• Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 15, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3
User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 289 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 59 out of 289

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 20, 2013
    10
    Go with the critics on this one; this is another superb show from the always reliable HBO. Lena Dunham has an incredible ear for realistic and interesting dialogue. That alone would be enough for me to watch, but where the show truly shines is in its characters. they are all so strange yet relatable, and frustrating but hopelessly sympathetic. 9.5/10
  2. Jun 14, 2012
    10
    I started watching this show a few days back, just decided to give it a shot after such superb critical acclaim and a very shocking awful response by viewers which is something i hate because they love Gossip Girl and PLL but hate "One of the Best Comedy Show of all time" no kidding this show rocks. Lena Dunham is a real genius, very supremely talented, she created it, writes it, directed a few episodes and is a executive producer. HBO always comes up with great TV shows but this is something else, last year was Enlightened and now Girls. The very raw, raunchy, bold, dark and yet quite touching, funny and utterly lovable nature of this show makes it one of the best offerings. They aren't just rich and spoiled because they actually work, or on the verge of becoming responsible, this is based on actual realistic experiences and shows much closer the life of ordinary GIRLS in New York. A brilliant effort, i truly love this show and very happy for Lena Dunham. Expand
  3. Sep 3, 2012
    10
    OMG. How could the user reviews be so wrong? How can *The Wire*, with its droll attempt at reality, outrank this show with users? Bizarre. If you haven't seen this show, please try it out. It's so honest and likeable. I watched the whole first season over labor day weekend. My fav line: "I am 13 pounds overweight and it has been awful for me my whole life!" The show feels like an attempt to portray everything embarrassing about being a girl in her 20's, while somehow still finding acceptance and joy. Expand
  4. Sep 12, 2012
    10
    I feel that I have to defend the show. Don't get me wrong I don't think it was the perfect start for a freshman series. It was very good, though. It showed how it feels to be young, confused, bold, dreamer, a failure, in love, and above all humane in the city that never sleeps in 2012 where everything is possible and thus in question. By the end of the season finale, I was quite impressed by the universe Mrs. Dunham created and I anticipate the next season eagerly. P.S For those of you who think the protagonist is ugly well...It's not Sex And The City!!! Expand
  5. Jun 10, 2012
    10
    It's so funny to read the negative user reviews for Girls - 'nepotism!' they cry, 'RICH SPOILT WHITE PEOPLE' they screech, 'HBO what have you done - have you gone mad?' they whine. Get a grip. This show is refreshing and brilliant and funny and edgy. Sure - the characters aren't all loveable and perfect all of the time - but then, who is? Anyone comparing this show to Sex & the City is doing it a disservice - in SATC you have 4 one dimensional characters who you never believe could be friends in a real-life situation (they're so different to each other in such obvious ways that they wouldn't last a minute in each other's company), however, in GIRLS, the characters have real and complicated emotions, they are sometimes disloyal, they can be selfish and they make stupid decisions - but they can also be supportive and sweet and the kind of friend you would want to have on your side. All of the naysayers could be male because every female I know absolutely loves this show - perhaps seeing females as normal people who look like they forgot to shave their legs and may not have showered today turns their stomach a bit. If you are a fan of shows like Freaks & Geeks or the 'mumblecore' style of movie making, watch this. If you're not - steer clear or you will be outraged (read the red reviews for a comedic demonstration of utter indignation and unbounded fury). Expand
  6. Sep 8, 2012
    9
    i thought this comedy was one of the best new shows of the season. im glad it got renewed. the only bad thing about Girls is the constant attention to Hannah (Lena Dunham). I want to know about the other characters not just her.
  7. Apr 24, 2012
    9
    Let me just say, I love this show. Although there are only two episodes, this skilled ensemble has managed to be incredibly involving, funny, and surprisingly substantial- which many funny shows often forget to do. It is a brilliant commentary on the life of a middle-class girl trying navigate the struggle for independence in a time when a college degree is about as useful as, let's say, a curling iron. I love the witty banter and utter lack of pretense. I hope that it only gets better, as I think it will! Expand
  8. Apr 16, 2012
    10
    Girls is a great work not only of television but of literature of the English language. While other TV shows portray young people as having lives of wealth, glamor, and hot sex, this series dares to display the painful economic and social realities of recent college graduates of 2012. It is easy to identify with and care about every character, even though some characters are indeed harsh; Hannah's mother may seem cruel, but if my daughter were sitting in front of me, high on Opium, asking for $1100 per month, I would be harsh too. Where this show is really spot on is its portrayal of how young women view relationships with men; they complain about guys who are insensitive and uncaring, yet they sleep with these very men - then a woman who has a nice boyfriend jokes that "he has a vagina". Expand
  9. May 30, 2012
    10
    This series is a must see for both young adults as well as parents. For once there is a show that actually shows how girls are for real. From trivial drama to life changing decisions, through trying so incredibly hard to please other people just to be loved and all that self obsessed me, me, me indulgence that most 20 somethings have to go through at some point in order to pass into adult life, wiser and hopefully as a better person. It's witty, right to the point and very addictive, with characters that you love to hate and then love some more. And most of all; it sure is a breath of fresh air for all those girls and women out there trying to fit their feet in to Carries expensive uncomfortable shoes, thinking life is like "Sex and the City", when actually for most people, it is more like "Girls". Watch, and love! Expand
  10. May 31, 2012
    9
    I wasn't expecting much when I began watching the first episode, but it took me by surprise. The writing is quite clever and I was really impressed by Lena Dunham who is not only the show's creator, but one of the main characters. She's witty, self-deprecating, and raw. As a New Yorker and someone who understands this generation, this show is a genuine portrayal of white, female over-privilaged post-graduates. You sympathize with them and at the same time you cringe at them. Definitely give this show a go. Expand
  11. Apr 29, 2012
    10
    Girls is a triumph of excellent directing, memorable dialogue and characters who are as close to a realistic interpretation of many today's young adults as you're going to get on any TV show. The opening scene of the first episode sets the tone for the main character and the whole show; this is not a character designed to be "likable" or "relatable" to a large audience, it's a character to study and a character to laugh at. The amount of self-delusion, entitlement and awkwardness is a perfect recipe for comedic situations and dialogue on almost every front. Just from two episodes it's obvious HBO has hit the jackpot with this one. I'm just incredibly disappointed at the audience members who actually think a character being "unlikable" is a bad thing. Expand
  12. May 7, 2012
    10
    Don't understand the recent backlash against this show. I wish I didn't have to compare it to Sex and the City, but all the critics already are. In short this show is for 20-somethings what Sex and the City tried to be for 30-something career women. Whats more, Girls seems to be attracting fans from both sexes, which I don't think you could claim about Sex and the City.

