• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: May 19, 2009
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 406 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The pilot was previewed early in May but the season begins in earnest as Will Schuester aims to help his school's glee club reach the nationals.
  • Genre(s): Comedy, Drama, Arts, Music
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Glee, one of the season's best and most anticipated new series, delivers on both counts - and more. It's a quirky, sweet, humorous, nonpartisan funfest.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Dec 15, 2010
    88
    The high school musical comedy occasionally flies off the rails. But maybe that's to be expected from this aggressively inventive pop fantasy. [1 Nov 2010, p.41]
  3. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    83
    McKinley and its denizens feel just a little too cliched, the emerging romantic entanglements a little too forced, the female characters--notably Terri and Sue Sylvester--just a little too mean-spirited. Still, it's a great cast.
  4. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    80
    At its best, Glee is not just entertaining but elating, dramatizing Breakfast Club-quality teen angst with the aid of tight production numbers covering new and classic popular songs.
  5. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    80
    While it's not as knock-your-socks-off as the pilot (while retaining some of the same problems), it continues to show why, at its best, this is the freshest and most joyful new show of the year.
  6. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    80
    I never stopped smiling while watching the first few episodes of this pitch-perfect comedy, which finds that elusive sweet spot between snark and heart.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    40
    Before long, issues of pregnancy will assail both generations, giving birth to subplots that become so credulity-straining it's hard not to yearn for another song to relieve them.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 102
  2. Negative: 26 out of 102
  1. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    The best show I have ever watched. Comedy? Check! Drama? Check! Romance? Check! Tragedy? Check! Suspense? Check! Songs? Double Check! SueThe best show I have ever watched. Comedy? Check! Drama? Check! Romance? Check! Tragedy? Check! Suspense? Check! Songs? Double Check! Sue Sylvester? You betcha! Expand
  2. Jan 20, 2011
    10
    Me being a music major in college studying instrumental emphasis, I think this show is very legit, and spectacular in every way. Most of myMe being a music major in college studying instrumental emphasis, I think this show is very legit, and spectacular in every way. Most of my music friends ranging from music therapy, music education, strings, and vocal performance love the show as well. What's not to like? Of course there's more drama in the show than normal real-life high school. If there wasn't then it would be boring, and no one would watch it. But someone tell me what show on television doesn't have more drama than real life? People are too picky about that. Stereotyping the popular kids and the artistic kids on the show might not exist in a lot of schools, but it did in mine, and I know exactly how it feels to be told that music is worthless, or feel like a dork for being in band, choir, or orchestra. But that's not the entire reason why the show is great to me. You've got talented heartfelt actors who bust their tails off for one episode, who can sing their faces off (which the pop business cannot compete with, or any other overrated artist), and actors that remake the classics, most of the time outdoing the original songs. And to make things clear, the show isn't a family show, not like a lot of people wish it to be, especially the "oh so innocent people" who act like they've never heard the word sex before. It can be a family show if you involve adults and teenagers over the age of 16, because there are some pretty intense scenes and dialogue not suitable for children. People make that mistake all the time-they see the word musical and assume it's for the kiddos. The show is great on humor, and pulls on our emotions to relate and connect with the characters. (My source on it not being a family show is from the special features on disc 4 of the first season) Their lip syncing isn't that bad-their lips match up to syllables and their facial expressions actually emote. They sing to whatever genre they're portraying, and change styles. They're so diverse and flexible. That's what musicality is all about. In the music business, the great singers are actually good-looking people, and whataya know, the actors in the show are actual singers. The coach cares about the club because 1. they touched her heart when the students sang 'to sir with love' to Will, every teacher's dream, and 2. the glee club is cutting into her budget. To me it seems like she supports them, but has mixed feelings because she hates that she's accepting something she made fun of before. Hmm, maybe people can learn from that...I'm just summing up from what I've read from the low scored people. If people are so critical, let's see you guys come up with a better show and sing, dance, and act. All I have to say is, Glee, thank you for coming into existence. Expand
  3. Nov 6, 2010
    10
    It's the best show ever. It's funny, and creative in it's own way, and the talent the kids have is just jaw-dropping. Sue is by far theIt's the best show ever. It's funny, and creative in it's own way, and the talent the kids have is just jaw-dropping. Sue is by far the funniest charter on the show. Expand
  4. Jun 11, 2011
    8
    Glee literally burst into the UK with a bang. I watched the first episode and was instantly hooked. It is cheesy yet addictive and to me it isGlee literally burst into the UK with a bang. I watched the first episode and was instantly hooked. It is cheesy yet addictive and to me it is a sort of combination between American Pie and High School Musical. The characters are well acted and thought out and you can easily empathise with them. This could be the start of something quite brilliant. Expand
  5. Oct 17, 2010
    7
    I really only watch this show for Sue Slyvester. Her one line put downs really do make my day. I'm not a big fan of the music of the show, itI really only watch this show for Sue Slyvester. Her one line put downs really do make my day. I'm not a big fan of the music of the show, it feels manufactured and some of the songs on the shows are murdered by the cast. The storylines are good if a little melodramatic, but the comedy is rich and never loses its appeal. Expand
  6. Jul 21, 2014
    4
    Tiene su gracia los primeros 5 capítulos... el resto se alarga demasiado y acaba aburriendo. Es una serie enfocada principalmente a chicas deTiene su gracia los primeros 5 capítulos... el resto se alarga demasiado y acaba aburriendo. Es una serie enfocada principalmente a chicas de 14-17 años, se nota. La trama tiene momentos absurdos, los personajes son tópicos de instituto y algunos son insufribles. Los momentos musicales son correctos aunque no era eso por la que quise ver la serie. Decían que era "maliciosa, atrevida y fresca". Creo que no... Desde luego ya ni me molesto en seguir ni la temporada 2, pero me parece una exageración que ya vaya por la 5, de verdad da para tanto esta historieta? Pfff... Expand
  7. Nov 20, 2014
    0
    It was a good show at the beginning, when it was about music and a high school glee club. Then they started pushing deviancies as a "newIt was a good show at the beginning, when it was about music and a high school glee club. Then they started pushing deviancies as a "new normal". The point when I turned it off was a scene with the two cheerleaders Santana and Quinn in bed together, just finished with their horizontal hula, and Quinn says something to the effect of, "hurray for experimenting!" So, despite the politically correct propaganda that deviants are "born that way", it seems that it is truly a lifestyle choice. Expand

