mean is that magic plays a very little part and does not serve as a plot device. The show has some truly amazing characters. The last time I saw a show that comes even close to handling so many characters so well was Lost.

    My advice, though, is to read the books first because if you watch the show before that, it would be too good for you to come back to reading the books, which would be a shame since ASoIF is the best written fantasy series IMO.
    Expand
  89. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    The best show ever! The sopranos has been demoted to second best show ever in my opinion!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! lol!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  90. Nov 9, 2012
    9
    Game of Thrones is a new breed of television, besting the futile attempts of previous HBO shows such as Rome and, though many did like it, The Tudors. No, Thrones is more. It's deeper. It's brilliant.
  91. Nov 4, 2012
    10
    Game of Thrones is one of the few times where a visual adaptation surpasses its source material - the A Song of Ice and Fire series. That's not to say the books are bad, on the contrary, up until A Feast For Crows they're extremely entertaining when the author isn't giving you a long-winded explanation on what someone had for breakfast! The show essentially takes the plots from the book, and delivers something with more adrenaline and more action, with the opportunity to expand on characters beyond the POV's from the books. Never before have I seen a show with such good acting, so many likeable characters - even female characters, and so many unforeseen plot twists. Usually you'd expect a fantasy based drama to suffer from the usual hammy acting and the like, but this is nothing of the sort. You'll care about characters, you'll be intrigued by the story, and you'll love the soundtrack. Its only real downfall is the unnecessary sex scenes in almost every single episode - even more so than the books. Expand
  92. Oct 2, 2012
    8
    The TV show's first few episodes start off a little slow. However, it is necessary to build the fantasy world upon which all the betrayal and intrigue will take place. Anybody who has not read the novels will have a hard time following all of the plot elements going on because many of them are explained only briefly if at all. It's a show for the fan's of the novels (which there are a lot) or anybody who doesn't mind reading a little between episodes to figure out what exactly is going on. There is some great dry wit and humor in the show but I doubt it is enough to keep the uninitiated captivated. I imagine when the third or fourth season drops and the action in the storyline picks up, then the series will be more enjoyable for those who have not read the books. Expand
  93. Sep 23, 2012
    9
    Everything good about this show has already been said. It's very enjoyable, though confronting at times, and not as predictable as one might think. Just watch it. I bought the books (all of them) halfway through the season.
  94. Sep 22, 2012
    10
    This is one of my favorite shows/movies that I've ever seen. I was doubtful to watch it because I thought that it wasn
  95. Sep 10, 2012
    8
    Die Serie ist gewgt brutal (aber dadurch scheinbar realistich)
    Leider gibt es meiner Meinung nach zu viele Schauplätze und man erfährt stets nur wenig über die einzelnen Charaktere. Außerdem finde ich, dass Sex (und stellenweise auch Gewalt) nur zur Zuschauerbefriedigung dienen. Denn im Grunde genügt die derbe Sprache größtenteils um die fiktive
    Gesellschaft zu spiegeln.

    Fazit:
    Game of Thrones ist spannend aber zu weitläufig auch wenn dadurch jede Seite die Chance erhält ein wenig beleuchtet zu werden.
    Expand
  96. Aug 15, 2012
    8
    Brilliantly transferred from book to screen. It's a real pity that the second season deviates so much from the book, very disappointed with second season. I'm not sure they can pull themselves out of the fire with the massive changes that have been made in season two, compared to the book.

    Read the books people, the complexity of the second, third, fourth and fifth books just can't be
    transferred to screen, a real shame. Expand
  97. Jul 30, 2012
    10
    This is one of the best TV shows of all times. For those who love epic stories it is a gift, and for those who don't, too. The acting is exquisite, the detailed scenarios are completely convincing and the intensity of each episode leaves the spectator more than satisfied. Very well done. Congratulations.
  98. Jul 20, 2012
    10
    Thrones is the fantasy epic to end all fantasy epics in my opinion. The world they'e created is so believable, as are the characters and their political wranglings that you'll be sucked into this universe for the duration of each episode. It's gritty, dark, brutally violent and very reminiscent of our own dark ages. That's why Thrones appeals to such a large target audience. Alhough it IS fantasy, dragons warlocks, zombies, etc, it doesn't bludgeon you with the nerdiness. My friend hates fantasy, Lord of The Rings drove him nuts, but he loves this as he says it's very realistic in terms of the ways things were. The action is awesome, the acting is perfect, the dialouge is spot on - just all-round brilliance really. If every TV series were like this we'd be laughing. Expand
  99. Jul 18, 2012
    1
    Okay so this doesn't deserve a "0" but I had to balance out some of the delusion around this show. Perhaps I was oversold on the show after reading rave review after rave review on every fan blog and being told by my friends it was the most amazing thing in the world. But I quickly found myself bored out of my mind. Things start to pick up a little by episode 5 but even at that point I wasn't at all invested in any of the characters (and there are A LOT of them!). Aside from the little girl, none of the characters are remotely likeable. Her father is okay, but there wasn't enough development around him for me to really feel the need to root for him or be interested in what happens to him. Everyone else just simply sucked and it sucked even harder seeing them continue their streak of suckage episode after episode.

    With that said, the scenery, set design, and costumes on the show are absolutely breathtaking. I'd rather watch a video tour of one of the kingdoms than have to keep watching any of the many **** characters ever again though.

    Tip: If you haven't read the book before watching (which I didn't), it is recommended to at least read up on the plot synopses on Wikipedia or something to get a better grasp on the plot. With the many different characters, locations, and mythology within the show, it gets rather complex. For me it ultimately wasn't worth the extra effort though.
    Expand
  100. Jul 15, 2012
    10
    There are some changes between the books and the show, but they are mostly due to either cost or background. Sometimes they add a scene to show things that were implied in the books indirectly. Sometimes, they take a scene away due to time or the aforementioned costs. All of that said, the show is dark and wonderful, and it tells a tale not unlike the books. My only complaint is that Renly never ate the peach! Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: Hal Boedeker
    Apr 25, 2011
    40
    The epic fantasy series is lavish, violent and often quite nasty. Most crucially, this adaptation of George R.R. Martin's "Song of Ice and Fire" book series is unnecessarily difficult to follow.
  2. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Apr 18, 2011
    90
    The gloriously bloody and depraved spirit of the novels is intact and even enhanced.
  3. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Apr 18, 2011
    80
    A grand soap opera of epic proportions, Game of Thrones can be a bit talky in some episodes, but the series draws a viewer in with well-defined characters and a multitude of simultaneous stories whose plot turns are generally unpredictable.