Hannibal : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 4, 2013
Season #: 1, 2, 3
Hannibal Image
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 940 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: FBI head of Behavioral Sciences Jack Crawford (Laurence Fishburne) brings together FBI profiler Will Graham (Hugh Dancy) and as-yet-unknown-killer psychiatrist Dr. Hannibal Lecter (Mads Mikkelsen) to help solve difficult cases.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Horror, Suspense

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 32
  2. Negative: 3 out of 32
  1. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Apr 4, 2013
    100
    NBC's best new drama since forever. [15 Apr 2013]
  2. Reviewed by: Sara Smith
    Apr 2, 2013
    90
    The result is a challenging psychological thriller within a gripping crime procedural.
  3. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Apr 2, 2013
    88
    Deliciously disturbing, Hannibal is bound to leave viewers hungry for more.
  4. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Apr 1, 2013
    75
    Hannibal moves at a snail's pace to build tension. At the same time, there's an obvious attempt to counter its inertia with a lot of very intrusive soundtrack music.... Fortunately, Dancy's performance is terrific and more than enough to maintain our interest, with or without elks.
  5. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Apr 3, 2013
    63
    The thing that does give this show its grounding is the acting. Dancy is a perfect, tortured soul; Fishburne is everyman with a brain; and Mads Mikkelsen is perfectly named. What is lacking, though, is any respite from the darkness.
  6. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Apr 4, 2013
    50
    In seriously exploring what drives people to kill, Hannibal serves up a meal too heavy to enjoy each week.
  7. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Apr 3, 2013
    30
    Conceptually, this isn’t half-bad. The writing, unfortunately, is all-bad.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 145
  1. Jun 20, 2013
    10
    Mikkelsen and Dancy work wonders together as Hannibal and Grant and their supporting cast is solid as well. I love the mind games thatMikkelsen and Dancy work wonders together as Hannibal and Grant and their supporting cast is solid as well. I love the mind games that Hannibal has played with Grant through out the season and each episode is as sick and twisted (in a good way) as the next. I absolutely can not wait until season 2. Expand
  2. Apr 12, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. absolutely great.I love the mind games that Hannibal has played with Grant through out the season and each episode is as sick and twisted (in a good way) as the next. Expand
  3. May 13, 2013
    10
    This is an amazing show that pulls together every possible element needed for a successful crime thriller. I worry for the show's future basedThis is an amazing show that pulls together every possible element needed for a successful crime thriller. I worry for the show's future based on the viewer numbers, but if it succeeds in not being cancelled it will become a stellar NBC product. In fact, NBC can only blame themselves for not achieving the viewer numbers they expected. They need to position their prime time schedule on stronger ground, which would preferably give the ax to the saturation of reality shows it airs. Anyway, I love this show, and I hope it's around for many, many years! Expand
  4. Apr 16, 2014
    10
    I must have missed this or misinterpreted an episode, my question: what is the significance of the Bull Elk that keeps appearing??? It seemsI must have missed this or misinterpreted an episode, my question: what is the significance of the Bull Elk that keeps appearing??? It seems to only appear when Will is in the "zone", I obviously missed something early on... Expand
  5. May 7, 2013
    9
    I have to confess I tuned into this show only for Mads Mikkelsen. I saw the first episode and felt it was okay but I am slowly getting into itI have to confess I tuned into this show only for Mads Mikkelsen. I saw the first episode and felt it was okay but I am slowly getting into it especially with the end of episode 6. Well, that's when thing started getting really interesting. My Mads is straight up sick in the head and I'm loving it truly loving it. The madness, the graphic nature of the crimes, the deception and subterfuge with Hannibal is just brilliant. I am really excited to see where this show takes us because I will be front and center--wide eyed and all wanting and anticipating the next sick and twisted turn. Oh yeah the other characters are good too especially the profiler (Hugh Dancy). He brings such a raw and graphic intensity especially when he explores the mind of each killer. He is definitely an interesting and most vulnerable of all the characters because of his own frailty/fragility. Expand
  6. Jun 2, 2013
    8
    solid 7.5, rounded up.

    pretty far from perfect, but different and very stylised. it is both easy to follow and a piece obsessed with art
    solid 7.5, rounded up.

    pretty far from perfect, but different and very stylised. it is both easy to follow and a piece obsessed with art and aspiring to be it. this show is at once accessible and also very interesting. it isnt hannibal the early years, as its concerned less with hannibal that with its protagonist, and is of a different style and tone than the films. it does work, and it is well worth watching. its production values are top notch and its an eerily curious piece. you will need to put your suspension of disbelief in a fridge, nestled amongst some choice cuts of carrion though.
    Expand
  7. Jul 8, 2015
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. First season, starts very good, at the middle start to fall... To many questions and details that makes you wonder wtf? How is this possible? (the hand that none saw who placed it in the morgue, or the totem of bodies that someone put them so high, dug the holes and not covered, and not any way explained how the bodies build up so high... Second season, first episode starts awesome... second episode and already start the **** Many reasonless fill in, many scenes with no point (graham stands fishing for 2 minutes, glass of hannibal with camera slowly turning 360 degrees). Avoid it at all costs. Expand

See all 145 User Reviews

Trailers