• Network: CBS
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 23, 2005
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 247 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 34 out of 247

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. JackK
    Oct 6, 2005
    8
    Okay, so it's not high drama . . . what is these days. But it's not a bad show and the bad rap Miss Hewitt carries seems more to petty jealousy than reality. She's not that bad an actress.
  2. GaryH
    Oct 7, 2005
    8
    Accept the premise of "Ghost Whisperer" and enjoy it for what it is. It may be too early yet to see if a much deeper central plot develops. A quality production in my book.
  3. Andrew
    Oct 7, 2005
    10
    This is a really great show! I wish more people would watch it! The 3rd episode was the best!...so far
  4. chriss
    Feb 8, 2006
    8
    The fact that the dog did not go to his reward is very upsetting. He was with the boys the whole time - why leave him behind. If he didn't have a soul he wouldn't have been there at all. Please fix this.
  5. Marian
    Apr 13, 2006
    10
    Best show, am dissappointed when it's over, could continue to watch for another hour or two
  6. GeraldineB
    Apr 28, 2006
    10
    What City is this show taking place? Wonderful characters and stories.
  7. TraceyR
    May 10, 2006
    9
    Thoroughly enjoy the show
  8. jayl
    May 6, 2006
    10
    love the show never miss it.
  9. JohnR
    May 6, 2006
    9
    The show is emotional. The frequancy of the commercials, destroys the mood. The sponsors should have some consideration for such material.
  10. MARYANNW
    Jun 23, 2006
    10
    ghost whisperer is the best new show next to Grey's annatomy
  11. karent
    Jul 14, 2006
    10
    I love this show,i cant wait till fridays.:)
  12. danar
    Jul 9, 2006
    10
    love, love, love this show. gentle but exciting. what a great combination.
  13. PeggyD
    Aug 31, 2006
    10
    Love this show, great for the whole family. Not many on tv anyone that the whole family can watch.
  14. Les
    Aug 6, 2006
    10
    Excellent show Please don't take off the air
  15. TrudyL
    Sep 5, 2006
    10
    Thought this was a great family show. My daughter can't wait for this season. Please bring it back.
  16. KevinL.
    Nov 16, 2007
    2
    The premise of the series is quite interesting, with a great potential, however, the show does not carry that. The corny writing along with effects that aren't convincing, Ghost Whisperer could not maintain a consistent quality to its plot. The show itself is boring and cheesy but you'd have to watch out on a lucky day where the show could potentially get better. It has good The premise of the series is quite interesting, with a great potential, however, the show does not carry that. The corny writing along with effects that aren't convincing, Ghost Whisperer could not maintain a consistent quality to its plot. The show itself is boring and cheesy but you'd have to watch out on a lucky day where the show could potentially get better. It has good episodes but most of it isn't so great. Expand
  17. APerson
    Mar 2, 2007
    1
    First season was great, but the second season's wheels have fallen off. Real pity the show drifted away from the format that was good in the 1st season.
  18. Diego
    Mar 13, 2009
    2
    Its so bad that it's good. Hense the 2. Between Hewitt's horrendous acting and the subtext of hearing the direction asking the audience to "Cry! CRY DAMN IT!!!" everyone should watch this show once. But ONLY once.
  19. BrennanS.
    Nov 12, 2005
    10
    Suspenseful and heart quickening, this show is scary, sad and suspenseful: the three s's every show needs! Thumbs UP!
  20. StefanieD
    Nov 13, 2005
    9
    I really like this show as well. It's good spirited fun, and it is nice to have a show that is touching once in a while. This week's episode was good, but I hope it isn't a going trend. I rather have the show about helping people "cross over" than "possession".
  21. StevenC
    Oct 12, 2005
    10
    A very good show. Jennifer Love Hewitt is a great actress and the show itself definitly grabs my attention.
  22. JimC
    Oct 13, 2005
    3
    Not only is it corny to take "Ghost Whisper" from "Horse Whisperer", but this show is flat and too canned.
  23. EvelynL
    Oct 15, 2005
    10
    This is the best and most emotional show on television.
  24. AriellaC
    Oct 15, 2005
    0
    This show was just bad.
