• Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 13, 2008
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 94 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 94
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 94
  3. Negative: 9 out of 94

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DianaD.
    Aug 31, 2008
    10
    Being a huge fan of "The Wire", I went into this miniseries having read every article and interview, watched every trailer and featurette I could find about "Generation Kill". I admire and appreciate the lengths that David Simon and Ed Burns have taken to not compromise the truth, and to do justice to the real people being portrayed and their story. But the realism aside, this is simply Being a huge fan of "The Wire", I went into this miniseries having read every article and interview, watched every trailer and featurette I could find about "Generation Kill". I admire and appreciate the lengths that David Simon and Ed Burns have taken to not compromise the truth, and to do justice to the real people being portrayed and their story. But the realism aside, this is simply great television, and terrific drama. The acting is excellent throughout, with what deserve to be breakthrough performances by Alexander Skarsgard and Stark Sands. Expand
  2. JimmyT
    Sep 8, 2008
    10
    Excellent mini-series. I am in the military and granted, some of this is over the top which would and should be expected from "entertainment" much of how they act is straight out of daily life with 18-24 year old men. The acting was good, the special effects were awesome. And many of the events are not only believable, but provable by doing any research. It is unbelievable at some of the Excellent mini-series. I am in the military and granted, some of this is over the top which would and should be expected from "entertainment" much of how they act is straight out of daily life with 18-24 year old men. The acting was good, the special effects were awesome. And many of the events are not only believable, but provable by doing any research. It is unbelievable at some of the dumb things we do, it always amazes me as stupid as we are, how incredibily dumb the enemy is! Expand
  3. MikeP
    Sep 8, 2008
    10
    The five second, 192 character review (inspired by Justin Blanton) Generation Kill = Amazing. Acting was transparent and real. You will get so involved with this show and will wish there was more. I felt connected; like one of the guys. I need the DVD
  4. AlexN
    Jul 7, 2009
    10
    Powerful, realistic and infinitely watchable. HBO, Simon and Burns can clearly do no wrong. Highly recommend Evan Wright's book upon which the series is based as well.
  5. NateB
    Jan 13, 2010
    10
    Generation Kill was a genuine reflection of Evan Wright's experiance with the Marines of 1st Recon. It makes you feel like a complete outsider in the world of marines. Phoenetics, slang, and gritty humor makes you wonder if this is a work of fiction, this is what makes it great. The charecters have been portrayed beautifully after having read Lt. Ficks book One Bullet Away, and Evan Generation Kill was a genuine reflection of Evan Wright's experiance with the Marines of 1st Recon. It makes you feel like a complete outsider in the world of marines. Phoenetics, slang, and gritty humor makes you wonder if this is a work of fiction, this is what makes it great. The charecters have been portrayed beautifully after having read Lt. Ficks book One Bullet Away, and Evan Wright's Generation Kill I found myself understanding each charecter. In the end though you either loved it or hated it, the series definatly shows the aspects of this modern conflict both the good and the bad. Expand
  6. [Anonymous]
    Jul 13, 2008
    10
    Another great series from David Simon and Ed Burns!!! Just as strong as Homicide: Life on the Streets, The Corner, and The Wire. Can't wait for their next project on the New Orleans Music culture!
  7. D
    Aug 8, 2008
    10
    Great characters, very believable. Overall a joy to watch.
  8. MarkE
    Dec 20, 2008
    10
    The most captivating and entertaining dramatization of the war I have seen yet; far surpassing any previous series or film on the subject. Its confusing, fustraiting, funny and very intense. The superb casting, direction and writing form a work on par with the greatest war films of all time. And its not blatant protest drama; it pays full respect to the troops with its honesty towards the The most captivating and entertaining dramatization of the war I have seen yet; far surpassing any previous series or film on the subject. Its confusing, fustraiting, funny and very intense. The superb casting, direction and writing form a work on par with the greatest war films of all time. And its not blatant protest drama; it pays full respect to the troops with its honesty towards the overall stupidity of war. Expand
  9. MatthewA
    Oct 3, 2008
    10
    This is the most accurate portrail I've seen of Marines yet and i should know because I am one.
  10. JohnH.
    Jul 17, 2008
    10
    Sgt Brad Colbert was my daughter's boyfriend all thru high school and part of college. His experiences and growth thru this ordeal and the one in Afganistan are remarkable. He is a natural leader and has always had a calming effect on those depending on him in a crisis. I am proud to see the actor portraying him did not caricature him as a person. it is very difficult to take a Sgt Brad Colbert was my daughter's boyfriend all thru high school and part of college. His experiences and growth thru this ordeal and the one in Afganistan are remarkable. He is a natural leader and has always had a calming effect on those depending on him in a crisis. I am proud to see the actor portraying him did not caricature him as a person. it is very difficult to take a combat situation and not glorify it when making a film...I think the filmmakers have something to be proud of here...this from a former Vietnam veteran. Expand
  11. Balage
    Aug 28, 2008
    10
    Addictive! It gets to the real thing as close as it can get. If you get to see 30 minutes on Discovery Channel, you'd think you are watching documentary. While being entertained by a real-life war story, it makes you think in many ways ... I wish, I'd see more of this. TV at its best! Congratulations!!
  12. AndreS
    Oct 12, 2009
    10
    Wow! What an insight into media savvy and the nature of reality! You either got it or you didn't. GK's real test of success is that in addition to being true to it's creative ethics, it has really stood the test of viewers who have experienced the reality of war and youth. The nay criers are way off on this one!
  13. JoshuaR
    Jan 11, 2010
    10
    I don't think anything compares to this miniseries i.e. it has its own niche and owns it very well. Entertaining and does a good job of using the content from the book. YES, its based on a book, please know that when reviewing the story, or characters...talking about cliche personalities, its written about real people!!!
  14. Stevens
    Nov 28, 2008
    10
    This show accurately depicts being in the military from convoy operations to singing stupid songs out of boredom. Even the incompetence of superiors is captured perfectly. When I watch this show, I feel like I'm there. Like I'm at work with them. What they do on the show is exactly what we do. All the glory and coolness, all the questionable things war makes us do, the acts of This show accurately depicts being in the military from convoy operations to singing stupid songs out of boredom. Even the incompetence of superiors is captured perfectly. When I watch this show, I feel like I'm there. Like I'm at work with them. What they do on the show is exactly what we do. All the glory and coolness, all the questionable things war makes us do, the acts of atrocities and heroism is in hard to turn away from once you start watching. It superbly tells the story without fancy camera effects and a dramatic musical score. If the story is not fast enough or exciting enough for you, that's because it's pretty close to real life. Unlike the latest Hollywood action movie, real life moves at it's own pace. Excellent TV Show. Expand
  15. BuzzLightyear
    Jul 23, 2008
    10
    Careful adaptation from the book.
  16. czar
    Aug 17, 2008
    10
    This is a great series. I love the way it portrays the long stretches of boredom that troops endure, without getting boring itself. I love the fact that petty motivations and screwups can have profound effects in the field. It also does a great job of showing how people growing up with ipods, laptops, video cameras and internet react when put in combat situations. One moment it feels like This is a great series. I love the way it portrays the long stretches of boredom that troops endure, without getting boring itself. I love the fact that petty motivations and screwups can have profound effects in the field. It also does a great job of showing how people growing up with ipods, laptops, video cameras and internet react when put in combat situations. One moment it feels like they are all on a high school trip next moment training kicks in and they are professional soldiers. Great dynamics. Shame that there are only 7 episodes and I have seen 5 already. Expand
  17. mitchd
    Dec 8, 2009
    10
    Loved this show so very much. It seemed to be pulsing with realism, as well as wicked humour and engaging character development. I am interested in the military and this ticked all the boxes. Must see for any person with an interest in military.
  18. Dec 5, 2010
    10
    Brilliant in all angles, story, acting, humorous, great characters, simply put the best 7 hours of TV i have watched in a long long time.

