Girls : Season 1

  • Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 15, 2012
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 342 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 73 out of 342

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Apr 16, 2012
    8
    Like musiqfanatic, I was prepared to be strongly annoyed by the show - the lead character in particular. But the first episode won me over. There's an authentic, non-cliched feel to it. I'm looking forward to getting to know her and her circle of friends. One issue - I like Peter Scolari as her father, but her mother is a miss. I won't get specific as to the why - it's too harsh.
  2. Mar 20, 2013
    10
    Go with the critics on this one; this is another superb show from the always reliable HBO. Lena Dunham has an incredible ear for realistic and interesting dialogue. That alone would be enough for me to watch, but where the show truly shines is in its characters. they are all so strange yet relatable, and frustrating but hopelessly sympathetic. 9.5/10
  3. Dec 23, 2012
    7
    Remember the four Manhattan based women on Sex and the City? Splashing the cash to keep up with the fashion and attending NY's most glamorous parties? Forget them. Four girls in New York is where the similarities end. These girls live in Brooklyn, struggle to pay rent and are more likely to attend parties in warehouses.

    Based on some of her own experiences, Lena Durham (who plays lead
    Remember the four Manhattan based women on Sex and the City? Splashing the cash to keep up with the fashion and attending NY's most glamorous parties? Forget them. Four girls in New York is where the similarities end. These girls live in Brooklyn, struggle to pay rent and are more likely to attend parties in warehouses.

    Based on some of her own experiences, Lena Durham (who plays lead character Hannah) created and wrote the show, as well as directing five of the ten episodes. She deserves credit for writing such a fresh take on the 'girls story'. The girls in question are not always at their glamorous best, crude, promiscuous and are supported by a witty and often hilarious script. Their day to day issues are largely trivial, Hannah's parents cut her off financially, Marnie's boyfriend is too perfect, Shoshanna is a virgin and Jessa returns from travelling unhappy at adapting to the real world. Despite this, the script makes these trivial storylines more than amusing and the pure oddness of the supporting characters, mainly Adam (Adam Driver), really helps. One guy decides not have to have sex with Shoshanna when he discovers she's a virgin because "virgins get attached. Or they bleed.". To which she replies, "I'm a totally unattached bleeder". Chris O'Dowd makes a hilarious cameo in a later episode as a wealthy businessman who gets agonisingly close to having a ménage a trois with Jessa and Marnie, only for it to fall apart before his eyes and actually be more annoyed that the girls spilt wine onto his expensive rug.
    Expand
  4. Sep 24, 2016
    9
    With its amazing directing and talented cast, Girls depicts reality. As one might think those fours girls with completely different personalities might be a bit cliche; but instead, brings their relationships together along with concerning situations that makes it even more real.
  5. Aug 22, 2013
    0
    Intrigued by rave reviews and against my best judgement, I decided to give it a go. Turns out, this show is just as bad as I expected. The story revolves around four younger, poorer and charm-free versions of the notorious Sex & the City women.
    Said "girls" are depressed (and depressing) whiners, unable to earn a living and clueless about life and love. Granted we were probably behaving
    Intrigued by rave reviews and against my best judgement, I decided to give it a go. Turns out, this show is just as bad as I expected. The story revolves around four younger, poorer and charm-free versions of the notorious Sex & the City women.
    Said "girls" are depressed (and depressing) whiners, unable to earn a living and clueless about life and love. Granted we were probably behaving in a similar irrational way during our twenties, however, I do not watch TV shows to be reminded of the most difficult time of my life.
    The sex scenes are cringe-inducing. Probably more "realistic" than your average filmed, mainstream sex, but then again, who needs to witness so many scenes of humiliation and awkwardness?
    I can vaguely see the appeal for those in the same age-frame. I see none for everybody else. About the rave reviews… honestly no clue whatsoever how they got to be written.
