• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 4, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Hannibal Image
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 459 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: FBI head of Behavioral Sciences Jack Crawford (Laurence Fishburne) brings together FBI profiler Will Graham (Hugh Dancy) and as-yet-unknown-killer psychiatrist Dr. Hannibal Lecter (Mads Mikkelsen) to help solve difficult cases.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Horror, Suspense
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 32
  2. Negative: 3 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Apr 4, 2013
    100
    NBC's best new drama since forever. [15 Apr 2013]
  2. Reviewed by: Sara Smith
    Apr 2, 2013
    90
    The result is a challenging psychological thriller within a gripping crime procedural.
  3. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Apr 2, 2013
    88
    Deliciously disturbing, Hannibal is bound to leave viewers hungry for more.
  4. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Apr 1, 2013
    75
    Hannibal moves at a snail's pace to build tension. At the same time, there's an obvious attempt to counter its inertia with a lot of very intrusive soundtrack music.... Fortunately, Dancy's performance is terrific and more than enough to maintain our interest, with or without elks.
  5. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Apr 3, 2013
    63
    The thing that does give this show its grounding is the acting. Dancy is a perfect, tortured soul; Fishburne is everyman with a brain; and Mads Mikkelsen is perfectly named. What is lacking, though, is any respite from the darkness.
  6. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Apr 4, 2013
    50
    In seriously exploring what drives people to kill, Hannibal serves up a meal too heavy to enjoy each week.
  7. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Apr 3, 2013
    30
    Conceptually, this isn’t half-bad. The writing, unfortunately, is all-bad.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 87 out of 100
  2. Negative: 8 out of 100
  1. Jun 20, 2013
    10
    Mikkelsen and Dancy work wonders together as Hannibal and Grant and their supporting cast is solid as well. I love the mind games that Hannibal has played with Grant through out the season and each episode is as sick and twisted (in a good way) as the next. I absolutely can not wait until season 2. Expand
  2. Apr 16, 2013
    10
    It's a great show, but it's not for everyone just because of the gore. However, a little blood doesn't make it bad. Hannibal is the greatest new show of the year and it combines likeable characters into a brutal world of horror and mystery. Expand
  3. May 12, 2013
    10
    This show is easily one of the best shows I have ever seen. Being a huge gore-fan, this is definitely the show for me, and I don't think I could ever stop watching it! The cast was absolutely perfect. It's one of the most stimulating shows I've ever watched, and this is coming from a die-hard Whovian, and I love Doctor Who, and I thought nothing could top it. I was wrong, Hannibal is literally the best thing I have ever seen. I couldn't have asked for a better show~

    I mean, some gore might not be good for others, but people need to learn how to use a remote. It's not that hard.

    I checked out the wikia and sadly saw the amount of viewers drop by half and got a tiny bit worried. But! I'm sure those of us who watch it now won't stop watching it~ I've gotten a lot of people into it, and they love it too!

    If you haven't seen this show yet, go watch it, it's the best show ever.
    Expand
  4. Mar 27, 2014
    10
    This So called show "Hannibal" is the most brilliant piece of art, in the work of films, that i have managed to watch for my entire life. The parts in "Hannibal" where bodies is laying all over, can maybe become a little overwhelming, for some people at least, but for the most people, i think, this could be a nice and good attachment to their history in films. Expand
  5. Apr 4, 2013
    9
    And I thought The Following was graphic! Man the stuff they can get away with now days on television is incredible. No complaints from this guy. Beautifully brutal. Hugh Dancy gives a great performance in the pilot. Superb acting all around. Expand
  6. Mar 10, 2014
    8
    I give this series such a high rating because I enjoy watching Hannibal Lector as a character his elegance and morale stand in what he does makes him just a brilliant character to watch I could not imagine trying to act as Dr Lector hat goes off too Mads (can't not remember his second name) and any actor who had attempted to tap the mind of the Hannibal Lector, Anthony Hopkins is still the standard an actor has to reach to become Hannibal, Mads does it so well. Expand
  7. Apr 10, 2013
    0
    I was looking forward to this series, since The silence of the Lamps is my fav. movie of all times. I could never have imagined that the actor who is casted as Dr. Lecter would be such a disappointment i guess i had high standards from Sir Anthony Hopkins!
    ...i don't think i will be watching episode 2
    Collapse

See all 100 User Reviews