Glee : Season 1

  • Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: May 19, 2009
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 433 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 62 out of 433

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Apr 7, 2011
    6
    I refused to watch Glee the first season but was eventually forced to nearing it's season finale, and was pleasantly surprised. When it returned for it's sophomore season, I was again pleasantly surprised. Soon however, the cast and characters became too large, the show was unfocused, and the music started to get more and more economically focused (and I hate that they autotune the soulI refused to watch Glee the first season but was eventually forced to nearing it's season finale, and was pleasantly surprised. When it returned for it's sophomore season, I was again pleasantly surprised. Soon however, the cast and characters became too large, the show was unfocused, and the music started to get more and more economically focused (and I hate that they autotune the soul out of the cast). I still watched, and usually the show was entertaining and morally conscious but didn't preach. However, the writing got sloppy - there were episodes where main characters didn't show up (Sue Sylvester is completely absent in a few episodes), there were obvious cash-grabs (A Justin Bieber Episode? WTF?!), and in the Halloween episode the writers have Sue trying to kill some of her students. All in all this show seems to have jumped the shark, and has lost it's focus. I won't slam it, or recommend it, but I think I'm done watching the show until it regains what made the first season so great - clarity. Expand
  2. SarahH
    Sep 28, 2009
    4
    I went to an arts high school for singing- so I was excited to see a show that would remind me of my adolescent years. But it was terrible. The characters are way too over the top, the main characters singing voice is lame, and the hate between the cheerleader/jocks and the music kids was totally unrealistic. All in all I felt like the show was never going to end. Very disappointing.
  3. May 25, 2011
    5
    I love this show but even I have to admit it has gone downhill since the first part of season 1.

    Inconsistent plotlines, random character pairing. a lot of underused characters (tina, mercedes, mike etc.) More importantly, i hate that the focus of the show has always beeen finn and rachel. sure they're popular among the viewers but i'm sure a lot of people are sick of them hogging the
    I love this show but even I have to admit it has gone downhill since the first part of season 1.

    Inconsistent plotlines, random character pairing. a lot of underused characters (tina, mercedes, mike etc.)

    More importantly, i hate that the focus of the show has always beeen finn and rachel. sure they're popular among the viewers but i'm sure a lot of people are sick of them hogging the spotlight as I am.
    Expand
  4. May 11, 2011
    4
    I find it difficult to take the cast seriously when they're all extremely unrealistic and stereotypical representations of adolescent social groups. All the diversity they seem to promote feels forced with how shallow and one dimensional the characters are, and in turn, does a bit of a disservice to members of that actual group (For instance: Kurt is gay, and that's perfectly fine, butI find it difficult to take the cast seriously when they're all extremely unrealistic and stereotypical representations of adolescent social groups. All the diversity they seem to promote feels forced with how shallow and one dimensional the characters are, and in turn, does a bit of a disservice to members of that actual group (For instance: Kurt is gay, and that's perfectly fine, but there's unfortunately not much more to his personality than that.) Although I applaud their attempts for diversity, it's still a fairly simple show with simple, remarkably unrealistic conflicts. Expand
  5. DanB
    Sep 17, 2009
    5
    This show has so many way too contrived elements in it. For instance, why would the cheer leading coach care about the Glee Club? Its like if the wrestling coach was concerned about the softball team. I'd think there would be some other way to create conflict for this glee club. Then you have three cheerleaders singing and it sounds like there are eight backup singers. Then you have This show has so many way too contrived elements in it. For instance, why would the cheer leading coach care about the Glee Club? Its like if the wrestling coach was concerned about the softball team. I'd think there would be some other way to create conflict for this glee club. Then you have three cheerleaders singing and it sounds like there are eight backup singers. Then you have too much, "Then this happened, so it did" moments. Such as the Glee club teacher suddenly becoming a Janitor to help pay for a house his wife wants (another extremely contrived situation). Then you have the Glee Club teacher insisting they sing The Freak with no rhyme or reason other than because he wants them to. Contrived, contrived, contrived! In fact, if it wasn't for the Feel Good music (which is what I think everyone is really hooked on), this show would tank faster than Cop Rock. Dont get me wrong, I also got the same goosebumps that everyone else did when they started singing Don't Stop Believing in the pilot. I just wish there was a better written show to go along with the slick music numbers. Expand
  6. AudioM
    Jan 6, 2010
    6
    Nice show, got pulled into the emotional elements - but the 'audio engineer' part of me really was disapointed by the production values - overdubbing is a fact of life but it would be nice if the post engineers would at least 'try' to use some reverb and effects which plausibly matched the sound of the stage they are supposedly singing on - it is rather jarring to the Nice show, got pulled into the emotional elements - but the 'audio engineer' part of me really was disapointed by the production values - overdubbing is a fact of life but it would be nice if the post engineers would at least 'try' to use some reverb and effects which plausibly matched the sound of the stage they are supposedly singing on - it is rather jarring to the ear/eye connection..... Expand
  7. Calli
    Jan 26, 2010
    4
    I gave it a chance, but it's just not my thing. Firstly, nothing ever happens. All thirteen episodes have been predicatble, and just, over-the-top. Glee is overrated, butchering some great songs. The comedy is a relief, but sometimes forced on the audience, like we're expected to laugh. The worst for me was the pregnancy storline, showing a stereotypical neurotic wife, and a I gave it a chance, but it's just not my thing. Firstly, nothing ever happens. All thirteen episodes have been predicatble, and just, over-the-top. Glee is overrated, butchering some great songs. The comedy is a relief, but sometimes forced on the audience, like we're expected to laugh. The worst for me was the pregnancy storline, showing a stereotypical neurotic wife, and a religious, now pregnant, cheerleader. None of the characters are redeemable, and they all have lame lives. Expand
  8. Mar 5, 2016
    5
    Glee does provide plenty of charm and enthusiasm and is actually, at times, likeable with smart writing and a committed cast. Unfortunately, Glee can get a bit too preachy and pretentious for my liking.
  9. Jul 21, 2014
    4
    Tiene su gracia los primeros 5 capítulos... el resto se alarga demasiado y acaba aburriendo. Es una serie enfocada principalmente a chicas de 14-17 años, se nota. La trama tiene momentos absurdos, los personajes son tópicos de instituto y algunos son insufribles. Los momentos musicales son correctos aunque no era eso por la que quise ver la serie. Decían que era "maliciosa, atrevida yTiene su gracia los primeros 5 capítulos... el resto se alarga demasiado y acaba aburriendo. Es una serie enfocada principalmente a chicas de 14-17 años, se nota. La trama tiene momentos absurdos, los personajes son tópicos de instituto y algunos son insufribles. Los momentos musicales son correctos aunque no era eso por la que quise ver la serie. Decían que era "maliciosa, atrevida y fresca". Creo que no... Desde luego ya ni me molesto en seguir ni la temporada 2, pero me parece una exageración que ya vaya por la 5, de verdad da para tanto esta historieta? Pfff... Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Dec 15, 2010
    88
    The high school musical comedy occasionally flies off the rails. But maybe that's to be expected from this aggressively inventive pop fantasy. [1 Nov 2010, p.41]
  2. 75
    Will this strange combination of starry-eyed optimism and manicured irony eventually combust? Possibly. But until then, there's a lot to like about this weird and frequently winning hybrid.
  3. Even with its problems--we'll get to those presently--it's one of the best shows of the fall season.