Go On : Season 1

  • Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Aug 8, 2012
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Aug 8, 2012
    60
    The pilot is aiming for a balance of dark humor, heart and flat-out funny that it doesn't quite manage.
  2. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Aug 6, 2012
    60
    [Even with Matthew Perry,] the familiar game plan and trappings make it at best a crapshoot as to whether Ryan and his wounded heart will, well, you know.
  3. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Sep 10, 2012
    50
    The comedy in the show is a grab bag, sometimes subtle, sometimes self-consciously outlandish.
  4. Reviewed by: Marisa LaScala
    Sep 10, 2012
    50
    If Go On isn't breaking new ground, it does manage to find humor, even among the most dour of premises.
  5. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Aug 8, 2012
    50
    Their [Matthew Perry and Laura Benanti's] wary cat-and-mouse game doesn't exactly break new comic ground, but it temporarily lifts Go On from its jarring tonal shifts between mockery and mawkishness.
  6. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Aug 7, 2012
    50
    The pilot suffers from an identity crisis, straddling the fence between poignant comedy and eye-rolling farce.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 126 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. Sep 29, 2012
    9
    Very relaxing, charming and funny TV show. Matthew Perry is extremely charismatic, as always. Life, but perfectly matched situation alwaysVery relaxing, charming and funny TV show. Matthew Perry is extremely charismatic, as always. Life, but perfectly matched situation always keep your mouth smile. Definitely one of the best new comedy shows lately. Full Review »
  2. Aug 10, 2012
    7
    First off: I am NOT a Matthew Perry fan. I find him to be 2-dimensional and, well, a cardboard cutout of himself in everything he appears in.First off: I am NOT a Matthew Perry fan. I find him to be 2-dimensional and, well, a cardboard cutout of himself in everything he appears in.

    Except this.

    I've only watched the first ep, but it was enough to get me to write this review. Also, I am not a sports fan, in any way at all, so the idea of watching Matthew Perry play a sportscaster didn't fill me with a warm enthusiasm. But I'll be watching again.
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 20, 2012
    10
    I find this show very light and funny. Matthew Perry is great comic. He makes me smile every time I see and hear him. It`s difficult toI find this show very light and funny. Matthew Perry is great comic. He makes me smile every time I see and hear him. It`s difficult to combine drama and comedy in one show, but Matthew Perry does it very well.So I think it must go on:) Full Review »