Gravity Falls Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 3 Critics Awaiting 1 more review What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 55 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Twin siblings Dipper (voiced by Jason Ritter) and Mabel (Kristin Schaal) visit their great-uncle for the summer at the strange town of Gravity Falls, Oregon in this animated series.
  • Genre(s): Kids
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jun 15, 2012
    70
    The show has a breezy quality that should play to kids, and tickle some twinges of nostalgia among their parents.
  2. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Jun 15, 2012
    70
    A likable new Disney Channel cartoon series about twins spending a summer with their strange great-uncle in a weird little town in the Pacific Northwest.
  3. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jun 29, 2012
    60
    When their [Mabel and Dipper Pines'] plans distintegrate into dust, it gets good for the rest of us in this quirky and endearing new animated Disney series.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 18
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 18
  3. Negative: 2 out of 18
  1. Jul 3, 2012
    10
    Such a great show. It is the only reason I am going to be watching Disney Channel now. I can understand why a lot of adults might be a little upset though, because the premise of the show is geared more toward teenagers, but there are still a lot of kid friendly moments. It reminded me a lot of Foster's Hone For Imaginary Friends (which, the guy who created that is also helping with this) and that show was great also. The music, animation, humor, and plot are all top notch. Although it would probably do better on a network like Cartoon Network, Disney could do itself good with more of these shows. Collapse
  2. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    Where to begin. The show is inviting, firstly and most obviously, for kids in that it is a disney produced cartoon. However, there is so much attraction for an older generation in the fantastically engineered dual layer of humor in the show combining childishness with maturity to rake in two completely different audiences. Add to that a gripping storyline, some hidden secrets in the episodes and title screen, AND the adorableness of Mabel and you have yourself a winner. Expand
  3. Dec 20, 2012
    10
    This show is extremely well done. One of the things I like about this TV show is that there is no sing along things at all, unlike other animated Disney shows, which may have been their biggest downfall. Very funny and tons of humor, the only thing was the age level, which is maybe a teen to late teen, some scary scenes in the show indicate this. Overall, 10/10 Expand
  4. Jul 12, 2012
    10
    Incredibly entertaining. It's been a long time since I've been truly awestruck by the quality of a TV show. This may be the best animated program I've seen since Samurai Jack originally aired when I was quite young. The animation is beautiful and smooth, the art is detailed, the writing is clever and not pandering in the least, and all the characters distinct and likable. There's not a soul out there who can watch this and not say they love Mabel by the end of an episode or two. There are several references and homages in each episode, including Legend of Zelda, Super Troopers, and Doctor Who. Kristen Schaal's voice performance as Mabel is one of the highlights of the program, although Ritter is no lightweight here. And you'd think that'd be enough to warrant a solid 9 or 9.5, but toss in the continuity treasure, fun puzzles for the viewer to solve, a heartwarming family friendly message in each episode, and some of the catchiest damn music I've ever heard, and you've got a definite 10 across the board here. Try to keep that theme song out of your head the whole day, I dare you. And even the background music in the show is catchy and fitting. Each character has their own theme, and various "conflict" situations have music that sound like they come straight from the boss fight in a video game. If you are skeptical of modern day animated cartoons due to the lack of clever/well-thought-out writing and heavy reliance on "randomness", then I beg you to give this a chance, as it restored my faith in those who create animated programs. I give Dipper and Mabel a big 10, and wait on the edge of my seat for each next episode. Expand
  5. Dec 31, 2013
    9
    Disney was in desperate need of a good new series, and with Gravity Falls, they've finally got it. With its clever writing, hilarious jokes and great voice acting, Gravity Falls appeals to both young and old audiences. It certainly is one of the best animated series I've seen in recent years. Expand
  6. Jul 5, 2012
    9
    I like this show, no other reason to watch Disney Channel. I am 23 Years of age, and actually find this show entertaining. I don't know why. It is not necessarily geared towards older people, but it does have a teenage feel to it vs. children. It feels like some of the classics like Fosters Home like the other review said. Nothing else is of interest on Disney Channel, but I do like quality cartoons, yes, even at my age. But the show is not cheesy, and has a strong premise behind it. I could see kids of age 10 and up enjoying this. I know I am a bit old and would not think most people above 16-18 would enjoy the show. But maybe they would. Expand
  7. Jul 5, 2013
    8
    "Gravity Falls" is surprisingly surprising, with entertaining and weird characters and settings, and its darker but fun themes. With creepy creatures and funny twists, "Gravity Falls" is not that bad, and parents may have fun watching, and is probably Disney's best since"Suite Life on Deck" Expand

See all 18 User Reviews