• Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 4, 2012
  • Season #: 1
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 22
  2. Negative: 4 out of 22
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Mar 12, 2012
    38
    It has none of Desperate Housewives' winking cuteness, none of Revenge's dagger-eyed, fire-breathing kick. [12 Mar 2012, p.43]
  2. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Mar 2, 2012
    30
    A tedious array of shrieky moments, dumb stereotypes and unearned sentiment.
  3. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Mar 1, 2012
    30
    Even as a work of harmless vapidity, G.C.B. has a difficult time enlivening its oversimplified premise.
  4. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Mar 2, 2012
    25
    CGB plays more like a bad parody of Desperate Housewives.
User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 3 out of 13
  1. Mar 5, 2012
    10
    I totally loved this show because it's tacky, over-the-top and just plain fun. Because I'm a Canadian, I guess I have a larger than life view of Texas and GCB just confirms it. Sure the show is full of stereotypes, but at least they're fun stereotypes and there's lots of room for genuine character development. It's not like a reality show ( Keeping Up with the Kardashians comes to mind) where you keep hoping the characters will blossoms and they just continue to flatline. This show is cleverly written and well acted. I particularly liked Leslie Bibb, Annie Potts and Kristin Chenoweth in their respective roles. Keep it up girls...I'm definitely tuning in next week. Full Review »
  2. Mar 5, 2012
    9
    Loving Kristin Chenoweth in this. its fabulous witty and I cant wait for the story lines to develop. Stellar A******************** Also will take over from Desperate Housewives as it is finishing. Full Review »
  3. Jun 12, 2012
    7
    "GCB" showed such promise. There were some brilliant moments, and this is one of the few shows that I shall miss, but remember with great fondness. The first few eps were great ... and after that, it felt like the show changed its focus and writing style, and became "safer." Maybe too many prudish-yet-powerful toes were being trodden on? Oh well... Full Review »