• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 4, 2012
  • Season #: 1
GCB Image
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 38 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Based on Kim Gatlin's book, GCB stars Leslie Bibb as former "mean girl" Amanda Vaughn who returns to Dallas after the end of her marriage and finds you can't really escape your past.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 22
  2. Negative: 4 out of 22
  1. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    Mar 2, 2012
    80
    Clever with its gaudiness, the new soap opera proceeds as if that invitation is gilt-edged, tackily engraved, and sealed inside an oversized envelope with a kiss of frosted-pink lipstick.
  2. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Mar 2, 2012
    80
    GCB offers surprisingly clever dialogue and winning comedic performances.
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Mar 2, 2012
    70
    Mostly, despite a title that sounds like a roofie, this is good harmless fun.
  4. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Mar 1, 2012
    58
    Not so much scandalous as scandalously dull.
  5. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Mar 5, 2012
    50
    The problem for GCB is that it hasn't yet figured out a way to be a soap that spoofs superficiality without being superficial itself.
  6. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Mar 2, 2012
    50
    There are some funny lines here and there, but overall, the show lacks satirical teeth.
  7. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Mar 2, 2012
    25
    CGB plays more like a bad parody of Desperate Housewives.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 3 out of 13
  1. Mar 5, 2012
    10
    I totally loved this show because it's tacky, over-the-top and just plain fun. Because I'm a Canadian, I guess I have a larger than life view of Texas and GCB just confirms it. Sure the show is full of stereotypes, but at least they're fun stereotypes and there's lots of room for genuine character development. It's not like a reality show ( Keeping Up with the Kardashians comes to mind) where you keep hoping the characters will blossoms and they just continue to flatline. This show is cleverly written and well acted. I particularly liked Leslie Bibb, Annie Potts and Kristin Chenoweth in their respective roles. Keep it up girls...I'm definitely tuning in next week. Expand
  2. Mar 8, 2012
    10
    I adore this show. Yes, it's trashy but it has intelligent dialogue. Kudos to the writers! I look forward to watching many more episodes. :D:D:D:D:D Expand
  3. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    I think this show is hilarious. It reminds me of growing up in the rural Midwest. All towns of just a few thousand people are like this. Love me some GCB. Expand
  4. Apr 15, 2012
    7
    if you can bring yourself to look past the mediocre premise of the series, what you will find isn't actually to bad. The writers seems to know what they are doing, largely given by the absence of awkward conversation, and the characters are either likeable or cringe-worthy. Theres something in this show for most viewers, whether it may be the humorous presence of Kristin Chenoweth, or the various appealing angles of Leslie Bibb, GCB should at least finish the season, a second season may be a bit of a stretch though. Expand
  5. Jun 12, 2012
    7
    "GCB" showed such promise. There were some brilliant moments, and this is one of the few shows that I shall miss, but remember with great fondness. The first few eps were great ... and after that, it felt like the show changed its focus and writing style, and became "safer." Maybe too many prudish-yet-powerful toes were being trodden on? Oh well... Expand
  6. Mar 12, 2012
    6
    Although it is too soon to tell, the new TV show GCB looks like a mix between entertaining smut and semi-witty comedy. It is different to say the least, especially the way its characters use religion to justify their own self-righteous interests. It does not have the originality of some of the newer shows, e.g., The River, or Smash. It doesn't even have a particularly good look to it either. But its theme of 'nothing ever changes', which applies to Amanda Vaughn, who goes back to her roots in Dallas only to reap havoc from her high school friends, is amusing. We will just have to see how long the show can continue to pull us in with the little it has to offer. Expand
  7. Mar 6, 2012
    0
    I rated this a 0 purely because I hated the commercials for this show which kept popping up every 5 mins. I was also displeased with a show having curse words in their commercials which were on in the afternoon during a basketball game. And people wonder what is wrong with society and children today, the answer in part, is smut like this. Expand

See all 13 User Reviews