Hannibal : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 4, 2013
Season #: 1, 2, 3
Hannibal Image
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 1005 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: FBI head of Behavioral Sciences Jack Crawford (Laurence Fishburne) brings together FBI profiler Will Graham (Hugh Dancy) and as-yet-unknown-killer psychiatrist Dr. Hannibal Lecter (Mads Mikkelsen) to help solve difficult cases.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Horror, Suspense

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 32
  2. Negative: 3 out of 32
  1. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Apr 4, 2013
    100
    NBC's best new drama since forever. [15 Apr 2013]
  2. Reviewed by: Sara Smith
    Apr 2, 2013
    90
    The result is a challenging psychological thriller within a gripping crime procedural.
  3. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Apr 2, 2013
    88
    Deliciously disturbing, Hannibal is bound to leave viewers hungry for more.
  4. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Apr 1, 2013
    75
    Hannibal moves at a snail's pace to build tension. At the same time, there's an obvious attempt to counter its inertia with a lot of very intrusive soundtrack music.... Fortunately, Dancy's performance is terrific and more than enough to maintain our interest, with or without elks.
  5. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Apr 3, 2013
    63
    The thing that does give this show its grounding is the acting. Dancy is a perfect, tortured soul; Fishburne is everyman with a brain; and Mads Mikkelsen is perfectly named. What is lacking, though, is any respite from the darkness.
  6. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Apr 4, 2013
    50
    In seriously exploring what drives people to kill, Hannibal serves up a meal too heavy to enjoy each week.
  7. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Apr 3, 2013
    30
    Conceptually, this isn’t half-bad. The writing, unfortunately, is all-bad.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 144
  1. Jun 20, 2013
    10
    Mikkelsen and Dancy work wonders together as Hannibal and Grant and their supporting cast is solid as well. I love the mind games thatMikkelsen and Dancy work wonders together as Hannibal and Grant and their supporting cast is solid as well. I love the mind games that Hannibal has played with Grant through out the season and each episode is as sick and twisted (in a good way) as the next. I absolutely can not wait until season 2. Expand
  2. Apr 2, 2014
    10
    Dark, smart and compelling, Hannibal is the best show on television that no one is watching. Original yet respectful of the source material,Dark, smart and compelling, Hannibal is the best show on television that no one is watching. Original yet respectful of the source material, the writing, acting, and overall production value continue to astound. I wouldn't recommend marathoning it not because of the quality of the product but because of what it could do to your psyche. Hannibal pushes the limits of what a major network can show on air and you will love it all the more for that. Expand
  3. May 12, 2013
    10
    This show is easily one of the best shows I have ever seen. Being a huge gore-fan, this is definitely the show for me, and I don't think IThis show is easily one of the best shows I have ever seen. Being a huge gore-fan, this is definitely the show for me, and I don't think I could ever stop watching it! The cast was absolutely perfect. It's one of the most stimulating shows I've ever watched, and this is coming from a die-hard Whovian, and I love Doctor Who, and I thought nothing could top it. I was wrong, Hannibal is literally the best thing I have ever seen. I couldn't have asked for a better show~

    I mean, some gore might not be good for others, but people need to learn how to use a remote. It's not that hard.

    I checked out the wikia and sadly saw the amount of viewers drop by half and got a tiny bit worried. But! I'm sure those of us who watch it now won't stop watching it~ I've gotten a lot of people into it, and they love it too!

    If you haven't seen this show yet, go watch it, it's the best show ever.
    Expand
  4. Apr 8, 2014
    10
    I find that Hannibal has been a phenomenal TV series thus far. Not only is it highly creative, it also supplements it's shady tone withI find that Hannibal has been a phenomenal TV series thus far. Not only is it highly creative, it also supplements it's shady tone with mouth-watering suspense. I would highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys a good TV Drama/Thriller. Expand
  5. Jun 21, 2015
    9
    Stellar show with amazing beautiful cinematography, and Mads is incredible in his role. Hugh Dancy is solid. What I can't understand is howStellar show with amazing beautiful cinematography, and Mads is incredible in his role. Hugh Dancy is solid. What I can't understand is how the hell the government allows this show on free TV? It's possibly the most violent material I've ever seen in any medium - except maybe Dead Alive or Human Centipede. Expand
  6. Jun 4, 2015
    8
    When I first heard about a hannibal tv show I thought it wasn't a good idea - but I was very wrong. Hannibal is such a beautiful show evenWhen I first heard about a hannibal tv show I thought it wasn't a good idea - but I was very wrong. Hannibal is such a beautiful show even though the subject of the tv shows seems rather dark, and the acting is also fantastic from the shows lead cast. My only problem with the first season was some of the cases the episode has only because there are so many shows that already do that kind of thing. Expand
  7. Jul 8, 2015
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. First season, starts very good, at the middle start to fall... To many questions and details that makes you wonder wtf? How is this possible? (the hand that none saw who placed it in the morgue, or the totem of bodies that someone put them so high, dug the holes and not covered, and not any way explained how the bodies build up so high... Second season, first episode starts awesome... second episode and already start the **** Many reasonless fill in, many scenes with no point (graham stands fishing for 2 minutes, glass of hannibal with camera slowly turning 360 degrees). Avoid it at all costs. Expand

See all 144 User Reviews

Trailers