• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 17, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 2527 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Rupert Vansittart, Aidan Gillen, Peter Dinklage
  • Summary: The series is based on George R.R. Martin's novel about a fantasy world where royal houses battle for the Iron Throne.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Fantasy
  • Creator: David Benioff, D.B. Weiss
  • Show Type: Between Seasons
  • Season 1 premiere date: Apr 17, 2011
  • Episode Length: 60
  • Air Time: 09:00 PM
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Apr 15, 2011
    100
    This dwarf [Tyrion Lannister (Peter Dinklage)] has game--and so does this fabulous dark fable. Dig in.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Apr 14, 2011
    100
    What's amazing is how quickly it all falls into place--the show goes like a shot. [25 Apr 2011, p.43]
  3. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Apr 13, 2011
    91
    Stick with it. Free your eyes to take in the spectacle, and your brain will magically start following the intricate storytelling. And there's a magical realism to Game of Thrones.
  4. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Apr 15, 2011
    88
    The art direction, acting and incredible sets are as breathtaking as the massive scope of the series. A bit slow at first, but it's a grabber once you get into it.
  5. Reviewed by: Matt Zoller Seitz
    Apr 14, 2011
    80
    You can't just watch this series. You have to commit to it, the way you had to commit to "The Wire" or "Deadwood" to appreciate them as something other than impenetrable fetish objects. Bear in mind I'm not saying that Game of Thrones is a creative achievement on the same level as those other masterful HBO series, which looked, moved and felt like nothing that had come before.
  6. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Apr 13, 2011
    70
    While the first episode is a solid and visually rich scene-setter for the tale to come, there's a lot of dry, sometimes clunky exposition to get through before the story really gets going in the fifth episode, which is far and away the best hour of Game of Thrones I've seen.
  7. Reviewed by: Nancy DeWolf Smith
    Apr 8, 2011
    40
    The production has a satisfyingly brooding, ominous look and it's possible to see the basic appeal for role-players and other fans of a realm that provides a limitless playing field for their own imaginations. Thrones also has wolf pups, which is always cool. But then we're back to the familiar favorites of the infantile.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 407
  1. Jun 14, 2011
    10
    This show is amazing. I hardly ever watch tv shows but this is pretty good. Know why? Because it's pretty much an almost 1:1 rendition theThis show is amazing. I hardly ever watch tv shows but this is pretty good. Know why? Because it's pretty much an almost 1:1 rendition the book, which was a super fun and interesting read. It's really fun to see the video version of the book millions read years ago. Expand
  2. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    Having not read the books, I was thoroughly surprised by the series and found myself enjoying it so far immensely. The show is good becauseHaving not read the books, I was thoroughly surprised by the series and found myself enjoying it so far immensely. The show is good because the original author retains control, a "realistic" element runs strong and the backgrounds and extras are adequately fleshed out. Can't wait for more. Expand
  3. Dec 8, 2012
    10
    This show is nothing less than a masterpiece. It follows the books quite well, deviating a little here and there for artistic sake, butThis show is nothing less than a masterpiece. It follows the books quite well, deviating a little here and there for artistic sake, but nothing major I've noticed (though I bet some of you ASoIaF lovers will probably pick up some I missed). The acting on all fronts is superb, though I was most impressed by Peter Dinklage and the child actor playing Arya Stark, both of whom deserve some sort of award if they haven;t got one already.

