• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 15, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 149 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Life and their relationships are still messy for Hannah, Jessa, Marnie, and Shoshanna as Elijah (Andrew Rannells) moves in as Hannah's new roommate.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jan 11, 2013
    100
    Exasperating but fascinating.
  2. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jan 9, 2013
    100
    Sharper, smarter, more richly layered, detailed (and acted), Girls has improved upon its first season.
  3. Reviewed by: Tom Long
    Feb 1, 2013
    91
    Girls continues to delight and provoke in a way too few shows can.
  4. Reviewed by: Chuck Bowen
    Jan 10, 2013
    88
    Girls is still undergoing ultimately minor growing pains, but it's frequently poignant and audacious, and actors who made little impression in the first season are allowed to flower.
  5. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Jan 10, 2013
    80
    Girls has matured leaps and bounds, comedically and structurally, but it has jettisoned some of its ambiguity, its sweetness, its own affection for its characters. It's more coherent, but it's also safer.
  6. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jan 14, 2013
    75
    Girls can still be Girls. [21 Jan 2013]
  7. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jan 11, 2013
    60
    Short scenes [are] designed to suggest we just walked in on random real people. It's a raw look that is, nonetheless, a look. It also, inevitably, says scripted TV drama.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 27
  2. Negative: 8 out of 27
  1. Jan 14, 2013
    10
    There's lots of hate towards Girls and I can clearly understand why since they're all about "relativity" issues. Much like season 1, season 2There's lots of hate towards Girls and I can clearly understand why since they're all about "relativity" issues. Much like season 1, season 2 is fun, clever and entertaining in it's own way. It's creative and original. This show is not for everyone, but if you're into it you'll love it. Expand
  2. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    The season 2 of Girls isn't obvious. If you have been following the episodes as they aired it's time to re-watch it and consider the total ofThe season 2 of Girls isn't obvious. If you have been following the episodes as they aired it's time to re-watch it and consider the total of 10 installments. Otherwise, the timelines get messed up. I loved the downfall of Lena Dunham's character, I loved how complicated Adam is. All these experiences are a part of growing up and actually it's amazing that the show talks about twentysomethings but so many thirtysomethings experience similar levels of absurd and messiness in their everyday lives. Quite hard to be a grown-up these days... Expand
  3. Feb 17, 2013
    9
    While the characters sometimes seem to drown in their own self-indulgence, the superb writing along with the stellar setting andWhile the characters sometimes seem to drown in their own self-indulgence, the superb writing along with the stellar setting and cinematography greatly overshadow the show's flaws. Expand
  4. Mar 16, 2013
    6
    Hmm... it's entertaining for the most part, but some of the cliche' NYC "we so like cool and like smart and like artsy and like..." attitudesHmm... it's entertaining for the most part, but some of the cliche' NYC "we so like cool and like smart and like artsy and like..." attitudes and excessive nudity from the main character (DO NOT EAT ANYTHING WHILE WATCHING THIS SHOW!) are a bit OTT for my tastes. Yeah, we get it, you're human and shouldn't be ashamed of your body, but come on... Anyway, it does have it moments though and is worth watching when nothing else is on. Expand
  5. Feb 14, 2013
    5
    Lena Dunham has more talent in her baby toenail clipping than I'll ever have in my entire being. OK, having said that, I think this show hasLena Dunham has more talent in her baby toenail clipping than I'll ever have in my entire being. OK, having said that, I think this show has really fallen off from season 1 to now. I think Dunham has 7 funny things to say, and they've all been said, so now she'll have to resort to regurgitating things. A lot of shows are guilty of this syndrome. Brian Williams and David Mamet's daughters are GORGEOUS. Lena Dunham's bloated naked body and bizarre clothes and cake eating binges have become tiresome. Great slacker/hipster music. This show just got zapped from my TIVO recording queue. Expand
  6. Mar 24, 2013
    3
    A show that is called "GIRLS" but still it's all bout Men, Marriage, and "felling protected". Not so foward-thinking right. Hanna freaking outA show that is called "GIRLS" but still it's all bout Men, Marriage, and "felling protected". Not so foward-thinking right. Hanna freaking out as a 6 year old on last episodes was some of the most pathetic drama i've seen season two went downhill fast. Expand
  7. Mar 19, 2013
    0
    I think lena is a great writer and everything, but she needs to stop being so naked all the time. i mean come on girl, what are you doing? sheI think lena is a great writer and everything, but she needs to stop being so naked all the time. i mean come on girl, what are you doing? she should not be getting naked all the time because I personally find it horrifying and it does not add to the series whatsoever. PUT ON CLOTHES LENA! Expand

See all 27 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2012 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2012 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 12, 2012
    Track every year-end top-ten list published by major TV critics and publications, and view the overall composite standings for best TV show of 2012.
  2. Best and Worst New Shows of the 2011-12 TV Season

    Best and Worst New Shows of the 2011-12 TV Season Image
    Published: May 23, 2012
    We've reached the end of another TV season, so it's time once again for our annual look at the best and worst shows. Find out which first-year series impressed critics and users the most, and see how the major networks compared.