Guys With Kids : Season 1

  • Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 12, 2012
Metascore
37

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 25
  2. Negative: 12 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Rick Porter
    Sep 12, 2012
    50
    The show feels like it should be better.
  2. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 12, 2012
    50
    It's precisely what the title says: just new iterations of the same spit-up and teething jokes.
  3. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Sep 12, 2012
    40
    Modern guys may have all manner of hilarious, disturbing and conflicting feelings about their children and the role of caregiver, but none of them make it into the pilot. Only Gary, exhausted and overwhelmed, seems to be experiencing life with an actual child, which is why he gets all the best lines.
  4. 60
    The weak link is Jesse Bradford's Chris.... The other couples are more humanely drawn. Because they make emotional and psychological sense, the chirpy sitcom banter goes down more smoothly.
  5. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Sep 12, 2012
    40
    Almost all of it feels hit-and-run, an exercise in setting up a clever line here or a cartoonish response there.
  6. Reviewed by: Michael Abernethy
    Sep 12, 2012
    50
    Save for Sheila, the parents are likable and their circumstances familiar, but Guys with Kids relies too often on predictable jokes.
  7. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Sep 12, 2012
    42
    There are some adorable tots mugging hard on NBC's Guy with Kids. The adults muck it all up.
  8. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Sep 11, 2012
    40
    The backdrop is obviously meant to be relatable, but the execution brings such a stale approach to sexual politics as to feel dated by the first act break.
  9. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Sep 11, 2012
    42
    Guys with Kids is over-populated, under-funny and no match for the simple charms of Three Men and a Baby, the surprise mega-hit of 1987.
  10. Reviewed by: Alessandra Stanley
    Sep 10, 2012
    50
    Some of the jokes are amusing, but the show is a traditional sitcom that looks slightly dated.
  11. Reviewed by: Jessica Shaw
    Sep 10, 2012
    42
    It's 30 minutes of cringeworthy material, full of lazy jokes and stereotypes of overwhelmed dads and uptight ex-wives.
User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 39 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Sep 14, 2012
    8
    In spite of the negative reviews given it by the "professional" critics (which I don't put any stock in to begin with), I enjoy the show. IIn spite of the negative reviews given it by the "professional" critics (which I don't put any stock in to begin with), I enjoy the show. I found it thoroughly refreshing to finally have a sitcom that had absolutely zero inclination to sex, innuendo, crude humor, or any of the other inappropriate topics that have been so prevalent in TV since the 90's. The jokes were simple and wholesome while not losing any of its humor or coming off as being cheesy, making it an excellent show to watch with family and friends in the evening.

    I absolutely believe the show and the concept have potential, and I would highly recommend watching it.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 13, 2012
    7
    It's not going to set any records, win any awards, but found it pretty enjoyable all the same. It's good mindless viewing, perfect with yourIt's not going to set any records, win any awards, but found it pretty enjoyable all the same. It's good mindless viewing, perfect with your dinner on your lap. Has it's moments, some clever humour, some just over the top. Think it's got legs, with an interesting cast. Full Review »
  3. Jul 17, 2013
    8
    It is one of the best shows after Friends/ Sienfeld and Modern Family. I dont understand why the sitcom has not many great reviews. TheIt is one of the best shows after Friends/ Sienfeld and Modern Family. I dont understand why the sitcom has not many great reviews. The episodes are so much fun. My personal fave is halloween. I wish they restart the show. Full Review »