• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: May 19, 2009
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5
Glee Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 354 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The pilot was previewed early in May but the season begins in earnest as Will Schuester aims to help his school's glee club reach the nationals.
  • Genre(s): Comedy, Drama, Arts, Music
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Glee, one of the season's best and most anticipated new series, delivers on both counts - and more. It's a quirky, sweet, humorous, nonpartisan funfest.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Dec 15, 2010
    88
    The high school musical comedy occasionally flies off the rails. But maybe that's to be expected from this aggressively inventive pop fantasy. [1 Nov 2010, p.41]
  3. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    83
    McKinley and its denizens feel just a little too cliched, the emerging romantic entanglements a little too forced, the female characters--notably Terri and Sue Sylvester--just a little too mean-spirited. Still, it's a great cast.
  4. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    80
    Glee finally presents its second act tonight. And yes, it was worth the wait.
  5. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    80
    I never stopped smiling while watching the first few episodes of this pitch-perfect comedy, which finds that elusive sweet spot between snark and heart.
  6. Glee does the teen years with some edge, but we've seen that before on Glee executive producer Ryan Murphy's previous series, The WB's "Popular." Still, Glee is delightful enough to qualify as a fall favorite.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    40
    Before long, issues of pregnancy will assail both generations, giving birth to subplots that become so credulity-straining it's hard not to yearn for another song to relieve them.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 100
  2. Negative: 25 out of 100
  1. Apr 7, 2012
    10
    Let's face it, Glee has become a phenomenon. Not only does it have many fans who love it, Glee seems to have just as many folks who despise the show's popularity. Whether or not you agree that Glee deserves the praise it gets (I most certainly think it does), no one can deny that Ryan Murphy has created something that will be remembered for years to come. Expand
  2. Meg
    Sep 4, 2010
    10
    I was recently reading another review, which said that glee was only a 5. Although I know that everyone has their own opinions, I personally think that was men. Glee is one of the most amazing shows. I not only love the music, I love how the characters are so well casted and the writing is fantastic. The reason that this person's review was incorrect was because this person obviously did not pay enough attention to the show. Here are some points that this person was massively incorrect on.
    1. "This show has so many way too contrived elements in it. For instance, why would the cheer leading coach care about the Glee Club? Its like if the wrestling coach was concerned about the softball team. I'd think there would be some other way to create conflict for this glee club." Well, Mr. DanB, (if that is your real name!) if you had paid even a little bit of attention to the show, you would have known that that situation with the wrestling coach and the softball team is nothing like Sue and the glee club. Figgins, the principal took money out of the cheerleading budget to give to the glee club that is why Sue hates the glee club. DUH!
    2. "Then you have too much, "Then this happened, so it did" moments. Such as the Glee club teacher suddenly becoming a Janitor to help pay for a house his wife wants (another extremely contrived situation)." FIrst, how is that contrived???? Second, both Terri and Will wanted the house, Terri just wanted more and Will wanted his son or daughter to have the best in life. DUH!!
    3. "Then you have the Glee Club teacher insisting they sing The Freak with no rhyme or reason other than because he wants them to. Contrived, contrived, contrived!" Um, obviously the person who wrote this is not versed in anything glee. DO NOT FOLLOW THE ADVICE THIS PERSON GIVES. Obviously it is wrong because there totally is a reason that Will wants them to do Le Freak (yeah he even got the song name wrong). He wanted them to do it because thats what they won nationals with when he was in high school. DUH!!!
    4. "In fact, if it wasn't for the Feel Good music (which is what I think everyone is really hooked on), this show would tank faster than Cop Rock." WRONG AGAIN!!!! Hello!!!! The plot twists and language is amazing in this show. The only way it could ever be improved is if they expanded their franchise and sold glee costumes!!!! Or expanded Rachel's story. DUH!!!!
    5. "I just wish there was a better written show to go along with the slick music numbers." UM, HELLO!!!!!! There is amazing writing!!!!! "I'm pretty sure my cat has been reading my diary." "Mr. Schue is he your son?" "Your hair looks like a briar patch. I keep expecting racist animated Disney characters to jump out singing about life on the BAYOO" "You guys are acting like misogynists...When I pulled my hamstring, I went to a misogynist" "Did you know dolphins are just gay sharks" "Sometimes I forget my middle name" "You're really talented...You think?...I would know, I'm really talented too" "My mom thinks Kristen Stewart looks like a **** "I took all my antibiotics and came here second period, I can't remember how to leave" "I have a full ride scholarship to a little school called the university of California at Los Angeles. Maybe you've heard of it? It's in Los Angeles" "You think this is hard?! Try living with Hepatitis, THAT'S HARD!" "You're talking to the guy who sat through 'Riverdance' six times." "Being part of something special makes you special" "Break a leg...I love you..." "Will Schuester?! I just had a sex dream about you!!!" This writing is amazing!!!!!
    Expand
  3. Nov 6, 2010
    10
    It's the best show ever. It's funny, and creative in it's own way, and the talent the kids have is just jaw-dropping. Sue is by far the funniest charter on the show. Expand
  4. Jul 30, 2011
    8
    I'm done with immature and stupid comments such as "Glee is gay" etc., but I suppose that's the price you pay when you create a TV series which are more than just another teenage drama. OK, sometimes it's about complex relationships, but there were also episodes about sexuality, responsibility, spirituality (and many other -ities). Characters are expressive (maybe except Finn, who's bland), music is generally good and there many comic scenes (touching as well). Glee is a real mash-up of everything. Expand
  5. Oct 17, 2010
    7
    I really only watch this show for Sue Slyvester. Her one line put downs really do make my day. I'm not a big fan of the music of the show, it feels manufactured and some of the songs on the shows are murdered by the cast. The storylines are good if a little melodramatic, but the comedy is rich and never loses its appeal. Expand
  6. Jul 21, 2014
    4
    Tiene su gracia los primeros 5 capítulos... el resto se alarga demasiado y acaba aburriendo. Es una serie enfocada principalmente a chicas de 14-17 años, se nota. La trama tiene momentos absurdos, los personajes son tópicos de instituto y algunos son insufribles. Los momentos musicales son correctos aunque no era eso por la que quise ver la serie. Decían que era "maliciosa, atrevida y fresca". Creo que no... Desde luego ya ni me molesto en seguir ni la temporada 2, pero me parece una exageración que ya vaya por la 5, de verdad da para tanto esta historieta? Pfff... Expand
  7. Mar 24, 2011
    0
    Dumb,dumb,dumb,dumb,dumb,dumb show. I can't believe these crappy shows on tv today. Jersey Shore, and this crap, what the f**k is going on here. There should be more shows like Jackass, Viva La Bam, and Rob & Big. Those types of shows are greater than this piece of travesty. Expand

