Girls : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 15, 2012
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
Girls Image
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 367 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Hannah, Jessa, Marnie, and Shoshanna are four 20-something girls living in New York and trying to figure out life, love, and themselves in the HBO series created by Lena Dunham.
  • Genre(s): Comedy

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Apr 12, 2012
    100
    It definitely has a voice, and it's a great one: witty and wise and warm and not exactly like anything you've heard before.
  2. 100
    From the moment I saw the pilot of Girls, I was a goner, a convert.
  3. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Apr 16, 2012
    100
    It's a raw, ironic, occasionally touching comedy of post-millennial manners. [23 Apr 2012, p.37]
  4. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Apr 16, 2012
    83
    Many young women, if they're being honest, will see themselves here. And many parents will see their daughters.
  5. Reviewed by: Bruce Miller
    May 29, 2013
    80
    Girls was great last year. But this season it just got a little bit better.
  6. Reviewed by: Sarah Rodman
    Apr 16, 2012
    80
    Dunham manages to ties the grimaces and grins together with a comedic sensibility that allows you to see these characters as they are with all their irritating and contradictory behavior, but still root for them as they feel their way into adulthood.
  7. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Apr 12, 2012
    50
    These gals are at times so self-absorbed it's difficult to feel much for them when things don't go their way.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 79
  2. Negative: 30 out of 79
  1. May 2, 2016
    10
    This show is arguably the best TV show of our generation. The girls could not be more relatable. In each female friend group of the 21stThis show is arguably the best TV show of our generation. The girls could not be more relatable. In each female friend group of the 21st century, there is a Marnie, a Jessa, a Shoshauna, and a Hannah, to varying degrees. The characters are not one-dimensional at all; they are incredibly complex, they make a lot of mistakes, and their actions and behaviours are sometimes very contradictory. And that's OK, because that makes them very real. Usually people don't like this show because they are put off by Hannah, or think Marnie is annoying, or think the characters are narcissists... But that is the reality of our generation, we are narcissists. And to be put off by Hannah? That probably means that you are most likely "a Hannah" and you are uncomfortable watching yourself. But you shouldn't be uncomfortable. This is a very "real" show, and none of the characters are "right" or "wrong", Lena Dunham is simply exploring the many different types of "twenty-somethings" we usually come across in our lives.
    I have watched this show when it first came out, but I have rewatched it recently and I was very impressed by the character progression throughout the seasons. Also, the writing is INCREDIBLE! There are some hilarious one-liners that I know by heart because they were so iconic. I am very sad that this show is ending soon, and I wish they carry on, or create a sequel called "Women" because it is too good to end so soon!!!!
    Expand
  2. Apr 23, 2012
    10
    Ignore the nay-Sayers: "Girls" is brilliant and Lena Dunham is a major talent. Painfully, brutally honest and, above all, funny. You willIgnore the nay-Sayers: "Girls" is brilliant and Lena Dunham is a major talent. Painfully, brutally honest and, above all, funny. You will see yourself somewhere in the first two episodes. Expand
  3. May 29, 2012
    10
    I found GIrls to be a refreshing comedy. The jokes are hilarious and scenes very real. Unlike several modern comedies, the characters feelI found GIrls to be a refreshing comedy. The jokes are hilarious and scenes very real. Unlike several modern comedies, the characters feel very real, and relatable. The scenes can be very awkward - but don't leave me hiding under my cover in embarrassment. Collapse
  4. Jun 4, 2012
    8
    As a 20-something female I did connect with these characters friendship. This show is very 'raw' and I was a tad shocked by some of theAs a 20-something female I did connect with these characters friendship. This show is very 'raw' and I was a tad shocked by some of the scenes, but on reflection I actually think this was the main reason why I like the show. Developing into a self sufficient adult is a messy, gross and heart breaking time of life, so the show has done well to represent that. Hannah's character's selfishness annoys me and I don't really like her very much. I didn't like Carrie Bradshaw much either so they must be mirrored in some way. It's different with good actors and a good base for growth so I have given it an 8. Expand
  5. Feb 14, 2013
    4
    I watched the entire first season of Girls to make sure I wasn't missing anything. After the final episode concluded I was left confused whyI watched the entire first season of Girls to make sure I wasn't missing anything. After the final episode concluded I was left confused why so many critics gave this show glowing reviews. It has moments that are interesting, but they are maybe 2-3 minutes per episode in length. I also was unable to connect with any of the characters since the show did its best to make them all equally unlikable. For me, Girls is one of those shows where the numerous critics glowing praise was completely off base. Expand
  6. Aug 21, 2014
    2
    this show is not worth typing the 120 minimum words. Let me start of by saying that, this show is incredibly hard to watch due to howthis show is not worth typing the 120 minimum words. Let me start of by saying that, this show is incredibly hard to watch due to how unlikeable all the characters are, starting by hanna. Expand
  7. Apr 16, 2017
    0
    Its been said that if the end of the world is near that ending began in Moscow. We need to update that. The beginning of the end of the worldIts been said that if the end of the world is near that ending began in Moscow. We need to update that. The beginning of the end of the world is right here, with these girls in this place. They are that hideous. God save us all. Expand

See all 79 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2012 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2012 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 12, 2012
    Track every year-end top-ten list published by major TV critics and publications, and view the overall composite standings for best TV show of 2012.
  2. Best and Worst New Shows of the 2011-12 TV Season

    Best and Worst New Shows of the 2011-12 TV Season Image
    Published: May 23, 2012
    We've reached the end of another TV season, so it's time once again for our annual look at the best and worst shows. Find out which first-year series impressed critics and users the most, and see how the major networks compared.