• Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 4, 2012
  • Season #: 1
User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 38
  2. Negative: 7 out of 38

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 5, 2012
    9
    Loving Kristin Chenoweth in this. its fabulous witty and I cant wait for the story lines to develop. Stellar A******************** Also will take over from Desperate Housewives as it is finishing.
  2. Mar 5, 2012
    10
    I totally loved this show because it's tacky, over-the-top and just plain fun. Because I'm a Canadian, I guess I have a larger than life view of Texas and GCB just confirms it. Sure the show is full of stereotypes, but at least they're fun stereotypes and there's lots of room for genuine character development. It's not like a reality show ( Keeping Up with the Kardashians comes to mind)I totally loved this show because it's tacky, over-the-top and just plain fun. Because I'm a Canadian, I guess I have a larger than life view of Texas and GCB just confirms it. Sure the show is full of stereotypes, but at least they're fun stereotypes and there's lots of room for genuine character development. It's not like a reality show ( Keeping Up with the Kardashians comes to mind) where you keep hoping the characters will blossoms and they just continue to flatline. This show is cleverly written and well acted. I particularly liked Leslie Bibb, Annie Potts and Kristin Chenoweth in their respective roles. Keep it up girls...I'm definitely tuning in next week. Expand
  3. Mar 5, 2012
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As a Dallas resident who has watched our city through the years through outsider's eyes, I guess I am not prone to putting on my blinders to reality that much fiction requires when watching a show about my home town. There is no big hair among the teenagers of Highland Park, usually the gay husbands of socialites are already out and divorced. 30 years ago maybe, but not now. One car dealership with all those brands? The 24,000 square foot interior of a 5000 square foot Swiss Avenue Mansion. Actually the Dallas series did that originally. So, having turned the show off after 30 minutes, I will finish watching my Tivo, and see if I want to record the series. Now I miss Pan AM. Expand
  4. JBM
    Mar 18, 2012
    0
    So many reasons to dislike this show. We turned in because we like Kristin and she looked hideous. Go back go broadway sweetheart, this is far beneath your talents. I agreed with the other reviewer that it is an absurd representation of Dallas. I lived there for 8 years. The accents in the show were like a bad performance of Oklahoma. Nobody there talked like that. No, you do not seeSo many reasons to dislike this show. We turned in because we like Kristin and she looked hideous. Go back go broadway sweetheart, this is far beneath your talents. I agreed with the other reviewer that it is an absurd representation of Dallas. I lived there for 8 years. The accents in the show were like a bad performance of Oklahoma. Nobody there talked like that. No, you do not see cowboy hats on all the men. This town this show as portraying a cartoon version of Mayberry. The humor was terrible and if this is a loving presentation of what Christianity is all about, omg! We wanted to like this show but we bailed at the halfway point. Badly done people. Expand
  5. Apr 15, 2012
    7
    if you can bring yourself to look past the mediocre premise of the series, what you will find isn't actually to bad. The writers seems to know what they are doing, largely given by the absence of awkward conversation, and the characters are either likeable or cringe-worthy. Theres something in this show for most viewers, whether it may be the humorous presence of Kristin Chenoweth, or theif you can bring yourself to look past the mediocre premise of the series, what you will find isn't actually to bad. The writers seems to know what they are doing, largely given by the absence of awkward conversation, and the characters are either likeable or cringe-worthy. Theres something in this show for most viewers, whether it may be the humorous presence of Kristin Chenoweth, or the various appealing angles of Leslie Bibb, GCB should at least finish the season, a second season may be a bit of a stretch though. Expand
  6. Mar 12, 2012
    6
    Although it is too soon to tell, the new TV show GCB looks like a mix between entertaining smut and semi-witty comedy. It is different to say the least, especially the way its characters use religion to justify their own self-righteous interests. It does not have the originality of some of the newer shows, e.g., The River, or Smash. It doesn't even have a particularly good look to itAlthough it is too soon to tell, the new TV show GCB looks like a mix between entertaining smut and semi-witty comedy. It is different to say the least, especially the way its characters use religion to justify their own self-righteous interests. It does not have the originality of some of the newer shows, e.g., The River, or Smash. It doesn't even have a particularly good look to it either. But its theme of 'nothing ever changes', which applies to Amanda Vaughn, who goes back to her roots in Dallas only to reap havoc from her high school friends, is amusing. We will just have to see how long the show can continue to pull us in with the little it has to offer. Expand
  7. Mar 6, 2012
    0
    I rated this a 0 purely because I hated the commercials for this show which kept popping up every 5 mins. I was also displeased with a show having curse words in their commercials which were on in the afternoon during a basketball game. And people wonder what is wrong with society and children today, the answer in part, is smut like this.
  8. Mar 4, 2012
    10
    I just got done watching this, and it was a really interesting episode. I loved the characters, especially Kristin Chenoweth's character, Charlene. And I love how it gives the Christian faith a bad side.
  9. Mar 8, 2012
    6
    Not bad but not great either interesting characters and lots of laughs but I hope it gets better the pilot was just a bit too much sugar and no depth would have loved a darker type of comedy a bit like season 1 of desperate housewives, funny but deep.
  10. Mar 8, 2012
    10
    I adore this show. Yes, it's trashy but it has intelligent dialogue. Kudos to the writers! I look forward to watching many more episodes. :D:D:D:D:D
  11. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    I think this show is hilarious. It reminds me of growing up in the rural Midwest. All towns of just a few thousand people are like this. Love me some GCB.
  12. Apr 7, 2012
    8
    Having seen the first two episodes of GCB, I can say that is quite the enjoyable little show.

    It certainly hasn't made the impression that Desperate Housewives did when it debuted back in 2004, but I'm sure that was never the creators' intentions. Instead it's an amusing and satirical look at the Christian lifestyle of the great state of Texas, and at the end of the day it makes me laugh,
    Having seen the first two episodes of GCB, I can say that is quite the enjoyable little show.

    It certainly hasn't made the impression that Desperate Housewives did when it debuted back in 2004, but I'm sure that was never the creators' intentions. Instead it's an amusing and satirical look at the Christian lifestyle of the great state of Texas, and at the end of the day it makes me laugh, a lot.

    Annie Potts and Kristin Chenoweth are the consistent MVPs, and Leslie Bibb makes a pleasant enough protagonist. Overall, the cast is pretty solid all round and the writing generally serves the characters well.

    Looking forward to see the rest of the season.
    Expand
  13. Jun 12, 2012
    7
    "GCB" showed such promise. There were some brilliant moments, and this is one of the few shows that I shall miss, but remember with great fondness. The first few eps were great ... and after that, it felt like the show changed its focus and writing style, and became "safer." Maybe too many prudish-yet-powerful toes were being trodden on? Oh well...
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 22
  2. Negative: 4 out of 22
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Mar 12, 2012
    38
    It has none of Desperate Housewives' winking cuteness, none of Revenge's dagger-eyed, fire-breathing kick. [12 Mar 2012, p.43]
  2. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Mar 5, 2012
    58
    If GCB wants to soar to heavenly numbers, it better let the devil out to play.
  3. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Mar 5, 2012
    40
    A potentially funny setup, if the women were not such oddly antiquated sendups.