See all 100 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Television Critics Announce 2010 Awards

    Television Critics Announce 2010 Awards Image
    Published: August 1, 2010
    The Television Critics Association announced its 2010 award winners on Saturday night. We have the full list of winners, which includes multiple awards for the new series "Glee."
  2. 2009-10 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks

    2009-10 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks Image
    Published: May 3, 2010
    "Modern Family" is among the 2009-10 season's best new TV shows. Find out which other shows made the cut, and which ones were the biggest failures.
  3. Golden Globes Recap: Winners and Losers

    Golden Globes Recap: Winners and Losers Image
    Published: January 18, 2010
    We recap the evening's winners, reveal what the critics are saying about the broadcast, and examine what the Globes tell us about the upcoming Academy Awards.
  4. Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows

    Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows Image
    Published: January 5, 2010
    Read about the biggest and best new series debuting in the coming months, find out when your favorite programs are returning, and watch trailers for over two dozen shows.
  5. The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade

    The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade Image
    Published: January 2, 2010
    Is 2000-09 the best decade in television history? Find out what shows made the past ten years so strong, and which programs went down as the best and worst of 2009.
  6. Golden Globe Nominations Announced

    Golden Globe Nominations Announced Image
    Published: December 15, 2009
    The HFPA revealed its Golden Globe nominations on Tuesday morning, and "Up in the Air" topped all films with six nominations, while Fox's "Glee" was the big winner in television with four.