  25. carloss
    Oct 16, 2005
    10
    this is the best show on TV I love it. I hope it stay's around for a long time. It is wonderful. And I am hard to please. But this show is wonderful. Please tell me why it is not going to be on next Friday the 21st. Pleast don't tell me it is not coming back. It will brake my heart.
  26. DonnaS
    Oct 17, 2005
    10
    I like this show very much. It shows that your loved ones are watching over you and it does help for the times you are sad and that they love you and miss you. Please keep this show on
  27. KP
    Oct 18, 2005
    7
    I enjoy shows that make you think, make you feel, make you laugh... and shows that surprise you. This show, while some may think the premise is absolutely silly, has heart. It's touching, and completely involves the viewer in the experience. Whether you believe in such "Ghost Whisperers", this show creates a world in which you can experience the "what if" from the perspective of the I enjoy shows that make you think, make you feel, make you laugh... and shows that surprise you. This show, while some may think the premise is absolutely silly, has heart. It's touching, and completely involves the viewer in the experience. Whether you believe in such "Ghost Whisperers", this show creates a world in which you can experience the "what if" from the perspective of the one experiencing it. I make a point to watch this show every week, and I highly recommend it. Expand
  28. GL
    Oct 21, 2005
    10
    Ghost shows are cool and David Conrad is hot.
  29. MajedS
    Dec 16, 2005
    10
    I love it... One of the best shows on TV
  30. McFly
    Oct 20, 2005
    0
    Jennifer Love Hewitt is hot, show is not.
  31. SS
    Oct 28, 2005
    10
    This show has hit home on many of the shows. love the show keep it on the air
  32. gene
    Oct 28, 2005
    9
    Keep this show in....
  33. FEdison
    Dec 9, 2005
    0
    I find it difficult to believe that anyone who can spell his or her own name would watch this steaming pile of crap. JLH does have some big boobies, though.
  34. RonaldV
    Oct 6, 2005
    7
    I've seen both shows of this series. But the 2nd one seemed too long...perhaps GW should be a 30-minute show...pacing is too slow...And the show's competitors have too much of a head start...Outcome of this program is a question mark
  35. JohnU
    Oct 6, 2005
    10
    Jennifer Love Hewitt is absolutely good in playing Melinda Gordon. She's a great actress and can really act. She's back with us remember she's the original teen/TV Queen trashing Sarah, Katie and other girls on TV. She's definitely great. The show I know will stay there for long.!
  36. GreagD
    Jan 10, 2006
    10
    I have no idea why this show has been getting such slack. In all truthfull ness I'm not a big Hewitt fan but you know what, I love this show. It's made me a fan. If you watch I'd say 1 or 2 episodes I don't see how you can't get hooked on it. It's great. Hope it lasts a long time.
  37. DanD
    Jan 28, 2006
    9
    I really like the cast here - I think there is good chemistry. I like the teasers for what I hope are future episodes (like the dark ghost in the shop - whom I hope Mellissa's mother knows about)
  38. PJ
    Jan 3, 2006
    0
    Awful. Can this be legal?
  39. JeffC
    Apr 21, 2006
    9
    This show is surprisingly well done. J. Love is a darn good acrtress, and her support is well cast. The writing has been very good. If they can keep on writing good shows, this one's just going to keep going up the charts for a while, I'd guess. It's that good.
  40. valeriaa
    Apr 27, 2006
    10
    i love it
  41. LonnaS
    Apr 29, 2006
    10
    omg! this is the bestest show ever!
  42. ShelleyM
    May 12, 2006
    10
    I love the show! I look forward to Friday nights to see it. I don't have too many favorite shows but this is my favorite. It is such break from all the same old shows.
  43. KevR
    May 15, 2006
    1
    Absolute tripe. You might wanna catch it if you lke seeing Hewitt in a nightgown though. Other than that, stay away, every episode is almost the same. The plot is ridiculous. Lame in every sense.
  44. sandyd
    May 16, 2006
    10
    i love the show. it is the best!!!!!!
  45. DanielleD
    May 23, 2006
    10
    I love that show. Please, please,please, bring it back
  46. HannahB
    May 26, 2006
    10
    One of the best shows on tv. Keep it on! It's different from most other shows because it is not hospital, law or police related.
