• Network: USA
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 6, 2013
  • Season #: 1
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 50 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 50
  2. Negative: 10 out of 50

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 6, 2013
    10
    Surprised at how much I actually enjoyed this show. Found it quite enjoyable. Hope the rest of the season follows the pilot's formula. Some may find it to be another cop show but like I said I was quite surprised, I didn't expect it to grab my attention so much.
  2. Jun 25, 2013
    6
    Okay, you can't deny it, the trailer was awesome. I think if you give it time, Graceland will grow to become an amazing show. Right now, you can already see all the negative reviews. What Graceland lacks is a special something. A special something that defines the show. And by special something, I mean the story line, characters, and everything about it is a bit dry. There isn't that much humor. Okay, well you might say that humor isn't what a drama is for. Then, I will tell you that there isn't enough drama to make up for that. This show is slow moving too, that's why I say the show has a good chance to grow. The concept is a very good idea though. Expand
  3. Jun 11, 2013
    1
    At no point in the pilot episode, do you feel like you should be feeling anything for these characters, characters who all seem miscast, belonging more on a daytime soap. Even the leader Briggs, never comes across as even resembling an FBI officer in real life. It's too formulaic, badly written and definitely should be avoided.
  4. Jun 15, 2013
    3
    Based upon the trailer I saw, the premise of the series seemed to be good enough to warrant me sitting through the pilot episode.

    I found the pilot to be entertaining. I thought the speech at the graduation ceremony to be quite good.

    But I just could not shake the feeling that the show wasn't good enough to justify the effort I would have to put into it in order to keep up with
    characters' development, the reality-show style of angst among the characters, and all the plot twists. I made that effort with Burn Notice because I found that show to be engaging enough to warrant it.

    With Graceland the formula is there, but there doesn't seem to be enough substance behind it.
    Expand
  5. Jul 31, 2013
    8
    As soon as I saw the trailer for Graceland I knew I was gonna like it being a criminology student. I liked the way they set it up with the FBI looking into one of their own but somewhere along the line I think they lost track of the plot. It started of with this big bang and now it's almost as if they're trying to change their mind about what the show is actually about: the agents or the criminals. It started off being something different, focusing on the struggle of undercover agents to maintain their morale even when being forced to fuse with California's criminal underworld. The struggle that Mike has to deal with between doing his duty or his loyalty to the man who saved his life who may also be a dirty cop. However, this roller coaster ride that they have viewers on: making us suspicious of Briggs then making us sympathize then making us hate him then making us like him is too much. They need to save all the plot twists they can because there's only so many twists and turns that a series can take before it burns out like the others. Expand
  6. Jun 15, 2013
    1
    Unbelievable premised with unbelievable characters. Not one character was likeable. The actor playing Briggs is much too old to be a surfer dude. Why can't it feature women as lead characters for a change, or actors who are not impossibly pretty
  7. Jul 23, 2013
    6
    Graceland is good, and that's probably the best thing I can say about it. The cast is generally unremarkable, and the whole thing has a very USA Network feel, which isn't necessarily bad, it just doesn't have any substance to back up the style.
  8. Jul 12, 2013
    7
    If you love USA type show (beautiful people doing really interesting things), then you'll love this show. I personally think this one stands out because of it's combination of a normal procedural along with relationship intrigue. I disagree with the other reviewers saying there is nothing to connect to with the characters or the story when I think the actors do a good job, the stories tend to be strong, and the drama is good, especially for a USA show. Give it a chance, and you might find that you like it. Expand
  9. Feb 18, 2014
    8
    Intriguing, well written. The episodes of the show get better and better. It never stops surprising through believable turning points. Similarly, the characters get more and more believable. Not as excellent as True detective, but definitely an enjoyable show.
  10. Dec 21, 2013
    10
    As fun to watch as Justified. This show is much better than the other USA shows I have seen. A great new show about law enforcement who actually do effective work and it doesn't bog the viewer down with the standard procedural stuff. There is enough danger, intrigue, humor, and most importantly consequence to keep the episodes interesting even with some overdone drama. The acting and the entire show is believable in spite of the unlikelihood of an undercover house. Also there is a fun dog on the beach, though he doesn't get much screen time. Expand
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 26
  2. Negative: 2 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Jun 7, 2013
    70
    While it's not exactly Breaking Bad, stepping away from the too-pat world of "blue sky" TV into something edgier is a welcome diversion.
  2. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jun 6, 2013
    50
    Graceland is nothing to get all shook up about.
  3. 80
    It's the kind of work that I like to classify as "deep shallow," in that it deals in familiar tropes and simple themes but articulates them in a clever, stylish way.