• Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Nov 25, 2013
Season #: 1, 2
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 21
  2. Negative: 2 out of 21
  1. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Nov 25, 2013
    75
    This bleak depiction of hospital work locates the show about two degrees south of “St. Elsewhere.” And yet, after I finished the first three episodes, I realized I was hooked; I wanted more.
  2. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Nov 21, 2013
    75
    Get ready to laugh and cry with this touching new comedy about a dysfunctional team of nurses and doctors caring for aging patients in a hospital’s extended-care wing.
  3. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Nov 20, 2013
    80
    [The characters] are sympathetic even when unlovable. The dialogue and physical gross-out moments are equally frank. And hilarious.
  4. Reviewed by: Melissa Maerz
    Nov 20, 2013
    83
    Getting On is much funnier than its premise suggests. [22 Nov 2013, p.62]
  5. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Nov 25, 2013
    90
    It's a dark and astonishing gem of a show, with a bravely skillful cast juggling the petty obsessions of the workplace with Much Bigger Issues.
  6. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Nov 21, 2013
    100
    Its tender moments register without feeling forced while the comedy comes in the form of a constant IV drip.
  7. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Nov 25, 2013
    75
    Flawlessly done, but a tough sell. [2 Dec 2013, p.50]
  8. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Nov 22, 2013
    90
    There is some pathos in Getting On with regard to the elderly patients, but that's seamlessly interwoven in the darkly funny personal stories of the hospital staff.
  9. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Nov 22, 2013
    100
    There is a brilliant mix of poignancy and hilarity in Getting On, which is why it all works so well.
  10. Reviewed by: Bruce Miller
    Nov 25, 2013
    80
    In a sea of formulaic comedies, this stands out as a lifeboat worth clinging to.
  11. Reviewed by: Mike Lechevallier
    Nov 22, 2013
    50
    Adapted from the British series of the same name, Getting On is billed as a comedy, but the show's setting, a neglected geriatric rehabilitation ward, is such an overwhelmingly depressing environment that much of the offbeat humor ends up flatlining.
  12. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Nov 22, 2013
    80
    It’s almost as impossible to believe, without seeing it, that such a show could be both very funny and occasionally uplifting without ever resorting to cheap sentimentality. But it is.
  13. Reviewed by: Gail Pennington
    Nov 25, 2013
    63
    Getting On is for mature audiences only, with uncensored language and outrageous behavior all around. If you like comedy with more cringes than chuckles, Getting On could be for you.
  14. Reviewed by: Todd VanDerWerff
    Nov 22, 2013
    83
    Getting On captures the drudgery of work and life in this ward, but it also catches glimpses of the beauty, and it’s in those moments that it feels like a series that deserves better than it’s going to get.
  15. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Nov 22, 2013
    30
    Getting On is mostly a depressing and unfunny (which is more depressing) look at an eldercare facility, the people winding down their days ignominiously in said facility and a handful of people who work there.
  16. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Nov 22, 2013
    80
    Every so often a staff member, usually DiDi, is shown in a quiet moment with a patient, providing actual care. These small scenes end up being surprisingly moving because this fictional hospital unit, in all its ridiculousness, feels somehow true to life.
  17. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Nov 22, 2013
    30
    The pilot episode involves an endless debate over a mysterious "fecal deposit" left on a chair. Let that be a metaphor.
  18. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Nov 21, 2013
    50
    To be fair, this otherwise languid show does momentarily come to life in its second episode, when Nebraska's June Squibb tears through the unit as a particularly nasty patient. But she leaves and the show recedes into its self-satisfied torpor.
  19. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Nov 21, 2013
    40
    While one might charitably chalk it up to a slightly British sensibility, like too many of pay cable’s current batch of half-hours, whatever humor graces these hallways is so dry it’s questionable whether “comedy” is the proper classification.
  20. Reviewed by: Nancy DeWolf Smith
    Nov 22, 2013
    80
    That these actors can make us care about their characters, or at least feel their pain so acutely, is what elevates Getting On above the miasma of its material.
  21. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Nov 22, 2013
    80
    Weirdly enough, Getting On (adapted from the original BBC series) is a witheringly efficient work of satire, easily confident about the humanity and absurdity it’s trying to portray.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Nov 26, 2013
    8
    I've only seen one episode, but it's the first time in awhile, that I was rolling around laughing at a half hour comedy. The absurd sillinessI've only seen one episode, but it's the first time in awhile, that I was rolling around laughing at a half hour comedy. The absurd silliness doesn't let up. It oddly manages to be touching at the same time. Full Review »
  2. Dec 1, 2013
    8
    I am a physician and I rotated in these facilities as a medical student and resident. The scene is intensely familiar and accuratelyI am a physician and I rotated in these facilities as a medical student and resident. The scene is intensely familiar and accurately portrayed. I found the humor more dark than humorous (although the argument over turds was precious.) Some scenes were profound and moving and yet nothing seemed at all forced sentimental. It was marvelously done and with perfect pitch. I am going to watch the rest of this.. no doubt. Full Review »
  3. Nov 29, 2013
    6
    Pretty mixed emotions about this new HBO series. I have seen only the pilot and I can certainly conclude from that episode that "Getting On"Pretty mixed emotions about this new HBO series. I have seen only the pilot and I can certainly conclude from that episode that "Getting On" is very well written and generally excellently acted. The initial episode was biting in its portrayal of bureaucracy rampant. I will be following the development of this show with interest.

    Now for the mixed emotions. I am about four months from turning 80 and I do have to admit that the background of the show a near terminal ward in a major hospital strikes me just a little too close to home. I find that I can view the twilight of life with humor, keeping in perspective, so I'm just going to have to swallow these aspects of "Getting On" to be able to enjoy the overall intent of the show.
    Full Review »