Halt and Catch Fire : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 1, 2014
Season #: 1, 2, 3
Halt and Catch Fire Image
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 169 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Former IBM sales executive Joe MacMillan (Lee Pace) recruits reluctant Cardiff Electric engineer Gordon Clark (Scoot McNairy) and programming prodigy Cameron Howe (Mackenzie Davis) to reverse engineer IBM's BIOS system, setting up the PC revolution.
  • Genre(s): Drama

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: Jeff Korbelik
    Jun 2, 2014
    83
    The thrill comes not from the actual computer building, but the people doing the building. These characters are complex and well-developed, especially Pace’s fiery exec, who is a mesmerizing manipulator.
  2. Reviewed by: Brian Tallerico
    May 28, 2014
    80
    It’s not quite as nuanced as "Mad Men," but it could be before the end of the season.
  3. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    May 30, 2014
    80
    Though the pilot of Halt and Catch Fire, AMC's latest character-driven drama premiering Sunday, doesn't hit the gloriously high bar set by the opening episode of "Mad Men," it is provocative and promising nonetheless.
  4. Reviewed by: Marisa LaScala
    May 30, 2014
    70
    With the relationships among MacMillan, Clark, and Howe in the foreground, Halt and Catch Fire makes impressive use of its time period without treating it as an elbow-to-the-ribs joke.
  5. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    May 30, 2014
    70
    There's a tentativeness to Halt's first hour--it doesn't end especially strongly--but overall, the drama has a mostly credible pilot and lead actors who will probably be able take the show in compelling directions.
  6. Reviewed by: Melissa Maerz
    May 30, 2014
    67
    There are still quite a few good reasons to watch this flawed show. The pilot features some clever twists that I won’t ruin here. The dialogue can be highly quotable, in an engrave-this-mantra-on-your-iPad way. (“Computers aren’t the thing–they’re the thing that gets us to the thing!”) And McNairy is fantastic, simmering with quiet intensity that suggests that there’s much more to Gordon than we’re privy to in the pilot.
  7. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    May 28, 2014
    50
    At least in the one episode sent to critics--Halt doesn't offer up complicated, three-dimensional characters. Instead, we get versions of familiar types pulled from the character storage room by the writers.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 32
  2. Negative: 3 out of 32
  1. Jun 6, 2015
    10
    Yep, it's a great show! Great story, cast, cinematography, score etc.... one of the best series on! Hopefully, the network realizes this andYep, it's a great show! Great story, cast, cinematography, score etc.... one of the best series on! Hopefully, the network realizes this and green lights more seasons! Anyone giving this a negative rating has an agenda, must be working for a different network or something... Expand
  2. Jul 9, 2014
    10
    the first time i saw it i thought a who cares it's going to be similar to mad men but such good acting that mad me change my mind. the way thethe first time i saw it i thought a who cares it's going to be similar to mad men but such good acting that mad me change my mind. the way the actors show their emotions are genuine not like other shows that try to ripoff a good show but end up making a disaster Expand
  3. Jun 1, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. While the comparisons to Mad Men aren't exactly there, this show seems determined to make it's own path by exploring the early days of the personal computer boom in 1980's texas and by showing these three desperate characters making it much more personal.
    Joe Macmillan seems to be the lead star with the almost Patrick Bateman-esque bad boy charisma.

    The only real fault of the show so far is rushing through some of the technical details like in the montage in Gordon Clark's house when they are taking apart an IMB computer.
    Expand
  4. Jul 21, 2014
    9
    This is a fantastic show. I was a part of the computer revolution in the early 1980's, and this brings back many memories to me. I stronglyThis is a fantastic show. I was a part of the computer revolution in the early 1980's, and this brings back many memories to me. I strongly recommend this show to anyone who is a techy and remembers when the computer industry was in it's infancy. The show incorporates some personal stuff into the story, but I suppose that has to be done in this day and age. I will be greatly disappointed if AMC does not pick this show up for Season 2. It's a winner. Expand
  5. Jun 30, 2015
    8
    Season 1 had a very strong cast and a solid story that gave a keen and intense insight to the computer boom of the early-mid 1980's. TheSeason 1 had a very strong cast and a solid story that gave a keen and intense insight to the computer boom of the early-mid 1980's. The season finale took a bit of a nosedive almost as if it was meant to be a miniseries. I'm glad it was renewed though, it's a great AMC original that deserves more viewers. Expand
  6. Aug 4, 2014
    6
    Halt and Catch Fire fails to measure up to Mad Men. It lacks the substance and longing. No one has much nostalgic affection for 5 1/4" disks,Halt and Catch Fire fails to measure up to Mad Men. It lacks the substance and longing. No one has much nostalgic affection for 5 1/4" disks, dot matrix printers and Lotus 123. Mad Men was inherently atmospheric and enigmatic, set in a trans-formative decade. H&CF attempts to trick us into believing the same. At best, the show is a crafty experiment, perhaps an executive wager: let's take a weak premise and infuse it with high production values and an ever-so-trendy gloomy narrative drag. At it's core Mad Men was driven by a melancholy angst-ridden emptiness. Halt is simply a barren riff on Steve Jobs, Steve Wozniak and Courtney Love assembling a Compaq Portable. Expand
  7. Jul 8, 2014
    1
    Show was hanging by a thread in the first three episodes. The baffling events of episode 3 made me literally turn it off 3/4 of the way intoShow was hanging by a thread in the first three episodes. The baffling events of episode 3 made me literally turn it off 3/4 of the way into it. Boring, uninteresting characters with almost no resemblance to reality. A shame considering how much I really wanted to like this show. Expand

See all 32 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Second Opinions: TV Critics Re-Evaluate the Summer Shows

    Second Opinions: TV Critics Re-Evaluate the Summer Shows Image
    Published: September 17, 2014
    With the summer TV season winding down, it's time to re-evaluate the summer shows. Find out why critics now love shows like FX's You're the Worst and The Bridge, read what they thought of BoJack Horseman, The Leftovers and Halt and Catch Fire, and see if The Strain and Masters of Sex are heading downhill.