• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Nov 25, 2013
Season #: 1, 2
Getting On (2013) Image
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 37 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Based on the 2009 British comedy of the same name, the HBO version follows the lives of Dr. Jenna James (Laurie Metcalf), Nurse Dawn (Alex Borstein), Nurse DiDi (Niecy Nash), and supervising nurse Patsy De La Serda (Mel Rodriguez) at Billy Barnes Extended Care Unit of Mt. Palms Hospital inBased on the 2009 British comedy of the same name, the HBO version follows the lives of Dr. Jenna James (Laurie Metcalf), Nurse Dawn (Alex Borstein), Nurse DiDi (Niecy Nash), and supervising nurse Patsy De La Serda (Mel Rodriguez) at Billy Barnes Extended Care Unit of Mt. Palms Hospital in Long Beach, California. Expand
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 21
  2. Negative: 2 out of 21
  1. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Nov 22, 2013
    100
    There is a brilliant mix of poignancy and hilarity in Getting On, which is why it all works so well.
  2. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Nov 25, 2013
    90
    It's a dark and astonishing gem of a show, with a bravely skillful cast juggling the petty obsessions of the workplace with Much Bigger Issues.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd VanDerWerff
    Nov 22, 2013
    83
    Getting On captures the drudgery of work and life in this ward, but it also catches glimpses of the beauty, and it’s in those moments that it feels like a series that deserves better than it’s going to get.
  4. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Nov 22, 2013
    80
    Weirdly enough, Getting On (adapted from the original BBC series) is a witheringly efficient work of satire, easily confident about the humanity and absurdity it’s trying to portray.
  5. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Nov 25, 2013
    75
    Flawlessly done, but a tough sell. [2 Dec 2013, p.50]
  6. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Nov 21, 2013
    75
    Get ready to laugh and cry with this touching new comedy about a dysfunctional team of nurses and doctors caring for aging patients in a hospital’s extended-care wing.
  7. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Nov 22, 2013
    30
    The pilot episode involves an endless debate over a mysterious "fecal deposit" left on a chair. Let that be a metaphor.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Dec 11, 2013
    10
    Working in an ALF with residents of all cognitive levels and primarily in their 80's and 90's makes this show so relevant to me. I find itWorking in an ALF with residents of all cognitive levels and primarily in their 80's and 90's makes this show so relevant to me. I find it brilliantly written, hysterically funny and poignant as well. Anyone who is not afraid to watch shows with the elderly will gain much from watching this. I also think Nicey Nash's character is exceptional and her kindness and dedication to her job add credence to this show.
    Well Done!!
    Expand
  2. Dec 16, 2013
    10
    Amazing show! Great to see such talented characters excelling in slightly different roles-brilliantly casted. I love everything about thisAmazing show! Great to see such talented characters excelling in slightly different roles-brilliantly casted. I love everything about this show right down to the lighting and focus of the cameras, the uniforms, the constant flow of "crap" trickling down hill, the "corporate propaganda, the dynamics between the characters, etc. We had to live through this during my dad's last 6 months when his dementia required him to be in a geriatric, rehab place like this. This show makes you laugh at the sad reality that so many of us have to face as we &/or our family member(s) live longer and end up having to visit or live in these places. Like Molly Shannon, we would be vigilant advocates for our dad, slather ourselves with hand sanitizer on the way out for fear of MRSA or C-DIFF infection, and then find some humor about it in order to find the strength to go back. I hope this show stays on!! Expand
  3. Dec 27, 2014
    10
    this series is simply genius! the scripts are sublime, the ensemble cast has perfect chemistry and perfect comic timing - 'getting on' isthis series is simply genius! the scripts are sublime, the ensemble cast has perfect chemistry and perfect comic timing - 'getting on' is brilliant comedy, smart comedy - the kind of comedy that is so lacking in our dumbed down world....

    thank you thank you thank you!
    Expand
  4. Dec 22, 2013
    9
    I'm loving this new dark horse by HBO, the writing, the cast, the atmosphere; just simply amazing. Metcalf, Borstien, and Nash are allI'm loving this new dark horse by HBO, the writing, the cast, the atmosphere; just simply amazing. Metcalf, Borstien, and Nash are all incredible and should be commended significantly for their performances. This is a must-see..... Expand
  5. Nov 26, 2013
    8
    I've only seen one episode, but it's the first time in awhile, that I was rolling around laughing at a half hour comedy. The absurd sillinessI've only seen one episode, but it's the first time in awhile, that I was rolling around laughing at a half hour comedy. The absurd silliness doesn't let up. It oddly manages to be touching at the same time. Expand
  6. Dec 1, 2013
    8
    I am a physician and I rotated in these facilities as a medical student and resident. The scene is intensely familiar and accuratelyI am a physician and I rotated in these facilities as a medical student and resident. The scene is intensely familiar and accurately portrayed. I found the humor more dark than humorous (although the argument over turds was precious.) Some scenes were profound and moving and yet nothing seemed at all forced sentimental. It was marvelously done and with perfect pitch. I am going to watch the rest of this.. no doubt. Expand
  7. Nov 29, 2013
    6
    Pretty mixed emotions about this new HBO series. I have seen only the pilot and I can certainly conclude from that episode that "Getting On"Pretty mixed emotions about this new HBO series. I have seen only the pilot and I can certainly conclude from that episode that "Getting On" is very well written and generally excellently acted. The initial episode was biting in its portrayal of bureaucracy rampant. I will be following the development of this show with interest.

    Now for the mixed emotions. I am about four months from turning 80 and I do have to admit that the background of the show a near terminal ward in a major hospital strikes me just a little too close to home. I find that I can view the twilight of life with humor, keeping in perspective, so I'm just going to have to swallow these aspects of "Getting On" to be able to enjoy the overall intent of the show.
    Expand

See all 9 User Reviews