Gravity Falls Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 3 Critics Awaiting 1 more review What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 66 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Eric Bauza, April Winchell, Linda Cardellini
  • Summary: Twin siblings Dipper (voiced by Jason Ritter) and Mabel (Kristin Schaal) visit their great-uncle for the summer at the strange town of Gravity Falls, Oregon in this animated series.
  • Genre(s): Animation, Kids
  • Creator: Alex Hirsch
  • Show Type: In Season
  • Season 1 premiere date: Jun 15, 2012
  • Episode Length: 30
  • Air Time: 09:30 PM
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jun 15, 2012
    70
    The show has a breezy quality that should play to kids, and tickle some twinges of nostalgia among their parents.
  2. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Jun 15, 2012
    70
    A likable new Disney Channel cartoon series about twins spending a summer with their strange great-uncle in a weird little town in the Pacific Northwest.
  3. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jun 29, 2012
    60
    When their [Mabel and Dipper Pines'] plans distintegrate into dust, it gets good for the rest of us in this quirky and endearing new animated Disney series.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 19
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 19
  3. Negative: 2 out of 19
  1. Aug 26, 2012
    10
    This is fantastic show! Many humors that will amuse kids and maybe even adults. It also has great graphics and amazing storyline Overall incredible and amazing show! I hope this show will last long and even maybe be the longest lasting show ever to exist! Expand
  2. Jul 3, 2012
    10
    Such a great show. It is the only reason I am going to be watching Disney Channel now. I can understand why a lot of adults might be a little upset though, because the premise of the show is geared more toward teenagers, but there are still a lot of kid friendly moments. It reminded me a lot of Foster's Hone For Imaginary Friends (which, the guy who created that is also helping with this) and that show was great also. The music, animation, humor, and plot are all top notch. Although it would probably do better on a network like Cartoon Network, Disney could do itself good with more of these shows. Expand
  3. May 12, 2013
    10
    This show is very good, because it keeps you in anticipation, like, Who is Stan and what are his true motives? If not Stan, who wrote Dipper's book.It's so mysterious. Expand
  4. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    Where to begin. The show is inviting, firstly and most obviously, for kids in that it is a disney produced cartoon. However, there is so much attraction for an older generation in the fantastically engineered dual layer of humor in the show combining childishness with maturity to rake in two completely different audiences. Add to that a gripping storyline, some hidden secrets in the episodes and title screen, AND the adorableness of Mabel and you have yourself a winner. Expand
  5. Jul 12, 2012
    10
    Incredibly entertaining. It's been a long time since I've been truly awestruck by the quality of a TV show. This may be the best animated program I've seen since Samurai Jack originally aired when I was quite young. The animation is beautiful and smooth, the art is detailed, the writing is clever and not pandering in the least, and all the characters distinct and likable. There's not a soul out there who can watch this and not say they love Mabel by the end of an episode or two. There are several references and homages in each episode, including Legend of Zelda, Super Troopers, and Doctor Who. Kristen Schaal's voice performance as Mabel is one of the highlights of the program, although Ritter is no lightweight here. And you'd think that'd be enough to warrant a solid 9 or 9.5, but toss in the continuity treasure, fun puzzles for the viewer to solve, a heartwarming family friendly message in each episode, and some of the catchiest damn music I've ever heard, and you've got a definite 10 across the board here. Try to keep that theme song out of your head the whole day, I dare you. And even the background music in the show is catchy and fitting. Each character has their own theme, and various "conflict" situations have music that sound like they come straight from the boss fight in a video game. If you are skeptical of modern day animated cartoons due to the lack of clever/well-thought-out writing and heavy reliance on "randomness", then I beg you to give this a chance, as it restored my faith in those who create animated programs. I give Dipper and Mabel a big 10, and wait on the edge of my seat for each next episode. Expand
  6. Jul 22, 2012
    9
    This is a great show. Best one by Disney in a long time. The animation is brilliant, the premise is interesting, and characters are well done and, at times, it can be very funny. One of my favorite cartoons on tv right now. Expand
  7. Jul 5, 2013
    8
    "Gravity Falls" is surprisingly surprising, with entertaining and weird characters and settings, and its darker but fun themes. With creepy creatures and funny twists, "Gravity Falls" is not that bad, and parents may have fun watching, and is probably Disney's best since"Suite Life on Deck" Expand

See all 19 User Reviews