    Expand
  6. Feb 3, 2014
    8
    Not everyone's cup of tea to put it lightly, Lena Dunham's, "Girls" may come off as overly sympathetic to its at times obnoxious and self-indulgent cast however, there is no denying the humorous and clever dialogue that exists. The whole concept of such dislikable characters is intentionally done and the actual charm of the show providing a realistic outlook of your typical irrationalNot everyone's cup of tea to put it lightly, Lena Dunham's, "Girls" may come off as overly sympathetic to its at times obnoxious and self-indulgent cast however, there is no denying the humorous and clever dialogue that exists. The whole concept of such dislikable characters is intentionally done and the actual charm of the show providing a realistic outlook of your typical irrational young-adult acting like a monkey. It in the end works for me. Expand
  7. Jun 14, 2015
    0
    Girls is: the opposite of subtle and just not funny; it is crude, vulgar, obvious, uncreative, and full of negativity and unsympathetic, uninteresting characters. If I don't like a character, it's difficult to care what happens to them. And so all the drama surrounding them falls flat, doesn't matter. Because they are simply people I would be happy never to meet. Their self involvedGirls is: the opposite of subtle and just not funny; it is crude, vulgar, obvious, uncreative, and full of negativity and unsympathetic, uninteresting characters. If I don't like a character, it's difficult to care what happens to them. And so all the drama surrounding them falls flat, doesn't matter. Because they are simply people I would be happy never to meet. Their self involved problems are of no concern to me. All around it's a gross show. The fault is clearly with the writing. I watched a few episodes before I gave up on it. It makes you feel like taking a shower afterward to clear the ick out of your mind, cleanse your spirit, so you can put it behind you and get on with your life. Expand
  8. Aug 14, 2013
    7
    While Girls is pretty humorous at times, clever during others, and occasionally emotionally involving, it's far too sympathetic toward its selfish, self involved characters.
    The first episode showed great amounts of potential, and it does live up to part of that potential, but later down the line (especially during the second season), it's far to difficult to care any which way for our
    While Girls is pretty humorous at times, clever during others, and occasionally emotionally involving, it's far too sympathetic toward its selfish, self involved characters.
    The first episode showed great amounts of potential, and it does live up to part of that potential, but later down the line (especially during the second season), it's far to difficult to care any which way for our main characters along with her friends because, in all honesty, the show actually expects us to sympathize with them.
    There's nothing wrong with featuring a cast of spoiled, selfish, self involved characters. Arrested Development did that with glorious results. The downfall in Girls comes in the fact that we're actually expected to sympathize with these character's trivialities, which is a real shame.
    I will say though, that this show is very realistic, more than one might expect, and it doesn't ever become overly sappy, which makes it worth while.
    Expand
  9. Apr 19, 2012
    3
    I'm not a big fan of nepotism, but I'm fair and will give credit where credit is due. That said, there is very little credit due here. Just rich kids trying to feel something real, giving up and just faking it. A lot of critics will give a project credit because of its pedigree. It's called the Halo Effect, when something's value is raised just because of the hands that touched it.I'm not a big fan of nepotism, but I'm fair and will give credit where credit is due. That said, there is very little credit due here. Just rich kids trying to feel something real, giving up and just faking it. A lot of critics will give a project credit because of its pedigree. It's called the Halo Effect, when something's value is raised just because of the hands that touched it. That's happening here and people will continue to defend it for a while but as the viewers flee so will all support. It's technically polished but still just a fart in the wind. Expand
  10. Apr 23, 2012
    2
    There seems to be a kind of knee jerk response from critics to many HBO shows: they must be good because they are HBO. Meanwhile, as here, there is a definite disconnect between professional critics and viewers. My bias runs the other way.. Based on history -- The Sopranos, The Wire, Sex and the City, Curb your Enthusiasm, etc. -- I take a more "prove it" stance. I want HBO to prove itThere seems to be a kind of knee jerk response from critics to many HBO shows: they must be good because they are HBO. Meanwhile, as here, there is a definite disconnect between professional critics and viewers. My bias runs the other way.. Based on history -- The Sopranos, The Wire, Sex and the City, Curb your Enthusiasm, etc. -- I take a more "prove it" stance. I want HBO to prove it still has it. This is the cable network that set the bar after all. "Girls" is simply not up to standards. Watch the first scene again. If this were not HBO, and you hadn't been told by critics and others that it is fantastic, would you watch beyond that scene? Expand
  11. Nov 21, 2012
    7
    It's a love-hate relationship with "Sex and the City" that Lena Dunham explores in "Girls". The thing is, yes, not everyone is Carrie from that show, but most people aren't Lena Dunham either which seems to be the thing the show forgets. Thankfully, the over-honesty is mostly endearing and Dunham is as likable as she could be playing what I'd assume is herself.