    It's thoughtful
    and specific, it's seinfeldian in its quick discovery and interrogation of a world with completely new mannerisms - ones now found in the wild ubiquity of smart phones, laptops, mp3 players.

    It also presents four very different, well-rounded, and interesting characters in believable situations. For all those who are immediately turned off by the critique that the show is "white people problems", I'd ask why you weren't talking about that when sex and the city was on. Next, I'll have some questions for you about any cop, doctor, or lawyer show you might watch (they inevitably feature lead characters who are just as white as those in Girls, but a lot more rich, judging by their apartments.

    There is a totally different sociality which this generation interfaces with - it is tragedy and destabilizing anxiety that eventually leads to self criticism for feeling bad. A weird kind of neurosis in which you're unsure how to characterize the experience - am I sad? - have I a right to be sad? Even the feelings are afterthoughts. Girls is the first show I've seen to generate that in a pitch perfect way - the showender that was funny on its face, but for some reason, made you feel depressed and incapable as well.
    Expand
  13. Jun 22, 2012
    10
    What an amazing show!

    Being a female in her mid 20's there wasn't one episode in it that I could not relate to or laugh at. Sometimes it was sad, sometimes hilarious, and always entertaining. My boyfriend loved this show just as much as I did and we absolutely loved the finale.

    This is refreshing to see the reality of being a girl in her early to mid 20's, almost like a Sex and the
    City, with less glamour and more realistic scenarios.

    From the struggles of finding yourself, finding a career, a relationship, friendship and gaining respect as an individual, they definitely have my life pinned down and will truly miss this show until Season 2 airs.
    Expand
  14. Jun 30, 2012
    10
    The best thing that I can say about Girls is that it is genuinely funny. It's the antithesis and the facsimile of Sex and the City at the same time. It's Woody Allen meets Louie CK but with a vagina. Girls is a great piece of television.
  15. Jan 11, 2014
    9
    Really funny and believable, though it seems as if Lena Dunham is in love with herself, especially towards the season's end. There's reason to like or dislike characters and that's all part of the charm due to the realism. Many odd moments will occur throughout the show and will show off some of those embarrassing feelings which you have kept hidden inside of you, that alone is a good reason to watch. Expand
  16. Apr 23, 2012
    10
    Ignore the nay-Sayers: "Girls" is brilliant and Lena Dunham is a major talent. Painfully, brutally honest and, above all, funny. You will see yourself somewhere in the first two episodes.
  17. Jun 18, 2012
    9
    The amount of times I've been forced to watch The OC or Gossip Girls in my life makes me sick. I have found entertainment through the ridiculous and contrived situations on those shows like an episode of Jersey Shore. But now! Finally, a silly little show about boys and girls that is so entertaining and relateable I find myself ruminating on the situations of the characters for hours after. It's weird and I love it! Collapse
  18. Jul 27, 2012
    10
    It is subtly funny and audacious. When I watched the first episode, I wasn't that impressed, but it grew on me over time to the point where I actually looked forward to watching the newest episode. Jessa is the highlight.
  19. Jul 11, 2012
    10
    Usually I pay metacritic's user score more heed than I do the actual critic score. This is because I find people obsessed with critic ratings to be the best critics out there. They know not to put all your eggs in the basket of one critic, but coming to metacritic also means they appreciate incite that critics offer. In the case of Girls, the metacritic user base has completely and utterly failed me. I have not seen such an innovative style for a show in a long time. The humor is wry and witty, while somehow managing to be equally vulgar. The issues and the characters feel real. I was not going to give this show a chance after I saw the extremely low Metacritic user score (at the time it was like 5.X), but my wife loved it, so I gave it a try. I'm really glad I did because it by far my favorite comedy of 2012. Expand
