• Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Feb 23, 2014
  • Season #: 1
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 26
  2. Negative: 4 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Feb 18, 2014
    25
    This miscast, tone-deaf family sitcom fails on multiple fronts, the biggest being J.K. Simmons’ nonsensical character: a lawyer and father of two who’s managed to hide his blindness from just about everyone.
  2. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Feb 21, 2014
    20
    I thought "About a Boy" was bad, but then I watched Growing Up Fisher and realized that things can always get worse.
  3. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Feb 20, 2014
    20
    On Growing Up Fisher, you don't root for Mel nearly as much as you wince for him.
  4. Reviewed by: Brian Tallerico
    Feb 20, 2014
    20
    One of the worst comedy pilots of the 2013-14 season relies entirely on two-dimensional character tropes.
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Mar 4, 2014
    9
    A show I can watch with my entire family and have a good time is a rarity anymore. My family loved the show. Can't wait for the next episode. And by the way, if you think Jena Elfman isn't hot then your eyesight is worse than the Dad on the show. Full Review »
  2. Feb 24, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. The show (as of 2/24/2014, after the pilot) has a lot of potential to grow. J.K. Simmons is plays a great father figure, and Eli Baker is as genuine as a kid character can get. Many of the secondary story lines including the apartment and the mom's attempts to find herself again are interesting, but fail to make as much of an impact as the main story line does.

    Hopefully the show stays around for more than 1 season because if the pilot is any indication, "Growing Up Fisher" is going to be an amazing feel-good television show.
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 21, 2014
    10
    Growing up fisher is heartwarming this show is a major difference to the people that have disable or not . just realize its okay to be different i need to realize it but still remember this - Luke Christian

    P.S Grade A+
    Full Review »