  12. Jun 14, 2012
    10
    I started watching this show a few days back, just decided to give it a shot after such superb critical acclaim and a very shocking awful response by viewers which is something i hate because they love Gossip Girl and PLL but hate "One of the Best Comedy Show of all time" no kidding this show rocks. Lena Dunham is a real genius, very supremely talented, she created it, writes it, directedI started watching this show a few days back, just decided to give it a shot after such superb critical acclaim and a very shocking awful response by viewers which is something i hate because they love Gossip Girl and PLL but hate "One of the Best Comedy Show of all time" no kidding this show rocks. Lena Dunham is a real genius, very supremely talented, she created it, writes it, directed a few episodes and is a executive producer. HBO always comes up with great TV shows but this is something else, last year was Enlightened and now Girls. The very raw, raunchy, bold, dark and yet quite touching, funny and utterly lovable nature of this show makes it one of the best offerings. They aren't just rich and spoiled because they actually work, or on the verge of becoming responsible, this is based on actual realistic experiences and shows much closer the life of ordinary GIRLS in New York. A brilliant effort, i truly love this show and very happy for Lena Dunham. Expand
  13. Jan 27, 2013
    8
    I was apprehensive when I first started watching "Girls", but as the season progressed I became increasingly intrigued by the show, and after finishing the 1st season I realize how good it really was. Some other users have complained about it "not being up to HBO standards", but I believe in all its simplicity it actually shines by being completely straightforward, not hiding anything inI was apprehensive when I first started watching "Girls", but as the season progressed I became increasingly intrigued by the show, and after finishing the 1st season I realize how good it really was. Some other users have complained about it "not being up to HBO standards", but I believe in all its simplicity it actually shines by being completely straightforward, not hiding anything in it's depiction of a group of mid 20s girls living a glamour-less New York lifestyle. Expand
  14. Feb 5, 2015
    4
    My Life as a Bad Script
    (28 January 2014)
    HBO is sliding. It once had brisk, wobbly comedies punctuated with F- bombs; and slow engaging dramas with a splatter and glimpse of blood and boobs (in True Blood's case, blood on boobs). Now the reverse is true. The spice is the essence and the content is half-baked. Thus proving that quality drama and comedy are difficult to construct on a
    My Life as a Bad Script
    (28 January 2014)

    HBO is sliding. It once had brisk, wobbly comedies punctuated with F- bombs; and slow engaging dramas with a splatter and glimpse of blood and boobs (in True Blood's case, blood on boobs). Now the reverse is true. The spice is the essence and the content is half-baked. Thus proving that quality drama and comedy are difficult to construct on a regular basis. Girls is a case in point. It started out fresh and blunt, daring and original, but has evolved into an exercise of desperate story- telling. The self-evident, honest precociousness of the first season has become conspicuously pretentious with little foresight and even less insight. Sudden character traits fall from the sky (the OC disorder), the plot twists are cliché (girl friend disappears) and themes of love and friendship are often sketchy and stranded. Girls went from good bad to bad bad within three short seasons. The only reason I continue to watch Girls is because of Boy, namely, Adam Driver. He is the only authentic quirk in the ensemble of ever-so-shallow dead-beat characters. (I'd pay to see him headline a series with Greta Gerwig). Girls would be infinitely more appealing if Lena "aren't-I-adorable?" Dunham just wrote herself out of it. Better yet, if someone else wrote her out of it. Otherwise, HBO should cancel this one before it embarrasses itself any further.
