• Network: TBS
  • Series Premiere Date: Nov 14, 2013
  • Season #: 1
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Nov 14, 2013
    91
    [Bill Lawrence] scores again here, with an instantly appealing ensemble, from Astin's "soulless upstairs tool" to Rory Scovel as the downstairs dude from "a very competitive community college.
  2. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Nov 14, 2013
    83
    It's a simple idea, and the supporting characters on both floors are fairly broad and familiar types, but the execution is good.
  3. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Nov 14, 2013
    80
    We like the people and the jokes are funny. We know there’s something vulnerable and even poignant behind that barrage of one-liners.
  4. Reviewed by: Todd VanDerWerff
    Nov 14, 2013
    75
    While Ground Floor achieves its deliberately modest aims, it also leaves the viewer wondering if something more might have been accomplished with that premise, particularly with the enjoyable Heelan in the female lead.
  5. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Nov 15, 2013
    70
    When the jokes are hit and miss, McGinley and Scovel can easily salvage them. While the chemistry between Astin and Heelan isn't really palpable, both characters grow on you after a couple of episodes and everybody else in the cast also manages to elevate the material whenever it falters.
  6. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Nov 14, 2013
    70
    It's the best original comedy TBS has yet produced--which may not be saying much, but given the mostly lousy track record among broadcast sitcoms this fall, it's hardly bargain basement.
  7. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Nov 14, 2013
    70
    Ground Floor doesn’t make much of an impression initially. But stick with it for three or four episodes and it grows on you.
  8. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Nov 14, 2013
    70
    McGinley is delightfully obnoxious, and the young lovers are quite sweet, but it's the undercurrent of resentment flowing in two directions that raises Ground Floor, if not to TV comedy's penthouse, at least to its second floor.
  9. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Nov 14, 2013
    60
    There is a professional efficiency to much of the comedy. (It is funny sometimes.)
  10. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Nov 14, 2013
    60
    [Ground Floor] yields an occasional chuckle; it’s just more of a slacker than an overachiever.
  11. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Nov 14, 2013
    50
    One thing that might improve this office comedy is a few pink slips--upstairs, downstairs and off-camera.
  12. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Nov 14, 2013
    40
    Most of the young, relatively untested actors in Ground Floor are not nearly as talented at creating endearing characters; in the first two episodes the characters are mostly just ciphers.
  13. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Nov 14, 2013
    0
    The new worst show of the fall season.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Jan 3, 2014
    10
    This is my new favorite program and i don't say that easy. I just love the whole concept and the actors blended together its a perfect match. usually there is someone you just don't like in a series but i cant fine one in this one. The relationship between Brody and Jennifer is just so hot and by that i mean Jennifer is so hot my computer almost burn up! JK. but the relation ship between those two are just amazing, how they sing and get this like sexual chemistry kinda and just all in all are just an epic combination. but also the relationship between all the other characters how they interact whit each other is just something you don't really get all the time in all tv-shows. So to sum it up even tho i am a scumbag that watches the show free on the internet bc i live in Norway where the show hasn't aired on television yet. I believe this show is one of the best i have ever seen. Full Review »
  2. Dec 5, 2013
    10
    Best sitcom TBS has put out, it has just enough dark humor not to push any boundaries and just make you laugh, unlike Sullivan & Son. The writers make the usually annoying Romeo and Juliet-style romance work well, and Rory Scovel plays an interesting antagonist "Harvard," basically an odd, sarcastic, hilariously unsuccessful version of Tybalt. Sitcoms are having it rough these days, so adding a guaranteed-funny veteran actor like John C. McGinley was a wise move. Full Review »
  3. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    Haven't laughed this much during a sitcom since the Friends days. Glad to see Bill Lawrence is at it again. Great cast and clever writing set this apart from the rest of the pack. Keep up the good "work". Full Review »