Greek : Season 1

Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 100 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 100
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 100
  3. Negative: 15 out of 100

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Megano
    Jul 30, 2007
    10
    I love this new show! Comedies are hard to pull off well, but I am happy to say that the FX's new show Greek does it. The characters are SO WELL CAST!!! The lead character has a vunerability that just captures the audience immediately and makes us root for him. There is great chemistry between him and the actress to plays his sister as well as between these two and the sisters I love this new show! Comedies are hard to pull off well, but I am happy to say that the FX's new show Greek does it. The characters are SO WELL CAST!!! The lead character has a vunerability that just captures the audience immediately and makes us root for him. There is great chemistry between him and the actress to plays his sister as well as between these two and the sisters X-boyfriend. I laugh out loud and get treary eyed at other times. PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE TV Executives- LET THIS SHOW STAY ON THE AIR THE WHOLE SEASON and DON'T change its time slot. I'm SO SICK of shows I love beign cancelled within a few weeks b/c the Executives won't give the show the time it may need to find its audience, or because the networks have changed the time slots, or days the shows air and then wonder WHY OH WHY is it not getting the rates they should! Give this smart and charming comedy a chance to bloom!!! Expand
  2. CrystalS.
    Jul 9, 2008
    10
    I Love this show!!!! Cast members are awesome. Cant wait til the second season!!!
  3. RikkaC.
    Sep 19, 2007
    10
    I love the drama.It keeps me on my toes.Plus,I have to say I love the guys.I can't wait until season 08'!!
  4. Rico
    Jul 23, 2007
    9
    Coming from the view point of an actual college Greek, the show does not accurately portray Greeks on campus. But even though it is a falso portrail, I cannot help but watch every week. I love the show!
  5. PipHiggs
    Jul 19, 2007
    10
    Im addicted already. I mucho love this show, even though I've only seen it twice. Who doesn't like the underage drinking, hazing, drama of hot college life. Yep, just amazing...very catchy commercials by the way, annndd who cares if it teaches people bad things, or if it doesn't resemble greek life, if it was all that the show blowwww. But since it's not, the show Im addicted already. I mucho love this show, even though I've only seen it twice. Who doesn't like the underage drinking, hazing, drama of hot college life. Yep, just amazing...very catchy commercials by the way, annndd who cares if it teaches people bad things, or if it doesn't resemble greek life, if it was all that the show blowwww. But since it's not, the show is...welll....simply amazing. Expand
  6. Jan 15, 2012
    10
    i watched this when i was in high school and stopped as soon as i started college. i bought the dvd and start rewatching it and what can i say, this is by far my favorite series ever. i'm currently in the third season but i dreaded to finish it because i know it ends in season 4. seriously guys, start watching this series it's worth it. and maybe because the characters are developed ini watched this when i was in high school and stopped as soon as i started college. i bought the dvd and start rewatching it and what can i say, this is by far my favorite series ever. i'm currently in the third season but i dreaded to finish it because i know it ends in season 4. seriously guys, start watching this series it's worth it. and maybe because the characters are developed in depth and really well, i started to think that i love them though it is fictional and well they are a thousand miles away. really really really love. Expand
  7. ShayJ.
    Jul 24, 2007
    9
    I think that greek is awesome. i mean it's real enough to understand and its fake enough to be funny. i think that Greek is a good TV show and whether or not it should be on abc family isn't important. Its on abc fmaily so it doesn't really matter because just a few complaints will not stop the show from running. And the whole GREEK with two sigmas was just to show that it I think that greek is awesome. i mean it's real enough to understand and its fake enough to be funny. i think that Greek is a good TV show and whether or not it should be on abc family isn't important. Its on abc fmaily so it doesn't really matter because just a few complaints will not stop the show from running. And the whole GREEK with two sigmas was just to show that it was about a frat house and all. so if some people don't like it then don't watch it and if some parents don't like it then don't let your kids watch it but if you like it and you don't think it matters then does it really matter? NO! and i think that if abc family put it on their channel and all then it can't be that bad. and yes i have saw the show all three episodes. Collapse
  8. LindseyW
    Aug 10, 2007
    10
    This show is amazing. I watch it every Monday. :]]
  9. AaronL.
    Oct 10, 2007
    10
    Awesome show, can't wait for more!
  10. SamanthaH
    Jul 24, 2007
    10
    This show is really good!!