    This show is an alternate universe medieval type action/drama. It's set in a place called Westeros and revolves around the different leaders of the respective areas and outlying areas, and their religious beliefs and throne-hunger driving them to war. The show features supernatural elements as well, including magic and mythical creatures. It's very much everything you'd expect from an adult medieval drama, and a lot of things you wouldn't. It surprises, and astounds around every corner. The visuals and sets are beautiful, and the story is one you must experience to truly enjoy.
    Expand
  4. Jul 22, 2011
    10
    Definitely one of HBO best series. Incredible plot with terrific acting. A lot happens in each episode. The show has a lot of gore and has aDefinitely one of HBO best series. Incredible plot with terrific acting. A lot happens in each episode. The show has a lot of gore and has a complicated plot (if you haven't read the book), because there are so many different characters. Sometimes I had to read recaps to understand some of the details in the beginning, but this is a show worth sticking with. Expand
  5. Jun 2, 2011
    10
    Really nice series so far; brilliant and entertaining and without compromises - should you compare it to the book. Also it's becoming clearReally nice series so far; brilliant and entertaining and without compromises - should you compare it to the book. Also it's becoming clear this thing will rock your world even more as the second season starts off! I'm sure the show will grow up to be COLOSSAL in the best ways possible! Expand
  6. Jun 27, 2014
    9
    Game of Thrones is the new series that i'm rooting for! excellent acting, character and dialog is some of the best I have seen, period! GreatGame of Thrones is the new series that i'm rooting for! excellent acting, character and dialog is some of the best I have seen, period! Great action scenes, sets and trilling environments that may be over used in recent years however, this time around it stand out! Season 2 here I come. Expand
  7. Dec 31, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Song of Ice and Fire books are really good and this show is really bad. Just read the books and skip this show. Worst mistake I made was watching Season 1. Expand

See all 407 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Best & Worst TV Shows Based on Books

    Ranked: The Best & Worst TV Shows Based on Books Image
    Published: August 13, 2014
    The trend of adapting the written word to the small screen has been accelerating in recent years, and especially this summer, when nine such shows will launch. We look back at the best and worst TV adaptations of books from the past 30 years.
  2. Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season

    Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season Image
    Published: July 22, 2014
    Our look back at the 2013-14 television season includes all of the year's award winners as well as the season's highest-scoring programs.
  3. 2014 Emmy Nominations

    2014 Emmy Nominations Image
    Published: July 10, 2014
    Get a complete guide to this year's Emmy nominations, including lists of nominees in every major category and reactions from TV critics to this year's snubs.
  4. Episode Review: Game of Thrones Season 4 Finale

    Episode Review: Game of Thrones Season 4 Finale Image
    Published: June 16, 2014
    What are critics saying about last night's Game of Thrones finale? The first reviews are in.
  5. 2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 10, 2013
    What were critics' favorite television shows of the year? Find their individual top 10 lists inside, as well as composite standings. (And check back for daily updates throughout the month).
  6. Television Critics Announce 2013 Award Winners

    Television Critics Announce 2013 Award Winners Image
    Published: August 4, 2013
    Saturday night, TV critics and journalists announced the winners of their 29th annual awards. Inside, get a complete list of the shows and performers who won.
  7. 2013 Emmy Nominations

    2013 Emmy Nominations Image
    Published: July 18, 2013
    Get a full list of this year's Emmy nominees in every major category, with analysis, a look at this year's snubs and surprises, and more.
  8. Television Critics Announce 2012 Award Winners

    Television Critics Announce 2012 Award Winners Image
    Published: July 29, 2012
    "Louie," "Game of Thrones," and "Homeland" were the big winners Saturday night when the Television Critics Association announced the recipients of the 28th Annual TCA Awards. Get the full list of winners inside.
  9. Episode Review: Game of Thrones Season 2 Finale

    Episode Review: Game of Thrones Season 2 Finale Image
    Published: June 4, 2012
    What are critics saying about "Valar Morghulis," last night's second-season finale for HBO's hit Game of Thrones? Find out inside, where we've collected their comments about this week's episode and the season as a whole.
  10. Television Critics Announce 2011 Award Winners

    Television Critics Announce 2011 Award Winners Image
    Published: August 7, 2011
    Saturday, the Television Critics Association handed out their annual awards to the best TV shows and actors of the past year, including a pair of trophies for AMC's "Mad Men." Get a complete list of winners and nominees inside.
  11. 2010-11 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks

    2010-11 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks Image
    Published: May 3, 2011
    It's time for our annual look at the best and worst of the past television season. Find out which first-year broadcast and cable shows impressed critics and users the most, and see how the major networks compared.