    Expand
  15. Jun 10, 2012
    10
    It's so funny to read the negative user reviews for Girls - 'nepotism!' they cry, 'RICH SPOILT WHITE PEOPLE' they screech, 'HBO what have you done - have you gone mad?' they whine. Get a grip. This show is refreshing and brilliant and funny and edgy. Sure - the characters aren't all loveable and perfect all of the time - but then, who is? Anyone comparing this show to Sex & the City isIt's so funny to read the negative user reviews for Girls - 'nepotism!' they cry, 'RICH SPOILT WHITE PEOPLE' they screech, 'HBO what have you done - have you gone mad?' they whine. Get a grip. This show is refreshing and brilliant and funny and edgy. Sure - the characters aren't all loveable and perfect all of the time - but then, who is? Anyone comparing this show to Sex & the City is doing it a disservice - in SATC you have 4 one dimensional characters who you never believe could be friends in a real-life situation (they're so different to each other in such obvious ways that they wouldn't last a minute in each other's company), however, in GIRLS, the characters have real and complicated emotions, they are sometimes disloyal, they can be selfish and they make stupid decisions - but they can also be supportive and sweet and the kind of friend you would want to have on your side. All of the naysayers could be male because every female I know absolutely loves this show - perhaps seeing females as normal people who look like they forgot to shave their legs and may not have showered today turns their stomach a bit. If you are a fan of shows like Freaks & Geeks or the 'mumblecore' style of movie making, watch this. If you're not - steer clear or you will be outraged (read the red reviews for a comedic demonstration of utter indignation and unbounded fury). Expand
  16. Sep 3, 2012
    10
    OMG. How could the user reviews be so wrong? How can *The Wire*, with its droll attempt at reality, outrank this show with users? Bizarre. If you haven't seen this show, please try it out. It's so honest and likeable. I watched the whole first season over labor day weekend. My fav line: "I am 13 pounds overweight and it has been awful for me my whole life!" The show feels like an attemptOMG. How could the user reviews be so wrong? How can *The Wire*, with its droll attempt at reality, outrank this show with users? Bizarre. If you haven't seen this show, please try it out. It's so honest and likeable. I watched the whole first season over labor day weekend. My fav line: "I am 13 pounds overweight and it has been awful for me my whole life!" The show feels like an attempt to portray everything embarrassing about being a girl in her 20's, while somehow still finding acceptance and joy. Expand
  17. Sep 12, 2012
    10
    I feel that I have to defend the show. Don't get me wrong I don't think it was the perfect start for a freshman series. It was very good, though. It showed how it feels to be young, confused, bold, dreamer, a failure, in love, and above all humane in the city that never sleeps in 2012 where everything is possible and thus in question. By the end of the season finale, I was quite impressedI feel that I have to defend the show. Don't get me wrong I don't think it was the perfect start for a freshman series. It was very good, though. It showed how it feels to be young, confused, bold, dreamer, a failure, in love, and above all humane in the city that never sleeps in 2012 where everything is possible and thus in question. By the end of the season finale, I was quite impressed by the universe Mrs. Dunham created and I anticipate the next season eagerly. P.S For those of you who think the protagonist is ugly well...It's not Sex And The City!!! Expand
  18. May 6, 2012
    3
    OMG I can not believe this show has such strong reviews. Plus it's not just on TV it's on HBO so it must be good. Well, it's not! I watched the first episode and didn't enjoy it at all. But it was highly rated and on HBO so I thought I would give it another chance. I then watched the second episode all the way through and that was it. I can take no more. There is nothing interesting aboutOMG I can not believe this show has such strong reviews. Plus it's not just on TV it's on HBO so it must be good. Well, it's not! I watched the first episode and didn't enjoy it at all. But it was highly rated and on HBO so I thought I would give it another chance. I then watched the second episode all the way through and that was it. I can take no more. There is nothing interesting about this show at all. At least from my point of view. Expand
  19. Apr 18, 2012
    1