  20. Apr 22, 2012
    10
    I first learned about this new TV show while watching an episode of Chelsea Lately, where Lena Dunham was the special guest on the show. I was intrigued by the way Chelsea Handler raved about this show that I decided to give it a try and watch it. From the beginning scene of the daughter and parents sitting at the dinner table, as the parents proceed to tell their daughter she's being financially cut off, I feel most 20 something year olds can relate very well to this scene. The writing on this show is one of a kind, yes this show is geared more towards woman, nevertheless this show has spunk, and I highly recommended it to my friends or to at least give it a try. Expand
  21. Apr 15, 2012
    10
    I usually hate and I mean passionately hate shows like this, however...This show lives up to it's hype. Thoughtfully written and the jokes vary from lighthearted to unexpectedly hilarious. Count me in for episode 2.
  22. Apr 17, 2012
    10
    Let's remember that a lot of people use their DVR and may not have watched this show on Sunday night but perhaps watched it and thoroughly enjoyed it on Monday night. This show is so funny! I really like the show. The girls are "real". Not everyone is a size 0 in the world nor does everyone have wealthy families that help them forever. I am really looking forward to the next episode. I don't know where the 87 came from. I would definitely give it at least a 99. Expand
  23. May 16, 2012
    10
    The clever dialogue is enough to keep me entertained, but the characters are so well crafted that I can't help but care deeply for them. I await each episode with great anticipation.
  24. May 16, 2012
    10
    For every positive review there is one that is absolutely scathing. I have never seen a such a divisive show! Personally, I adore 'Girls', and hope it continues to receive the critical acclaim it deserves. Lena Dunham has done a tremendous job for someone with such little experience. Bravo!
  25. May 29, 2012
    10
    I found GIrls to be a refreshing comedy. The jokes are hilarious and scenes very real. Unlike several modern comedies, the characters feel very real, and relatable. The scenes can be very awkward - but don't leave me hiding under my cover in embarrassment.
  26. Jun 3, 2012
    10
    Perhaps not for everyone, but this is one of the best and realest shows on TV. The acting is fantastic, the show is not glossy, there is not a thankfully not a laugh track, and even though the show is set in NYC, those who did not live in NYC will relate to at least parts of it. Many of us have fortunately or unfortunately known lots of girls just like these girls and Girls is highly unafraid to show what we might not want to see, but we did see anyways. We could possibly live without seeing Lena Dunham naked, but then were we really all sleeping with supermodels in our mid 20's? Probably not. It takes a lot to really connect, but Girls does just that. The critics are right on this one. Expand
  27. Mar 10, 2013
    10
    This is a brilliant show, well deserving of its critical acclaim. Of course you will always have the simpletons who don't "get" shows unless they're completely dumbed down, like 2 Broke Girls or Grey's Anatomy. For those of us who appreciate something edgy, smart, funny unique, this show is fantastic. Something I read online that rings so true: "People are understandably envious of Dunham's success. Hell, I know I am! But she is successful and the show is successful because she is cool as hell. She is funny, insightful, and most of all, devastatingly honest. She lets it ALL hang out there. It's not narcissism. It's art. And the fact that we're even having this discussion is proof that she is a genius. Good art makes you think about things. Dunham makes us think. She makes us laugh. And she entertains us. What's not to love?"