    Obviously the only people who dislike this movie as some of the comments below are blind idiotic patriots.
  19. Jan 28, 2011
    10
    Myself and my husband are wondering why was the choice of such a song with words"I'm so happy, so happy that it happened this way" was chosen...happy about what?...just want to know why this choice was made?
  20. Mar 4, 2011
    10
    Have just finished viewing this here in Australia. I am not particularly drawn to military films but this was just brilliant. Once you realised this was not a Hollywood drama which would have the key characters shot for drama sake - you could just sit back and absorb and be mesmerised by (as based on real events and characters) a true and fascinating depiction of the reality of modernHave just finished viewing this here in Australia. I am not particularly drawn to military films but this was just brilliant. Once you realised this was not a Hollywood drama which would have the key characters shot for drama sake - you could just sit back and absorb and be mesmerised by (as based on real events and characters) a true and fascinating depiction of the reality of modern day US war . It is clear by reading the reviews that people either "got it" or they didn't. I am now also a fan of Alexander Skargard who played Sgt Brad Colbert. I can't wait to see him in other productions. Expand
  21. Aug 19, 2011
    10
    It absolutely blows me away when idiots on here say that GK is "exaggerated" or "unrealistic". The show is based on a book about REAL LIFE EVENTS, and stays extremely close, even toning down some events! Go read Generation Kill by Evan Wright or One Bullet Away by Nathaniel Fick, they BOTH corroborate with the story from the show. KeithA's review is even more amazing, saying that the showIt absolutely blows me away when idiots on here say that GK is "exaggerated" or "unrealistic". The show is based on a book about REAL LIFE EVENTS, and stays extremely close, even toning down some events! Go read Generation Kill by Evan Wright or One Bullet Away by Nathaniel Fick, they BOTH corroborate with the story from the show. KeithA's review is even more amazing, saying that the show is made by people to make troops like bad. ONCE AGAIN, IT IS A TRUE STORY. Same thing applies to BaroL's review, perhaps moreso. All that aside, Generation Kill is an amazing show and kept me hooked for the short season of only 7 episodes. It's amazing how close they kept to the real story, and in my opinion, that's what makes it great. HIGHLY recommend the show, and it also encouraged me to start watching The Wire, another fantastic show by the same people. Expand
  22. Sep 5, 2011
    10
    Did you just finish The Wire or the latest True Blood episode and now have withdrawal symptoms so bad that even a seasoned meth-head would feel the need to get you a cool washrag to dab your forehead? Well, I have the methadone to your addiction in Generation Kill.

