• Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: May 19, 2009
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5
User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 85 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 85
  2. Negative: 12 out of 85

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 14, 2012
    0
    Can't do it, nope, can't sit through one episode. -------------------------------------------------------------------
  2. Sep 14, 2012
    9
    It still may not be the magic that was season one, but it still holds together very well for the complex idea of multiple location of characters. Acting in the first episode was spot on for both Lea Michele and Chris Colfer but I have concerns about the newly added characters.
  3. Sep 27, 2012
    10
    From the second season till the third the Glee series was generally okay to me, there were some really great episodes, but now with Season 4's beginning the series is off to their rotes, They do bring a more mature sense to it, and I did love the Britney 2.0 episode and their interpretation of the songs.
  4. Sep 24, 2012
    7
    Yeah, I think it got better than the 3rd season failure. Failure may be a harsh word, but it was good only in the first episodes. Afterwards, it became dull. Season 4 opened a new perspective and it got better and stronger.
  5. Sep 27, 2012
    7
    Alright, so season 1 was great, season 2 was the best, then season 3, compared to the first 2 seasons was a disappointment but now so far season 4 is an improvement. So far its alot better than season 3, i like where its going and the new characters are great but im a little worried how they are going to carry the show. So far their are a few interesting storylines going on, like theAlright, so season 1 was great, season 2 was the best, then season 3, compared to the first 2 seasons was a disappointment but now so far season 4 is an improvement. So far its alot better than season 3, i like where its going and the new characters are great but im a little worried how they are going to carry the show. So far their are a few interesting storylines going on, like the puckerman brothers and Marley and her mother, and the feelings between her and jake puckerman but im not so sure how well these characters will hold up the rest of the season, but i do like where its going so far. Only time will tell, lets hope for a good season! 7.5/10 Expand
  6. Jan 8, 2013
    10
    4 years after and Glee is as powerful and as mature as one would hope for! The addition of a diversity of new characters, voices and the successful merging of school & university students has a magical effect! a straight 10 from me!
  7. Apr 12, 2013
    10
    this show is amazing i love this show shows everyone to be thereself and i love all the characters in season 4 and i love the songs to this is the best show i've ever watched
  8. Feb 22, 2014
    1
    Car crash of a season. underdeveloped characters with some doing head spinning 360s in personality (Blaine, I'm looking at you). I loved glee and I watched all this season, it was painful. I haven't even bothered to buy the blue ray of season 4 coz it was that bad. Really wish the writers would learn that they need to plot their story arcs pre season, not make them up as they goCar crash of a season. underdeveloped characters with some doing head spinning 360s in personality (Blaine, I'm looking at you). I loved glee and I watched all this season, it was painful. I haven't even bothered to buy the blue ray of season 4 coz it was that bad. Really wish the writers would learn that they need to plot their story arcs pre season, not make them up as they go depending on the ratings and whose hot at that moment in time. Oh yeah I nearly forgot, destroying a well established couple for no reason is also bad writing. Conflicts fine, but dont push the characters into acting out of character just to fit into your mi-shaped, badly thought out, script. Expand
  9. Dec 31, 2012
    7
    Ok. I love season 1, I hate season 2, I started to see a new horizont in season 3 and now this. Glee season 4 is may be the most uniteresting season of glee. ND won nationals, Rachel went to NYC, so, what's coming?. The idea of new version of ND is horrible, because there isn't new characters, they are copies of the old characters. I think it would be better a whole season in NYC withOk. I love season 1, I hate season 2, I started to see a new horizont in season 3 and now this. Glee season 4 is may be the most uniteresting season of glee. ND won nationals, Rachel went to NYC, so, what's coming?. The idea of new version of ND is horrible, because there isn't new characters, they are copies of the old characters. I think it would be better a whole season in NYC with Rachel, Kurt, Santana, Blaine. The people who love this show, love the old characters. Expand
  10. Feb 11, 2013
    3
