Gossip Girl : Season 1

  • Network: The CW
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 19, 2007
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 192 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 192

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. CurtisE.
    Jul 5, 2008
    5
    I felt like the rivalry between Blair Waldorf and Serena Van Der Woodsen ended too early, as the storyline for Jenny Humphrey had little to no depth to it. Chuck Bass also remained a flat character to me though the storyline of his equally dastard father's criticism was not good enough to give him the heart of gold complex; Dan Humphrey's chasing of Serena was less than I felt like the rivalry between Blair Waldorf and Serena Van Der Woodsen ended too early, as the storyline for Jenny Humphrey had little to no depth to it. Chuck Bass also remained a flat character to me though the storyline of his equally dastard father's criticism was not good enough to give him the heart of gold complex; Dan Humphrey's chasing of Serena was less than entertaining, while the love triangle between the parents was actually comical but dramatic and intriguing. On the brightside, although most protagonists in the show start off as rich and one dimensional, you see them slowly evolve - that is what a Season Two is for... Further character develop that every character on Gossip Girl so desperately needs. Expand
  2. AanchalPuri
    Oct 11, 2007
    6
    I personally liked the show it is hot & raunchy
  3. DeborahL
    Nov 15, 2007
    4
    a train wreck, and of course it's difficult to turn away. Metacritic needs to correct its blurb: this is about the Upper EAST Side, not the UWS, which is way crunchier
  4. Bettina
    Sep 24, 2007
    4
    I have read most of the books and it was nothing like the books. The books kept you interested and wanting more. The show was very boring and I definitely do not care to see it again.
  5. Sep 9, 2010
    6
    Like lot of CW shows, this one had A LOT of potential. Very hot cast, very provocative. If we exclude the Gossip Girl character the show is nothing more then one cliche teen show. This season had LOT of potential but didn't live up to it. If the whole Chair thing was moved to second season, people would've be able to see more Blair/Nate, and etc. The character of Jenny could have beenLike lot of CW shows, this one had A LOT of potential. Very hot cast, very provocative. If we exclude the Gossip Girl character the show is nothing more then one cliche teen show. This season had LOT of potential but didn't live up to it. If the whole Chair thing was moved to second season, people would've be able to see more Blair/Nate, and etc. The character of Jenny could have been improved and the storyline between Rufus and Lilly was unnecessary at least this early. Expand
  6. Jan 22, 2012
    4
    This show needs to be cancelled before all sanctity is lost. I've been watching Gossip Girl since season 1, and have enjoyed it (for the most part) since. After a lousy season 3, I was pleasantly surprised when season 4 presented some interesting story lines. Season 5 has been a train wreck (okay, car wreck to follow suit of the show's most repeated tragedy), to say the least. The plot hasThis show needs to be cancelled before all sanctity is lost. I've been watching Gossip Girl since season 1, and have enjoyed it (for the most part) since. After a lousy season 3, I was pleasantly surprised when season 4 presented some interesting story lines. Season 5 has been a train wreck (okay, car wreck to follow suit of the show's most repeated tragedy), to say the least. The plot has become repetitive, everyone has dated everyone, and, as far as I'm concerned, the show's only redeeming quality at this point is its wardrobe. Unless you are a teen girl vying for a little bit of drama outside your world of homework and after-school lacrosse practice, I'd recommend skipping it, you're definitely not missing out. If you have watched previous seasons and feel guilty for abandoning the show, do what I do: read the recaps, watch the promos for the next week and save yourself 35 minutes of disappointment. Expand
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 26
  2. Negative: 9 out of 26
  1. 25
    It's one of the worst new series--but for its cardboard acting and writing, not for the morals.
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    75
    The cast is as good as its target demo, but I admire its fleet pace and sly craft. [21 Sep 2007, p.72]
  3. It's so consumed with its of-the-moment zeitgeist embodiment that it forgets to give its characters any depth beyond their reshaped noses.