• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 4, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Hannibal Image
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 409 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Will Graham (Hugh Dancy) must find a way to get himself out of the situation he ends up in due to what happened at the end of the first season.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Horror, Suspense
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Reviewed by: Todd VanDerWerff
    Feb 28, 2014
    100
    Hannibal has always been beautiful, and that’s still the case. It’s also always featured dialogue and plots that stay just on the right side of being too pretentious, and that remains the case. If there are any notable steps up from season one, it’s both in the tension that mounts thanks to the great game played between Will and Hannibal and in the better use of the show’s supporting cast.
  2. 100
    You could say it’s as close as a broadcast network has gotten to the personal artistry of the best premium-cable shows, if it weren’t bolder and more elegant than anything on pay cable right now, including HBO’s own serial-killer drama, True Detective.
  3. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Mar 7, 2014
    100
    The show is infernally good. [17 Mar 2014]
  4. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Feb 27, 2014
    91
    The last thing television needs is more serial killer dramas. But when they're this well made, this smart and creative and unexpectedly funny? Then, yes, more Hannibal, please.
  5. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Feb 26, 2014
    88
    It’s the thinking man’s serial-killer drama, a twisted tale that never trolls for cheap scares but is plenty terrifying.
  6. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Feb 28, 2014
    80
    Hannibal is much better than it once was, perhaps the guiltiest pleasure on television at this time.
  7. Reviewed by: Michael Starr
    Feb 28, 2014
    63
    Hannibal was lauded last season for its stylized look, which is on display here. Fishburne, as usual, is solid, and I like Dancy’s interpretation of Graham (just the right amount of despair without descending into self-pity).

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 51
  2. Negative: 1 out of 51
  1. Jun 22, 2014
    10
    Hannibal had silenced (no pun intended!) the naysayers with its excellent first season, but Season 2 truly cemented this as one of the veryHannibal had silenced (no pun intended!) the naysayers with its excellent first season, but Season 2 truly cemented this as one of the very best TV shows on the air. It's not a tv show, it's an art. Profound and yet so subtle. It all culminated in the absolutely fantastic “Yakimono”, which was basically the first of two amazing finales Hannibal would deliver within one season. The excitement of Miriam (Anna Chlumsky) turning up alive turned out to simply be the next step in Hannibal’s twisted traps, as Miriam was a ticking time bomb of sorts – set to go off at just the right time, aimed at a perfectly-placed target in Chilton. Expand
  2. Mar 2, 2014
    10
    From the art direction to the acting to the pacing to the mood to everything else, this show is fantastic. The premise of season two is evenFrom the art direction to the acting to the pacing to the mood to everything else, this show is fantastic. The premise of season two is even more interesting than season one. Expand
  3. Mar 30, 2014
    10
    Season two came right out swinging and hit A home run..This show is excellent.everything about is top tier,specially the acting..HannibalSeason two came right out swinging and hit A home run..This show is excellent.everything about is top tier,specially the acting..Hannibal Lecter is A character that whenever his name is mentioned,Anthony Hopkins face is Automatically associated with it,and rightfully so,he did an amazing job in the role...I have been A fan of Mads Mikkelsons' acting for A bit,so I was familiar with him,I never thought it would be possible for someone to redefine the Hannibal character in such A way as he has..To me ,he has taken on what has to be one of the toughest assignments possible,making people see his version as Hannibal first,instead of Hopkins version,and in my opinion he is doing that...Just an overall great character,the physicality he brings to the role also adds more to it..All the actors do A great job on the show,and season two is doing great things.the intrigue each week as to when the moment comes that Jack Crawford finally realizes what Dr. Lecter is,leading us to the aftermath of that epic confrontation in the opening moments of the first episode of season two.. Expand
  4. Apr 6, 2014
    10
    This is one of the best shows ever created. Much better than traditional crime shows and pulls you up and out of your seat like a movie. The 2This is one of the best shows ever created. Much better than traditional crime shows and pulls you up and out of your seat like a movie. The 2 main characters' conflict fuels the story in the best of ways. Expand
  5. Apr 30, 2014
    10
    Hannibal is probably my favourite TV show currently airing, and I watch a lot of good TV. Everything from the acting to the mood is perfect.Hannibal is probably my favourite TV show currently airing, and I watch a lot of good TV. Everything from the acting to the mood is perfect. The cast from top to bottom is fantastic, with the exception of a certain reporter but Mads Mikkelsen absolutely steals the show, he just plays the role perfectly. Hannibal is just so well written and executed, it's hard to believe it doesn't get higher viewer ratings. I hope this series continues for many, many more seasons. Expand
  6. Mar 21, 2014
    9
    Hands-down the best all-around show on TV---yes, broadcast or cable---right now. I understand the reluctance of the wider public to join in;Hands-down the best all-around show on TV---yes, broadcast or cable---right now. I understand the reluctance of the wider public to join in; the horror genre, shocking visuals, and presumptive "been-there, read/seen Hannibal done that" narrows the possible audience. Regardless, the sheer attention to detail and creativity put into this show demonstrate a craftsmanship and artistry rarely seen on broadcast TV. Fuller's reimagining is all the more powerful given the ensemble nature. Mads has truly taken ownership of the Hannibal role, and Hugh's Will Graham shows a depth, humanity, and cunning that make him one of the most riveting protagonists in TV or film this decade. But the best part of Hannibal doesn't end with the two leads. The supporting cast shines here, as does the double entendres, plotting, pacing, and carefully crafted dialogue.---and I don't believe I need to mention the arresting visuals, as they are already receiving high praise. There's a maturity and depth here that will find a larger audience eventually, especially if prospective watchers can put aside their prejudices and just watch.

    I hope Fuller gets his 7 seasons with the source material--- he and the entire crew have already earned it in my book.
    Expand
  7. May 18, 2014
    3
    Wow, I have watched every episode and I think the show is getting worse not better. While I like most of the actors, I am getting bored withWow, I have watched every episode and I think the show is getting worse not better. While I like most of the actors, I am getting bored with this ongoing Will Graham psychologically conflicted saga. I mean we have a serial killer who is an interesting character, Will Graham is getting really boring in whatever his confused role is. Let's move in a new direction please. Expand

See all 51 User Reviews