    This is legitimately one of the worst shows I have ever seen on television, and it frightens me that HBO would have this on their otherwise respectable network. I am in awe that Judd Apatow was involved with this, as he's usually hilarious. The acting is stale, the lead characters are privileged, dumb and annoying and there is scarcely any humour to the show. It's just about a pathetic,This is legitimately one of the worst shows I have ever seen on television, and it frightens me that HBO would have this on their otherwise respectable network. I am in awe that Judd Apatow was involved with this, as he's usually hilarious. The acting is stale, the lead characters are privileged, dumb and annoying and there is scarcely any humour to the show. It's just about a pathetic, whiny rich girl. If you think this is intelligent humour, you're probably the type of person who reads "Into Thin Air" and thinks they've climbed everest. Poor writing, poor acting, poor everything. This is extremely shallow, unintelligent, bland, repetitive crap. Stay away. Expand
  20. Sep 8, 2012
    9
    i thought this comedy was one of the best new shows of the season. im glad it got renewed. the only bad thing about Girls is the constant attention to Hannah (Lena Dunham). I want to know about the other characters not just her.
  21. Feb 14, 2013
    4
    I watched the entire first season of Girls to make sure I wasn't missing anything. After the final episode concluded I was left confused why so many critics gave this show glowing reviews. It has moments that are interesting, but they are maybe 2-3 minutes per episode in length. I also was unable to connect with any of the characters since the show did its best to make them all equallyI watched the entire first season of Girls to make sure I wasn't missing anything. After the final episode concluded I was left confused why so many critics gave this show glowing reviews. It has moments that are interesting, but they are maybe 2-3 minutes per episode in length. I also was unable to connect with any of the characters since the show did its best to make them all equally unlikable. For me, Girls is one of those shows where the numerous critics glowing praise was completely off base. Expand
  22. Apr 24, 2012
    9
    Let me just say, I love this show. Although there are only two episodes, this skilled ensemble has managed to be incredibly involving, funny, and surprisingly substantial- which many funny shows often forget to do. It is a brilliant commentary on the life of a middle-class girl trying navigate the struggle for independence in a time when a college degree is about as useful as, let's say, aLet me just say, I love this show. Although there are only two episodes, this skilled ensemble has managed to be incredibly involving, funny, and surprisingly substantial- which many funny shows often forget to do. It is a brilliant commentary on the life of a middle-class girl trying navigate the struggle for independence in a time when a college degree is about as useful as, let's say, a curling iron. I love the witty banter and utter lack of pretense. I hope that it only gets better, as I think it will! Collapse
  23. Apr 16, 2012
    10
    Girls is a great work not only of television but of literature of the English language. While other TV shows portray young people as having lives of wealth, glamor, and hot sex, this series dares to display the painful economic and social realities of recent college graduates of 2012. It is easy to identify with and care about every character, even though some characters are indeedGirls is a great work not only of television but of literature of the English language. While other TV shows portray young people as having lives of wealth, glamor, and hot sex, this series dares to display the painful economic and social realities of recent college graduates of 2012. It is easy to identify with and care about every character, even though some characters are indeed harsh; Hannah's mother may seem cruel, but if my daughter were sitting in front of me, high on Opium, asking for $1100 per month, I would be harsh too. Where this show is really spot on is its portrayal of how young women view relationships with men; they complain about guys who are insensitive and uncaring, yet they sleep with these very men - then a woman who has a nice boyfriend jokes that "he has a vagina". Expand
  24. Apr 28, 2012
    7
    After two episodes although interesting I'm just not sure I can stay with it for much longer as the repetitiveness has already begun. I hope the brilliant writer, Lena Dunham, can continue to rip but I'm skeptical. Interesting show so far though.
