• Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 5, 2011
  • Season #: 1
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Oct 4, 2011
    100
    Beautifully filmed, George Harrison: Living in the Material World is especially good on the singer-guitarist's post-Beatles life as he sought enlightenment in Eastern religions. [10 Oct 2011, p.40]
  2. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Oct 4, 2011
    90
    This may be the better work [than "No Direction Home"], for its depth of feeling and its relatively more forthcoming and knowable subject.
  3. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Oct 7, 2011
    83
    Living in the Material World falls short of Scorsese's terrific two-part PBS film, No Direction Home: Bob Dylan.
  4. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Oct 5, 2011
    83
    The exhaustive nature of it, and the intimacy that Scorsese and his collaborators develop with both their subject and those who knew him, makes it into something more than a three-plus hour rehash of an oft-told tale.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 8 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Jul 11, 2012
    10
    This is probably the most entertaining documentary I have ever watched, personally. I think anyone from the hard-core Beatles fans to the casual Beatles fans will appreciate the quality footage and interviews. Full Review »
  2. Oct 10, 2011
    9
    This documentary takes its time, slowly revealing the character of this legendary man.. the footage is raw and personal.. much of it previously unreleased.. i consider myself a pretty knowledgeable Beatles fan, but after watching this, I have a fresh perspective on the band and especially GH songs.. The second half got really emotional for me.. i felt so in-tune with the man via the poignant interviews and footage.. he lived a big, inspiring life.. Full Review »