• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Nov 16, 2010
  • Season #: 1
Glory Daze Image
Metascore
46

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 14 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Tim Meadows is a professor in TBS's college comedy set in the 1980s, which follows a group of friends as they explore college life.
  • Genre(s): Comedy, Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 18
  2. Negative: 3 out of 18
  1. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Nov 15, 2010
    70
    Granted, the writers recycle so many gags--from the stirring pledge speech to a loopy pot-hazed discussion about time being "a fluid concept"--that there's a temptation to wince at Glory Daze's brazenness. Still, it's all done in such an unabashed way it's sort of hard to stay mad at them.
  2. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Nov 16, 2010
    63
    Clearly they've studied both movies and can mimic the moves, but they just don't hear the music.
  3. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Nov 16, 2010
    60
    If Harris, who's clearly meant to steal every scene he's in, seems a little too cool to be hanging out with the brothers from Omega Sigma, whose deficiencies haven't yet been fully cataloged, it's still not nearly as cool as he's going to need to be if he's to lead this slightly tired toga party right into "Conan's" waiting arms.
  4. Reviewed by: Ginia Bellafante
    Nov 15, 2010
    40
    Nothing in the premiere episode ever gets as creative as that bit of casting.
  5. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Nov 16, 2010
    40
    It's be one thing if the show employed thinly drawn, cliched characters in service of solid comedy, but very little of Glory Daze is actually funny.
  6. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Nov 16, 2010
    40
    While the fixings are here for genuine humor, Glory Daze repeatedly settles for quick-and-dirty. That's frustrating, even though it's understandable to some extent, because the audience for that style of comedy clearly exists.
  7. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Nov 16, 2010
    25
    TBS has concocted a show once considered to be unimaginable: A college comedy so badly written, acted and executed, so deficit in any jokes or diversions that even a stoner wouldn't be able to enjoy it.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Jan 18, 2011
    10
    It's a great show, showcasing how it was like in the 80's. I hope it gets picked up for another season. Though I don't see it going on beyond 2 or 3 seasons. Collapse
  2. Jan 28, 2011
    9
    I look forward to every new episode of this show and really hope it takes off. As of right now, it is the ONLY show I will watch regularly on TV and I think it is absolutely hilarious, a must watch for all those just entering college life. Expand
  3. Jan 18, 2011
    8
    This show is not like Greek which sadly enough is ending this year. Yes it is set in college with a Fraternity similar to the Kappa Tau, but this time round it has that 80's feel to it which to me is interesting because I have always been interested in the Fraternity and Sorority system of American Universities and what this show does is show me in one way or another what college life was like in the 80's. This show does have potential and hopefully picked up for a second season. Expand
  4. Dec 3, 2010
    7
    This show has real potential. It takes place in 1986 but the clothes, music, trends are borrowed from the entire decade. Story lines are decent plus some great characters (if this show fails, some new talented actors will go on). Hopefully the writing will become a bit more compelling and this show will take off. There is enough here that I am really rooting for this one. Expand
  5. Dec 4, 2010
    6
    I really want to like this show. It however feels a little flat and unispired and the characters are not multi-dimensional. The best comedies have a wide variety of characters and sharp writing - hopefully this show will pick up of it will have seen its own Glory Daze! Expand
  6. Jan 11, 2011
    0
    I did not like this show at all. Sorry. But to quote the Boston Herald: "A college comedy so badly written, acted and executed, so deficit in any jokes or diversions that even a stoner wouldn't be able to enjoy it." I agree with this. There is something so desperate about it and the whole marketing campaign that screams: "turkey!" Expand