  11. BeansF
    Jul 30, 2007
    10
    Great characters and great writing. I love this show. Rusty and Cappie are the best.
  12. AvaD
    Aug 17, 2007
    9
    great show
  13. MelissaL.
    Aug 17, 2007
    10
    This show is so hilarious! It has both hot guys and girls and a lot of great humor.
  14. Katie
    Aug 8, 2007
    7
    This show is a great slightly dramatized account of life on a college campus through the eyes of a Greek affiliated student. Being a former Greek student myself, I can say that I really only have one major beef with this show...while funny, I HATE that Dale's character is the only "Christian" viewpoint character portrayed on the show. Let's be honest. College campuses are This show is a great slightly dramatized account of life on a college campus through the eyes of a Greek affiliated student. Being a former Greek student myself, I can say that I really only have one major beef with this show...while funny, I HATE that Dale's character is the only "Christian" viewpoint character portrayed on the show. Let's be honest. College campuses are definitely full of people like Dale. However, college campuses are ALSO full of people like myself, sorority girls who are strong Christians and also open minded and non-judgmental of how their friends and fellow students choose to live their lives. Yes, Dale is often hilarious. However, as the only "Christian" character on the show, I find it pretty offensive that the show seems to forward the stereotype of a Christian from the South. Were these kids to visit any SEC school, they'd find a much warmer, more social, open minded, normal and fair type of Christian Southern student...and more likely than not, Greek affiliated. Expand
  15. IlleneS.
    Sep 7, 2007
    10
    I love this show. It has drama like with Cappi and Rusty's Sister. At the end of every show u just want to know whats gonna happen next. Cant wait for next Monday for the Season Finale!!!!
  16. KristinaC.
    Jan 4, 2008
    10
    This is the greatest show on earth!!!!! RUSTY IS THE HOTTEST THING ALIVE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! They should make another season this year!!!!!! That would be totally awesome.
  17. Myosotis
    Aug 13, 2008
    10
    Finally a series about young people with humour in it! Love it so please keep it up.
  18. TomT
    Aug 27, 2009
    10
    This show is creative and they have mastered the character development. Now, they didn't do so the first season, but just like Friends and other shows with multiple characters, have that settled into their stereotypical roles and its WORKS. This is a show I never miss and love it. Plus, my kids love it too and so its a great one for all of us to watch!
  19. anono
    Jul 24, 2007
    9
    I didn't expect to like it at all, but now I'm hooked. It's creative and very enticing.
  20. BentleyD
    Jul 31, 2007
    10
    In Response to Jack S. What problem is unrealistic in any of the episodes of Greek.. First of all everyone knows that Greek life isnt like how they depict it. Thats what makes it interesting dumb ass! Stop being a negative ass whipe and enjoy a show for what it is. I dont understand you people. Your so ignorant. This is a satirical show. THAT IS THE WHOLE POINT!! IT MAKES FUN OF THE In Response to Jack S. What problem is unrealistic in any of the episodes of Greek.. First of all everyone knows that Greek life isnt like how they depict it. Thats what makes it interesting dumb ass! Stop being a negative ass whipe and enjoy a show for what it is. I dont understand you people. Your so ignorant. This is a satirical show. THAT IS THE WHOLE POINT!! IT MAKES FUN OF THE STEREOTYPES (JOE) This is breaking down what people think of frats by pointing out how stupid they are.. Yet you, the one who was supposedly a part of the greek leadership are too fucking stupid to understand it. Expand
  21. ShannonS
    Jul 30, 2007
    10
    i love it.
  22. RachelS
    Aug 1, 2007
    9
    To the Greek people who say the show doesn't portray Greeks accurately - I'm really curious what school you went to and when. I find the show is nearly dead on at times. Sure the show is exagerrated. Yeah, it's a little superficial. But 9 times out of 10 it reminds me of about 2 years ago when I was in college. My husband and I were both Greek and we love this show - the To the Greek people who say the show doesn't portray Greeks accurately - I'm really curious what school you went to and when. I find the show is nearly dead on at times. Sure the show is exagerrated. Yeah, it's a little superficial. But 9 times out of 10 it reminds me of about 2 years ago when I was in college. My husband and I were both Greek and we love this show - the main reason it's so funny is because we can relate to it so easily. Note: I am not a stupid, vain, or uninspired ex-sorority girl either - Computer science major with math and physics minors and going to U of Chicago for an MBA next year. I think it's great that the show portrays really smart people (Rusty) having social lives and balancing academics with fun. So much for flat characters, right? Expand
  23. LizS
    Aug 10, 2007
    10
    Do you know what I hate? How people in frats and sororeities give this show low scores for clichés. Don't you get it? It's supposed to be hilariously cliched. I love this show. The acting is great, the story line is mainly logical, and the guys are pretty hot. This show is nothing like reality TV though!
