• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 28, 2011
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 266 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Detective Nick Burkhardt (David Giuntoli) learns he descends from an ancient family who is in charge of keeping humans safe from creatures that were described in the Grimm's fairy tales.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Fantasy, Horror, Suspense, Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Oct 27, 2011
    80
    It has chills and humor and the ability to take a procedural story and twist it.
  2. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Oct 28, 2011
    75
    It's dark, disturbing and a little downbeat--which isn't a dis at all.
  3. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Oct 21, 2011
    70
    Some of the jokes work, and some of the frights are actually scary, and on a repeat viewing the craftsmanship and attention to detail made more of an impression.
  4. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Oct 21, 2011
    50
    The show is moderately entertaining, albeit somewhat predictable.
  5. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Oct 28, 2011
    50
    Compared to so many other crime procedurals, Grimm offers a twist on the usual. It remains to be seen whether that twist will be superficial or substantive.
  6. Reviewed by: Mike Lechevallier
    Oct 27, 2011
    50
    Grimm is neither a very strong police procedural nor a supernatural drama, as it sacrifices the intelligence required to construct smart, puzzling crimes in order to spend more time attempting to enunciate its fantastical elements, which aren't all that fantastical, with amateurish CGI.
  7. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Oct 27, 2011
    20
    It isn't invested deeply enough in magic to create an alternative world, and while Giuntoli is perfectly fine as a cop, the police procedural part feels routine.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 64
  2. Negative: 7 out of 64
  1. May 25, 2012
    10
    This is the best new concept show on broadcast TV. Grimm was a very good show with very little downside, good concept, good script, goodThis is the best new concept show on broadcast TV. Grimm was a very good show with very little downside, good concept, good script, good acting.

    I think Nick, Monroe, Hank and Captain Sean Renard were the reason for this success, not that there were any woman up till now. I like Juliette, as Nicks girlfriend. I like Dr. Harper as Monroe's love interest.
    Expand
  2. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    It's a really good, fun show. Incredible attention to deatails. Smart and witty. There's nothing else like it, so there is no boring formula.It's a really good, fun show. Incredible attention to deatails. Smart and witty. There's nothing else like it, so there is no boring formula. Intriging and curious what happens next. Keep it going. Expand
  3. Oct 30, 2011
    10
    I felt Grimm's pilot was satisfying to watch. Acting was great, I was on the edge of my seat while watching it (And was a little scared).I felt Grimm's pilot was satisfying to watch. Acting was great, I was on the edge of my seat while watching it (And was a little scared). All-in-all I feel this will end up being great if they can keep a balance, and spend more time on learning/Teaching viewers about each monster! Expand
  4. Nov 1, 2011
    8
    I've only seen one episode so far, but I like it quite a bit. The acting isn't great, but it's definitely intriguing.
  5. Oct 29, 2011
    7
    This is a very intriguing idea that reminds me of Buffy with a horror focus (rather than the hip, funny thing it did so well). And that's notThis is a very intriguing idea that reminds me of Buffy with a horror focus (rather than the hip, funny thing it did so well). And that's not so surprising given the two shows share producers. I'm definitely going to keep watching, although I'm not 100% sold on the acting and writing. Not that the first episode was bad, but it wasn't fantastic. Nonetheless, there's a lot of interesting storylines hinted at in the first episode. I'm looking forward to next week.

    Oh, and the fact that this is getting a 55 on Metacritic, while the truly craptastic Once Upon a Time is getting a 66 is evidence that a lot of TV critics don't know what they're talking about in my opinion.
    Expand
  6. Nov 2, 2011
    6
    The acting is great, the settings are wonderful, and the CG of the creatures transforming is awesome. Where this show falls flat is in twoThe acting is great, the settings are wonderful, and the CG of the creatures transforming is awesome. Where this show falls flat is in two major areas: monster makeup and writing. When we see the CG of seemingly normal humans flashing into glimpses of their true monster nature, it looks creepy and amazing. And we thus expect creepy and amazing from the fully-transformed creatures as well. Instead, we're left hanging with what looks like a man in cheap, rented wolf suit. In the opening scene, he jumps out so quickly it's hard to tell, but as we see these "Blutenbaaden" in a more serene setting later, we realize it's nothing for the crew to be proud of. Then there's the writing. The concept is amazing, but some scenes--like the scene where Nick first talks to the good Blutenbaad--are just cheesy. The point is good, the dialogue is terrible. Overall, the writers and the makeup artists will have to up their game for me to keep watching, but everything else is good enough for me to at least give Grimm a few more chances to save itself. Expand
  7. Jun 28, 2013
    0
    Tv show concepts don't get much more ridiculous than this. I gave this show a fair shot, I can't believe it's still on the air. The only thingTv show concepts don't get much more ridiculous than this. I gave this show a fair shot, I can't believe it's still on the air. The only thing I can figure is that the same people who bought a Snuggie also watch NBC. Expand

See all 64 User Reviews

Trailers