    The problem with this fourth season is that now Glee is relying on characters that were never well developed (Tina, Sam, Blaine, Artie, Britney) they were always secondary characters to the main cast. So, they have these characters that are the only known characters, and a myriad of newer Glee kids that resemble and act like the stereotypes of the older characters that are missing. MoreThe problem with this fourth season is that now Glee is relying on characters that were never well developed (Tina, Sam, Blaine, Artie, Britney) they were always secondary characters to the main cast. So, they have these characters that are the only known characters, and a myriad of newer Glee kids that resemble and act like the stereotypes of the older characters that are missing. More than ever, this has become like Degrassi with high school drama that I don't care about. The first and second seasons had heart dealing not only with the teen's problems, but also the adults problems. Terry trying to take Quinn's baby and hiding it from Will, Emma being in love with Will, Quinn's baby really being Puck's but she was with Finn so she didn't want to admit it Quinn's whole journey as a character Finn's love for Rachel Rachel's obsession with being a star and everything taken down because they are TRULY the underdogs... One quote I loved from Emma Pillsbury is 'Sometimes I think we spend so much time around these kids that we start acting like them...' And I found that interesting. So much of the original seasons had a bite to them. Anymore, the kids aren't interesting, I don't know them, NONE of them act the way the should (why is Tina so hateful now and completely obsessed with hooking up with Blaine?) none of it makes sense. Now all I see is a cheerleader who practically killed Marley but nobody actually exposes the cheer girl? They all just constantly talk about how it was Marley's fault? Do I even know (or care) about the struggles of Unique? Do I know of any? No... How about the new Christian dude? Nope... Oh, and Puck Jr... uh huh, he's a watered down version of Puck who is in love with the Rachel girl... Sam who is becoming ever-dumber, which I did not think was the original conception, but the writers seem hell-bent on making a strange connection between him and Britney, and the other football player guy who is dyslexic (not gonna lie, that was a cool plot point) but is anything else done with that??? So, we have recycled cheerleader hating the Rachel girl plots, the punk being in love with Rachel and the cheerleader (sound familiar?) So all in all, this has been a grating season to try to watch. I loved Glee... I just wish they'd get back to what made it so neat in the first place, which was interesting characters, unexpected, character-driven plot points, and cohesiveness all around. Expand
  11. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    It has started very good and in a high note. Glee is returning with a very interesting way of seeing our lovely characters, now whe have the Ohio students and the New York stuff. At the very beginning I was not that happy, but seeing the results I cannot say it's been a bad thing or something. Drama is equal as the music, so it is a good move. Also acting is getting better and better,It has started very good and in a high note. Glee is returning with a very interesting way of seeing our lovely characters, now whe have the Ohio students and the New York stuff. At the very beginning I was not that happy, but seeing the results I cannot say it's been a bad thing or something. Drama is equal as the music, so it is a good move. Also acting is getting better and better, actors are growing up very fast and it is seen through the scenes in the TV show. Good for them. Expand
  12. Apr 16, 2013
    4
    I found myself able to sit through the first three shows of season 4, I originally thought the show had regained what it lost. However, it's dead weight now, and the recent school shooting episode was a tasteless attempt to keep this dying show on people's MSN home pages. I think it's time we let this show die already.
  13. Aug 5, 2013
    7
    The fourth season it's more interesting than the third season and it has new characters which is a good thing. it is entertaining and the songs are better but i am not really sure what will happen in the next seasons. I think in a little bit of time this series will be ending in a bitter way to the fans. And I like this show though it has some negative points
  14. Mar 11, 2014
    2
    Glee should have ended after season 3. It would have been great to do a spinoff with Rachel in New York. I enjoy seeing the sections of the show that concentrate on her character. But the scenes back at the high school are hard to sit through.
  15. May 3, 2014
    3
    The fourth season does try to make some positive changes. However, the producers continue to pull the same sloppy antics from last season at the expense of its veteran characters and original area of focus.
  16. Dec 16, 2014
    7
    Frankly speaking, it was not as good as the previous seasons. For me, Glee season 1 remains as a perfect drama. However, this one was not that good. For one reason, the story is improbable. I mean it has not so much relationships between events.(I'm sorry it's so subjective) Although, I love the characters and the numbers! Every numbers in this drama is wonderful! That's why I keep watching it.
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Oct 25, 2012
    75
    The high school stories are tighter-focused, and the Manhattan ones breathe with Broadway romanticism. [5 Nov 2012, p.42]
  2. Reviewed by: Gail Pennington
    Sep 17, 2012
    75
    The decision to have some students graduate was a smart one, and splitting the action between New York (where Lea Michele's Rachel Berry is attending NYADA, the New York Academy of Dramatic Arts) and Ohio (where the remaining members of New Directions are regrouping) turns out to have been even smarter.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Sep 13, 2012
    58
    [The] premiere serves as a rocky reboot to the once robust hit.