    Lena is brilliant fantastic I hope the show has many more seasons on HBO!
    Expand
  28. Mar 20, 2013
    9
    At first I thought this was going to be stupid. I'm usually like that with the pilot of any new show, so I said well let me watch the next episode and its kinda funny to me. *shrugz*
  29. Jun 30, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This show surprised me. The writing is snarky, funny, occasionally emotional, and very real. The portrayal of the characters is not entirely sympathetic. Yes, they are whiny, self-absorbed daddy's girls sometimes, but they are also caring, sensitive, and thoughtful. This is a very introspective portrait of the millennial generation: often maligned and misunderstood, over-educated and under-employed, feeling always in transition because they never seem to be doing what they pictured themselves doing as adults when they were 16. I relate to this show not because I live in New York, but because I identify with the struggle of the protagonists. I understand what it's like to be between jobs, to get pressure from parents to just "get a job", to not know what I want to do "when I grow up".
    In addition, Girls is possibly the most feminist series I have ever watched. While Sex and the City was overly focused on superficiality and consumerism, Girls deals with real, messed-up human beings, and all the trouble and baggage that comes with them. Their lives do not revolve around their significant others, and they talk to each other about things like STDs, abortion, gay rights, racism and unemployment. That alone is a feat, given that most female-driven series are overly focused on getting a man and keeping him around. These women feel like real people that I know. Hannah especially is a relatable character because she is possibly the first average-looking body I have ever seen on television. But she owns her body. She traipses around New York in short shorts ("one could go their whole life wearing short shorts and offend almost no one") and dresses without a care in the world. She stress eats, which everyone does once in a blue moon and nobody admits to. In the way it deals with body image alone, Girls is high on my list of feminist dramedy. My boyfriend watches this show with me and is also addicted to it.

    A+++++
    Expand
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: Diane Garrett
    Jan 15, 2014
    80
    Overall, the season gets off to a very strong--and interesting--start. The writing is deepening along with the relationships depicted.
  2. Reviewed by: Bruce Miller
    May 29, 2013
    80
    Girls was great last year. But this season it just got a little bit better.
  3. 80
    Four episodes in, and Girls is still packing tons of jaw-dropping, head-shaking, eyebrow-raising scenes into 30 minutes each Sunday night.