  24. NikiK
    Aug 13, 2007
    10
    I thought Greek would be horrible because it's on a family channel, but I can't get enough of it. The characters are very well developed. I find myself wanting more everytime it ends.
  25. StevieD.
    Aug 16, 2007
    10
    OMG i love this show!!! its the best no matter what all the other people think!!and cappie(scott foster) is the hottest man alive!! haha! i really hope greek doesnt get cancelled though, because i know alot of people are totally against it. but i love it and i never want it to stop airing!!! ITS THE BEST!!
  26. cristinar.
    Aug 20, 2007
    10
    This show is exactly what satifies your show hunger!
  27. JImJ
    Aug 22, 2007
    10
    Love it- this network is pushing the envelope, but in a real-life way. Way to go ABC FAMILY!
  28. stevend.
    Aug 9, 2007
    10
    This show ROCKZ i cant wait to see more of it ...it should COME on more than jus once a week lol
  29. joannem
    Sep 11, 2007
    10
    The show is awesome. Its drama not based on a true story common people get real
  30. Marcus
    Sep 12, 2007
    9
    Glad it's coming back. 'Greek' isn't exactly true fraternity life, but it gives it the ol' college try... well, as much as the FCC will allow! DBX!
  31. AriM.
    Sep 17, 2007
    10
    Can't wait for season 2.
  32. DaisyK
    Sep 8, 2007
    10
    i just love this show.
  33. EliW.
    Oct 26, 2008
    10
    It covers everything you want to know about college! Normal problems faced in college + right amount of humor = Greek! Two thumbs up keep up the good work abc family!
  34. Matt
    Jan 5, 2008
    10
    Show is great! Love it.
  35. Dude5860
    Apr 21, 2008
    10
    This show is kind of iffy for a family channel, but it is still great!
  36. beccap.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    You MUST keep Greek. Defintily the best show ever ran
  37. Lindsay
    Dec 11, 2007
    10
    I love this show!! Please keep the second season!!! I can't wait till 08 for season 2 to come out!!
  38. Barb
    Jul 21, 2007
    10
    THIS SHOW IS AWESOME!!!!!
  39. LizB
    Jul 22, 2007
    10
    I actually enjoy it. I attend one of the largest universities in America, but I am too old to go through the Greek system. It is an escape for me even though it is probably not realistic, but what TV show is?
  40. carlw
    Jul 23, 2007
    9
    If you try to argue that these characters are paper thin, you have ocviously not seen the show. The actor known as "Rusty" in the show portray's the more realistic part of college life and the ordinary kid who hasnt really come to "live life to the fullest" yet. The story line is actually very impressive but looks as if it could potentially die out in some of the later episodes. It If you try to argue that these characters are paper thin, you have ocviously not seen the show. The actor known as "Rusty" in the show portray's the more realistic part of college life and the ordinary kid who hasnt really come to "live life to the fullest" yet. The story line is actually very impressive but looks as if it could potentially die out in some of the later episodes. It is a great teen/college student show because it uses and exaggerates the problems young adults go through in everyday life. I am also i believer that there is no way this should be on abc FAMILY. Keep the young ones away from Greek but overall it is a great comedy/drama. If you watch this show you will surely enjoy the dilemas Rusty and his sister face along with Cappy's histarical and loveable personality. Expand
  41. Hh
    Jul 24, 2007
    9
    This is a great show! Definitely entertaining and reminds me of my drama filled college days.
  42. ryang
    Jul 24, 2007
    10
    Greek is a kick ass show. I don't give a damn what anyone else thinks. The show was made for a teen audience, and who better to vote about it then one of them. The show shows the fun side of what the college life is about ~partying~ and thats all everybody wants to do, and if you dan't like to party, don't bitch about the show, just get a life and don't watch TV.
  43. BillB
    Jul 27, 2007
    10
    This is my favorite show ever
  44. JH.
    Aug 14, 2007
    10
    Totally enjoy this show. I'm the parent of a daughter in a sorority and while she says it's "not always like that" it's entertaining. Glad to see it addresses a lot of issues, like gays and nerdy kids!!
