• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 19, 2007
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6
Gossip Girl Image
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 167 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Creator: Josh Schwartz, Stephanie Savage
  • Show Type: Ended
  • Season 1 premiere date: Sep 19, 2007
  • Episode Length: 60
  • Air Time: 09:00 PM
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 26
  2. Negative: 9 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: Cristina Kinon
    88
    While it remains to be seen if Gossip Girl will take the plot plunge "The O.C." did after its first season, the beginning here is encouraging.
  2. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    80
    Packing a sharp designer shiv, this clever saga of haves vs. have-mores proves the East Coast can be as enjoyably sudsy as the West.
  3. 75
    Some of the lines are witty, and while parents won't approve of all that goes on, the kids talk about much more than they actually do.
  4. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    60
    Gossip Girl hardly breaks any new ground.
  5. Reviewed by: Marisa LaScala
    40
    If you strip away the designer shoes and drinks, the show is left with all the hallmarks of a typical teen melodrama.
  6. Gossip Girl lacks the heart, humor and sweetness that balanced out the soapy happenings on "The O.C."

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 63
  2. Negative: 11 out of 63
  1. Sep 12, 2011
    10
    oh my god! where do I start... This show is amazing. Lots of drama, cliffhangers, sex, lies and scandals! is the best show I have ever watched in my entire life. L O V E I T!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  2. KimR
    Nov 3, 2008
    10
    Best show ever!!!
  3. AshleyB.
    Mar 3, 2008
    10
    I think this show is a good pass time, hard to keep up with if you don't watch it fully, which makes for a good mystery, Gossip Girl is exactly how Gossip is, treacherous, dangerous, and scandalous. It's a great show, the cast is great, no acting problems what so ever. Though the plot lines could be more diverse, but that is just me. Collapse
  4. OllyCon
    Oct 23, 2009
    9
    All of those who've gone and voted 0 have never had a "good" time, but I you've probably recognised more dan humpfrey in you than you're comfortable admitting.., loosen up yeesh! Between Chuck's witty banter, Blair's back-handed bitchiness, Dan's plausible black sheepiness and serena and nate's pretty little faces gawking nicely, the show is on the verge of chaos yet clings ever so gracefully onto the edge. It's a good show and I'm nicely hooked. Expand
  5. juliar
    Jan 14, 2009
    8
    I consider this show to be an 8, only because they wreck too many Chuck and Blair scenes. They could've been together so many times by now
  6. TalL.
    Oct 4, 2007
    7
    Has potential need to be matured up a little.
  7. MeganC.
    Sep 19, 2007
    0
    I'm banning this show because the CW canceled Veronica Mars! It looks stupid anyway.

See all 63 User Reviews