• Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Aug 8, 2012
  • Season #: 1
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Aug 6, 2012
    60
    [Even with Matthew Perry,] the familiar game plan and trappings make it at best a crapshoot as to whether Ryan and his wounded heart will, well, you know.
  2. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Sep 11, 2012
    80
    Maybe the best new sitcom of the fall is one of the first.
  3. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Aug 6, 2012
    70
    It's a pretty good introduction but there's no guarantee future episodes will live up to that positive first impression.
  4. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Aug 8, 2012
    50
    Their [Matthew Perry and Laura Benanti's] wary cat-and-mouse game doesn't exactly break new comic ground, but it temporarily lifts Go On from its jarring tonal shifts between mockery and mawkishness.
  5. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Aug 7, 2012
    70
    It helps Perry that Silveri has surrounded him with a large ensemble filled with potential.
  6. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Aug 7, 2012
    63
    The show is so dour, the humor gets lost.
  7. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Aug 6, 2012
    70
    Ultimately, Go On is about a group with quirks and heart, stirred up by Perry, and the pilot is largely appealing until the final minutes, which are as broad as the 405.
  8. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Aug 3, 2012
    83
    The cast is good, even excellent. But Perry's the one who sells Go On.
  9. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Aug 3, 2012
    63
    [Perry] effortlessly brings out King's sorrow and even rage--[but] it loses something when thrown in with Go On's overly broad comedy. [13 Aug 3012, p.41]
  10. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Aug 7, 2012
    70
    The truth of the matter is, the pilot is well-paced and the first half is especially fun.
  11. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Aug 8, 2012
    67
    There's enough in this first episode to bring me back for more, but a lot of potential trouble signs along the way.
  12. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Aug 8, 2012
    100
    Happily, they are not your average sitcom weirdo crazy group-therapy people. These folks are oddballs, yes, but they are oddballs trying to overcome great tragedy.
  13. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Aug 8, 2012
    80
    [Go On] is among the best new comedies of the season.
  14. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Aug 6, 2012
    67
    Go On obviously won't be off the charts ratings-wise, as Friends was for most of its run. It might settle in, though, with Perry still a solidly capable comedic actor looking to nest a while.
  15. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Aug 8, 2012
    67
    Perry proves to be adept at both the mirth and misery required by the role. Viewers, however, may be put off by a series that seems stuck like its patients in a gray zone between laughing and mourning.
  16. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Aug 7, 2012
    75
    The characters on Go On are engaging and varied.
  17. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Aug 31, 2012
    67
    I'd give "The New Normal" a slight edge because it's tighter and more assured, but the bigger, odder Go On ensemble bears watching too--for a few more episodes, at least.
  18. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Aug 7, 2012
    70
    The best thing about Go On is, not surprisingly, Perry.
  19. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Aug 7, 2012
    70
    Go On moves quite breezily--much like an NBC-flavored take on premium cable dramadies such as "The Big C" and "Enlightened." It's not as good as either of those, but it has the same happy-sad aura, with just a dash of "Community"-like absurdity to keep the speed limit up.
  20. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Sep 11, 2012
    70
    Beneath its estimable comic trappings, Go On is something larger: a meditation on what makes life worth living.
  21. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Aug 8, 2012
    60
    The pilot is aiming for a balance of dark humor, heart and flat-out funny that it doesn't quite manage.
  22. 30
    It holds the distinction of being the first TV show I've ever wished that I could punch in the crotch.
  23. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Aug 7, 2012
    50
    The pilot suffers from an identity crisis, straddling the fence between poignant comedy and eye-rolling farce.
  24. Reviewed by: Gail Pennington
    Aug 27, 2012
    63
    The push-pull between over-talking and ignoring will drive Go On.
  25. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Sep 10, 2012
    50
    The comedy in the show is a grab bag, sometimes subtle, sometimes self-consciously outlandish.
  26. Reviewed by: Marisa LaScala
    Sep 10, 2012
    50
    If Go On isn't breaking new ground, it does manage to find humor, even among the most dour of premises.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 120 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. Sep 29, 2012
    9
    Very relaxing, charming and funny TV show. Matthew Perry is extremely charismatic, as always. Life, but perfectly matched situation alwaysVery relaxing, charming and funny TV show. Matthew Perry is extremely charismatic, as always. Life, but perfectly matched situation always keep your mouth smile. Definitely one of the best new comedy shows lately. Full Review »
  2. Aug 10, 2012
    7
    First off: I am NOT a Matthew Perry fan. I find him to be 2-dimensional and, well, a cardboard cutout of himself in everything he appears in.First off: I am NOT a Matthew Perry fan. I find him to be 2-dimensional and, well, a cardboard cutout of himself in everything he appears in.

    Except this.

    I've only watched the first ep, but it was enough to get me to write this review. Also, I am not a sports fan, in any way at all, so the idea of watching Matthew Perry play a sportscaster didn't fill me with a warm enthusiasm. But I'll be watching again.
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 20, 2012
    10
    I find this show very light and funny. Matthew Perry is great comic. He makes me smile every time I see and hear him. It`s difficult toI find this show very light and funny. Matthew Perry is great comic. He makes me smile every time I see and hear him. It`s difficult to combine drama and comedy in one show, but Matthew Perry does it very well.So I think it must go on:) Full Review »