Girls : Season 2

  • Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 15, 2012
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 167 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 97 out of 167
  2. Negative: 42 out of 167

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jan 15, 2013
    7
    What I love about Girls is its creativity and freshness and how it is so different from other comedy shows on television these days. You may not laugh out loud at every scene but the writing and wonderful performances by the entire cast have the ability to move you, the ability to make you smile eventually. People complain that it is overrated, my only response to them is it doesn't getWhat I love about Girls is its creativity and freshness and how it is so different from other comedy shows on television these days. You may not laugh out loud at every scene but the writing and wonderful performances by the entire cast have the ability to move you, the ability to make you smile eventually. People complain that it is overrated, my only response to them is it doesn't get cheesy or stupid to get ratings or whatever, whereas it stays on its own level, its own ingenuity and style. Season 2 is just like the first season and maybe it will get even better in coming episodes. Lena Dunham won 2 Golden Globes for this show, come on, show some respect! Collapse
  2. Jul 10, 2013
    10
    Season 2 of Girls is incredible. More poignant than the first season, but not without losing its humor and wit. It is truly a shame that the episodes are not a full hour; there is so much more I wish were explored. 9.7/10
  3. Jan 27, 2015
    7
    Season 2 is just as clever, creative, and entertaining as season one. It also contains just as much, maybe even more self-indulgence and trivial issues that may drive anyone insane.
  4. Feb 16, 2013
    8
    Girls is simply hard to love, but easy to laugh with. Lena Dunham does an amazing job with this show, which shows us the lives of twentysomethings in NYC through a shockingly truthful lens. Ignore the critics of Girls (of which I used to be one) and watch a few episodes. It's worth it.
  5. Mar 20, 2013
    9
    People will complain the characters have no redeeming qualities, or Lena Dunham being nude is totally gross or what have you, but here's a newsflash: That's the point. Lena Dunham isn't gross, but she's not your hot brunette bombshell either, she's fine the way she is, and that's that. Season 1 was the start of a journey. It was very modern, and cool, very good debut season for a show thatPeople will complain the characters have no redeeming qualities, or Lena Dunham being nude is totally gross or what have you, but here's a newsflash: That's the point. Lena Dunham isn't gross, but she's not your hot brunette bombshell either, she's fine the way she is, and that's that. Season 1 was the start of a journey. It was very modern, and cool, very good debut season for a show that was bound to be controversial, even if it is on HBO. Season 2 made me feel like I was in one big short film. And I attribute that to two things: Bigger episode budgets, and even better writing. We can sit here and praise the actors and actresses all day, but lets be honest, we all KNOW they do more than an amazing job at what Lena Dunham writes. The real beauty, in my opinion, about Season 2, was the progression in the story. The story had so much passion to come along with it. Season 3 will, without a doubt, be even more beautiful. Season 3 is scheduled for 12 episodes, instead of 10 for Season 2. Big improvements coming from HBO's side to allow Lena Dunham and crew really nail Season 3 and make it one of the greatest pieces of art to ever enter our TV screens. The best part about this show? This is actually the struggle of Girls around the world. Lena Dunham is clearly the voice of this new generation. Her message gets across and is very well responded. Those who give it negative reviews, and/or bash it consistently don't get it. And obviously never will, unless they get a girlfriend who likes this show. (If that's possible). Expand
  6. Feb 17, 2013
    9
    While the characters sometimes seem to drown in their own self-indulgence, the superb writing along with the stellar setting and cinematography greatly overshadow the show's flaws.
  7. Jan 24, 2013
    7
    from the first 2 episodes, it doesn't look to be as good as season 1. it's a little less funny, and right now nothing seems to be happening in the form of plot development, but the characters are as strong as ever, and just as flippantly spontaneous with their social life altering decisions. i may update this later
  8. Jan 29, 2013
    10
    Dear Lena Dunham: I loved your show from the word go. When I realized that Hannah was shown naked more than her more attractive friends, I said, aha, this is so very refreshing, the product of an astute and confident creator. The setting and banter may be contemporary, but the situations are timeless. Or timeless back to the late '60s. I was living that life back then, right out ofDear Lena Dunham: I loved your show from the word go. When I realized that Hannah was shown naked more than her more attractive friends, I said, aha, this is so very refreshing, the product of an astute and confident creator. The setting and banter may be contemporary, but the situations are timeless. Or timeless back to the late '60s. I was living that life back then, right out of college and before I grew up. When I watch "Girls", I get to sort of relive that heady, dramatic, stupid, **** up time of my life. This is the best show on tv. Expand
  9. Jan 14, 2013
    10
    There's lots of hate towards Girls and I can clearly understand why since they're all about "relativity" issues. Much like season 1, season 2 is fun, clever and entertaining in it's own way. It's creative and original. This show is not for everyone, but if you're into it you'll love it.
  10. Jan 21, 2013
    10
    Girls is a uniquely realistic portrayal of life for young people in today's America of permanent recession and constant electronic communication. The characters all engage in self-destructive behavior, just like young people do in reality, but the writing is humorous enough to make it entertaining.
  11. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    The season 2 of Girls isn't obvious. If you have been following the episodes as they aired it's time to re-watch it and consider the total of 10 installments. Otherwise, the timelines get messed up. I loved the downfall of Lena Dunham's character, I loved how complicated Adam is. All these experiences are a part of growing up and actually it's amazing that the show talks aboutThe season 2 of Girls isn't obvious. If you have been following the episodes as they aired it's time to re-watch it and consider the total of 10 installments. Otherwise, the timelines get messed up. I loved the downfall of Lena Dunham's character, I loved how complicated Adam is. All these experiences are a part of growing up and actually it's amazing that the show talks about twentysomethings but so many thirtysomethings experience similar levels of absurd and messiness in their everyday lives. Quite hard to be a grown-up these days... Expand
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Jace Lacob
    May 30, 2013
    80
    The hotly anticipated second season of Girls, which returns to HBO on Sunday, builds on the strengths of its stellar first season and captures the quicksilver magic of Dunham at her best, with the first four episodes supplying a mighty kick to the heart.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Long
    Feb 1, 2013
    91
    Girls continues to delight and provoke in a way too few shows can.
  3. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jan 14, 2013
    75
    Girls can still be Girls. [21 Jan 2013]