See all 102 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Television Critics Announce 2010 Awards

    Television Critics Announce 2010 Awards Image
    Published: August 1, 2010
    The Television Critics Association announced its 2010 award winners on Saturday night. We have the full list of winners, which includes multiple awards for the new series "Glee."
  2. 2009-10 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks

    2009-10 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks Image
    Published: May 3, 2010
    "Modern Family" is among the 2009-10 season's best new TV shows. Find out which other shows made the cut, and which ones were the biggest failures.
  3. Golden Globes Recap: Winners and Losers

    Golden Globes Recap: Winners and Losers Image
    Published: January 18, 2010
    We recap the evening's winners, reveal what the critics are saying about the broadcast, and examine what the Globes tell us about the upcoming Academy Awards.
  4. Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows

    Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows Image
    Published: January 5, 2010
    Read about the biggest and best new series debuting in the coming months, find out when your favorite programs are returning, and watch trailers for over two dozen shows.
  5. The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade

    The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade Image
    Published: January 2, 2010
    Is 2000-09 the best decade in television history? Find out what shows made the past ten years so strong, and which programs went down as the best and worst of 2009.
  6. Golden Globe Nominations Announced

    Golden Globe Nominations Announced Image
    Published: December 15, 2009
    The HFPA revealed its Golden Globe nominations on Tuesday morning, and "Up in the Air" topped all films with six nominations, while Fox's "Glee" was the big winner in television with four.