  47. RonS
    May 6, 2006
    10
    Wonderful Show with believable acting. The So-Called Critics once upon a time said that Married with Children would not last either and it was stupid......Well....that "stupid" show lasted 10 years! Lets listen to the average person and not some "stupid" critic who probably lives in a penthouse.
  48. jayl
    May 6, 2006
    10
    love the show never miss it.
  49. KarlaM
    May 6, 2006
    10
    As far as dramas' went next to CSI I think it was second to none.
  50. SteveM
    May 7, 2006
    10
    I read some of the negative comments from the critics, Are they watching the same show as I am. I find Ghost Whisperes a very entertaining show. Of course it strays from reality, If I want to watch reality I will watch the news, I want o be entertained and Ghost Whsperers does that quite well. Wake up you idiot brain critics, for once try to get your thumb on the pulse of the television viewers
  51. shere
    Jul 20, 2006
    10
    my whole family loves this show!
  52. GinaL
    Aug 2, 2006
    10
    I love the show so much can't wait till the Season 1 realese of the Dvd and i can't wait till the season 2.
  53. cbby
    Aug 22, 2006
    0
    One of the worst TV shows ever. Should at least be on the Sci-Fi network instead of NBC or ABC. Just a very freaky show about a lady who can talk, and it just gets weirder and weirder every episode.
  54. Ray
    Sep 15, 2006
    10
    Quite frankly the Sep 15 2006 episode is very best television show I have ever seen. This one hour show made the big screen mega-bucks movies pale in comparison. Pitt, Clooney, Cruise, Lohan, Duff, eat your hearts out. The cast on this show makes you look all like amatuers........
  55. MarcoP.
    Jun 29, 2008
    1
    Horrid, sugary and utterly boring copy of 'The Sixth Sense' with a buxom woman. I hope the show is canceled very soon.
  56. MariaT
    Nov 17, 2005
    10
    We enjoy this show immensely. We look forward to it coming on every Friday. The cast is very personable and the storylines are very engaging.
  57. pamb
    Nov 18, 2005
    10
    I love this show! Its wonderful--the actors, the stories-I wish there were more shows like this one, and I look forward to Friday nights now, Thanks for a winner!
  58. MaryW
    Oct 12, 2005
    3
    Can't replace Joan and the Divine within with a medium-backed, depressing, melodramatic show.
  59. Joan
    Oct 15, 2005
    10
    Ghost Whisperer has heart, unlike many of the hateful, negative shows out there.
  60. sallys
    Oct 17, 2005
    0
    this show is stupid
  61. billybob
    Oct 17, 2005
    0
    bring back JOAN OF ARCADIA
  62. DianaL
    Nov 8, 2005
    8
    its a good family show I can watch with my son.
  63. T-Will
    Oct 19, 2005
    1
    The only feeling I can equate to this show is when massive cramping sets in before the inevitable rush to the toilet. Shockingly uncomfortable when it first hits, and a much welcomed relief when it ends.
  64. ko
    Oct 21, 2005
    10
    I look forward to this show every Friday night. It's better than some of those other shows out there. Makes you think of your loved ones that passed...or did they??
  65. JoanS
    Oct 22, 2005
    9
    I really like this show but was disapointed that the dog didn't to with the boys and he should of since he was with them the whole time. We believe that we will be with our animals in the next life and so you should have sent the dog with them.
  66. GailM
    Oct 22, 2005
    6
    Ghost Whisperer about the 3 boys who died in a fire, was very good. However, the fact that their dog did not go with them to "pass over," was extremely disappointing. That brave soul should have stayed with his boys. Most pet lovers have a deep belief that their pets will be with them in the hereafter.
  67. ErinS
    Jan 28, 2006
    8
    Great show. Did anyone see the end of Friday (1/27) episode on her birthday and sara? I need to know what happened.
