• Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 12, 2012
  • Season #: 1
Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 25
  2. Negative: 12 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Sep 12, 2012
    30
    It's far too mediocre to be truly provocative even if the premise is a carefully camouflaged bit of retrograde.
  2. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Sep 12, 2012
    25
    I expect more from you [Jimmy Fallon] than this insipid sitcom.
  3. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Sep 12, 2012
    30
    Parenting can be a tough slog, but I've always found it to come with more laughs than this sorry show.
  4. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Sep 12, 2012
    25
    Notwithstanding the unfathomable reaction of the studio audience, the show certainly couldn't survive on the basis of its humor, because there is none.
  5. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Sep 12, 2012
    20
    It's a cheap, stale, stereotype-addicted sitcom where no one, male or female, comes off especially well or likeable, excepting possibly the babies.
  6. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Sep 12, 2012
    20
    Run, don't walk, from this depressingly generic retro-sitcom about--guess what--guys with kids.
  7. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Sep 11, 2012
    37
    Guys With Kids is an idea in search of a show. And a better idea.
  8. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Sep 11, 2012
    12
    I'd rather babysit a dozen children between the ages of 2 and 10 then sit through more of this.
  9. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Sep 11, 2012
    25
    Nothing to see here. Move on.
  10. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Sep 10, 2012
    10
    It's a show that should never have been put on paper to begin with.
  11. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Sep 10, 2012
    20
    The women here are shrewish, the vibe is both manic and tired, and overall, the decent cast (which includes the wonderful Anthony Anderson) is given nothing funny to do.
  12. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Sep 10, 2012
    10
    Truly, all the actors on Guys with Kids--even the unknown children used as props--deserve better writing than what they get in this crummy, unimaginative sitcom.
User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 39 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Sep 14, 2012
    8
    In spite of the negative reviews given it by the "professional" critics (which I don't put any stock in to begin with), I enjoy the show. I found it thoroughly refreshing to finally have a sitcom that had absolutely zero inclination to sex, innuendo, crude humor, or any of the other inappropriate topics that have been so prevalent in TV since the 90's. The jokes were simple and wholesome while not losing any of its humor or coming off as being cheesy, making it an excellent show to watch with family and friends in the evening.

    I absolutely believe the show and the concept have potential, and I would highly recommend watching it.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 13, 2012
    7
    It's not going to set any records, win any awards, but found it pretty enjoyable all the same. It's good mindless viewing, perfect with your dinner on your lap. Has it's moments, some clever humour, some just over the top. Think it's got legs, with an interesting cast. Full Review »
  3. Jul 17, 2013
    8
    It is one of the best shows after Friends/ Sienfeld and Modern Family. I dont understand why the sitcom has not many great reviews. The episodes are so much fun. My personal fave is halloween. I wish they restart the show. Full Review »