  25. Jul 26, 2012
    8
    Definitely a conversation worthy show for anyone in their 20s. As the season progresses the characters are easier to understand and are more sympathetic. Lena hits topics that no other writer on TV has hit. Hopefully this show does not become Bored to Death or even Eastbound as it is most likely this decade's Sex and the City.
  26. Mar 29, 2013
    1
    I think this show is just a Lena Dunham vanity project. It's self indulgent and certainly not a reflection of reality for young people, as others suggest. It's about poor little privileged girls, living the hipster lifestyle and not being particularly funny or interesting. I also find it quite odd that it's completely white washed when it's supposedly set in New York City which happens toI think this show is just a Lena Dunham vanity project. It's self indulgent and certainly not a reflection of reality for young people, as others suggest. It's about poor little privileged girls, living the hipster lifestyle and not being particularly funny or interesting. I also find it quite odd that it's completely white washed when it's supposedly set in New York City which happens to be one of the most diverse places in America, let alone Brooklyn. I mean, even the background actors are all white. I think the alleged feminism is also very misguided. Expand
  27. Apr 22, 2012
    0
    WHY ON EARTH WOULD ANYONE WANT TO WATCH A SHOW ABOUT RICH SPOILED WHITE PEOPLE? NOTHING IS GOOD ABOUT THIS SHOW AND THE CRITICS ARE DON'T HAVE A CLUE WHAT'S GOOD OR BAD.
  28. Feb 17, 2013
    2
    Over-rated self-conscious self-obsessed show about unsympathetic over-privileged girls. So what's to like? My god, these girls are in the 5% of the world and well into the 1% of the world. Why would anyone care about their whining?
  29. May 9, 2012
    5
    This is a tough show to love, but not easy to hate either. Yes, the characters do come off as spoiled babies for the most part, and their problems seem pretty shallow compared to what others in this country are going through right now. At the same time, I would be lying (and I think some of you other reviewers would be, too) if I didn't admit I see at least some of my own (unfortunate,This is a tough show to love, but not easy to hate either. Yes, the characters do come off as spoiled babies for the most part, and their problems seem pretty shallow compared to what others in this country are going through right now. At the same time, I would be lying (and I think some of you other reviewers would be, too) if I didn't admit I see at least some of my own (unfortunate, but still real) everyday shallowness within these characters. In that sense, it's hard for me to be too judgemental of them, lest I be a hypocrite. However, I would like to see these characters grow and become less shallow as their lives go on. Not that the (mostly) witty dialogue or smart situations need to change in the process, but I don't want to see characters a couple of seasons from now (if by some chance this show makes it that far) that are just as narcissistic as they are now. Overall, I think "Girls" has promise but is a long way off from being something great. Expand
  30. Apr 29, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. They should just title this show Sex and the City: Next Generation but that would insult the former show. What is it about a fantasy New York setting that captivates women to make them actually move to New York to try to create this fantasy that doesn't exist? Stay in the suburbs spoiled white women this is not the real New York. Sex and the City at least had likable characters. I was hoping all of them would get run over by a NYC taxicab. It is amazing how the 4 characters fit right into the Sex and the City stereotype characters. Oh the one that is a virgin is soooo Charlotte and so on. This is waste of earth resources. Expand
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: Diane Garrett
    Jan 15, 2014
    80
    Overall, the season gets off to a very strong--and interesting--start. The writing is deepening along with the relationships depicted.
  2. Reviewed by: Bruce Miller
    May 29, 2013
    80
    Girls was great last year. But this season it just got a little bit better.
  3. 80
    Four episodes in, and Girls is still packing tons of jaw-dropping, head-shaking, eyebrow-raising scenes into 30 minutes each Sunday night.