Girls : Season 2

  • Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 15, 2012
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 154 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 154
  2. Negative: 38 out of 154

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 16, 2013
    6
    Hmm... it's entertaining for the most part, but some of the cliche' NYC "we so like cool and like smart and like artsy and like..." attitudes and excessive nudity from the main character (DO NOT EAT ANYTHING WHILE WATCHING THIS SHOW!) are a bit OTT for my tastes. Yeah, we get it, you're human and shouldn't be ashamed of your body, but come on... Anyway, it does have it moments though andHmm... it's entertaining for the most part, but some of the cliche' NYC "we so like cool and like smart and like artsy and like..." attitudes and excessive nudity from the main character (DO NOT EAT ANYTHING WHILE WATCHING THIS SHOW!) are a bit OTT for my tastes. Yeah, we get it, you're human and shouldn't be ashamed of your body, but come on... Anyway, it does have it moments though and is worth watching when nothing else is on. Expand
  2. Jan 14, 2013
    4
    Dear Lena Dunham, your show is dull and your characters have no redeeming qualities. Aside from a chuckle here and there season 2 of the spectacularly undeservedly praised show, begins with a whimper. The pilot is a rehash of everything that was terrible in the first season. The characters are cardboard stereotype cutouts and their dilemas are the same drama that is featured on shows likeDear Lena Dunham, your show is dull and your characters have no redeeming qualities. Aside from a chuckle here and there season 2 of the spectacularly undeservedly praised show, begins with a whimper. The pilot is a rehash of everything that was terrible in the first season. The characters are cardboard stereotype cutouts and their dilemas are the same drama that is featured on shows like the hills and gossip girl. Yes the dialogue is realistic, but that doesn't make it compelling, Dunham's dialogue is dull and lifeless and the stories are pointless loops of one another. Also if you're gonna have a token black guy on your show, at least give him some cool lines or god forbide characterization beyond simply being "her new black love interest". That's not a personality, pandering. Collapse
  3. Feb 23, 2013
    5
    Well, Girls probably has a realistic way of dealing with the lives of a bunch of not very common people. Though one could see it has a point and all the crude fat nudity adds to it, it is in no way original (as it's been said) or clever at al. I think HBO has fallen for the obscure charms of Lena Dunham and allowed her to create a show where she can tell the world all her own personalWell, Girls probably has a realistic way of dealing with the lives of a bunch of not very common people. Though one could see it has a point and all the crude fat nudity adds to it, it is in no way original (as it's been said) or clever at al. I think HBO has fallen for the obscure charms of Lena Dunham and allowed her to create a show where she can tell the world all her own personal problems, about which I doubt someone is interested all that much. Characters' dialogue is also quite stereotypical and annoying, but I guess that falls under the category of the "making it realistic". Expand
  4. Apr 2, 2013
    5
    I truly loved season one of Girls, but season two is a complete misfire. It's the Hannah show. The friendships have become strained and almost non existant. It became completely about relationships, none of which are very believable. Dunham talked about how she wanted to avoid the "season two syndrome", but she failed completely, sorry to say. I hope it gets back on track with the third season.
  5. Feb 14, 2013
    5
    Lena Dunham has more talent in her baby toenail clipping than I'll ever have in my entire being. OK, having said that, I think this show has really fallen off from season 1 to now. I think Dunham has 7 funny things to say, and they've all been said, so now she'll have to resort to regurgitating things. A lot of shows are guilty of this syndrome. Brian Williams and David Mamet's daughtersLena Dunham has more talent in her baby toenail clipping than I'll ever have in my entire being. OK, having said that, I think this show has really fallen off from season 1 to now. I think Dunham has 7 funny things to say, and they've all been said, so now she'll have to resort to regurgitating things. A lot of shows are guilty of this syndrome. Brian Williams and David Mamet's daughters are GORGEOUS. Lena Dunham's bloated naked body and bizarre clothes and cake eating binges have become tiresome. Great slacker/hipster music. This show just got zapped from my TIVO recording queue. Expand
  6. Mar 10, 2013
    4
    I don't get it. And actually I really don't WANT to get it. Thought It was going to be hysterical, think I smiled twice.. lame. Maybe I'm not the "target audience" I'm 36 and married and live in the suburbs but if this is what it is to be 21 now, I'm glad I was a teenager in the 90s.
  7. Aug 15, 2013
    6
    While it's still occasionally hilarious, Girls seems to have lost its sense of realism in season two, which was one of the strongest factors it had going for it in the first season.
    The first season acted like an extremely grounded, realistic, yet satiric portrayal of young girls in their early twenties (hence the show's title) finding themselves through relationships, careers, and
    While it's still occasionally hilarious, Girls seems to have lost its sense of realism in season two, which was one of the strongest factors it had going for it in the first season.
    The first season acted like an extremely grounded, realistic, yet satiric portrayal of young girls in their early twenties (hence the show's title) finding themselves through relationships, careers, and sexuality as they share their experiences, clashes, and heart breaks. It's not as generic as it sounds. Girls is very well written, and hardly ever sappy. But it seems to have lost that realistic edge recently, veering closer to one of those preposterously un-relatable sexually driven dramas you might find on ABC Family, just with better writing.
    While it's not all bad, season two is just frustrating to watch, especially when compared to its first season. It seems to have lost its voice, getting wrapped up in its own self important, trivial issues, which was a mild problem in the first season, though it's slightly more present now.
    Expand
  8. Jan 11, 2014
    6
    Not as good as the original season, a shame as the first season was rather good. The odd moments occur far too frequently now and there are too many impulse moments where the story and plot end up going to Hell. It's not bad, despite these issues, it's just far too over the top and boring in many instances to be at all important. Lena Dunham's "Hannah" has become easily one of the mostNot as good as the original season, a shame as the first season was rather good. The odd moments occur far too frequently now and there are too many impulse moments where the story and plot end up going to Hell. It's not bad, despite these issues, it's just far too over the top and boring in many instances to be at all important. Lena Dunham's "Hannah" has become easily one of the most hated characters on television due to this. Hopefully the third season will fix all of the problems the second has had. Expand
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Jace Lacob
    May 30, 2013
    80
    The hotly anticipated second season of Girls, which returns to HBO on Sunday, builds on the strengths of its stellar first season and captures the quicksilver magic of Dunham at her best, with the first four episodes supplying a mighty kick to the heart.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Long
    Feb 1, 2013
    91
    Girls continues to delight and provoke in a way too few shows can.
  3. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jan 14, 2013
    75
    Girls can still be Girls. [21 Jan 2013]