  68. DavidD
    Feb 16, 2006
    0
    The most banal programme i've seen in this genre.1st episode Just screened in my country. Was looking forward to it,am extremely disapointed.Ghost visits Jen with a message,eventually tells son who throws her out,ends up believing,the end.I was actually glad when it finished.Medium is on another channel at the same time so i'll watch that instead.At least the dead on there The most banal programme i've seen in this genre.1st episode Just screened in my country. Was looking forward to it,am extremely disapointed.Ghost visits Jen with a message,eventually tells son who throws her out,ends up believing,the end.I was actually glad when it finished.Medium is on another channel at the same time so i'll watch that instead.At least the dead on there aren't boring.For similar mush i'd rather watch touched by an angel Expand
  69. ChrisF
    Apr 21, 2006
    10
    Absolutely fantastic in all regards...writing, acting, musically. Everything. One of the best and most underrated shows on television.
  70. EldoraS
    May 19, 2006
    10
    I love this show!!! Please Please don't cancel this show. I look forward to my friday's with my family to watch it.
  71. patriciaj
    May 25, 2006
    10
    Ghost whisperer is one of the best sitcoms that I have seen in a long time. the actors are great. please never take it off
  72. RosaR
    May 27, 2006
    10
    I love the show.
  73. [Anonymous]
    Jun 13, 2006
    10
    This show rocks I watched it every Friday
  74. MyrnaS
    Jun 16, 2006
    10
    great show hope its on for another season. great eaction and great talent by melinda gordon.
  75. CZen
    Jun 29, 2006
    10
    Can't wait for Season 2
  76. GilbertoV
    Jul 11, 2006
    10
    Love this show
  77. LaToyaE.
    Aug 16, 2006
    10
    Great Show.
  78. RoseH
    Aug 17, 2006
    10
    I have geared all of my friends up to watch next season. This show is great!
  79. DonnaD
    Aug 25, 2006
    10
    Great show....i'm hoping to see more.....please don' t pull from the air.
  80. TammyS
    Aug 25, 2006
    10
    I loved the show!
  81. RobertB
    Aug 28, 2006
    10
    Only show Im watching every week and wont miss a week. This show brought me back to watching tv. Too bad it wasnt up for an Emmy. The writers are great. Love the twists in the plots. Can't wait for season two.
  82. MagsyB.
    Aug 29, 2007
    4
    The subject matter of the show interests me and I actually enjoy watching it for the comedic value. I record how many completely inappropriate booby soft porn outfits JLH can wear in one show...do people in small US towns really walk around in low cut night gowns from a Victoria Secret catalogue? The ridiculous plot lines are hilarious!!! Particularly the last 3 of season two which The subject matter of the show interests me and I actually enjoy watching it for the comedic value. I record how many completely inappropriate booby soft porn outfits JLH can wear in one show...do people in small US towns really walk around in low cut night gowns from a Victoria Secret catalogue? The ridiculous plot lines are hilarious!!! Particularly the last 3 of season two which reduced me to tears ..of laughter. Keep it coming! Expand
  83. SueP.
    Nov 26, 2008
    1
    Love this show...hate the turn Jim's death has taken. Could understand him not crossing over and maybe can help her more by not crossing....but this nonsense with taking another body...not letting his people mourn his death because jim stole his body...yuck! Afraid they've jumped the shark and will lose this devoted viewe and many more.
  84. CarolA
    Nov 11, 2005
    1
    sad really, felt like watching Haley Joel Osment in a girls wig
  85. AnnR.
    Dec 13, 2007
    0
    Makes the supernatural look like pure evil.
  86. Jun 8, 2014
    7
    I always find it corny when it comes to i-have-a-gift / i-can-talk-to-ghosts shows, story, movie. But this one is not as bad as I think bc it has an almost-realistic story.
  87. Jan 28, 2015
    7
    Ghost Whisperer sets the scene slowly, with breasts and shadows, but by the end of the season we've got a villain in a top hat, secrets about Melinda's mother and grandmother are foretold, a plane crash and one very saddening death. An enjoyable series that often needs more of the supernatural, less of the sentimentality.
Metascore
29

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 20
  2. Negative: 14 out of 20
  1. 10
    At times during ''Ghost Whisperer," the sentiment is so thick you might want to go away from the light -- the light from the TV set, that is.
  2. 88
    What is special about "Ghost Whisperer" is the way it gets everything else right -- casting, acting, writing, directing, pacing, music, you name it.
  3. 20
    Pretty pointless.