• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Feb 26, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 15
Golden Boy Image
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 31 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The drama series traces the rise of Walter Clark (Theo James) from beat cop to homicide detective and finally, the youngest police commissioner in New York City.
  • Genre(s): Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    Feb 22, 2013
    90
    Golden Boy is packed with fine performances, but no amount of actorly talent could have done for this series what its intelligently twisty plots, its nuanced dialogue bearing a distinct resemblance to human exchange--even from the mouths of TV police detectives--has done.
  2. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Feb 26, 2013
    80
    Happily, Golden Boy not only manages a fairly original take on cop shows but actually turns out to be surprisingly intriguing.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Feb 25, 2013
    75
    The scripts offer a well-balanced mix of office politics, underlying mystery and weekly cop procedural. And the first-rate cast ties it all together with abundant skill.
  4. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Feb 26, 2013
    63
    If yet one more cop show about the brash young rookie and the older, tired guy thisclose to retirement is enough to make you go completely insane and start watching, say, “Smash” or something equally upsetting, then for sure you want to stay away from Golden Boy. However, if you love cop shows that aren’t really procedurals so much as stories about the internal politicking of the NYPD, than maybe Golden Boy is just what you’re looking for.
  5. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Feb 26, 2013
    60
    We quickly care what happens to these characters, which gets any show off to a strong start. Just as quickly, though, the time-jumping makes the story feel more complicated than it needs to.
  6. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Feb 26, 2013
    50
    Golden Boy’s half-bakedness--part totally competent TV show, part lazily executed one--permeates throughout.
  7. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Feb 22, 2013
    40
    Other than the unspooling of the ghost of policework past, Golden Boy is so formulaic as to be instantly forgettable.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 10
  2. Negative: 3 out of 10
  1. Jun 26, 2013
    10
    It a wonderful series with great story telling.Wonderful Wonderful Wonderful Wonderful Wonderful Wonderful Wonderful Wonderful Wonderful Wonderful Wonderful Expand
  2. Aug 6, 2013
    10
    BRING THIS SHOW BACK! It was very entertaining and I looked forward to continuing to get to know the characters. I thought it had a nice mix of drama, along with personality. PLEASE bring it back! Chi McBride is GREAT! Expand
  3. Apr 23, 2013
    10
    Excelent serie with great interpretations,make you love and hate characters,something you can't say about other tv series this days.

    I wait
    everyweek for the next chapter,please give me more! Expand
  4. Mar 20, 2013
    8
    First episode was intriguing and quite good, but not great. However, it has gotten better. The characters are all interesting and the acting is very good. Good story, good acting and Chi McBride--what more could you want? Expand
  5. Apr 1, 2013
    4
    Golden Boy is decent, just not enough to make me keep watching. I'm tired of the same old crime dramas. I want to see something different, something that redefines TV it self. Expand
  6. May 2, 2013
    3
    First episode promised intrigue. What followed, however, is a detective series like any other. Each cop has their own flat character, and each episode plays out exactly the same incoherent conflict while there's yet another dead body nobody could care less about (cast nor audience.)
    If people are still following this show, they must of missed every episode between the first and last episode. Anyway, they must be oblivious to the countless other detective series that follow the same format, but do a much better job.
    The only time the question of "whodunit?" ever came to rise, was when I wondered who's creative input killed this show.
    Collapse
  7. May 5, 2013
    1
    My wife is in love with this show. I, on the other hand, just can't get into it. Why is it that almost every character in this show is the HARDEST, TOUGHEST COP in the City. Why is everyone corrupt? Why is Chi McBride doing his best Danny Glover in Lethal Weapon impression.

    I just can't get into it. It just bugs me too much. And the storylines just never seem to hook me in, and since I don't like any of the characters(except for Chi-and it's obvious he'll die, eventually), I can't care what happens to anyone...
    Expand

See all 10 User Reviews