• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 28, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
Grimm Image
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 236 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Russell Hornsby, Claire Coffee, Silas Weir Mitchell
  • Summary: Detective Nick Burkhardt (David Giuntoli) learns he descends from an ancient family who is in charge of keeping humans safe from creatures that were described in the Grimm's fairy tales.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Fantasy, Horror, Suspense, Science Fiction
  • Creator: David Greenwalt, Jim Kouf, Stephen Carpenter
  • Show Type: Between Seasons
  • Season 1 premiere date: Oct 28, 2011
  • Episode Length: 60
  • Air Time: 09:00 PM
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Oct 27, 2011
    80
    It has chills and humor and the ability to take a procedural story and twist it.
  2. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Oct 28, 2011
    75
    It's dark, disturbing and a little downbeat--which isn't a dis at all.
  3. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Oct 21, 2011
    70
    Some of the jokes work, and some of the frights are actually scary, and on a repeat viewing the craftsmanship and attention to detail made more of an impression.
  4. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Oct 21, 2011
    50
    The show offers genuine scares, but lines like "I already cried wolf once--you think they're gonna believe me?" cast a hokey spell. [31 Oct 2011, p.35]
  5. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Oct 28, 2011
    50
    There's a potentially good supernatural cop show to be made, and certain pieces in place to make this into that. But the version you'll see on NBC tonight seems to be embracing the show's likely failure by being something few will miss if it doesn't work out.
  6. Reviewed by: Mike Lechevallier
    Oct 27, 2011
    50
    Grimm is neither a very strong police procedural nor a supernatural drama, as it sacrifices the intelligence required to construct smart, puzzling crimes in order to spend more time attempting to enunciate its fantastical elements, which aren't all that fantastical, with amateurish CGI.
  7. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Oct 27, 2011
    20
    It isn't invested deeply enough in magic to create an alternative world, and while Giuntoli is perfectly fine as a cop, the police procedural part feels routine.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 62
  2. Negative: 5 out of 62
  1. Oct 28, 2011
    10
    Grimm is as much a mystery/crime drama as it is fantasy and supernatural and more of an adventure as well. And as long as the series can maintain that balance, viewers should be in for a satisfying and enjoyable ride. Collapse
  2. Dec 1, 2011
    10
    I've been enjoying this new TV Show this last month. Conclusion: Although is different from the real story, it's being interesting. Pretty different from what the review previously said. Expand
  3. Oct 30, 2011
    10
    I felt Grimm's pilot was satisfying to watch. Acting was great, I was on the edge of my seat while watching it (And was a little scared). All-in-all I feel this will end up being great if they can keep a balance, and spend more time on learning/Teaching viewers about each monster! Expand
  4. Mar 22, 2012
    8
    The show gets better with each episode, nice take on the fairy tale characters by incorporating them into modern day world. I only found a couple of episodes to be lame (the reason I didn't give it a perfect 10) - the ones that are darker and "Grimm" are the best. The acting by the main cast is good. Expand
  5. Nov 21, 2011
    7
    A quite charming series that is a lot more enjoyable than you'd think especially considering this year's rather weak slate of shows in general. Special effects are sometimes incredibly cheesy having that said the pacing, the characters and the original short stories are irresistible it's like a King of Poe short story collection in motion. Recommended. Expand
  6. Nov 7, 2011
    6
    I like this show so far. It definitely has promise. It was a good first episode and a even better second episode so we'll see. Good story to the show and the acting seems fit. Im looking forward to whats to come. Expand
  7. Jun 28, 2013
    0
    Tv show concepts don't get much more ridiculous than this. I gave this show a fair shot, I can't believe it's still on the air. The only thing I can figure is that the same people who bought a Snuggie also watch NBC. Expand

See all 62 User Reviews