    Created by The Wire's David Simon and starring Eric, er, Alexander Skarsgard, Generation Kill follows a marine battalion as
    Did you just finish The Wire or the latest True Blood episode and now have withdrawal symptoms so bad that even a seasoned meth-head would feel the need to get you a cool washrag to dab your forehead? Well, I have the methadone to your addiction in Generation Kill.

    Created by The Wire's David Simon and starring Eric, er, Alexander Skarsgard, Generation Kill follows a marine battalion as they attempt to make it through their tour in the Iraq War despite the United States government failing to get them the supplies and assistance they actually need, **** that sounds familiar to me... you too? Weird. The performances and writing are exactly what you would expect from the creator of the best show that ever graced television. The writers provide an unflinching look at the war and never once wave the flag or let the eagles cry.

    Generation Kill is a tribute to the working class type of soldier that only wants to support his family in the way they his father tried to do before him. The actors and situations in the miniseries capture the brotherhood and the total culture that is classically characteristic of the armed services. The writers do an amazing job of bringing the audience in to feel part of the culture. With the nuanced attitudes and jargon that is so unapologetic at times, the series actually comes with a glossary. Whiskey Tango, anyone? The way in which this show gives the audience such complete story and character development out of such a complex multi-leveled topic in only seven episodes is astounding.

    Generation Kill is so well written and smart that I actually made it through the entire series without even once feeling like I was watching a bunch of frat boys make up for their small penises by shooting massive explosives at innocent people. This is the Apocalypse Now! of the the Iraq War generation. Take it up now because people will use this to reference the newest era of injustice from the U.S. in twenty years, just as Apocalypse Now! is the go-to reference for the Vietnam era. To read more of my reviews go to: televisionhypnotism.blogspot.com
    Expand
  23. May 22, 2012
    10
    As a former soldier I can say that it doesn't get more authentic than this. Best war-series of al time bar none. No prejudice, no convenient agenda, just a reconstruction of what these marines experienced. A refreshingly honest show.
  24. Nov 29, 2014
    10
    War as it is, not how it should be or we want it to be. Real marines, real conflict. Painstakingly authentic. People say cliched... but have they met any real soldiers or marines? I have, and organizations breed such familiarity. Brilliant show. Must watch.
  25. RupamX
    Sep 1, 2008
    9
    I wish it was a longer series to really get to know the characters, but it's near perfect.
  26. RichA
    Nov 1, 2009
    9
    Honest, accurate, at times laugh-out-loud, but at the same time tragic... as good as, if not better in some ways, than "Band of Brothers". Cheers.
  27. Patrick
    Jul 14, 2008
    9
    I can't quite give it a 10 having only seen the first installment so far, but the entire scope of the production is awe inspiring. It delves you directly into the Marine 1st Recon unit in Iraq and leaves you to be bombarded by the surroundings just as the author was. All I can say is: watch it and be blown away.
  28. JustinE.
    Jul 13, 2008
    9
    very good show. i don't know why the new york post review is included in here, it's written like crap and the reviewer's opinion obviously is a direct result of his political beliefs (us military is infallible and full of clean cut young men).
  29. BrandonW.
    Jul 17, 2008
    9
    To reviewers who think Generation Kill is trotting out movie cliches, this was based on Evan Wright's book. Although ostensibly an amalgamation of cliched war movie characters, the recon unit really did have the health nut, the histrionic fuck-up (Captain America), the ex-gangbanger, the countryboy, and the higher ups whose orders seem completely detached from the ground. Perhaps To reviewers who think Generation Kill is trotting out movie cliches, this was based on Evan Wright's book. Although ostensibly an amalgamation of cliched war movie characters, the recon unit really did have the health nut, the histrionic fuck-up (Captain America), the ex-gangbanger, the countryboy, and the higher ups whose orders seem completely detached from the ground. Perhaps that is the series only fault. That those unaware of what this is based on, are thinking Burns and Simon (the two least likely to partake in cliches) are falling back on old war films for inspiration. Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    91
    Kill pays both you and its subjects two solid compliments: It doesn't scream ''Take heed: This is a work of art!'' And it lets you form your own opinions about what its social commentary is.
  2. Meanwhile, some remarkable television has been made. To report on a new generation of young warriors raised on hip-hop, heavy metal, and video games, Wright went to Iraq as Michael Herr before him had gone to Vietnam, like Dante to hell with a cassette recording of Jimi Hendrix.
  3. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    60
    You get the sense that the filmmakers' vision and Wright's are never quite in sync--or perhaps are in sync too perfectly.