  45. lore
    Aug 22, 2007
    10
    such a great show, if its eve cancelled..im gonna be pretty upset. this show is so good and i love the characters specially rusty he's so adorable, i like him alot!!!!
  46. Suzie
    Aug 26, 2008
    10
    I love this show! Yes, it plays on abc family which it shouldn't. Yes, it inaccurately depicts Greek life, but those are the stupidest reasons for giving it a bad review which more than half of the people have done. And it's definitely nothing like those high school type shows the haters keep comparing it to. Have they actually watched the show? Because if they had they I love this show! Yes, it plays on abc family which it shouldn't. Yes, it inaccurately depicts Greek life, but those are the stupidest reasons for giving it a bad review which more than half of the people have done. And it's definitely nothing like those high school type shows the haters keep comparing it to. Have they actually watched the show? Because if they had they wouldn't be making that comparison. Expand
  47. RitaR.
    Sep 13, 2008
    10
    My family loves this show! Having 2 teens in this house, I can say that the show touches on some pertinent issues that college students face (not just in the GREEK system)and watching this show opens a great dialogue with your teens. The characters are very endearing (especially Cappie and Rusty) and the problems they face are not exploited with overkill, just enough to get a quick My family loves this show! Having 2 teens in this house, I can say that the show touches on some pertinent issues that college students face (not just in the GREEK system)and watching this show opens a great dialogue with your teens. The characters are very endearing (especially Cappie and Rusty) and the problems they face are not exploited with overkill, just enough to get a quick message across to the viewer. Fabulous and funny show! Expand
  48. BrettE
    Jul 19, 2009
    7
    Engaging throughout with genuinely likable & unique characters, each with their own flaws & idiosyncrasies, it's not hard to get into "Greek" and admire its fast-paced dialogue and (usually) fine acting. Its major flaw is that sometimes the writers don't trust the audience. They would rather dumb us down by nailing us over the head with what certain characters feel/think instead Engaging throughout with genuinely likable & unique characters, each with their own flaws & idiosyncrasies, it's not hard to get into "Greek" and admire its fast-paced dialogue and (usually) fine acting. Its major flaw is that sometimes the writers don't trust the audience. They would rather dumb us down by nailing us over the head with what certain characters feel/think instead of just letting those characters BE themselves, without cheesy over-the-top dialogue that they would NEVER utter, just so we get exactly what's going on. This writing flaw is seen most visibly with Cappie. They want so badly for him to be "cool" and "hip" that 50% of the time it comes across as forced and obnoxious. Not his fault - he's a fine actor - but Casey is one of the most likable characters on the show because they let her be a chill, relaxed, normal girl without all of those contrived lines. Expand
  49. Feb 28, 2011
    7
    For starters Greek is not such a soap opera as it's described . It's quite different from the other shows, but still i have noticed that in the show mistakes are objectively understood like the friends are all therapists.
    In real life its much more cruel and unforgiving , but i suppose it has a great view on ''Out side world''.
    And it's quite hilarious and fun to watch.
  50. Aug 27, 2011
    10
    This show is not realistic at all. If you are looking for a realistic portrayal of Greek college just go to your local state college on a Thursday, Friday or Saturday night. The story line is also somewhat predictable. Despite this, Greek does an amazing job with the characters. The depth of the character development and the character's connectedness is phenomenal. The show will have youThis show is not realistic at all. If you are looking for a realistic portrayal of Greek college just go to your local state college on a Thursday, Friday or Saturday night. The story line is also somewhat predictable. Despite this, Greek does an amazing job with the characters. The depth of the character development and the character's connectedness is phenomenal. The show will have you loving a protagonist in one episode and then show the other side of the story with the former protagonist now a hated antagonist. It flips back and forth like this to show viewers that there isn't one side to any story and every character has a chance to turn bad or redeem him or herself. This is one of the best shows of all time. Expand
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Reviewed by: Dan Fienberg
    Jan 5, 2011
    60
    Greek is bound-and-determined to retain focus on its core cast, even if some of the machinations to make that possible come across as slightly contrived and belabored.
  2. Greek lacks the acidic one-liners that mark great satires like Heathers, but it strains against its conventional boundaries just enough to be enticing.
  3. Greek is much more than artful manipulation of marketing strategy. The premiere has several surprises even as it dares you to pigeonhole any of these characters. The talented young ensemble cast works hard to sell the stories and mostly succeeds.